Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Crochet Ear Nets

Item #17004
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Crochet Ear Nets offers simple stylish fly protection for eyes and ears. 

Cotton blend. Choose with or without tassel. One size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Crochet Ear Nets is rated 4.5059 out of 5 by 85.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Low quality This fly hat runs big and looks pretty sloppy on my horse. But what really bothers me is that the string loop on the lefthand side of it that is used to tie it on broke on the second use. This is not a quality fly hat -- it would be worth spending more to get a more functional and less frumpy one.
    Date published: 2014-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great quality for the money! Better quality than I expected for the price! This is a well made ear net, and I recommend it for sure!
    Date published: 2014-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Crochet Ear Net This ear net is the perfect size to fit my Paso Fino gelding. It is well constructed and the fringe is long enough to keep bugs out of his eyes. I look forward to using this over the summer on buggy trail rides!
    Date published: 2014-03-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product These ears are a little small but good quality for the price
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product for a great price I just recently bought this after a summer of trail rides/ hacks ruined by bugs. I have been training for a hunter pace coming up and my horse is finally staying focused and not spazzing out about the bugs swarming his ears. Very nice product.
    Date published: 2013-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for the price, huge ears. My TB mare has fairly big ears and this net has HUGE ears. There is at least an inch of room leftover. Otherwise, the quality is good and it did the job.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price! Love the variety of colors and the option to get plain or with tassels. Ears are a little on the large side but the face portion doesn't hang too low. Got one for each of my boys!
    Date published: 2013-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I am very happy with this net - the construction is top notch and much nicer than I was expecting for the value. Crochet is tight and heavy, ears are not over sized, so they may not fit a horse with large ears. My mare is between a cob and a horse sized bridle and the ears fit great, doesn't swamp her head. Material isn't slippery and doesn't slip out from under my bridle like another net I own. Great investment for a quiet ride!
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product! Fits really well, and is made of heavy duty quality cotton. Excellent product for the price. Fits my 16hh ottb like a glove.
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very Nice Product I ordered the ear net to try on my 17.2 Warmblood. He really does not like any flies on him. He is very fussy about anything on his face also. He really loves the protection from the flies and gnats. He has not tried to rub his face at all when I have used it when riding him in the outdoor arena or on the trails. It fits him perfectly and he is a big guy and that is why I would say it would be a little large for most horses.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ear Net I bought this ear net to keep those tiny gnats out of my gelding's ears while we ride and it works well. I wish it came in more colors (like turquoise!) but he looks nice in the navy also. :) I could see this perhaps being tight on a larger headed horse (wider ear set) but fits nicely on my horse!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy for the Price The ear net was awesome. It looks good and it was for a great price. Can't beat that! The loop used to tie it did break after about a week but I didnt need that anyways. I bought a 2nd one in black!
    Date published: 2013-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great when the gnats are bad! This ear net works great for my horse when the gnats are bad! I work full time so I have to hack in the evenings when the gnats are out. My horse no longer tosses his head with this ear net.
    Date published: 2013-06-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty Good This fits my Dutch Warmblood's donkey ears perfectly, so only order if you have a large eared horse! But very good quality, and it looks nice on my horse in the jumper ring.
    Date published: 2013-05-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Fit This ear net has a very nice fit. I felt that it was very well made, until the third time I put it on my horse and the loop through which you put the tie popped! I didn't think I tugged on it very hard, but I guess I did. It is still a functional ear bonnet though, with the long cord and a short one to tie it to, instead of looping through. Overall it is a well made product so I felt the value and quality of materials were fine. Could be that I have a defective one though! I di like it.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Batman Ears I purchased this for my OTTB for trail rides so that he wouldnt have to wear a full face mask. I think he looks great but the ears are a bit large (I know this is to fit all sorts of horses...but) and I think he knows it. I'm going to try to make the ears more his size.
    Date published: 2013-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value My horse seems to really like wearing this! The only complaint I have is that the ears are waaaay to long. Kind of makes my horse look like a mule! Great value for the price.
    Date published: 2013-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value! Best $10 I ever spent! No more head tossing while riding !!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more head tossing Great product, stays in place, keeps bugs off, and fits well (even under a western bridle):)
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Handsome My horse looks so handsome in Crochet Ear Net. It is very well made, fits perfect and does the job. Well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Buy Purchased this for my sister's 16hh T/B. Fits his head perfectly. Wouldn't recommend buying this for a smaller horse as it does run large, but it looks good in the show ring and is durable for every day use.
    Date published: 2012-08-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Ear Net I bought this ear net for my 15+ hh Morgan. She has a more delicate face and smaller ears. She loves it and it looks nice on her. Only drawback is the large ears. Easily remedied with a bit of sewing, though.
    Date published: 2012-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Low price and great results I was not sure if my mare would shake her head till it flew off or not, so I figured for the price I would try. She didn't and it works great! Eats are a little too big but keeps the flies out.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These crocheted "bonnets" are working great. We have an abundance of nasty deer flies this year and my horses are so much more comfortable wearing this protection. It fits my warmblood perfectly. The ears are a little long for my paint but then who cares if the flies aren't biting them. Have just had them a month but they are holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from What a bargain I bought the tassel option. Compared to nets that cost triple, this is a deal. My horse has an average horse size head and it fits well.
    Date published: 2012-07-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Functionality! For this price, this bonnet has impeccable durability, so far using it and washing it once a week, There have been absolutely no signs of fraying. I love how simplistic it is, no frills. Very professional.
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this ear bonnet I have a tenancy to lose ear bonnets over the winter or generally packing things away. This one is great for the price, and at a price point you can have one in every color or lose it every winter without your husband cringing come spring when you need a new one.
    Date published: 2012-06-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fo trails My horse likes this especially for trails to keep the pesky insects off. Easy to put on and fits great.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what I needed. Several friends have these and thought I would try it. It is nice that I don't have spray ears before I ride.
    Date published: 2012-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best $10 Very Nice. It fits my mare perfectly and is very well made. No one at the barn believes how little I paid for it!
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    • 2015-02-25T06:52CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_10, tr_75
    • loc_en_US, sid_7004, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.