Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17211
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value. Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range. Available exclusively at SmartPak. Beautifully crafted with a raised and soft padded 1" flash noseband and 3/4" browband.  A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use. Updated hook stud closures on 5/8” cheeks. Complete with 5/8" web reins with leather stops.
Size: Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Black with black padding

You Might Like
    out of 5
    98% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Plymouth Dressage Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.6667 out of 5 by 168.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality Bridle I bought this for my WB filly for her inspection. Good quality.
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice leather and quality bridle. Fit nicely on my horse and look great in the show ring!!
    Date published: 2014-09-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great bridle for the money Bought this for my daughter's pony and its a great looking bridle at a very reasonable price. Looks good and fits well.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! Soft leather, fits my horse great. I am very, very pleased with this bridle for its price point. We needed a bridle with a flash noseband to help reschool a gelding who has been allowed to gap his mouth and evade the bit. This bridle fits him well, is very attractive and is nice enough to show in.
    Date published: 2014-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice low-budget bridle This is a nice bridle for the price. It was supple enough right from the beginning. There are a few slightly tacky/sticky spots (where pieces were joined together); but that has not gotten in the way of use, and I assume the stickyness will go away over time.
    Date published: 2014-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for the Price Perfect fit. Perfect quality. I had no problems at all. My mare looks so adorable in it and finally looks like a proper eventer in her snazzy bridle. I get compliments on it all the time when I go to shows. I love this bridle and will buy another for my other horse very soon.
    Date published: 2014-07-06
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice for the Price I bought this bridle a couple of months ago and when I got it I oiled it right away but after I did it got a weird sticky goo on it and I cant get it off! the leather is separating on the noseband and I had to get a new browband completely. It is a nice leather though and I really like it for the price! Just be careful about oiling it!
    Date published: 2014-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent quality I bought this bridle last week for my pony and it was very impressed with the quality of the leather for this price point. Highly recommend!!
    Date published: 2014-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price! My Plymouth Dressage bridle arrived supple as if it didn't need to be oiled (I oiled it anyway). I got complements at the barn on how pretty it looked on my horse. Seems to be a great quality bridle for a good price!
    Date published: 2014-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value This is a lovely bridle for the price! The sizing is a little smaller than I would have initially thought, but seems to be fitting my fine-boned Arabian mare just fine. It is hard to find a nice dressage bridle without a thick noseband...this one is nice because it's not rail thin or huge, just right in the middle. The leather is really nice and I placed a "fancy" browband on mine, which makes the bridle look more expensive than it really is. So far, I have been very happy with this product and I'm thinking about purchasing a second one for my other horse.
    Date published: 2014-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic bridle for the price. I bought this bridle just over a month ago and I am very impressed. For the price the quality of this bridle is outstanding. Obviously it is not the highest quality leather for the price tag but the leather is soft and accepts oil. I am currently using this bridle to school/show my young horse and you cannot beat this price for the quality you receive. My only dislike are the reins, the material grabs and retains dust and hair and is hard to clean, a plain leather rein would be more suitable.I also had my bridle customized and the laser engraving is accurate and classy. Great product that I will invest in again.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice product, but sizing issues for draft cross I saw the great reviews of this bridle, loved the price, and wanted something for schooling, so I ordered the oversize (same as my others) for my draft cross. The leather was pretty soft right out of the box - I was impressed and hopeful. The nose band fit perfectly; however, the cheek pieces are too long. So I ordered a full size. This time the leather was stiff. The cheek pieces fit perfectly, but the two ends of the noseband just barely touch and don't have hope of buckling. I agree with other reviews on the nice leather and good quality for the price, but not if I have to put together parts from two. Sadly, they will both be going back.
    Date published: 2014-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather Love the leather but the throat latch tends to be very big.
    Date published: 2014-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift bridle This was a gift so I only examined it when the package was opened. The leather was supple and all the stitching looked even. It looked like a very nice bridle.
    Date published: 2014-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great value! Excellent choice for everyday training. Is a much better quality than similarly priced bridles plus you get to deal with the awesome folks at SmartPak!  
    Date published: 2014-01-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value The leather on this bridle felt nice and soft right out of the box. It looks and feels much better than I anticipated and I would rate it better than more expensive bridles I ordered in the past!
    Date published: 2013-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice soft leather, attractive bridle I just bought this last week, and am very pleased with the quality of the bridle for the price. While some of the reviewers said they didn't need to oil the bridle, my bridle had some incredibly soft leather, and some that was a little stiff, so I just oiled the whole thing. Not a big deal, because I expect to oil any new bridle anyway... It's obviously not a top quality German bridle, but I spent about 20% of what I would have spent on one of them - it's a great bridle for the price and I would have expected it to cost much more than it did.
    Date published: 2013-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect as a schooling bridle Bought this for a 15.2 hand quarter horse gelding I'm leasing, and it fits him perfectly. It was my first time buying/putting together a bridle but it was a very easy process (: The leather was soft and smooth, and seems durable. I bent it in my hands after conditioning it to soften up the leather before I used it on him! I am also a fan of the web reins- thought I wouldn't like it, but it serves it's purpose just fine. All in all, a great deal for what seems to be a quality, handsome bridle!
    Date published: 2013-11-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle Bought this bridle for my WB and he loves it! He used to get sores from bridles that weren't supple enough but this one is the exact opposite!
    Date published: 2013-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving It! This is really more than I expected for the price. Quite supple leather which grows even softer with conditioning and use. It's fitted itself to my horse's face very well after just a few weeks of wearing it. Nice rich black (which does rub off a little bit with the first cleaning, but you can't tell to look at it) with a few details that make it look high quality. Everyone's remarked that it must have been expensive, and they're surprised when I say it was actually pretty reasonable.The only thing I'm a less than thrilled with are the web reins, which were stiff and unpleasant-feeling to start with. They're getting better though. I'm going to give them a chance for a few months.After reading that the cob size seems to run small--particularly for the cavesson-- I bought the horse size for my average-size QH (who does not have a particularly delicate head) and I've had to put it on the second-to-last-tightest holes. It's not a problem and suits her fine, but I think the horse size would easily fit a pretty big horse.It's a smart looking bridle with a nice price tag, and I'm really pleased I got it.
    Date published: 2013-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beautiful bridle supple AMAZING BUY!! I ordered this bridle for my warmblood to have a training bridle to leave at the barn. WOW was i amazed at the quality!! right out of the bag it was very supple and butter soft. honestly i can't imagine spending 200 on a bridle when you can buy this brand. Its lovely and i would show in it in a heartbeat. Its held up well and i can't see myself buying another brand. Another home run from smart packs!!
    Date published: 2013-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bridle I was looking for a good schooling bridle for my two thoroughbreds one who is very large gelding and the other a very petite cob mare. I ordered first for my gelding and it fits him perfectly! It looks great and is very soft out of the box, he really seems to prefer it over his old bridle and it has long enough reigns so I'm not holding them at the buckle. It has been very durable so far and gets daily use, I wipe it down after each use and clean and condition it once a week but have had no need to oil it so far. I loved it so much I just ordered another one for my mare after having ordered and returned an HDR that was more expensive, was ill fitting, and felt cheap compared to this one. I love the soft padding and quality of the workmanship and will definitely be ordering moe smartpak products in the future.
    Date published: 2013-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Value Bridle I bought this bridle to school in, however, I now show in it too. The leather is so soft and flexible, there was no break in time needed. It looks super on the horse too! I cannot say anything about longevity, as I have not owned it long enough. I certainly would purchase another one though.
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice bridle I have bought two hunt bridles in this brand, and now the dressage bridle. The price is right, and quality is good. The one negative I can complain about is the web reins. I hate web reins. The hunt bridles have laced leather reins, I don't know why they didn't include leather reins with the dressage bridle?? Overall, a good buy.
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle, sizing off... This bridle is absolutely beautiful for the price. The leather seems to be of a slightly above average quality, which is great for the low price.My only complaint, the ONLY reason it did not get five stars, is the sizing. My TB mare is always on the tightest settings in horse size bridles. Many times I can't get the cheek pieces tight enough to get it where she likes it.So, I went with a cob in the bridle and it is just slightly too small. The cheek pieces are perfect on the loosest setting and the throat latch is fine, but the noseband won't even fasten right now. It sits too high, which is the main problem. Luckily, there is plenty of room to punch holes to make the noseband sit lower and enough room for one more hole to make the noseband looser.Overall, I am happy. Like I said, the bridle is beautiful and I recommend it, just be careful with the sizing.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great quality, funny sizing I was looking for a basic everyday bridle for trail riding to save my good dressage one from the rain and sweat of everyday use. It is soft and usable right out of the bag (although I will oil it before it goes into use). The sizes are a bit funny. My 17.2h warmblood with a big long head was too small for the oversize (bridle just fit on the shortest holes of the cheekpieces but as they usually stretch over time I went one size down), so I changed it for the horse size. This works well in the length, but I would prefer if the browband was a little bit longer as not to squish the base of the ears. If I can't stretch it I will have to get a longer browband sometime in the future. Can't comment on fit of noseband as I am not planning on using one for trail riding and so I didn't unpack it. Can't comment on durability as I only just unpacked and fitted it today.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best bridle for the money I got this bridle for the retired racehorse I just adopted because I wanted something cheap for training. However, I am very impressed with the quality. Unlike some of the other reviews, I found it to be so supple out of the bag that I opened it up and used it on my horse immediately! Other reviewers are correct in that the noseband pieces in the cob size are small. I bought the cob for my TB and it fits perfectly except for the noseband pieces are on the first hole. Not really a big deal, but something to keep in mind. I will continue to use this bridle as long as it hold up
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! There is nothing I don't like about this bridle. I have tried others but none really fitted. This bridle seems to be made just for him. I am very happy and so is my pony!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Deal! I have purchased a previous Plymouth Bridle and was pleased with it so I knew what I wanted when I was searching for my Dressage Bridle. The leather is supple rite out of the bag and is easy to adjust. It fit's my TB perfect and looks great on him! Plus how can you beat the price!
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love the quality! Bought the cob size for my15.2 Arabian, fits well all round. The throat latch is a bit big. Love that it's nice and supple. Packaged nicely, came disassembled, each piece in its own plastic wrapper. Do wish I had bought the next one up, but they increased their price on it right after I bought this one.
    Date published: 2013-05-25
    • 2015-03-02T07:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_161
    • loc_en_US, sid_7211, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.