Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Keratex Hoof Hardener

Keratex Equine Hoofcare
- Item #17363
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Keratex Hoof Hardener is a gentle acting chemical formulation which forms additional intermolecular bonds between molecules of keratin through the process of cross-linking. Keratin is the main protein constituent of horn and is best described as the building block of the horn structure. Keratex Hoof Hardener strengthens weak, worn and cracked hooves by improving the molecular structure of the horn itself.

Favorite Features

  • Equally effective in wet & dry conditions.
  • Prevents the horn from taking in excess moisture, making it resistant to softening and weakening in wet conditions. This results in a reduction in shoe loss and abscesses.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener is not an oil or resin layer and does not seal the hoof.
  • Keratex Hoof Hardener will ensure the treated hoof is able to breathe naturally so the moisture balance is properly maintained.
  • Should also be applied to the sole of the hoof to prevent bruising.
  • Includes brush for application

Apply to lower half of hoof and sole, avoiding coronary band and frog. Use daily for one week then twice weekly for general hoof maintenance. If the hoof has been treated with any oils or greases over the past three months, degrease the hoof thoroughly with acetone before applying Keratex Hoof Hardener. Do not use any oils or greases while using Keratex Hoof Hardener.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Keratex Hoof Hardener is rated 4.7273 out of 5 by 132.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works! My OTTB arrived to our rocky soil with super sensitive hooves. I researched what to do as I wanted to leave him barefoot. I did a two fold approach, I bought this product and applied daily for 7 days. I have since applied twice a week since (3 plus months total). I also put him on a repair dose of farriers formula supplement. The combo has worked. He is much less tender footed, and his new hoof growth appears very healthy. Highly recommend this product and will continue to use. It is pricy, but does last a long time.
    Date published: 2014-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helps keep shoes on! We use this twice a week on our three Chestnut horses, who tend to lose shoes due to weak, shelly hoof walls. This is the only product so far that has toughened up the hoof walls to keep them strong enough to hold shoes until the next regular farrier visit.
    Date published: 2014-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product works. Stronger feet in a short period of time. Now my horse keeps his shoes on.Easy to apply...only negative feature...it is a little stinky.
    Date published: 2014-10-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Noticable improvement My pony had soft crumbly soles after a bought of laminitis. I researched products and keratex hoof hardener seemed to be the most highly regarded product. There was a noticeable improvement in just a week. My vet even commented the next time he was out! Definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2014-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This WORKS ! I am a retired Equine Podiatrist and am very impressed to see that one of my OTTBs is NOT abscessing this year due to diligent application of this every day. Not cheap, but finally being able to ride my horse is priceless !
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This stuff is incredible we had a horse we couldn't get a full 6 weeks out of his shoes until we started using Keratex - our farrier recommended it and we use it on many of the horses now!!
    Date published: 2014-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for hoof care I'm on my second bottle of Keratex and it really seems to be helping my horse's feet. He's keeping his shoes on and that alone has made all the difference in the appearance of his hoofs. The Keratex has kept the existing cracks (from losing his shoes previously) from worsening. **A quick tip, to keep the dirt out of the bottle, pour into the lid and apply with the brush from the lid.
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One Week and Impressed! My TB like many has struggled for years with his hooves. We tried a bunch of different things to prevent his lameness and abscesses that he got all the time! It was time consuming and with his hock arthritis, it set him back in his muscle build up from the stall rest. The first thing that improved his feet significantly was Blue Seal Sunshine Plus in his feed regime. It is high in protein and it was what helped transition him away from back shoes. His front feet were still a problem however. After throwing his shoes a month after a visit, the farrier took them off to experiment with being barefoot. His soles were still very soft to the touch and he felt ouchy on them. I was applying Farrier's Fix and while it seemed to be helpful, he was still ouchy even with Cavallo Sport boots on the front. I bought the Keratex Hoof Hardener and began last Monday. Today (the following Monday), I was able to successfully ride him in the walk and trot with hoof boots without him feeling ouchy! His soles throughout the week haven't been as soft either. I am convinced that this product is working wonderfully and with time will help his front feet grow! It's easy to apply and takes minutes to dry! Worth the money in the long run.
    Date published: 2014-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! My thoroughbred has been barefoot for a few years now and has had tender soles this summer, Keratex has really helped him, I noticed a difference in his hooves within a week with daily use. My advice is to pour the solution into the cap before applying to your horse's hoof--you'll get your entire bottle contaminated with dirt otherwise:) Use a hoof pick with a brush on it to clean the hoof really well before applying.
    Date published: 2014-07-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best on the market Based on chemical research and reputation this is the best product available for hoof strengthening
    Date published: 2014-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Stuff! This really helps my horse with shelly feet in the summertime. It is a great product all around and it is most effective if applied two to three times per week.
    Date published: 2014-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great investment for weak hooves I've only been using it a couple weeks, but I think my horse's hooves are already tougher and stronger
    Date published: 2014-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works!! I have used this product for several years after pulling shoes. It helps feet from being tender and hoof walls from breaking up.
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good I bought this when I took my horses shoes off as well as a hoof supplement. I can't really tell if it works or not but it can't hurt anything
    Date published: 2014-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have only used for a week, but my horses' shoes are still on. It absorbs quickly and I like that it is also breathable.
    Date published: 2014-05-12
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not sure about this so I sent it back I bought this for a minor crack or two in my horse's front hooves. When I got it, it came with a lot of warnings; saying to put it on the sole but not the frog.....and it just is not what my all natural horse needs. I did buy the hoof pellets though and I hope they help.
    Date published: 2014-04-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works wonders My TB had shoes on for 5 year and I decide it was time to try Barefoot again. With the help of this product my horse is completely sound!
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product This product works very well. My horses hooves were very shelly and brittle, since I began using this product, the shoe nails held much better and the hoof wall stopped breaking. One other thing, though it seems expensive, if you use the product according to directions, it lasts 2-3 months.
    Date published: 2014-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Stuff Works! I can thank Keratex Hoof Hardener for keeping my horse's shoes on this summer. We started in the Spring with wet weather that caused my horse's hooves to become very soft and impossible to hold a shoe. After a foray with hoof boots I started using the Keratex products and have kept all 4 shoes on since then. My farrier even commented how hard his hoof walls were (he didn't know I was using this product so it wasn't an imaginary change). This stuff is a life saver.
    Date published: 2014-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The good stuff  I bought this awhile ago and it was sitting in my shed. I decided to try it on my 16.3h kwpn gelding who would tear his shoes off every 3 weeks. I have been putting it on his feet every 3-4 days since sept. and he is now keeping his shoes on and the shoer is super happy with the strength of his previouy
    Date published: 2014-01-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Greatest hoof product ever! Can't say enough great things about the keratex  product. I use the hardener during really wet months almost daily to repair and toughen up brittle hoofs. Then use the gel 2-3 times a week to maintain a good moisture balance.  It works like magic to keep proper moisture in hoofs, even for small brittle TB feet!  I should quit my day job and go work for Keratex, I believe in their products so much!
    Date published: 2014-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Go to for Feet I have used this product off and on for a long time. My current horse had bruises on her feet after we pulled shoes for the winter. She was very footsore. After a week of application every day and then going to twice a week as directed, no soreness and a happy horse. This is a great product to help toughen feet. I am hoping we can go shoeless!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product really works! I have used this on a navicular horse to harden his soles and I use it faithfully on my extreme trail/Dressage horse and Knock on wood the shoes stay on longer and his hooves never looked so good!!
    Date published: 2013-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I adopted two OTTBs with horrible feet. When we pulled shoes one went immediately and severly lame. Our farrier had recommeded using this on their feet and within just a couple days, it hardened his feet and he is no longer lame. I have used so may different products in the past that didn't work so I was skeptical but this product actually works and it does its job in a very short period of time. Will definately continue to use this since TBs natoriously have bad feet anyway.
    Date published: 2013-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from ASWSOME Product Living in Florida we always have to deal with the humidity, rain and wet ground. Combined with living near a large river my pastures hold allot of moisture. This product has hardened my shelly, soft, and thin soled Thb hooves that he can go barefoot in the off season and his feet do well. It seems to also have an ability to protect the hoof from the excessive moisture. I will never quit using it regularly on my horse year around and more frequently during the summer months.
    Date published: 2013-10-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! This stuff is awesome. I've been using it on my Trak gelding whose feet chip and crack in really wet weather. This spring was awful for rain, and he developed two abscesses. I didn't make the connection between the abscesses occurring and the wet weather wreaking havoc on his hooves until the second abscess happened. I asked some online friends for any suggestions and many of them recommended Keratex Hoof Hardener. I've been using this stuff for just over a month now, and I'm extremely pleased. My horse's hooves now look great, and with the recent round of wet weather, they look solid. Thanks!
    Date published: 2013-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works wonders! :) Keratex Hoof Hardener is absolutely amazing! Before using this, my TB had horrible feet! I have tried several different hoof supplements and other hoof hardeners for years with no luck. Her front hoof soles were so soft that she was having major problems with her back/withers. I have spend a crazy amount of money in trying to figure out what was wrong with my mare’s back for about 2 years now, and 2 years of Chiropractic adjustments … I was at a complete lose at how to fix her problem. I have sadly had 4 different vets exam her with no luck to stop her ouchy back. I recently started using a new Farrer and he right off the bat said he was 99.9% sure her back issues were coming from her extremely soft soles. He recommended me to use Keratex Hoof Hardener and man am I glad I did … what a difference! Within a week of using this on my mare’s front hooves she was already showing less soreness in her back/withers. I have been using this for a month now and her hooves are healthier then I have ever seen, and her back/wither soreness/tightness is practically gone! I could not say enough great things about the product!
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good for wet ground Too much rain has left my horse with soft soles. Keratex has helped give her a better sole.
    Date published: 2013-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for tender soles This is a standard "go to" product in my barn! I have a tenderfooted TB that struggles even more during our wet, hot summers. Daily applications of Keratex keep him comfortable and sound.
    Date published: 2013-07-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product My horse has horrible feet, my farrier has been complaining to me for a while now about how bad his feet look. With the wet summer we've had so far, and the fact that he wears bell boots, I've had a hard time keeping his feet dry and from just completely falling apart. So I found out about this product and decided to give it a try (couldn't hurt). It's done a great job hardening up his feet and bringing them back together! Hopefully he can get out of his glue on shoes and get them nailed on this next time since his feet have grown and strengthened! Highly recommended for horses that have that same problem.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    • 2015-03-05T07:43CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_12, tr_120
    • loc_en_US, sid_7363, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.