Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17220

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Padded ½” browband and ¾” padded flash noseband. 5/8” cheek pieces with hook stud closure.  Roller buckles on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” rubberized web reins.

Black with Black Padding. Cob, Full or Oversize.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Harwich Padded Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6322 out of 5 by 87.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy & perfect fit for my mare! I bought this bridle for my 5 yr. old Dutch WBxTrakehner mare. She measures 46" from one corner of her mouth over her head to the opposite corner of her mouth, 26" around the jaw (where the noseband would go), and 16" ear to ear (browband). This bridle fit her PERFECTLY! The crownpiece buckles line up perfectly to her eye -- if she grows any more I've got room in this bridle, the noseband isn't too big or too small, and the browband doesn't make the crownpiece cramp her ears.The quality of the leather is lovely. Came out supple from the box. One cleaning/conditioning later the leather is even more supple, but still sturdy.I've only had the bridle for a couple weeks, but I'm guessing it will last me quite awhile.
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle I wanted a bridle with a padded poll and no crank. This is a great bridle, especially for the price. The throatlatch is very big but otherwise it's perfect.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great looking bridle My husband bought this for me to replace my older mare's $30 bridle. The leather is soft and pliable and appears to be excellent quality. Is nice enough that I'll also use it for showing along with day to day schooling.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome every day bridle! Bought this bridle for an every day bridle due to price and previous reviews. This product is well made and reminds me of bridles twice the price. Fits our new Hanoverian mare like a glove!!
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Top quality bridle! The SmartPak "Harwich" Dressage Bridle is a high quality, great looking and most importantly proper fitting bridle. I am very pleased with it and the price was very resonable.
    Date published: 2011-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle for the price Quality bridle, with padding for the poll area seen in more expensive bridles. Leather nice, but needs softening to put together the first time. Fits my Arabian's small sized cob head!
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lovely Bridle I was lucky enough to win this bridle from a contest, but I would absolutely have paid for it! I was very pleasantly suprised! The quality and suppleness of the leather is amazing, and the construction is top notch. I only gave a durability and fit 3 stars because I havent used it yet, or even tried it on my horse. :)
    Date published: 2011-11-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Bridle I'm very happy with this bridle. It fit my draft cross very well (oversize) and it was soft from the beginning and has just become softer with cleaning, use and oiling.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great quality Great quality product. Size runs small. Have an Arabian mare, ordered Cob size and it did not fit. The throat strap was too long on both the Cob size and the Large size that I exchanged it for. Local tack shop did alterations on the strap and it works fine now. Love, love, love the reins! Recommend these to all my friends.SmartPak customer service is by far the best I have ever dealt with. They deserve praise for their excellent service!
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle Nice bridle. The bridle arrived with somewhat stiff leather that softened well with oiling. My only complaint is that the throat latch was too long on the OS bridle. I had to have it shortened 1 1/2 inches. The reins were lighter weight than I expected. The padding is very soft and the crown piece is a nice feature.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Dressage bridle This bridle fits my pony so well!!!! He loves it! It's very comfy, from what I see, and it looks nice too!!!! I love the no slip reins :)
    Date published: 2011-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome bridle for the $! Super quality am very pleased!
    Date published: 2011-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value Love the bridle. Well made and beautiful on my mare. Be aware when ordering - it runs a little small. My mare is normally a cob but in this bridle had to move up to horse size.
    Date published: 2014-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality! I was very pleased when I opened up my new bridle and reins! I was very happy with the padding and the leather was of high quality and already soft (still better safe than sorry to oil before you ride!) I was also pleased that the bridle came with a plain cavesson as well...always great to have options. The only thing I was bummed about was the size of the noseband...it was too small for my guy. If your horse is in between a Cob and a Full, go with the full size. I am returning my Cob sized to get a Full and can't wait for it to get here! Would definitely recommend.
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good fit Bought the Oversized bridle for my mule because I needed to use a caveson with her. It fits her better than her mule bridle but I can see where horse owners might have to punch extra holes. Not as heavy a leather as the western headstalls I am used to, but it seems to be holding up okay. I like the padding on the crown and the noseband.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was looking for a black flash bridle with a padded crown, and this fit the bill for a fantastic price. The leather required a few coats of oil to soften up (not up to par with $200+ bridles, but that's to be expected). Fits my medium-sized TB very well (the horse/full size). Looking forward to it lasting a very long time. We'll see!
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I hoped... I purchased this bridle as I needed a black schooling bridle to match my new dressage saddle. The padding is soft, the leather is decent, but the fit is terrible. I ordered a cob size for my mare who has several bridles and halters in cob size, and some of those items even needed to be made smaller. This cob sized smartpak bridle is so small (in the cheekpieces) that there is no way I could use it. I will be returning this item and not ordering the horse size as I fear it will be too big everywhere else for my delicate mare. Pity.
    Date published: 2011-07-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice features for the price! Nicely padded at the poll and noseband. Rubber reins are nice thickness for smaller hands.
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pleasantly surprised Much higher quality than bridle I paid twice as much for in my local tack store
    Date published: 2011-06-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I recently purchased this bridle and I'm glad I did. It's great for schooling and nice enough for showing so I don't have to worry about buying an overpriced show bridle. My mare outgrew her old bridle and the crown was pushing against the base of her ears. I chose the Harwich padded dressage bridle because of the padded crown which wouldn't hurt her ears. I also like the fact the caveson goes over the the crown rather than under like so many other bridles. These are features I saw in bridles at least twice the cost of the Harwich. The leather is a bit stiff but nothing a few coats of oil wouldn't fix. I don't know about the durability since this is a recent purchase. My only gripe is the throatlatch is too long and I will have to take the bridle to a professional to get it shortened.
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle at a great price I am so impressed by this bridle. Supple leather, beautiful craftsmanship, great fit and super affordable. The O/S fit my big-boned 17.2h warmblood great, with room to adjust it bigger and smaller. This bridle is perfect for schooling, but even attractive enough for the show ring. Even the rubber grip reins are impressive.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Second purchase of same bridle Great Bridle for price and quality. Our second bridle purchased would definitely recommend it to friends.
    Date published: 2011-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft! Soft leather right out of the box. Great for schooling, and beautiful enough to clean up and show in. Good price, all the features of much higher priced bridles! Buy with confidence that even the economy priced offerings at SmartPak are great!
    Date published: 2011-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle at a great price! Wonderful bridle at a great price! Great quality leather with a sleek and stylish design. Looks amazing on my mare. I love this bridle and recommend it to everyone. Great fo schooling but would also be fancy enough for the show ring!
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Bridle for the Price I bought this bridle in Cob size for a rather difficult to fit gelding. He's got a shorter head, so the cob-sized bridle fit him very well. The only issue I've had with fit was the caveson being a bit on the small side overall - however, it is winter so he's a little hairy, and he's a difficult size in general. The quality is great: nice soft padding and supple leather straight out of the package. I think it will definitely benefit from being conditioned a few times, but what bridle doesn't? I was thinking I'd have to get a show bridle as well, but this one is nice enough and sturdy enough to do double duty!
    Date published: 2011-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Impressed with Leather Quality Just received this bridle about a week ago and I absolutely love it! Right out of the box the leather felt soft and supple. My horse wears between a cob and a horse. After reading many reviews about the bridle running a bit on the larger size I decided to buy the cob. It fits perfectly!!! I would definitely recommend this bridle to anyone on a budget.
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good value I was worried about buying any leather product unseen and untouched. This bridle is a decent quality for a very good price. I bought a cob size for my small quarter horse and it fits well. Big plus...it looks great !!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent value for the price Due to injuries, my horse is changing his career from jumping to dressage. Not knowing the dressage culture yet and the associated preferences with regard to tack, and not knowing for sure how my horse would hold up, after his injuries, to dressage, I felt it unwise to invest in an expensive bridle at this point. The description and reviews of this bridle were attractive, and the price fit well with my needs for a training bridle to start a new discipline.The bridle is soft, padded, supple, well made, was not stiff at all after initial oiling, did not leave stains and the reins are rubberized which helps with grip.I recommend this bridle without reservation to anyone with similar needs for a quality schooling bridle. I can always get a high end show bridle down the road when I figure out if my horse will stay sound and what is regarded as a bridle well worth putting serious money into. Additionally, my horse is a big warmblood with a fairly big head, and I have tried oversize on him and it's usually too big, while a horse size is too small usually in the throat latch. Based on the reviews, I went with a horse size, and it fits fine, except that he's on the last or next to last hole most places on the bridle, but they tend to stretch somewhat over time.
    Date published: 2012-11-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the price! This is a quality bridle, esp. for the price. I do think it runs a little on the small side. I am having to send mine back and order the oversize for my warmblood cross. He normally wears a full, but not in this one. I would highly recommend this bridle if you are looking for good quality at a decent price.
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.