Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17222

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash crank noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure.  Roller buckles on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” rubberized web reins.

Size: Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Black with Black Padding

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.2647 out of 5 by 34.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from price is right Not the greatest bridle, but cheap. Leather is semi-soft but the edges lose their color some with very little use. True to size. Nice enough, but wouldn't buy another one.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty nice bridle for price I think that overall, the bridle quality matches it's price. I wasn't thrilled with the leather when I first pulled it out of the packaging-some pieces of the bridle had little crackle-like lines, while some parts seemed to be made of a better quality leather. However, another long-term horse person I know really liked the quality of the leather. (I have only owned inexpensive bridles, so what do I know!) I can't comment on durability yet since I just got the bridle, so I gave it the benefit of the doubt and a 5. I do love the crank aspect of the bridle, the roller seems to be high quality, and the padding on the browband, crown, chin and noseband is soft and supple. I love the mono-crown aspect of it, too.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bridle I bought this as an inexpensive schooling bridle and I'm really surprised at how good it is, the leather feels soft and supple, its really well made, looks great and is a great fit - I wouldn't be ashamed to use it in competitions
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice everyday bridle Nice everyday bridle but it ran large on my fine Arabian head.
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle & great reins! I love the reins, thin, comfortable & great grip. Cob size crank nose band barely fits my large nosed Haflinger. Otherwise, nice fit & comfort crown is great, especially with a thick mane.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality leather Nice bridle for the price. Very well padded, good quality leather. Perfect schooling bridle.
    Date published: 2012-09-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from didn't fit I got the COB for my petite mare. The leather is nice but it did not fit. The check pieces fit perfect, the throat latch was too big, and the noseband was way too small.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Leather is nice. Love the reins. Bought Cob size. Flash is too long!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle for the price... I purchased one of these bridles for my horse a year ago - it's held up so beautifully that we ordered one for my daughter's new horse. The only complaint I have is the reins that it comes with - hated those so we purchased the Harwich rubber reins to use instead.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Budget Friendly Bridle I was looking for a dressage bridle with a flash, crank noseband, and comfort crown for under $100. I knew this was a tall order but this one fit the bill. I have been very impressed with the leather quality. It has gotten very nice and soft with a little conditioning. It fit my horse very well overall. He is a pretty average sized horse (16.1 appendix gelding) and the only thing I would change would be for it to have a slightly longer browband (I will probably replace the one it came with eventually. It fits ok but is a little short on him). I haven't had it very long but looking at the construction I think it will be very duarable but it isn't bulky at all. This is a great buy if you want a very nice dressage bridle with great features but have a limited budget.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice but weird sizing I like this bridal but it does not make sense in the sizes of the pieces. The nose band I have to put on the first or second hole and then the flash on one of the last holes and the cheek pieces on the top holes, it is just weird to me. Also it is very stiff even after I oiled it and cleaned it.
    Date published: 2012-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the Price I didn't expect this bridle to fit and feel like a high priced bridle... but it does! I was pleased to find a quality crank noseband on a nice quality bridle with good quality leather.
    Date published: 2012-01-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bridle for 3 year old - great value This was a great purchase for the price. I wanted a starter bridle for my filly. It is still a bit stiff after conditioning and wearing. The crank is hard to move at is it so stiff and not quite sure how the keepers and straps are supposed to work with it, but we have it functioning. Throat latch seems long. Looks nice on her Appendix head - more TB than QH. We'll see how it holds up and if it softens.
    Date published: 2011-09-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Product I am very pleased with the purchase of my new Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle. This bridle is quite elegant made with quality leather that is both soft and supple. The bridle looks great on my horse and adds refinement to a head with large features. Thank you, Smart Pak. I would definitely recommend this bridle to my dressage friends.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Schooling bridle I bought the Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle for schooling. I have an Arab and not all dressage bridles fit well. The cob size in the Harwich fit him well. The leather is also nice for the price. It is a very nice bridle for the price.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great value This bridle is very soft and overall fits well. the only exception is the throat latch seems very large and i need to have it shortened. it has very nice padding and the flash fits great on my arab. the reins are very comfortable as well.
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I was really surprised at how nice this bridle is. It is very inexpensive and yet looks like a high quality bridle. Hopefully it will continue to look good!!
    Date published: 2011-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very pleased Very happy with this bridle. It fit my 18 H Belg\TB well. The throatlatch is generous. The crank is a bit snug, but I think breaking in will take care of that.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Starter Bridle I'm impressed with the quality of product you get for such a low price. The only problem that I had was that the throatlatch ran large compared to the rest of the bridle so I had it shortened. It still wound up being much cheaper than ordering any of the other bridles.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not as pictured I bought this bridle because it is a good value, and looks like it would be flattering to a petite head. Overall I liked the comfort factor of the bridle, however the noseband is much bulkier than the picture shows and looks thick on my half arabs dainty face. I will most likely eventually buy a new caveson.
    Date published: 2011-05-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great dressage bridle This bridle is very nice for the price- definitely the best I have found in this price range.
    Date published: 2011-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Briddle I purchased the oversized and it fit him perfectly, with one exception the flash strap is way too long. Overall the briddle is very supple and looks great.
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfy fit I ordered the cob size for my Appendix QH gelding and it was too small. I got the horse size and it does fit well. It looks great. The leather is really soft and i love the extra padding. This is my first bridle with a crank noseband and i really like it so far.
    Date published: 2010-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from For the price this is a very nice bridle. It is hard to find a nicely padded noseband with crank in this price category. The first size didn't fit my horse so I had to return and exchange for the cob size, smartpak was very helpful, efficient, and the new bridle arrived very quickly. Keep up the great work smartpak!
    Date published: 2009-12-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Third times a charm This was the third bridle I ordered for my petite mare. Finally a bridle that fits, with a crank, and a noseband that is not too wide for her delicate face. Really like the padded caveson too.
    Date published: 2009-09-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.