Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo

Carr & Day & Martin Ltd
- Item #17140
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo contains cleaning agents, color enhancers, and optical brighteners to clean and intensify natural coat color and sheen. Ideal for show preparation.

16.9 oz bottle. Chestnut & Palomino, Grey, Black, or Bay.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo is rated 4.6538 out of 5 by 52.
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from smells great, didn't notice a difference I'm a sucker when it comes to fun things for my horse. His summer coat is a lovely red bay color. I thought it'd be fun to try a color enhancing shampoo. This stuff smells great and made his coat super soft, but I didn't notice any color enhancement. Still, it's a nice shampoo and I'll use it until it's gone - just won't buy another bottle.
    Date published: 2013-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Works great! I bought this for my dark brown, almost black mare who sunbleaches really badly. Gave her a bath and noticed results the same day! I've used it twice since purchase and my mare is now a nice deep color again instead of her blotchy multicolor. I wish the bottle were a little bigger for the price, but would definitely purchase again since it worked so well on her!
    Date published: 2013-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent product Love this product. I ride chestnut geldings and their coats are very shiny and super super soft after their bath. I'd like to think it also enhances the color but it could be that they are just really clean :) It does not dry out the sensitive skin of my redheads either and the smell is very pleasant. Softness lasts for about a week.
    Date published: 2013-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent shampoo I've only used the bay color, but it had amazing results. It highlighted all the different shades in my horses coat. The horse pictured had reddish hues in his coat and this shampoo brought them right out. I recommend this to anyone. I have used QuickColor as a cheaper alternative and it did not get the job done like this did. I just wish it came in a bigger bottle for the price.
    Date published: 2012-12-13
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice shampoo, but didn't enhance black coat The shampoo did its job and cleaned my black horse well, but I did not notice any difference between it and much cheaper shampoos that clean just as effectively when it came to enhancing the horse's black coat. So not a bad shampoo for getting a horse clean, but don't expect it to enhance your horse's black coat any more than a regular quality shampoo.
    Date published: 2012-10-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it! I loved this shampoo. Made my bay's coat really shine. The quality was very good, and this product (along with ShowSheen) was perfect for our competition season. She looked gorgeous, and the judges thought so, too (:
    Date published: 2012-10-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gallop Color Enhancing Shampoo Good Shampoo. Doesn't stain hands as others, but also doesn't completely cover in one use. It does better after several baths and in conjunction with a feed-thru color-enhancing agent such as Black as Knight.
    Date published: 2012-09-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helps my black mare in the summer I think it works better than quic black for my black mare to help darken her coat from the summer sun!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Golden shine This gave my "new penny" chestnut a golden gleam. He shines even in the shade. This is a great product for light chestnut horses. I don't have a palomino but I'll bet it works well for them too.
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Dunno about color, but fantastic for softness! Okay, disclaimer. I have two golden champagnes, so it's kind of hard to improve on their color. However, this certainly makes them look clean and dazzling, and their coats are always soooo soft. It also has a very nice floral scent. Just wish it came in bigger bottles!
    Date published: 2012-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! I got this shampoo for my chestnut and buckskin and LOVE it. Made them both soft and vibrant. I am sure to always use it before a show. Just got a new bay and have ordered the version for him.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product! I recently bought this product for the dark bay mare that I ride. We had a jumper show to do and I wanted to enhance her beautiful dappled coat. The night before, I put a line of this down her spine and scrubbed it in with a stiff brush. I put a bit more on my scrubber to get her legs. This shampoo isn't as concentrated as I wanted it to be, but it rinses cleanly and cleans well. The next day, her coat was deep and beautiful! I was amazed with some of the pictures that a friend took! I will definitely be buying this shampoo again.Also, I love Smartpak's customer service. The woman was very nice on the phone :) Thanks, Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This is a really nice shampoo. I bought it for my flaxen chestnut gelding to bring out his rich golden coat. It really did an excellent job as far as cleaning his coat and, I will admit, brought out a super nice, rich shine. Did it 'enhance' his color? Not really. But it did such a good job cleaning out all the grime and dirt, without drying out his coat, I still give it 5 stars, but 4 on value. Another reason why I really like this shampoo is because one day I ran out of mine and used it on myself. I loved it!! Just like on his coat, it really did an awesome job of cleaning without drying and the silkiness was awesome! No residue, easy to rinse out. Recommend it as a great coat shampoo. (Note: for his pure white mane and tail I will never use anything but Eqyss Premier Shampoo - but for a great coat shine - I like this)
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shampoo out there! I've used this shampoo on all my horses for the past few years. I've used it on a black horse with great results. It gave him a nice dark coat with almost a purple sheen when the light hit him just right. I've used it on bay horses and it really helps bring out the deeper reds in their coats. I just recently got a chestnut and have used it on him with great results as well. I love the smell and it makes them incredibly shiny and soft without having to use a conditioner! I would highly recommend it!
    Date published: 2011-12-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got this, and got so much more! I bought this the week before my first horse show for my bay arab, hoping it would help enhance his coat just a little bit. When i first got this, and washed him with it for the show, i didnt notice anything other that a really soft coat, but at the show, he was beautiful!!! i looked back at videos and pictures, and his coat was just glowing!!! no show sheen needed! love love love this shampoo!
    Date published: 2011-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bay Color Shampoo I used this and only this shampoo on my horse before going to a show. I hadn't given her a bath in SO long because she is new and I was worried she wouldn't react well to the water. I was amazed by the results! She was shiny and SOFT. I had a friend come up to me and ask, "is it possible for a horse to even be that soft?". I am definitely going to use this shampoo again and again, and for sure repurchase when I run out. You do not have to use that much and it gets them super clean!!!
    Date published: 2011-10-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Shampoo Excellent shampoo, worked well and a noticable difference by the second washing!! A great product and value!
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best shamppo ever! I just recently moved from Australia where I used this product to wash my horse weekly in the summer months. I have used it for years, and was so excited when I found out that SmartPak sold it! The colour enhancing certainly works on my chestnuts and makes their coats richer and shinier, but it also smells absolutely delicious and cleans them thoroughly and well! I'll always use this as a regular shampoo and for show prep. Everyone always comments on my horses smelling like berries (I use the bay one, as my chestnuts are copper/liver) and their 'incredible' coats!Would recommend this to everyone, you won't regret it!
    Date published: 2011-08-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A must have! I just recently bought this after using the QuikBlack shampoo on my dark bay mare..The QuikBlack turned her red..So I bought this to "undo" the red and it works REALLY well. I love the smell of it. You barely have to use any to see fab results! I'll never leave home without this shampoo for show!
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!!!!!!!! This is the best shampoo ever!!!!! I use it on my chestnut arab and he comes out sparkling and shiny and soft and did I mention shiny??!! Great for shows and everyday use. Yep, I know I'm making a statement there, but guys come on. You could be paying $15 like I did before I found SmartPak. All in all, AMAZING!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Color Shampoo I Have Found I have a very dark bay horse that in the summer bleaches out to the most disgusting burnt color. I have tried a few color-enhancing shampoos, such as Quick Black but I did not think it really worked. The Quick Black seemed somewhat harsh, his coat did not feel soft and conditioned afterwards but rather dry. I love the Gallop Color for black horses because not only does it make him look darker and bring out the rich tones but it also smells amazing, lathers great, rinses easily and leaves his coat not only smelling great but soft, shiny and sleek. It definitely doesn't dry out his coat and seem as harsh as other products and it yields greater results. As the summer goes on we will see how it continues to perform!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the results! I was really happy with the shine it gave my chestnut mare's coat. Even her white star was brighter! Not crazy about the way it smells though.
    Date published: 2011-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect for that Show Ring Shine! I LOVE this shampoo! It really brings out the dark beautiful brown in my bay Mare's coat. Her black shines, her white markings are snowy, and she feels so soft and smells amazing. I usually use this shampoo, but tried QuicColor this past weekend at an event to switch it up, and found like results. I love this shampoo!! Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite shampoo ever! I love this shampoo, and always make sure i have the colour enhancer and the conditioning shampoo at hand. I just LOVE the one for bays (purple one), the smell is beautiful, just like berries, and always leaves my horses soft and silky and looking their best. I always use the bay colour enhancer, even though i only have two chestnuts, as i find the bay enrichens my copper chestnut mares shine better than most. This is my favorite shampoo of all time.. and as for the price, you get what you pay for as in that it really is a beautiful shampoo with a delightful smell. Always leaves my horses looking gorgeous! 5 stars!
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smells great! This shampoo has a nice smell and does a good job, just wish the bottle was a little bigger for the price.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed I bought this in an attempt to help my black horse look more black for show season. She's in the pasture at the stable and I don't have the heart to stall her. She hates to be confined. So - we live with the bleached out black coat. We used this several times and I really didn't notice any difference in her color. May try some others next year. She's beautiful anyway. :-)
    Date published: 2010-10-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Shampoo I like this shampoo. It makes my bay shiny, soft, and smell great! I think it makes his bay stand out only a little more. I like it though, it does work a lot better than normal/human shampoo. The price is a little expensive but I shampoo once every six months or so, so its okay to shell out a couple more dollars. Overall I would buy it again.
    Date published: 2010-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product!!!!! This product is awesome. I added a little superpoo to it and it made my horse sssoooo soft and shiny. Everyone at my barn noticed and said she looked amazing!! My horse was slightly bleached and this brought back some of her color, also with other shampoos they tend to make her coat wavy when it dries this on the other hand dried quickly without leaving waves! It only took me minutes to coat her boby in this shampoo and rinsed easily. I will definetly buy this product again!!!
    Date published: 2010-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Smells Yummy I read the reviews before purchasing this product and thought it sounded like it would REALLY enhance my horses extremly bleached out coat. It did not bring his beautiful red bay color back, so it doesn't really color your horse. It did give him a beautiful shine, made his coat silky soft and did give him a hint of red color. When the sun hit him he had a nice red glow! I will probably try another product just to compare for myself. I am curious to see how this product will enhance his color and shine when he is not completely bleach out!
    Date published: 2010-08-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from NEW FAVORITE! :D This is my new favorite shampoo! I bought the chestnut/palomino for my chestnut. As soon as he started to dry, I could see bright, shimmering highlights in his coat, and he was oh-so-soft! Plus, this shampoo smells wonderful!Only complaint is it is a bit pricey, but in my opinion it is well worth it! This is a wonderful shampoo-I am hooked on it! :)
    Date published: 2010-06-26
    • 2015-03-06T07:44CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_4, tr_48
    • loc_en_US, sid_7140, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.