Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Crochet Ear Nets

Item #17004

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. 

Cotton blend. Choose with or without tassel. One size.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Crochet Ear Nets is rated 4.5658 out of 5 by 76.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice Product I ordered the ear net to try on my 17.2 Warmblood. He really does not like any flies on him. He is very fussy about anything on his face also. He really loves the protection from the flies and gnats. He has not tried to rub his face at all when I have used it when riding him in the outdoor arena or on the trails. It fits him perfectly and he is a big guy and that is why I would say it would be a little large for most horses.
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ear Net I bought this ear net to keep those tiny gnats out of my gelding's ears while we ride and it works well. I wish it came in more colors (like turquoise!) but he looks nice in the navy also. :) I could see this perhaps being tight on a larger headed horse (wider ear set) but fits nicely on my horse!
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy for the Price The ear net was awesome. It looks good and it was for a great price. Can't beat that! The loop used to tie it did break after about a week but I didnt need that anyways. I bought a 2nd one in black!
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when the gnats are bad! This ear net works great for my horse when the gnats are bad! I work full time so I have to hack in the evenings when the gnats are out. My horse no longer tosses his head with this ear net.
    Date published: 2013-06-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Good This fits my Dutch Warmblood's donkey ears perfectly, so only order if you have a large eared horse! But very good quality, and it looks nice on my horse in the jumper ring.
    Date published: 2013-06-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Fit This ear net has a very nice fit. I felt that it was very well made, until the third time I put it on my horse and the loop through which you put the tie popped! I didn't think I tugged on it very hard, but I guess I did. It is still a functional ear bonnet though, with the long cord and a short one to tie it to, instead of looping through. Overall it is a well made product so I felt the value and quality of materials were fine. Could be that I have a defective one though! I di like it.
    Date published: 2013-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Batman Ears I purchased this for my OTTB for trail rides so that he wouldnt have to wear a full face mask. I think he looks great but the ears are a bit large (I know this is to fit all sorts of horses...but) and I think he knows it. I'm going to try to make the ears more his size.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value My horse seems to really like wearing this! The only complaint I have is that the ears are waaaay to long. Kind of makes my horse look like a mule! Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! Best $10 I ever spent! No more head tossing while riding !!
    Date published: 2012-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more head tossing Great product, stays in place, keeps bugs off, and fits well (even under a western bridle):)
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Handsome My horse looks so handsome in Crochet Ear Net. It is very well made, fits perfect and does the job. Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy Purchased this for my sister's 16hh T/B. Fits his head perfectly. Wouldn't recommend buying this for a smaller horse as it does run large, but it looks good in the show ring and is durable for every day use.
    Date published: 2012-08-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Ear Net I bought this ear net for my 15+ hh Morgan. She has a more delicate face and smaller ears. She loves it and it looks nice on her. Only drawback is the large ears. Easily remedied with a bit of sewing, though.
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low price and great results I was not sure if my mare would shake her head till it flew off or not, so I figured for the price I would try. She didn't and it works great! Eats are a little too big but keeps the flies out.
    Date published: 2012-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These crocheted "bonnets" are working great. We have an abundance of nasty deer flies this year and my horses are so much more comfortable wearing this protection. It fits my warmblood perfectly. The ears are a little long for my paint but then who cares if the flies aren't biting them. Have just had them a month but they are holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a bargain I bought the tassel option. Compared to nets that cost triple, this is a deal. My horse has an average horse size head and it fits well.
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Functionality! For this price, this bonnet has impeccable durability, so far using it and washing it once a week, There have been absolutely no signs of fraying. I love how simplistic it is, no frills. Very professional.
    Date published: 2012-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-06-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this ear bonnet I have a tenancy to lose ear bonnets over the winter or generally packing things away. This one is great for the price, and at a price point you can have one in every color or lose it every winter without your husband cringing come spring when you need a new one.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fo trails My horse likes this especially for trails to keep the pesky insects off. Easy to put on and fits great.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Several friends have these and thought I would try it. It is nice that I don't have spray ears before I ride.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $10 Very Nice. It fits my mare perfectly and is very well made. No one at the barn believes how little I paid for it!
    Date published: 2012-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! My husband thought our horse Ricky would benefit from ear nets to keep him from tossing his head in annoyance with the flys when we trail ride. These ear nets are effective, and they're a great value for the money. The grey color looks great on our grey gelding.The ears are a little big, but overall I am very happy with the purchase.
    Date published: 2012-05-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Economical and effective I purchased the inexpensive ear net to try on my OTTB for trail rides. He usually shakes his head pretty badly when we run into flies, but this does the job for keeping the pesky critters out of his ears. The ears are maybe a touch too long, even for his big head, but he doesn't look ridiculous in it, and it's nice enough to use at schooling shows if necessary. Definitely worth a try if you're looking for an inexpensive fix!
    Date published: 2012-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase Justice has large ears and this product fit him wonderfully.
    Date published: 2012-03-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice for the Price This ear net was fairly well made and fit prett well for the price. My mare has really big ears and still had enough room to wiggle them around and be expressive with her ear position.I like the way it looks on her and would wear it to special events without reservation.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Inexpensive Ear Net I bought this last summer for my sensitive OTTB, who gets really stressed about flies on his ears and face. He loves it! This might sound silly, but when I go to put it on, he drops his head and stands completely still for me to put it on (a definite departure from his usual fidgety self). I swear he knows that it keeps the flies off. And it greatly reduces the head-shaking and distraction during our rides. The ear portion is a bit big, but that really isn't a concern for me as a schooling ear net. It's held up well for being so inexpensive, and I will definitely order another when the one I have wears out.
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.