Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim- Dressage

EA Mattes
- Item #17282

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Use the Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim over a baby pad or by itself. The Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim holds your saddle in place, is breathable and moisture wicking. Billet strap with self VELCRO® brand closure. 

Dressage in White, Black or Custom Colors.

Measurements:
Medium – 17” (20½” w/Fleece) 
Large – 19” (22½” Spine w/Fleece) 

A note regarding the fit of this pad: The back of your saddle should not sit on the rear fleece trim.


Melp is specially formulated and contains regreasing properties ideal for sheepskin products, washable leather and wool. Highly recommended for extending the life and quality of Mattes sheepskin products.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Mattes Half Pad with Rear Trim- Dressage is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This pad arrived timely and was exactly what I wanted. Unfortunately it (size Med) was too small. My saddle is only 17.5 . I emailed Smart Pak and they were very helpful regarding the return. It is currently back in the mail to them and I expect a large size will follow shortly.All in all I am very happy with the product and service
    Date published: 2014-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality half pad A nice saddle pad that gets the job done. The sheepskin is good quality. It is certainly a bit pricey, but one of the nicer sheepskin pads out there. Really don't care for the cheap billet straps, though, I would expect something nicer in a pad of this price. I am probably going to cut them off.
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Product, Good Price This is a very nice sheepskin pad that SmartPak sells for the best price that I could find. Unlike other sheepskin pads that are made of one piece, this one uses fabric along the spine, thereby reducing pressure on the horse's spine. The fleece on the front and the back keep the saddle in place. I bought a Large for my 17 1/2" saddle and it fits very well.
    Date published: 2011-08-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Fit! I got this pad to adjust the fit of my Stubben jump saddle for my OTTB, who has high withers. When he'd jump, his withers would hit the pommel of the saddle. The Mattes pad solves the problem! It's got enough lift that he is comfortable and is jumping better than ever. This pad is expensive, but saved me the ultimate expense of purchasing an entirely new saddle. Very happy with it.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every Horse needs one! These Mattes Pads are remarkable! The best for my rescued thoroughbreds. Extremely cushioned,easy to care for with the included sample of "Melp".I have 2 of these Mattes half Pads, one white and one black...And will consider a custom color oneday as well!
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Great product. I got the large for my 17 1/2 Kieffer dressage saddle. Fits great.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from mattes 1/2 pad with rear trim/dressage love this pad even more than the full pad....much easier to keep clean since I layer it with a thin quilted padeven the saddle seems more stable and it's quite attractive!
    Date published: 2011-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product This is a well-made product that does the job I bought it to do - protect my horse's back while keeping my saddle in it's place.
    Date published: 2010-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half pad with excellent fit! Very pleased with my new Mattes half pad.Sometimes it's best to get a good make as you get what you pay for and it lasts for years.Very nicely made, Would recomend to everyone who wants a nice schooling pad which is also first class for showing! Fits my horse very well and pad fits correctly with my 18 inch saddle.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Half Pad These half pads are excellent, and I highly recommend them. My only complaint is the high pricetag, but SmartPak offered these pads at the best price that I could find!
    Date published: 2010-06-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.