Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17220
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure.  Roller buckles on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” rubberized web reins.

Black with Black Padding. Cob, Full or Oversize.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6277 out of 5 by 94.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bridle, great value I've been in the market for an inexpensive dressage bridle and this one did the trick. The leather was a bit stiffer than I expected when I first took the bridle out, but a quick saddle soap/conditioning and I was in good shape. After a few uses the leather has softened and molded to my horse. I have a fine-boned TB, other bridles he usually wears a cob, but he needed a full in this bridle. I love the wide nose-band and the black-on-black padding, he looks extremely handsome. The reins are very thin but I like the leather nodes - they help me keep my rein length steady and even.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I have had this product for around 2 years! The bridle is fantastic and fits true to size. The leather is soft right out of the bag. The only problem that I had was about 8 months in a keeper on the bit attaching piece came loose. The problem was resolved quickly by SmartPak's awesome customer care and I now use that bridle (with a little bit of electrical tape ;) ) and another of the same bridle for showing dressage. 
    Date published: 2013-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I recently bought this bridle because I needed a black bridle to match my new saddle but I was looking for something that didn't look TOO dressage-y, as I am an eventer and wanted to use it for all three phases. This bridle looks fantastic on 7 year old OTTB gelding and doesn't look too big on his face. The leather is soft and of good quality and he seems to be more comfortable in it than in my HDR that I used prior. The bridle is very adjustable and I was able to size it perfectly to his face. The reins are great too because they are webbed and rubberized so they have that no slip grip that comes in handy when doing cross country and were even comfortable enough for me to use without gloves. I have very small hands so I cannot ride with the big, bulky rubber reins that most eventers use, so these are perfect! Everyone keeps asking me where I got it and if it was expensive. I really love this bridle and would absolutely recommend it.I would have given it higher ratings but I have only had it for about three weeks so I can't speak for durability just yet.
    Date published: 2013-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth it This is by far the best bang for your buck. With the padded crown piece and soft leather, I would totally recommend it. If you are looking for a well priced dressage bridle go with this one.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seemed OK to me, but my TB Hated It When I received this bridle I wasn't impressed, but I wasn't dissatisfied either -- it seemed like an OK bridle that would work just fine for schooling. Although, I do think the quality of the leather on my SmartPak Plymouth Elite is much better than the Harwich. I also like the reins that came with my Plymouth Elite much, much more than the reins that came with the Harwich. I did try to use it on my TB gelding a few times, but every time I did, he absolutely hated this bridle. He tossed his head around, started grinding on the bit, then began rearing -- which is completely out of character for him. I ended up returning the bridle, and at the suggestion of a friend bought a different bridle from another company. He does like the new bridle, but honestly, I wish I had just bought another Plymouth Elite! I gave this 4 out of 5 stars because I really do think its an OK bridle, it just didn't work out for my horse. Would I recommend this bridle to someone with a super sensitive horse? No. Would I recommend this bridle to someone with a less sensitive horse? Yes.
    Date published: 2013-06-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought for Schooling used for Showing! I don't like to buy bridles without touching the leather and examining the quality first-hand so I was really pleased when I had a chance to view it at Kentucky Rolex this year. I purchased it for a schooling bridle and ended up adding a nice Nickel Clincher Broadband to it for showing. I have a Fjord with a course Horse sized head and this just looked fabulous on him. Agreed the noseband is a bit stiff at first but I imagine it will supple with use and conditioning. I also found the throatlatch ample which can be a concern for Fjords. I'd say it's an AWESOME deal for the price and a bridle I look forward to using daily.
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price Very nice leather and details on this bridle for the price. Looks like a more expensive bridle. Honestly hard to tell the difference between this bridle and the $400 bridle it hangs next to!So happy with this, we recommended it to a friend and the love it too.
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another quality SmartPak item! Very similar to the Plymouth Dressage Bridle (including the same great reins - my new favorite style!), but with a wider noseband for the coarser-headed horse and even more soft padding. Regarding some comments about the stiffness - yes it was a little straight fresh out of the bag (like I'd expect), but softer enough than most bridles I've had (besides the Plymouth Dressage) that I rode in it only once before showing in it and the fit was quite acceptable. I prefer this stiffness and a little bit of conditioning to overly-soft bridles that don't hold up :-)
    Date published: 2013-05-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works nicely I would love it if the nose band was softer and not so stiff that it cuts into his nose but he is such a good boy that I don't put it tight.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice I thought this was a great product for the money but would have been more happy if the nose band was not so stiff.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle I have not had this bridle long, but for my B-day I was given a brand new Bates Innova dressage saddle and pretty much anything to go along with it. I LOVE IT! My friend recommended it (With two horses, and my level of showing, I was not in budget for a $300 plus bridle, after my saddle, pad(s), and girth purchases (and a bit too die for), so I took advantage of my Smart Pak %10 discount since I purchase supplements. After cleaning it, and using Effax Lederbalsam X2 it IS like butter. It wasn't butter out of the box, but for new leather, it was NOT bad. I love that the headpiece has just one piece touching my boy's poll. My friend has an Oldenburg with a long thin face, and mentioned that the throatlatch is super long, and I was all set to send it back if that was the case. She keeps hers for showing, and loves it so much she just deals with it being so long; in fact, she was the one who told me to purchase this one! I'll use mine for EVERTHING so I wasn't prepared to do that, had the fit been off, BACK it would have went. But I have an Anglo Arab with JOWLS, so the throatlatch was perfect. We are NOT on the last hole. My only wish is that the noseband's second latch that holds the strap is MOVEABLE. It is not, and while I don't latch and unlatch mine always, I could see this ripping as others say, not to mention we all have different horses with various sized noses! This is a well made bridle worth the price. Clean it well and with Lederbalsam (the Effax line is my choice) upon receipt and then a couple more times, and it is a bridle for those on a budget. No one will know it's not a SUPER expensive bridle. The reins are half cloth, half rubber with grips all along them too. NICE. I DO NOT regret my purchase!
    Date published: 2013-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle This bridle is of exceptional quality for the price! I love everything about it!
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I am really happy with this bridle! I didn't want to break the bank, but wanted something that would work for both training and show settings. The "horse" size fits my 16.1 Hanoverian/TB perfectly and the leather is soft and supple. I highly recommend this piece of tack to any horse owner who is on a budget!
    Date published: 2013-03-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value, nice touches I've had this bridle for over a year. I use it at least twice a week to school and it cleans up great for shows. The leather is nice and soft. The oversize fits my draft cross with plenty of room to spare. It looks like the price has gone up a little, but still a good value for the money.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surpasses Expectations! After reading the reviews for several different Dressage bridles, I decided to order the Harwich bridle - I was very encouraged by all of the positive feedback and have been very happy with other Smartpak brand purchases. I have to say that after receiving the bridle, it has definitely surpassed my expectations! The leather is very high quality, and is very soft right out of the package. I love the feel & smell of it. Both the nose & brow bands are very nicely padded. One of the reasons that I chose the Harwich bridle is the unique crown design, to relieve pressure on the poll area - my horse that I specifically purchased this for is very sensitive, and I thought this would be a nice bridle - the crown design is definitely different, but I really like it. I did first order a Full size, but had to return for an Oversize. My horse that I purchased the bridle for is a Dutch WB/TB cross & is 17.3 hands - he is very lean and had a pretty refined head (not a large Warmblood head), and he is a hard to fit right at the edge of Horse & Oversize. The Full size did fit, but I had the cavesson piece on the very last hole, and the noseband sat a little higher than I wanted--also, the noseband would only just buckle on the last hole. Thanks to Smartpak's great free returns, I was able to order the Oversize and send back Full with no problem. One more thing to mention...I LOVE the reins that come with this bridle. They are canvas with little "bumpers" on them (my favorite style), BUT the canvas part has a rubber-like texture mixed in with it that helps achieve a great grip on the reins while riding. I feel like I got a much more expensive bridle than what was actually on the price tag - you've really outdone yourself this time, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice quality I purchased this bridle to use with a crystal browband. The keepers are the correct size, so they stay in place. The padding is sufficient, without being too bulky and the leather although a little stiff at first, is breaking in nicely. Really my only complaint is that the throatlatch strap is long, I am using the last hole for my horse (she does have a smaller face) and there would be no room to punch another hole.
    Date published: 2013-01-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle but throat latch is huge I ordered the Cob size for a 13.2hh Welsh with an average head. It fit him close to the tightest hole, but was too big for our 14.1 dainty headed Welsh. The quality of this bridle is wonderful considering the price. It's leather quality is similar to my Americana bridle and much better than my Collegiate bridle. The bridle was not clunky, like some dressage bridles look on a cob sized horse/pony. Also, I love the rubberized web reins - thin and grippy. Everything looked and felt wonderful but the throat latch was so big it drooped down to almost touch the buckle of the caveson. So even though it fit one of my ponies, I had to unfortunately return the item because of the oversized throat latch. There was no pony size for me to try or I would have tried that.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the money I just started dressage and with buying everything needed it adds up fast. Ordered this one and it fit my horse perfectly. He is not a warmblood, but has a larger sized head. I have never had a padded bridle before and don't think I would order an unpadded one again. I think the padding is much more comfortable for my horse. It was stiff at first, but now that I've oiled it twice, it is much better. I have only had it a couple of weeks, so it should be perfect soon. The last keeper on the cavesson is fixed in place and it would be nice if it could be moved like the others. Since I buckle it more towards the tighter end of the holes, there is a long piece of the end flopping under his chin.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This bridle is nice quality, but one of the parts were too small for my mare. The nose band was way to small but the flash was just right as was the rest of the bridle.
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Bridle I had never purchased a bridle from Smartpak and was very impressed with the quality of this product. Very nice leather, true to size, very supple. Just LOVE it! Great value and didn't break the budget.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my second purchase of the Harwich bridle--my mare also has the h/j fancy stitched version. I love this one just as much as the first one. Leather is supple, and it is very well made. I especially like the padded crown, and I think she does too. You will NOT find a better bridle in this price point.
    Date published: 2012-09-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from time will tell I'm new to the horse owning and tack buying game so I don't know if this bridle is great value for the money or not (I've never owned a $300-$500 bridle for example). However, this bridle fits well (although the first time putting it on my mare was difficult to adjust since the straps were so stiff, especially the noseband strap through the crown piece), the padding is nice, and it looks good on her. I have oiled it almost weekly to supple it up as much as possible. Durability remains to be seen as I've only owned it for a few months. All in all, I think it was a good purchase for the reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice working bridle for the price. The leather is soft enough and I really like the way the bridle is designed for comfort for the horse.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for Schooling or Shows I love this bridle. I now own two, one in cob size and one in horse and both are excellent. Like any leather, if maintained and cared for, these bridles seem to improve with use. In particular, I love the wide, padded head stall. I do think that the flashes are too long though, on both sizes, in comparison to the cavesson. Also, as mentioned by others, the keeper on the throatlatch is too small out of the bag, but it does open up with use and oil.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Durable and versatile This Bridle is very well made and good quality. I expect many years of use. Versatile. The ability to remove/add the flash is a plus. Big plus... I got it on sale.
    Date published: 2012-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice bridle I really liked the bridle once someone assembled it for me. It seems very comfortable for my horse and I liked the grippy reins. I wish there had been assembly instructions. I could not assemble it without a great deal of frustration. I am a novice rider still learning to manage the equipment. It is very well made for the price paid.
    Date published: 2012-08-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent Buy I own a friesian and I got the normal horse size and I had some doubts if it would fit him but it did! It did need a bit of oiling when it first arrived. But it does fit nice! I would defiantly recommend this to anyone!
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits hard to fit horse Smart Pak staff helped us fit our very hard to fit mare. After trying 3 bridles from competitors, Smart Pak staff measured their bridles and helped us fit her on the first try!Thanks so much!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Unfortunately Returned I was very excited by the leather quality and couldn't wait to try this on my 17 hand Appendix. Once it was on I was not so excited. The horse size was too small and the oversize was just bizarre - the whole bridle fit him crooked? An adjustment one place messed it up elsewhere. I don't need a fancy bridle and can't use a crank or flash with this guy. The Plymouth Elite is my next try! Did experience great, quick customer service!
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value for school, not show This is a terrific purchase for a schooling bridle. The leather quality is a good value for the price. I did have a major issue with the dye on my original bridle fading after the first conditioning. SmartPak kindly exchanged the bridle, but even the replacement still had some minor fading. For that reason, not something I would trust for show, but a terrific, durable bridle that looks very nice at home. I found the fit to be true to size.
    Date published: 2012-04-30
    • 2015-03-03T07:03CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_3, tr_91
    • loc_en_US, sid_7220, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.