Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17215
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Crafted in rich Hazelnut leather with dark brown padding on the crown, noseband and browband.  Fancy stitch ¾” completely padded noseband and ½” padded brow band.  5/8” cheeks with hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with roller buckle on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” raised fancy stitched laced reins.

Size: Cob, Full, O/S

Color: Brown  w/ Dark Brown Padding

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.75 out of 5 by 204.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle, Great Price This is a great bridle! My 17.1 hh Belgian Warmblood gelding fit the Full size perfectly, so it runs a tad bit big. The leather is a nice quality and I love the padding on the noseband and crownpiece. I've had several people around the barn compliment it and it has done very well with me using it both everyday and at shows. It broke in super quickly with just Horseman's One Step before and after riding for about a week. The throatlatch is still a little stiff to put into the second keeper, but nothing too terrible! This is a fantastic bridle for a steal!
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Took some adjustment Thsi bridle is gorgeous right out of the box. The leather is dark and supple and only required one oiling. I did have some trouble putting it together with the cavesson strap going over the crownpiece as opposed to under it. I had to look at the picture in the catalog to see what to do. The holes the cavesson strap are a little small and it took a good bit of poking, picking and wiggling to get the end of the strap through the hole. You'll want to make sure the cavesson is even on both sides BEFORE you put it on your horse as it is not easy to adjust. I'm concerned that as the leather softens with wear, it may become more difficult to poke that bit of leather through the holes in the crownpiece. Overall, it looks great on my big Appendix and broke in right away.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality!! I was very impressed with the quality of this bridle for the cost. It was equally soft right out of the package as a more expensive bridle I own. Can't wait to see how it feels after a few coats of oil.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gimmick I just finished putting the bridle together which because of the holes for the nose band was very difficult and required the first hole to be stretched and a pair of needle nose pliers. I didn't understand what was so helpful about the crown or really what was so different until I had the bridle in my hands. IT is a normal bridle but with two holes punched in the crown for the nose bands little strap to run over the top instead of under. Not impressed and do not feel it was really worth doing or having. Note I have not tried it on my horse yet but it doesn't really seem worth it. Also because of this nice little adjustment you also cannot have it laser engraved which I found somewhat upsetting. There is plenty of room for it. All in all the quality is amazing and looks like a bridle costing several hundred more. I love the look in spite of the silly little holes that prompted me to purchase it in the first place. Like most owners I will do anything to make my horse more comfortable. This feels like a gimmick.
    Date published: 2013-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome!! I bought this bridle to use on my lease horse - the leather is already very supple with only two applications of Lexol conditioner. The throatlatch seems very long but the rest of the bridle seems to fit pretty normally. Well worth the money, everyone at my barn loves it!
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bridle! I am obsessed with this bridle!!! The leather is of great quality and the crown piece is so convenient. This bridle looks fancy and very expensive despite its reasonable price. The color is a beautiful brown with very soft padding, I have been very happy with this bridle!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle! I bought this bridle for my Thoroughbred after I noticed one of the other girls at my barn had it. I had my eye on it before seeing it in person, but once I felt it and saw it on a horse I had to have it. I was a little concerned with the color tho, because it came a lighter brown, but after a few oilings it darkened right up and looks great on my boy! It's also really supple right out of the box and gets even better with some oil/ conditioner. This is an awesome bridle for the price!
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! My old show bridle was beginning to show a lot of wear and I decided to retire it for schooling and get myself a new show bridle. I didn't want to spend a ton of money on one because I had just purchased a new custom saddle. This one had good reviews so I decided to give it a shot, and I'm so glad I did! It looks beautiful and you would never know it was only $150 by looking at it. Definitely comparable to more expensive bridles. Yes, the leather is a little bit stiff when it first arrived. But I conditioned it with Effax Lederbalsam and it softened up beautifully. Now the leather is soft and supple and looks amazing. It's cheap enough that I can buy a separate one for my other horse so I don't have to worry about readjusting it to fit him or changing out bits. The color is great as well and the dark brown leather is in style right now and looks great on my bay horses. VERY happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2013-05-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle! I love this bridle! Leather is soft and supple even before oiling it. I've been putting up with the same old ratty looking bridle for 13 years because I HATE breaking in new reins. Does run a little large, I ordered full size for my thoroughbred gelding and the throatlatch is extremely long, will have my local saddle shop shorten it by a few inches. I'm considering buying a second one for my daughter's horse- will probably try the cob size.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle Great Price I was looking for a replacement show bridle since my very nice Jaguar bridle was too small for my current horse. I, unfortunately, could not afford another Jaguar bridle, so I took a chance on this one. It has everything I was looking for and looks amazing for the price! The leather oiled up very quickly and I love the quality and the raised reins! Great bridle and I cant wait to get in the show ring with it!
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE- I bought this bridle about a year ago for my warmblood with more of a refined head- I bought a full at the time. It was a bit too roomy, the throat latch was MASSIVE- and even with being on the top hole- could have used a good 5 more to go up on....but the leather softens up nice and I really do love the bridle itself.This past week I ordered the same bridle (so I could have one schooling and one show bridle)....I opted to order the cob size hoping it would fit just right...it fits...and will probably stretch a little bit with wear...but I did have to punch some holes further down on the noseband as it was lying a bit too high on his head. Throat latch fit much better in the cob :)
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good first choice Was looking for a good first bridle for a new horse. Needed reliability but didn't want to invest in a more expensive bridle until I determined what the best bridle would be for her. This one looks great and we get compliments on how well is works and looks. Matching attachments a plus
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Supple, Long-Lasting, and Priced Right I love this bridle. I cannot say enough good things about it. I am headed into my 3rd show season and this bridle has continued to look amazing with quite honestly very little care. I use Effax Combi and Passier Lederbalsam every couple of months on it. I always get compliments. Great bridle. I couldn't be happier with my purchase three years later. I need a new show bridle for my new horse, and believe I will be purchasing my second one.
    Date published: 2013-03-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle I love, love, love this bridle! It is so soft and fits so well. I wish I would have found this bridle years ago!
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, Comfy Bridle! I would recommend this bridle to everyone! But you have to put it together yourself but other than that its a great bridle!!
    Date published: 2013-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A steal for the price Good bridle. I originally bought it as a schooling bridle but it works great at shows as well! I get compliments on the uniqueness of the crown, and how it looks more expensive than it actually is.I only needed to oil it once, and it's very easy to clean; it only takes me about five minutes to wipe it down after every ride! I love the padding, and I never have to fumble with two crown pieces anymore (its amazing); the design of the crown actually keeps the noseband in place as well, so no more readjusting all the time.The noseband does fit a little small. I ordered a cob size for my stocky large pony, and the noseband barely fits -- but i'd much rather have that than a bridle that I have to punch holes into.I was curious to find out if it really met up to the good reviews it received, and it does. You pretty much get more than your money's worth, so its a steal.
    Date published: 2013-03-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Bridle for the money Very nice bridle, fits perfect. I love the integrated browband and it cleans very easily. Great value for the money and would be fine for everyday use and showing. I disagree with other reviews stating that it was hard to adjust, I actually like the fact that I am not constantly moving the browband back into position!
    Date published: 2013-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of the prettiest bridles around I was in the market for a bridle to match my saddle and came across this bridle. The leather is a lovely reddish brown that went well with my oakbark saddle (Thornhill 24K). I have two warmbloods that are somewhere between a horse and an oversize. I got the oversize and the bridle seems standard on the cheeckpiece but smaller on the noseband and throatlatch. I would say if your horse is between sizes, get the smaller one but they run pretty true to size. Overall, the color is handsome on my blood bay and the leather needs to be broken in but it is easily breaking in with wear.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS BRIDLE! I have loved this bridle since I first saw it! It was nice and supple leather right as we got it. It was not stiff at all! The quality of the leather is very nice, next to everyone else's bridles at my barn, it stands out the most! I love the amount of padding it has, the headstall is very padded, along with the nose band and the brow band! My trainer liked it so much that she bought her own for her horse! She also has no complaints! The dark brown looks very nice next to my dark bay/bay paint! No complaints, phenomenal bridle for the price!!! A must buy!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! Love, love, love this bridle! You can't beat the quality of this bridle for the price. The leather is nice and I really like how the bridle is padded. It darkened up beautifully with oiling and the leather got nice and soft right away. Looks just as nice as bridles twice the price!
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Chunky Cob I ordered this in cob for my 14.1 welsh/tb cross and it's a bit chunky for his head. The quality of the leather, for the price, is excellent but fit for his smaller head isn't great. The throat latch is really long, the crown piece pretty thick and I can't really get the brow band where I want it. It's a great bridle for the price but better suited for a horse I think.
    Date published: 2013-02-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Im in LOVE I have a barnmate who has the Plymouth bridle and I LOVED it. I opted for this because of the fancy reins, monocrown, and slightly wider nosband. Right out the bag the leather was beautiful and soft! I could hardly wait to oil it! Once oiled a few times and after I had rolled the leather a bit, it was amazingly supple. It was too cold to ride but I had to try it on my mare. The attention to detail was amazing. From the padded crown and chin, to the roller buckles and perfect stitching. It is comparable to other bridles that cost $X00's more! Looks beautiful and will be purchasing a second in the future. Thanks SmartPak :D
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My trainer thought it was a $600 Bridle! Absolutely the best bridle for the price.Actually,it's hard to believe what a gorgeous bridle this is regardless of price.
    Date published: 2013-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ridiculously Good Quality For Price I absolutely adore this bridle. The color is completely gorgeous - I love that it isn't that awful orange color. It was DEFINITELY worth the price. My 15h warmblood cross adores it, although the cob size was actually too small for him. The only part I don't like is how the noseband's keepers are stitched in. Then the rest of the strap just kinda hangs loose. Overall though, I love this bridle. It was worth every penny.
    Date published: 2013-01-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice for the Price! I LOVE this bridle, unfortunately the ends of the noseband were unfinished so I couldn't thread it over the top of the bridle like it's supposed to go. It would be appreciated if it was shipped pre-assembled! I have a $500 Antares bridle that looks almost identical to this bridle and with oil it is just as supple! Also seems to be a color that matches well with almost any standard "brown" color of bridle accessory.
    Date published: 2013-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality for the price! I got this bridle for my new TB expecting to use it for a schooling bridle only, but once I got it I use it for shows also! It is so fancy for the show ring! People come up to me asking where I get this bridle all the time, thinking that it is really expensive. The leather is a gorgeous color, and made of great quality stuff! I had this for almost a year and it still looks brand new! This is my all time favorite product from smartpak and will definitely buy it again!
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny! So happy with the quality and appearance of this bridle. It has really nice padding and the leather is soft right from the start. We've been using it for over a month now for schooling with no complaints whatsoever. My trainer wanted me to buy the $300 name brand bridle but she absolutely loves this one and she is REALLY picky. This bridle cleans up nicely and I will be able to use it for shows also so no second purchase is needed saving even more money! Would definitely recommend this bridle!
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nicer than my more expensive bridle! This bridle is beautiful. It is a lot nicer than I expected it to be, and is supple right out of the package. It runs a little lage, but that is perfect for my mare who is always between cob and full size. I'm very happy with this bridle, and I expect that it wall last for a long time since it looks very well made.
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the Price I actually ordered this bridle and the Harwich Eventer Bridle by SmartPak at the same time because on the website they both looked so good! I was certain that seeing them side by side would make my decision easier, but actually it made it that much harder! In the end, I went with the Eventer Bridle and am returning this one, but I'll tell you what I thought of it. First of all, the leather quality is great, and the leather is soft and supple immediately. The only slightly stiff piece is the noseband strap going over the poll, but I'm sure that would soften with time. I love the padding under the chin and on the nose and crown, but the padding on my browband was slightly skimpy and didn't feel too different from an unpadded brow. I also love the generous number of holes each strap has, but be wary of the throatlatch - it and the throatlatch of my Eventer Bridle appear the same length, and they're VERY long! I had to put in knot in my Cob size for it to not droop so low that it was almost touching my pony's noseband, but other than that the bridle fit her great with a few more holes to tighten so I don't know what's up with that. And, the reins on this bridle are lovely. My father, who knows nothing about horses or tack, even commented that the reins looked very nice. Though the real deciding factor was the color, which is totally personal preference. I just preferred the Eventer Bridle's brown over this bridle's hazelnut. But overall, great bridle, and if I only did hunter/equitation I would definitely have kept this one!My only recommendation for this product is to offer two colors: hazelnut and the Eventer Bridle's brown! :)
    Date published: 2012-12-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Saw at Equine Affaire - NICE! I saw this bridle at the Equine Affaire this year, and I was quite impressed!! It was hanging up with Smartpaks other, more expensive bridle.. and I honestly could not tell the difference between the leather... It was right up there with the 200-300 dollar bridles.You definitely won't be disappointed with the purchase of this bridle!
    Date published: 2012-11-09
    • 2015-03-05T07:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_190
    • loc_en_US, sid_7215, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.