Product Image

DMG by SmartPak

SmartPak Equine
- Item #17177
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

DMG by SmartPak is an economical way to support your horse’s normal muscle function and recovery. DMG is a naturally occurring substance that may be beneficial for horses prone to muscle soreness and tying-up. DMG also serves as an antioxidant and helps support a healthy inflammatory response. This formula provides 1,500 mg of pure DMG (Dimethylglycine) blended with Rice Bran and Fenugreek. Your horse will love the taste as much as you’ll love the smell!

View our Muscle Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    DMG by SmartPak is rated 4.6562 out of 5 by 64.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thought this was worth a try after reading others reviews. It is. Have been using it for a few months now and there is a noticeable difference in how long I have to warm up my horse, so much faster to get lovely loose swinging horse. He is way more comfortable in his work too. Travelling used to make him stiff for a day or two, not any more.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great For PSSM When my pony was diagnosed with PSSM, I put him on the low-starch, high-fat diet that is recommended for the condition, but he was still tying up occasionally and took a really long time to warm up when riding. A friend suggested DMG, so I did some research and decided to try it. It was so inexpensive, it couldn't hurt to feed it for a month to see if it helped! I started seeing good results after about a month; my pony was no longer tying up and his warm-up time was decreasing. He came out loose, swinging, and ready to work rather than stiff and short-strided. He also LOVES the taste and licks his bucket clean when the DMG is in it! I would definitely recommend DMG to anyone who has a horse with muscle stiffness or soreness issues, for the price it's worth a try.
    Date published: 2014-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Results My jumper has always been naturally stiff, and needed a lengthy warm-up, after that he was perfectly limber and ready to work. He used to come out of the pasture for schooling stiff and almost sore looking. I felt awful for him and decided to see if SmartPak had anything to help him. After a month on DMG, I see the results I was hoping for! Oden comes out of the pasture or stall comfortable and ready to work, and our warmup doesnt take near as long. I havent seen any stiffness after just under a month of him being on DMG. If your horse has naturally stiff muscles, I SO reccomend DMG, you wont be disappointed.
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for my PSSM horse I have a PSSM horse that always has tight muscles even on the PSSM diet. She has been on DMG approx. 45 days. I had the Equine chiropractor out. The first thing she asked me was "did you change her supplements?" "Her muscles are not as tight as previous. I can use you more pressure to adjust her. She has never been able to have this much pressure before." I am sold on DMG. My mare will eat about anything so I really can't give the palatability a higher rating.
    Date published: 2013-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HUGE Difference!! I have a 5 yr old running bred mare that I barrel race on. She pulled a muscle and seemed to be having a hard time recovering from the injury. I began searching online for some type of supplement that might aid in her recovery. I decided to try DMG even though I had never heard of it. She's been on it now since the first of May. WOW! What a difference! She is firing harder than ever and not any soreness issues whatsoever! Now she's running to that first barrel with some serious purpose! In fact, a friend of mine that watched our last run said, "You better hurry up! She's waiting for you to catch up!" I plan to keep her on it indefinitely and I've already recommended it to several of my friends. Great product!
    Date published: 2014-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Seems to make a difference The Smart Pak customer service person recommended DMG because I feed Robaxin for my horse's back. She said there is no "proof" but it seemed to help her horse. Well my trainer noticed a difference within a week and when I took her for her monthly Chiro apt, the Vet said she was much better and was less locked up than usual. The vet did some research and could not see why it would have helped but she agree's it does. The mare is less cranky starting out each day--So it might work for someone else.
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product My Oldenburg gelding has been on DMG for about a month now and it has been great! He was having some stiffness in his hindend which has started to resolve itself since being on DMG and he is able to push off more from behind. Along with moving more comfortably he also feels more solid throughout his workouts. I'd say he must love it as well since he licks the feed bucket clean every morning!
    Date published: 2013-12-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great for muscle recovery I'm bringing a 17 year old horse out of retirement. Needless to say he needed some help in the muscle department. He has been on DMG for over a month now and his body and his stamina have definitely benefited from this supplement.
    Date published: 2013-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth the try I have been noticing that the joint supplements alone were not addressing some of the stiffness issues we were experiencing while foxhunting. Trying DMG seemed to not only help the horses perform during the hunt, but also seemed to mitigate some of the warm up time needed the next day, too. I liked the results so much, I put one of my horses on Smartmuscle Stamina, which includes DMG and other ingredients that seem to be the missing link for performance and comfort during long, strenuous rides. And the results were pretty immediate--within 2-3 days I was able to see good improvement.
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I just started feeding Smart DMG to my OTTB gelding. He has more energy and more stamina, witch is a good thing now that he is showing second level dressage and is schooling third level. He feels better and he is no longer stiff and warms up alot faster.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Not sure. I bought this for my gelding to see if it would help his occasional lameness and girthiness. I haven't noticed much difference after a month, except that he seems a little less sensitive to grooming on his back and isn't quite so fussy about girthing...I'll give it another month to see.
    Date published: 2013-05-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product and low price I have a 16.3 hh Swedish Warmblood who can very much be on the sluggish side. He is also at a point where are beginning to ask for more collection. To keep him from stalling out during our rides, I decided to give this product a try. It has helped to keep going even during our rides where we have high physical demands on his muscles.
    Date published: 2012-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really keeps my horse going during daily training Over the last several months, my horse had put on a lot of muscle and was able to perform a a greater level of collection. Even so, his stamina was lacking. So, our true work period each day was relatively short. Now, we can accomplish more each day.
    Date published: 2012-10-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works fast, well worth it! It worked in two days, is cheap, and my horse eats it...can't ask for much more! Thanks SmartPak! My mare was getting sore across the top of her haunches since we have been working on rounding up in the last few weeks. She was even touchy to the point of not wanting to be curried or hosed off, which is very unlike her. I decided to give this a try hoping it was just sore muscles, and boy was it worth it! I wasn't sure if she would eat it since I didn't care for the smell but she even ate without grain the first night. After the first two days, she was no longer touchy about her haunches even liked having her back curried...she must have been a little sore there before and I didn't even know it. This is a great supplement and I will keep her on it during conditioning and show season!
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Learning Experience This review may not seem typical, but since learning about DMG for my horse, I went to the health food store and bought it for myself. I wanted to see exactly what it does so I could better understand how it helped my horse. So based on my findings, and this is a personal-use opinion I realize, but I recommend it. Personally, I noticed improved mental clarity and I think more energy. The mental clarity is what I noticed the most. As for the horse, I did muscle testing and she did test strong for DMG indicating it is beneficial to her. But it alone is not enough of a solution for our problem and Sunny was moving better several months ago therefore I am going back to the combination of Smart Tendon, Smart TLC, and Smart Protect. I am doing a temporary switch between Smart Protect with Smart Bug Off for this month because they contain similar antioxidants. Smart Bug Off also has Grape Seed Extract.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Immediate and Low Priced I am very happy with the DMG by SmartPak. If money is an issue with other muscle and joint supplements, then definitely go with DMG. It basically takes out the lactic acid that causes soreness after a workout. My horse is already significantly better through his back after events and hard workouts. The main thing that shows he's feeling better is his extensions are AWESOME. He's stepping so much further under himself instead of getting stuck on a sore muscle. He's a much happier pony and I'm a much less stressed owner/rider! Thanks to DMG :)
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I have a 6 y/o paint mare. I use her as part of my lesson program, but she's hypp n/h and while she's hasn't been symptomatic thanks to careful management, she was often sore and touchy. I spent a small fortune trying to help her be more comfortable, ruling out other causes, by having the vet do blood work (normal), checked her teeth, her saddle fit, her feeding program - everything. Finally, a friend suggested DMG and I started her on it, figuring it was worth a shot. GONE is the sensitivity to touch, she's MUCH happier being groomed and is no longer cinchy. Made a BIG difference
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product Stormy and I spend our summers riding hard and long in the Colorado Rockies. DMG has been part of our feeding program for several years. I highly recommend it for achieving maximum fitness.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Definite Recommendation After being ridden hard one day, my mare tied up. In order to keep this from happening again as she engages faster gears in barrel racing, SmartPak answered my call for suggestions. DMG is working perfectly.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from unbelievable My horse seemed so uncomfortable and did not want to move forward. After a week on SmartPak's DMG he was like his old self. He willingly moves forward and is much softer to ride. I could not be more pleased.
    Date published: 2011-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product! Great product! Within two weeks my trainer noticed a big difference in my gelding's topline and movement. His high withers are less prominent and he carries his head much more comfortably. It's like riding a completely different horse. Fantastic product for a great price.
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Stuff My two AQHA mares are really looking good on this product! Their muscle definition is improving and I have seen a decrease in muscle twitches in one mare.
    Date published: 2011-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Too Soon to Tell I purchased DMG three weeks ago and have found it to be helpful in allowing my horse to recover during a heavy work training schedule. I'm not fully aware of the benefits but have seen no downside at this point. My goal was to find a product which allowed my horse's muscles to recover quickly while increasing his work stamina.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great results Nice inexpensive palatable supplement which provides lots of energy to my sport pony and gives her that extra presence in the show ring
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Helped TB mare build muscle! Even though this product is not advertised to build muscle in horses I saw an immediate change in my horse's condition and lean muscle development wihtout changing her exercised/conditioning program. Her stamina was improved and recovery took a lot less time! She didn't even leave any behind in her bucket.
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good My Horse had a "Tying Up" problem but in the last month since he's been takiing DMG it hasn't recurred.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse has been less sore My horse would get a little sore through the haunches and back as he learns to use his hind quarters and swing through. Since putting him on DMG, he seems to be hardly sore at all. He doesn't like the taste though, so I have to mix it with a little sweet feed and corn oil.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Really boosts muscle tone, and puts a super shine on their coat! Great bang for your buck :)
    Date published: 2011-03-01
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.