Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Fuller Fillies Faux Suede Huggy Half Chaps

Fuller Fillies
- Item #17224

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Sure to become your favorite everyday half chap!  Fuller Fillies Huggy Half Chaps are made from soft and washable Amara faux suede. Complete with a reinforced calf, YKK zipper, pleated and elasticized back and piped top and bottom. 

Black or Chocolate. Sizes Wide-Standard, Wide-Short, Extra Wide-Standard, or Extra Wide-Short.

Calf Widths: 15"-18" (Wide), 17"-20" (Extra Wide) Calf Heights: 16"/17" (Standard), or 14"/15" (Short) 


To obtain calf height, sit on a chair and measure from the ankle bone center to the crease behind your knee. Do not order longer than this measurement.

To obtain calf width, sit on a chair and measure the largest part of your calf.

If you are on the upper limit of a width fitting then order the larger size. 

Washing instructions: Machine wash cold, hang to dry. 

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Fuller Fillies Faux Suede Huggy Half Chaps is rated 4.4714 out of 5 by 70.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great half chaps For the price, these are super nice half chaps. I've been riding in them for a few months now. The zippers are holding up well. I am careful of the snaps and mine are doing fine. I went with the larger size to give myself room for winter layering. I average 10-25 miles on the trails most weeks and some arena riding and they are showing minimal wear so far. The only drawback is that the brown is really a deep plum color. It's not a problem for a trail bum like me, but could cause trouble if you are trying to match an outfit.Over all, I love them. I haven't tried laundering them yet so can't offer any feedback about how they wash.
    Date published: 2012-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy I found these These were a great find. Good value. I've had them for about a year and wear them 2-3x's a week. They wash up easily and are comfortable.My only complaint is that they do run a little large. I was on the fence about which size to select and wish I had chosen the smaller.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Glad I ordered them Read the reviews and decided to try them. Yes, they are sorta purple color but so is the color chocolate. They fit great. Have no problem putting them on. I've only used a few times so far but have had no problems. Snaps, zipper, everything ok. Fell like I got my bang for the bucks.
    Date published: 2012-10-09
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Didn't Hold Up I loved that the half chaps came in a size that would fit me; however, it didn't take long for the snap to break on one to fall off. Also, the stretch panel seems to have stretched out, and they don't hold as tight as the did when I first got them. Now they slide around on my leg, and the reinforced panel that would usually be on the inside of my calf is facing forward by the time I'm done riding. I've only had these for a few months, I'm surprised I'm already looking for a new pair.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them!! I had a time fitting my leg with half chaps...but these work great!! I ordered the biggest size so they will fit over my heavier breeches in the winter!! Love them and they protect my legs!! I would definitely recommend these...and they are machine washable also!! I used the delicate cycle and then hung them to dry! They look like new! Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great half caps I am so glad I found these! Years of posting has given me a 15" calf on my short 14" legs! I was having a very hard time finding adult width with child height. But I discovered these and wear them with my paddock boots for local shows. They're about 1-2 inches too tall but are soft and pliable so it's not a big deal. Easy to clean, good zipper, and look nice on a budget.
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something finally fits! I have HUGE calves in comparison to the rest of my body, and these fit like a DREAM. I can't speak to their durability as I've only had them for a month, but so far they're holding up fine. The zippers are very easy to zip and the suede definitely aids the grip on my calves. Until I can get ridiculously expensive custom boots, these are my go-to for riding!
    Date published: 2012-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Perfect fit, odd color I expected it from the reviews, but the brown is definitely purple. Not even purply-brown, just purple. Pretty though :).That said, after struggling for WEEKS to find an affordable pair of schooling chaps that will fit my short, wide calves I'm completely happy with the fit. They are snug but not uncomfortable and the perfect height. Very happy, haven't had any issues with the snap so far (which seems to be a problem for some). Lovely, feel sturdy, fit great.
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For Us Fuller Fillies I have short legs with wide calves, and these half-chaps fit perfectly! The price is right too! The only bad thing about them is that the brown is more of a plum color, but for training purposes and trail rides, it doesn't matter that much!
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Why didn't I Send Them Back?? They are cute half chaps...yep, they are half chaps. BUT the button broke day one but I desperately needed them so much that I never returned for a new pair. So now with every step I take and ride I hear a little flap flap as the button tab bounces off my foot. The other things, after about 100 hrs of riding I've almost worn through the leather on the calf on both legs, so basically three months of daily riding. The zippers have held up well and the other button is fine. I think these are better for an amateur rider as they don't stand up well to hard wear.I will also state that with most Fuller Fillies stuff, none of it has stood the long term test of time and with me has a life span of 3 to 5 months, a counter example...I bought ariat muck boots two years ago (I wear the half chaps over these shoes) and I cleaned them for the first time last week and my husband asked if I had gotten new shoes...I will admit I have never cleaned the chaps and I'm not sure that has something to do with it.As for fit, I have a 18 inch calf and went with the XL and they fit fine..now are starting to get a tad lose with age.
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I've ordered two of these in the last two weeks. I really like the fit but the snap has broken on both of them, the first while I was trying them on in my living room and the second before I ever got on the horse. My last pair of half chaps with a snap lasted almost 2 years so I don't think it's me.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product I have only ridden with these a few times, but love them! They are very comfortable. True to fit.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits like they were custom made I was so excited to get these. As soon as I got them, I out them right on. They were hard at first. Nothing new. After I got them on, they were great!!! Everytime I put them on, it is as if they were customer made for my leg. I have only had them a month now, and I am still just bas happy with them as I was when I first got them.
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love, Love, LOVE these DO NOT let the picture fool you. They fit MUCH better than the picture shows. I have been suffering for YEARS riding in jeans. Needless to say I haven't been to a horse show in over 7 years. Anyhow, I was SO excited when I orderee these. Custom chaps were just too much for me to afford right now. I was so excited that, even though I am at work, I had to try them on. They fit like they were custom made for me, right down to the ankle, without the uncomfortable tightness.I like things on my calf pretty tight, but not tight enough to cause numbness. These are perfect!! I can't wait to ride in them tonight.FINALLY something we "fuller" women have to call our own.
    Date published: 2012-03-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from The snaps broke on day one These chaps are a great buy for those with wide calfs, mine come in at about 19 1/2 inches, I blame my dad for that, and these in a XXwide work very well. The brown does look like purple but the black is black. I gave it low ratings because the snaps at the bottom of the chaps broke.
    Date published: 2012-12-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these! I have huge calf muscles and these fit great. I have ridden in them every weekend for a year and they are still going strong. Love these!
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I received these half-chaps as a Christmas present and am absolutely thrilled with them.They are super comfy and are well made. I have a 15" calf and got a 15"-18" fit. I was worried that they would be too loose, but thankfully they are fine over my leggings. I would definately recommend them.
    Date published: 2012-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these chaps I was a little reluctant to purchase these because of some of the previous reviews that the brown chaps were actually purple. My chaps arrived and were an exact match to my boots! They fit perfectly and were much easier to put on than my previous, much more expensive, half chaps.
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Chaps!!! It was always hard for me to get chaps that fit RIGHT and I was more than ecstatic to find that there were half chaps that fit my wide calves. I have 18" calves, and i ordered an extra-wide. I tried them on once they came, but i found them to fit a bit loose. I was able to spin them around and everything hahaha. so i exchanged them for a wide (i like my chaps to fit snug), and they fit perfectly! The garter was able to hug my wide calves, and my slim ankles. I was so impressed :) Now im gonna buy myself the Fuller Fillies Field Boots as an early Christmas gift
    Date published: 2011-09-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ektor Half Chaps I have the Ecktor neoprene half chaps that I got on sale for $6.00 right before they were discontinued. I don't ride english much anymore (I run barrels now but do about once a week to keep my horses sane) so the neoprene half chap was the way to go for me. My calf is 17" around and I got extra wide (for 17"-20" calves) ones because they were the only size in stock right before being discontinued. My new dream colt has taken a liking to english more than being patterned on the barrels, and I'm starting to take him into green horse classes at some local shows. Right now the neoprene ones are fine for the small shows, but I may order these suede ones. If I do I'll go with wide (for 15-18" calves), because my ecktor ones slide down a lot when riding and aren't as tight as I like. My suggestion is if you're on the smaller side of the extra wide measurements to order down and go with just wide.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE Fuller Fillies! These are the first half chaps I have found to fit my large calf. I love that they come in a short length as well. I've had them for a few months now and they clean up like new. I am really pleased with the whole Fuller Fillies line and I am so glad that Smartpak carries it.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits Larger Legs Well Not every woman has small slender legs, especially if we're athletic and build muscle. Most available half chaps are too small for me, but these were a perfect fit. They seem to be true to size. The "brown" color is really a purple, but it is an attractive color. They seem well made, and the zipper is sturdy.
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Finally, a Half Chap that Fits I'm glad to have found a non-animal-hide alternative to traditional half chaps. They fit like a glove, thanks to the generous width of stretch fabric along the side. The extra piece of fabric on the bottom of the stirrup elastic is a really nice touch and should help their longevity. The only negative is the price; they are still less expensive than decent leather or suede, but not by much.
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Color is off. Chocolate Brown is a Plum color I was so excited to get some chaps that actually fit. Unfortunately the chocolate brown color is actually a purple/plum color, so I cannot use them. Smartpak was great about accepting them as a return. Love you SmarkPak!
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love these. I have always wanted half chaps but could never find a pair that fit. Thanks Fuller Fillies.
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product I have always had a problem fitting boots to my calf size. I think only vanity made me wait as long as I did to order these half chaps. I love the color (the chocolate has a plum or eggplant undertone) and the fit and only wish I had ordered them earlier!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit These fit really well & are very affordable. They look great too.
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from They fit! I am very short from my knee to ankle. Most half chaps don't fit. What a relief to find these chaps. They are comfortable and stay where they should.
    Date published: 2010-12-01
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.