Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17222

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash crank noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure.  Roller buckles on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” rubberized web reins.

Size: Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Black with Black Padding

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.1714 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Workable This is a perfectly adequate bridle for the price. I like how it fits on my mustang/Andalusian.
    Date published: 2014-04-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Shouldn't be offered! This was sold to me on eBay as a Nantucket. As if! The crown was printed with the Harwich name, and I found the matching photo with crank and other features. I'm surprised such a poor quality bridle would even go for more than $35 much less the 129.95 it lists for. The leather is horribly stiff and smells like the old India cheap leather. It is not smooth and cuts my hands just looking at the pieces; what would it do to a horse's face? The hardware is cheap and ugly. The reins are thin and feel like rubberized plastic. There is no redeeming feature of this bridle. It is far below schooling quality. I cannot believe Smartpak would even offer it for sale.
    Date published: 2014-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Okay bridle for schooling I was looking for a dressage bridle for schooling and showing. It came out of the box super stiff and I had to oil it a TON to get it to soften. It still isn't supple but maybe with a few months of use it will. Noseband is way too small, I had to swap out the browband because it was too small and the cheek pieces are a little big. I wish they sold separate parts.
    Date published: 2014-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle ! Just got the new bridle and it is lovelyI have the one without the crank tooThe leather is very soft just like the otherone (I've had that one for 2 1/2 years )and looks quite elegant
    Date published: 2014-02-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful Quality at a Great Value Harwich Padded Crank Noseband Dressage Bridle- nice quality, fit was a little big, very adjustable because the leather was soft and pliable and is wearing nicely.
    Date published: 2013-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value and a perfect fit for my mare! I've been wanting a padded monocrown design for years and SmartPak items were on sale and I figured it was the perfect time to give this bridle a try. As you can see in the photo, my mare has a somewhat refined head so I was looking for a bridle without a huge noseband (she'd be dwarfed by 1 1/4" or 1 1/2"!). I also wanted supple leather and I like the crank design because it has more padding on the chin (although I do NOT crank it tight). She usually wears a full-size but she even fits in some cob-sized but I ordered the full-size and it fits perfectly! My only complaints are that it was a little stiff and smelled of fish out of the bag (perhaps it was coated in fish oil?), so I oiled it in Neatsfoot oil before using it. It's now very supple and has soft padding. Quality design and leather for the cost! Note: I do not care for the reins (very lightweight & you'd have to wear gloves to deal with the rubber). I recommend ThinLine reins instead - a soft rubbery grip all around and comfortable with or without gloves.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price! This is an absolute steal for a bridle of this quality! The leather was stiff out of the bag, but softened after only one oiling. The padding is soft but not bulky. Honestly, the quality of the leather/bridle is comparable to some much more expensive bridles on the market.Unfortunately, I am not over the moon with the fit. I got the cob size for my Morgan mare. The cheek pieces, crown and noseband fit perfectly, but the browband was WAY too tight, so I had to order the horse sized browband, and the throatlatch was WAY too big. It will work, but it is not ideal. I guess for the price, I can't complain too much, you can't get perfection for $120, but it is still a very nice bridle for those of us who can't spring for a $200+ bridle.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from ALMOST a perfect fit I ordered the cob size for my 16h Hanoverian mare -- she has a lovely feminine head. The fit is perfect, except for the throat latch. It should be at least 2 inches shorter. The quality of the leather seems fine for the price. Time will tell about its durability. The too-long throat latch is the only reason for the 4 star rating. It would have been 5 stars otherwise.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.