Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17215

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Harwich Bridles are crafted in durable imported leather that’s vegetable tanned.  With an innovative padded crown design that allows the caveson strap to pass over the crown to alleviate pressure on the sensitive poll area.  Superb craftsmanship is reflected in the fine details and stainless steel hardware.  An excellent value. Available exclusively at SmartPak.

Crafted in rich Hazelnut leather with dark brown padding on the crown, noseband and browband.  Fancy stitch ¾” completely padded noseband and ½” padded brow band.  5/8” cheeks with hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with roller buckle on caveson.  Complete with 5/8” raised fancy stitched laced reins.

Size: Cob, Full, O/S

Color: Brown  w/ Dark Brown Padding

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Harwich Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.7935 out of 5 by 184.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Show quality! Bought this bridle about 5 months ago and it has held up perfect! Works for everyday use and cleans up well for the show ring. The color has a rich auburn tint which makes it stand out and doesn't look bland dark brown 
    Date published: 2013-12-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from started out great but.... I bought this bridle about 2 years ago; it came out of the box pretty soft and even better after oiling.  However, despite regular cleaning and conditioning, it has taken on a "sticky" feeling which is impossible to remove despite many efforts with many cleaning agents.  I'm not sure what caused this to happen (over oiling it initially?)  but nevertheless the Plymouth Padded Fancy Stitch Bridle I purchased last year for half the price is as supple as can be and held up as well.  I'm thinking of replacing this one with another Plymouth even though it doesn't have the built in crown piece; my horse is not offended by the dual straps over his crown.
    Date published: 2014-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it!!!!!! I bought this for my first horse that I just bought almost two months ago, an untrained 6 year old draft cross. I wanted the best bridle i could get, but since I bought him all by myself, i needed a good price! This bridle is AMAZING. It was so soft right out of the box. Everyone at my barn compliments it and it looks great on my horse. I bought the oversize size, which fits perfect with room to either go bigger or smaller! My horse is 17.1 with a big head, so if you have a large horse the oversize will probably fit fine. Overall its a great bridle for a great price, and I would definitely either get this again, or other Harwich products. 
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle for the price Very nice bridle . Love the reins. Only drawback is the way the noseband is attached to the bridle is a real pain to adjust. It looks fancy but not very user friendly
    Date published: 2013-10-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase I was hesitant to buy a Smart Pak brand bridle, since I am so picky about my leather and its quality. I am also an older rider who really likes the traditional brands like Crosby, Bates, and Pessoa, and still this bridle impressed me. Out of the box this bridle was flexible for a new bridle, meaning it was stiff from never being used, but supple and flexible as far as the leather is concerned. Additionally, my horse is only 15.1, but he has a big quarter horse head (think pitbull head, but on a horse), and the full size bridle fits him perfectly. I'd say the sizing runs about average. He also has a long head and the noseband placement still fit him well. The padding is also superb, and very soft. I did not comment on durability, since I just bought the bridle, but it seems like it will last a long time, and I ride 3-5 days a week, and through brush, not just in an arena.
    Date published: 2013-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I love this bridle! It fits perfectly on the horses I've used it on.
    Date published: 2013-09-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle This bridle is beautiful. Everyone in my barn loves it and wants one too (one of the trainers borrowed it for another horse at a show). It fits great and the leather was soft--only had to oil it once before using it.
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough start, great finish When I got the bridle out of the package, it was very soft and I was so excited! Putting it together was a whole other story! The slots that are precut to slide the strap through were way too small and I had to actually slice my brand new bridle up to get everything to fit! Since the tough start, I couldn't be happier. I've had it for about a year now, with constant soaping and oiling it is butter soft and a joy to use. I have a 16.3 HH OTTB with a very large head and it fits him perfectly!My only wish for would be the nose strap keepers are pretty close together and almost too small for the strap to fit through.All in all an amazing deal!
    Date published: 2013-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great bridle, but... I really liked the quality of this bridle! The leather was extremely soft and high quailty straight out of the box which was excellent. I also really liked the color. Unfortunately, my 17hh OTTB needed an O/S size due to the length of his face and when I adjusted everything, I discovered the bottom of the bridle had two keepers that were both sewed in and extremely close together so they did not contain the extra length on the strap. I was very disappointed, but it bothered me too much to keep it so I am returning it.
    Date published: 2013-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very beautiful, detailed bridle. This is a quality bridle with, beautiful detail & ample padding. It requires some oiling to soften, but it really is a nice, padded bridle, that fits well for a fair price.
    Date published: 2013-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I love this bridle! The leather feels fantastic, and it looks great on my horses. The noseband can be a pain to adjust, but it's well worth it. :)
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle! I just bought this bridle for my Morgan and I love it! I can't speak to the durability yet as I've only ridden in it a handful of times. The leather is lovely, the stitching is beautiful and my horse really seems more comfortable with all the padding and the mono crown design has really invited him to drop his head and flex at the poll. It seems to run a little small, but still adjusts to my geldings refined head. I found the reins to be too long, but thankfully Smartpak switched them out for a smaller size at no cost. Great purchase, absolutely recommend!
    Date published: 2014-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle, Great Price This is a great bridle! My 17.1 hh Belgian Warmblood gelding fit the Full size perfectly, so it runs a tad bit big. The leather is a nice quality and I love the padding on the noseband and crownpiece. I've had several people around the barn compliment it and it has done very well with me using it both everyday and at shows. It broke in super quickly with just Horseman's One Step before and after riding for about a week. The throatlatch is still a little stiff to put into the second keeper, but nothing too terrible! This is a fantastic bridle for a steal!
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Took some adjustment Thsi bridle is gorgeous right out of the box. The leather is dark and supple and only required one oiling. I did have some trouble putting it together with the cavesson strap going over the crownpiece as opposed to under it. I had to look at the picture in the catalog to see what to do. The holes the cavesson strap are a little small and it took a good bit of poking, picking and wiggling to get the end of the strap through the hole. You'll want to make sure the cavesson is even on both sides BEFORE you put it on your horse as it is not easy to adjust. I'm concerned that as the leather softens with wear, it may become more difficult to poke that bit of leather through the holes in the crownpiece. Overall, it looks great on my big Appendix and broke in right away.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality!! I was very impressed with the quality of this bridle for the cost. It was equally soft right out of the package as a more expensive bridle I own. Can't wait to see how it feels after a few coats of oil.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Gimmick I just finished putting the bridle together which because of the holes for the nose band was very difficult and required the first hole to be stretched and a pair of needle nose pliers. I didn't understand what was so helpful about the crown or really what was so different until I had the bridle in my hands. IT is a normal bridle but with two holes punched in the crown for the nose bands little strap to run over the top instead of under. Not impressed and do not feel it was really worth doing or having. Note I have not tried it on my horse yet but it doesn't really seem worth it. Also because of this nice little adjustment you also cannot have it laser engraved which I found somewhat upsetting. There is plenty of room for it. All in all the quality is amazing and looks like a bridle costing several hundred more. I love the look in spite of the silly little holes that prompted me to purchase it in the first place. Like most owners I will do anything to make my horse more comfortable. This feels like a gimmick.
    Date published: 2013-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from awesome!! I bought this bridle to use on my lease horse - the leather is already very supple with only two applications of Lexol conditioner. The throatlatch seems very long but the rest of the bridle seems to fit pretty normally. Well worth the money, everyone at my barn loves it!
    Date published: 2013-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Bridle! I am obsessed with this bridle!!! The leather is of great quality and the crown piece is so convenient. This bridle looks fancy and very expensive despite its reasonable price. The color is a beautiful brown with very soft padding, I have been very happy with this bridle!
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle! I bought this bridle for my Thoroughbred after I noticed one of the other girls at my barn had it. I had my eye on it before seeing it in person, but once I felt it and saw it on a horse I had to have it. I was a little concerned with the color tho, because it came a lighter brown, but after a few oilings it darkened right up and looks great on my boy! It's also really supple right out of the box and gets even better with some oil/ conditioner. This is an awesome bridle for the price!
    Date published: 2013-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle! My old show bridle was beginning to show a lot of wear and I decided to retire it for schooling and get myself a new show bridle. I didn't want to spend a ton of money on one because I had just purchased a new custom saddle. This one had good reviews so I decided to give it a shot, and I'm so glad I did! It looks beautiful and you would never know it was only $150 by looking at it. Definitely comparable to more expensive bridles. Yes, the leather is a little bit stiff when it first arrived. But I conditioned it with Effax Lederbalsam and it softened up beautifully. Now the leather is soft and supple and looks amazing. It's cheap enough that I can buy a separate one for my other horse so I don't have to worry about readjusting it to fit him or changing out bits. The color is great as well and the dark brown leather is in style right now and looks great on my bay horses. VERY happy with this purchase!
    Date published: 2013-05-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle! I love this bridle! Leather is soft and supple even before oiling it. I've been putting up with the same old ratty looking bridle for 13 years because I HATE breaking in new reins. Does run a little large, I ordered full size for my thoroughbred gelding and the throatlatch is extremely long, will have my local saddle shop shorten it by a few inches. I'm considering buying a second one for my daughter's horse- will probably try the cob size.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle Great Price I was looking for a replacement show bridle since my very nice Jaguar bridle was too small for my current horse. I, unfortunately, could not afford another Jaguar bridle, so I took a chance on this one. It has everything I was looking for and looks amazing for the price! The leather oiled up very quickly and I love the quality and the raised reins! Great bridle and I cant wait to get in the show ring with it!
    Date published: 2013-04-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from LOVE- I bought this bridle about a year ago for my warmblood with more of a refined head- I bought a full at the time. It was a bit too roomy, the throat latch was MASSIVE- and even with being on the top hole- could have used a good 5 more to go up on....but the leather softens up nice and I really do love the bridle itself.This past week I ordered the same bridle (so I could have one schooling and one show bridle)....I opted to order the cob size hoping it would fit just right...it fits...and will probably stretch a little bit with wear...but I did have to punch some holes further down on the noseband as it was lying a bit too high on his head. Throat latch fit much better in the cob :)
    Date published: 2013-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good first choice Was looking for a good first bridle for a new horse. Needed reliability but didn't want to invest in a more expensive bridle until I determined what the best bridle would be for her. This one looks great and we get compliments on how well is works and looks. Matching attachments a plus
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, Supple, Long-Lasting, and Priced Right I love this bridle. I cannot say enough good things about it. I am headed into my 3rd show season and this bridle has continued to look amazing with quite honestly very little care. I use Effax Combi and Passier Lederbalsam every couple of months on it. I always get compliments. Great bridle. I couldn't be happier with my purchase three years later. I need a new show bridle for my new horse, and believe I will be purchasing my second one.
    Date published: 2013-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle I love, love, love this bridle! It is so soft and fits so well. I wish I would have found this bridle years ago!
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great, Comfy Bridle! I would recommend this bridle to everyone! But you have to put it together yourself but other than that its a great bridle!!
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A steal for the price Good bridle. I originally bought it as a schooling bridle but it works great at shows as well! I get compliments on the uniqueness of the crown, and how it looks more expensive than it actually is.I only needed to oil it once, and it's very easy to clean; it only takes me about five minutes to wipe it down after every ride! I love the padding, and I never have to fumble with two crown pieces anymore (its amazing); the design of the crown actually keeps the noseband in place as well, so no more readjusting all the time.The noseband does fit a little small. I ordered a cob size for my stocky large pony, and the noseband barely fits -- but i'd much rather have that than a bridle that I have to punch holes into.I was curious to find out if it really met up to the good reviews it received, and it does. You pretty much get more than your money's worth, so its a steal.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.