Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle by SmartPak

Plymouth by SmartPak
- Item #17209

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).


Plymouth bridles are crafted in imported leather with fine details and stainless steel hardware at an unbeatable value.  Traditional styling and unprecedented quality in this price range.  Available exclusively at SmartPak. 

Unprecedented quality at this price.  A perfect schooling bridle designed for daily use.  Raised ½” caveson and browband (except O/S which is 5/8").  Traditional hook stud ends and stainless steel hardware with 5/8” cheeks. Complete with 5/8” plain laced reins.

Size: Pony, Cob, Full, O/S 
Color: Brown

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Plymouth Plain Raised Bridle by SmartPak is rated 4.5208 out of 5 by 48.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good bridle, excellent value! Just like the other reviews say, this is a great bridle for the money. Is it the nicest bridle I've ever seen? Of course not, but for the price it can't be beat.I bought this bridle in the pony size for a chunky POA I have. She is 13.3h and has a cute head that I've never tried to fit. The headstall was great (even with a very small ringed bit) and the browband fit well. The cavesson will need a hole or two punched in it to fit around her jaw however. Just some cleaning and oiling and it's ready to go. Very classy look.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needed for a new horse This bridle was better than expected for the cost. I have just started using the briddle so I don't yet know what the durability with be.
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great little bridle I bought this for my lesson pony because he stepped on his reins and broke them and it was cheaper to buy this bridle and reins than to buy replacement reins. WOW, was I pleasantly surprised! Great leather for this price point nice craftsmanship the leather is easy for little hands to work with( taking it apart, putting it back together and cleaning, using keepers and suck) which is really important to me for a lesson pony bridle and VERY hard to find in a bridle that is cost effective for young children who drop reins for ponies to step on;) to use on a daily basis. The throat latch is huge and the noseband is a tad large but fixable with a leather punch. I am using on a 12.2 welsh gelding.
    Date published: 2013-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever This is a quality product for the price. Would recommend this to everyone.
    Date published: 2013-04-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty, inexpensive bridle I needed a pretty, fine-featured bridle for occasional use showing. This bridle is a nice quality for the price and serves the purpose for which I bought it.
    Date published: 2013-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful, high quality bridle I was pleasantly surprised by the high quality of this bridle. The leather was already supple and well moisturized when I got it, and the color was perfect. I oiled it once before my show, and it fit my gelding well and looked lovely on him. I will be buying another one so that I don't have to switch bits between HUS and Equitation.
    Date published: 2013-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle! I bought this bridle after reading countless good reviews, however ordered a Cob as many reviews said the bridle runs huge!This bridle runs true to size as the cob was too small for a thoroughbred with a refined head. Since I bought it on sale I could not return it and so I had to sell it to a friend. I was very dissapointed but I will not hesitate to order another.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely a great basic bridle! I purchased this bridle for my one youngster who is just starting his training - I read previous reviews, and thought that this sounded like a nice, basic bridle for a reasonable price. I am very happy that I gave this bridle a chance! The leather quality is nice, and I did oil, clean & condition it after I received it & before putting it together. I think it could stand to be oiled again (but I don't like to over oil!). I like that the nose & brow bands have a very thin look to them - it makes the bridle have an elegant look when it is one. The fit is very nice - this is a very nice entry level bridle for the price range! I do own a Harwich bridle as well for my other young horse. I am very impressed with the quality of Smartpak bridles - I feel like the quality of the materials & workmanship is excellent, especially compared to other major name brands. I do plan on purchasing another Smartpak bridle in the future for my youngster that I'm starting in this Plymouth bridle right now. I definitely recommend this as an entry level or spare bridle.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value for second bridle I purchased the Plymouth as a second bridle to use with a more corrective bit for trail rides with my opinionated chestnut mare. I can keep the trail bit handy in this second bridle. Makes life a little easier.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Wonderful Value I bought this bridle for my Mustang, who can be a bit difficult to get a good fit for. It works wonderfully on him. Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful bridle for the price! Lovely bridle, especially for the price. This bridle is not only a great schooling bridle, I think it looks nice enough for the show ring as well.The leather was quite soft right from the box and is breaking in very easily and nicely.A horse size fit my 16.1 hand Canadian Warmblood mare perfectly.
    Date published: 2013-01-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very happy with this bridle This is my second review of this bridle... I liked the one for my horse enough that when they were on sale I picked up one for my daughter's pony. It's a smidge too large for her, but it is one TINY pony and nothing seems to fit her right. The first bridle we had for the pony had leather that quickly became thick and difficult for my daughter (6 years old) to handle with her tiny fingers, to the point where she always needed help fastening and unfastening the bridle. With the Plymouth the leather stays smooth and even so she is able to do everything by herself. She loves it so much more than the other bridle and our 'pony jockey' has also commented on how much nicer it is than her old one too.
    Date published: 2014-03-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing I was expecting this bridle to just be 'nice for the price'. But was happy to see that this is a bridle with true quality. The leather is so nice and the contrast stitching is beautiful. I found that this bridle runs true to size, many reviews said it ran large and on my fine thoroughbred the cob was too tiny. Despite the size issue I will never hesitate to buy a Plymouth again, they are the first line I will go to!
    Date published: 2012-12-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality for Price This is the second Plymouth Bridle I've purchased and I'm still amazed at the quality for the low price. You can't beat it!
    Date published: 2012-12-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great value I have two of these bridles that I use for everyday riding/schooling... They aren't top notice quality, but you'd never know unless you really looked at them. I've noticed a few flakey spots on my reins, but with a little oil it seems to help. My biggest complaint is that this bridle runs huge! I bought the OS because both of my horses have big ole heads, but the OS just doesnt fit right... The brow band is too big and I'm almost to the top hole everywhere. I still use it on my big guys cause I don't really care if the brow band looks goofy... I bought the Horse size and it fits the big guys just fine
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent There is a horse at my barn who uses this bridle. The leather is pretty soft and so far it has held up well. (It survived the summer camp.) It's a good, basic bridle for schooling.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Dye rubs off with only 2 uses I purchased this bridle a couple months ago and only used it twice before it just got too hot to ride. I took it out today to oil it again, since it's still new, and the dye is rubbing off on the insides of the reins and on a few other spots on the cavesson. The rub spots on the cavesson may be from using it with a chambon, though the same chambon has never rubbed any of my other bridles. If you're looking for a cheaper bridle that will hold up, I would look at Tekna. It looks like leather and is more durable and softer than this bridle.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bridle didn't work out, but great customer service Unfortunately one of the bridle hooks broke when I went to put the bit on this. It would be OK for schooling, good quality for basic Indian leather, but I wanted something more suitable for show.I was impressed at SmartPak's response, though. They were ready to send me a replacement right away AND let me keep this one for "spare parts". I'd found another bridle so I just returned it.
    Date published: 2012-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Soft! This bridle required some break in time however after riding with it three days a week for about six months it is now amazingly soft! After the first conditioning it softened right up and is even show ring worthy. I purchased the WB size for my 17hh Appy cross and the throat latch was too big. There was space to punch three more holes and now fits perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality. Nice bridle for the price. Self-assembly required!
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a great bridle! I wanted an English bridle that was not heavy; would fit my Haffie and match my Western saddle. (Yep, I like to mix & match.) The fit was excellent; the leather was soft which made putting it together a cinch and the price was perfect. Add to all those reasons, great customer service and a quick delivery and SmartPak rules! ODIE has his own blog where he reviewed his new bridle:odiethehaffiehorse.blogspot.com
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bridle I bought this bridle for my new warmblood. I am very happy with the look, fit, and quality.
    Date published: 2012-01-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Bridle I was very pleased by my recent purchase of this bridle, and the fit & overall look is great. The leather softens up easily (some dye initially rubbed off onto my hands, so if you have a grey horse it might be an issue when it's new) Overall very happy with the product for the price, cannot be beat!
    Date published: 2011-11-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Bridle This is a great bridle for the price! The leather is soft enough right away, and it fits my Thoroughbred well. The leather color looks great on him (dark bay) and I'm sure it would compliment other coat colors as well. No signs of wear and tear yet! The cavesson buckle is especially easy to undo, which is a plus.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Quality The quality of this bridle is amazing for the price. It is nicer than a more expensive "show" bridle I purchased and looks great on my mare. I can't comment on the durability yet since she's only worn it a couple of times. I highly recommend purchasing this bridle!!!
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value I bought this bridle based on the fabulous reviews it received for quality and value. I definitely agree with the value part and this bridle (cob size) fits my Arab's little head and looks great on him. I've gotten some compliments on how pretty it is, too!I've been a little bit disappointed with the quality of the leather, which has already gotten scuffed up and the reins have started to fray after just a few rides (and after being oiled). I don't think I'd be able to show in it, but it is a great training/schooling bridle for us to work in, regardless of season or weather conditions.
    Date published: 2011-01-25
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.