Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Plymouth Raised Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak

SmartPak
- Item #17210

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 

Fancy stitch bridle with excellent detail at an unbeatable price.  Traditional styling with delicate fancy stitching on ½” brow and crown (except O/S which is 5/8").  Hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 5/8” cheeks.  Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins.
Size:  Pony, Cob, Full, O/S
Color: Brown

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Plymouth Raised Fancy Stitch Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.5319 out of 5 by 47.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very durable! I was very pleased with the quality of this purchase. The leather is excellent, especially for the price. I got O/S, because my horse has a big head, and I can definitely say it would fit even a much larger head!
    Date published: 2013-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product for the price This is a great little bridle. It looks like a much more expensive bridle than it is and the leather isn't stiff like I was expecting. I've only had it a couple weeks so I can't speak for it's durability but as a schooling bridle it's an excellent value.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bridle for the price I bought the pony size for my small pony mare. It seemed a bit big on her but she has a very petite refined head. The leather is of decent enough quality for schooling or a small local show. Definitely oil it before use.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not pleased!! I bought this bridle as it fit in my low budget and because of the color. I looked as several other bridles, but the color matched my saddle perfectly and I'd only heard great things about this bridle. The color does NOT match the picture! I'm SO dissapointed in this bridle! The pictures make this look like it is a chestnut color that would beautifully complement my light saddle. The bridle came an it is DARK chocolate color! I hadn't even oiled it yet! If you want a light bridle DO NOT buy this! I cannot comment on the leather quality or durability. I barely took it out of the package I was so dissapointed in the color. Sending this back as it will totally clash with my saddle!
    Date published: 2012-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the price I bought this bridle for my medium pony and am really pleased with the quality of the leather. Much nicer quality than other bridles in this price range. I've used it about a dozen times after only oiling it once and the leather is supple. The browband and throatlatch run large, so it may not be the best fit for a smaller pony.
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Bridle! I just received this bridle today, and I am very pleased! It is a gorgeous brown color. The non raised parts are quite supple already, and there are no scuffs! I was wondering, however, if this has a wax coat that will need to be removed?
    Date published: 2012-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! I would absolutely 100% recommend this bridle! Great leather (not too high of quality, but great for the price) with beautiful stitching and hardware! I just got it and it oiled up beautifully to a nice oakbark (dark brown) color that looks great! I can't comment on durability as I just got it, but it looks very sturdy yet not bulky. I will be using this bridle on many different horses while in college so I needed something cheap, but wanted to fit in at a big hunter barn. It definitely looks like it's worth way more than $50! So pleased! Will definitely order again in the future!
    Date published: 2012-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks small but fits well I recently bought this bridle for my mare to be an every day bridle as well as a show bridle for smaller shows and so far so good. As I was assembling it I noticed that it looked small and wondered if it would fit her. She has a standard horse sized head so I ordered the horse size. It fits well even though it looked small. I am very happy with this bridle. I did not need to use oil to make it ready to be used though I do plan to oil it before shows to make it look even better.
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT FIT GREAT FITTING BRIDLE ON A PRETTY PONY. ORDERING FULL SIZE FOR MY HORSE
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A pretty good bridle I have just recently gotten this bridle so I dont know about Durability but it works well. I bought Oil with it because some reviews had said it was stiff but mine wasnt. I will probablly oil the reins which seem like the only stiff part. I use this bridle every day and so far so good.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle Bought this for new TB's that have finer heads than our other horses. After reading reviews i ordered the Horse size thinking it ran a bit small. Nope, if anything I thought it was a bit large for a Horse size. We have a Pinto with a giant head - fills up the average Horse size everything: bridle, halter and i am two holes down from the top on the cheeks and centered on the caveson. He has to have a 16" browband and this fits him well. I was happy with the quality and suppleness, no plans to oil it anytime soon. Keeping this one for the Pinto, he was shown in a local Medal class in it and looked just fine. Reins on the horse size are a bit thick for my taste, remind me of reins on foxhunting bridles. My hand is a glove size 7 and they feel a little bulky to me and also my daughter who has slightly smaller hands. Stitching is nice and I compared to a Bobby's bridle in local tack shop and stitch count looks the same. Keepers are not miserably tight either - as long as they don't stretch I will be happy. Ordering a cob size for the TB's and hoping the reins will be thinner.
    Date published: 2012-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Looks like my expensive Bridle This is a nice bridle. My trainer was impressed and she is picky. She was amazed when I explained the price. I bought this as a schooling bridle but I think it can double as another show bridle. It came out of the package stiff (of course) but softened up with use and cleaning.
    Date published: 2012-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Bridle Really nice bridle, especially for the price.It was soft out of the box, it has stayed nice through schooling and minimal showing. That is right, I have used this bridle at local shows, and it fits in wonderfully.Can't say anything bad about this purchase.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think this is a decent bridle for the show. The only issue I have seen with it is how thin the leather is and it stretches very easy.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! I purchased this bridle as my old bridles are all falling apart; the fancy stitch nosebands have been broken, the reins are coming unlaced or have been broken, etc. Decided to try this out as the reviews were so positive on it instead of spending as much or more and only getting the noseband or reins. I was not at all disappointed! Very similar to the Bobby's English Tack Brand even though the leather for this is made in India. Like it better than any other cheap bridle I have seen and I wouldn't even hesitate to take my sales horse babies to the shows in it. you really can't tell the difference on between the more expensive bridles. Does need oiling at first to get it softer. But totally worth the price!
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Plymouth Bridle I am very pleased with my purchase of this bridle! You can't beat this for the price. The quality of the leather goes far beyond what I had expected. The reins are supple right out of the package and the bridle itself has very good quality hardware. Great for schooling or shows.
    Date published: 2012-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for the money! I have been very happy with this bridle. I bought it for my daughter's pony in July of 2011 and it has held up well. I did have to get a cob to fit her--the pony size was very small and would fit only an extremely tiny head. The cob works on a big small pony and on a big medium.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value and Quality Overall this is a great bridle! Nice quality, and a great price, but just to get nit picky, the leather is stiff, but of course it will soften with use (it just takes some time) and some of the dye comes off- I have noticed only behind the ears; Now this wouldn't be that big of a problem if you have a darker horse, or even a chestnut, as opposed to my flea bitten grey, but after about a month or so, I don't see anymore color coming off. Overall great bridle,and the best quality I have seen for this price.
    Date published: 2012-01-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for price Got this as an early Christmas present. Have had the same no-name bridle for the past 5 years so was time for a new one. Chose this one because of the great reviews and because of Smartpak's customer service. I wasn't QUITE as pleased as I thought I would be with the reviews that were given, however it WAS what I expected for the price. The leather is pretty good, still a bit stiff but no cracking or anything. One thing I liked about it was that it was easy to buckle and the leather ends actually fit through the loops. I had a new bridle once that was impossible to buckle. It oiled up nicely and is still a bit stiff, but softness comes with use. Fits well, can't comment on durability as I've only used it once so far. One thing I don't necessarily like is "Plymouth" stamped out on the crown piece, it's not that big of a deal, but I'd rather it be more discreet.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprising for price Like other reviewers, I was impressed with the quality of this extremely reasonably priced bridle. The stitching was good and the leather took about a month with frequent oiling to become supple. The sizing is a little strange- knowing that other reviewers had said that theirs' were small, and that my horse was maxing out my horse (generously sized, I was told) Edgewood, I ordered an oversize. He's in almost the smallest hole all around in this bridle so I really hope there isn't much stretching.
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bridle for price. I purchased this bridle based on the reviews, and I'm very happy with the quality.Leather is nice and supple and stitching neat.Looks like a $200.00 bridle without the price tag.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Worth It For the price of this bridle it was better quality then I expected. Very well made, and for the price I was expecting something really stiff that I would have to oil, but it was not it was soft. Fits my stocky QH perfect.
    Date published: 2011-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I purchased this for my daughters new pony and was really surprised at the great quality, supple leather and fit. Fit her medium pony perfectly and we didnt even need to oil it to make it soft. I plan on buying one for my horse! Would definately recommend this bridle.
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very pretty! This looks very pretty on my Quarter/Draft X. He has a larger face and a roman nose and this bridle makes him look more refined. The cheekstrap was long and I had more than enough room to buckle it. The fancy stitching darkened on the first oiling, but later lighted up so that it stands out. Nice bridle and a nice price.
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good quality, runs small. I bought this bridle for my small thoroughbred who has always worn cob sized bridles/halters. This bridle comes nice and soft and ready to ride in, and is good quality especially for the price but runs VERY small. I had to return it and am waiting for a horse size.
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful bridle Purchased this bridle almost a year ago now as a backup/schooling bridle. I had my doubts when I first ordered it; I'm really demanding on the quality of my leather tack, especially because I worked at a tack shop for a long time. Went for it because of all the rave reviews. It was beautiful right out of the box, and with a couple of oilings and a week of use, it was as soft as a bridle 3 times the price. The stitching is perfect. All the reviews on the Plymouth bridles are true! The cob size fit my 14.3 hand Quarter horse gelding perfectly, and it now fits my 15.3 hand TB/Warmblood cross as well; it's a true cob/small horse size. Love this bridle, and it has held up well to almost daily use. The more you use it, the better it looks and feels. Recommend it 100%. Thank you, Smartpak, for such a great product!
    Date published: 2011-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Exceptional quality for the price If I hadn't bought this bridle myself, I'd never guess it only cost about $50. The leather is very nice and oils well, and the stitching is even. I'm always a little horrified when I see more expensive tack with sloppy, uneven stitching. My only issue is that I'm using a cob size on a small-headed Quarter Horse, and he would be better off with a horse size browband and reins. Neither of these are major issues, however, and I wouldn't hesitate to buy this again.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle! My horse is currently on vacation so I have not actually used this bridle yet, but my initial impression is that it is a very nice bridle for the money. I rated it based on my initial observations and once it's been used for a while I'll re-evaluate. I previously bought the padded Hanover model, thinking the wider nosebad would help my horse's not-so-pretty head, but after using it I think it really doesn't do him any favors. So I'll keep the Hanover for everyday schooling and once this one is broken in a bit will keep the Plymouth for shows only. Initially, I'm very pleased at the quality for a low price.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Bridle for the Price I bought this as an inexpensive bridle to use at the occasional Hunter show where my eventer-esque figure-8s and flash nosebands would be out of place - and now I'm using it as a first bridle for my youngster. Overall a very nice bridle for the price - my only complaint is that the browband on the horse-size seems quite small...my TBs don't have particularly large heads, and the horse-size fits well everywhere except that the browband was too tight!
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT bridle Despite needing a bit of oiling, the product looks great and has held its own. The leather started to strip after I showed in the rain but it is barely noticeable. Would recommend this product as a schooling bridle rather than a show bridle for that reason.
    Date published: 2010-08-09
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.