Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls

ThinLine
- Item #16925

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

For riders that prefer fit, function, and fashion in a saddle pad.

The Trifecta takes the basic Ultra ThinLine Half Pad to a whole new level. The cotton base design creates a wither profile and spine free channel, allowing the Ultra ThinLine to lay on either side of the spine so that it is always in the right place.

ThinLine developed this pad to give riders the fashion appeal of sheepskin and the shock absorption they and their horses need without the bulk, high maintenance or cost of a full sheepskin pad. This outstanding pad offers no interference for riders who prefer close leg contact with their horse, and has pockets for shims, allowing for minor saddle fitting adjustments.

Medium: measures 18" between the rolls and 23" including the rolls.
Large: measures 19 1/4" between the rolls and 24" including the rolls

This pad is shim-able. Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims.


You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    ThinLine Trifecta Cotton Half Pad with Sheepskin Rolls is rated 4.7969 out of 5 by 64.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! At first I was a bit skeptical. I'm a rider on an extreme budget, and at first, I wasn't sure if this would be worth it. My mare gets super sore through her back and yanks down with just a regular sheepskin (and so does my back). I use this as my show pad. Last week, I was at a show, and I'd noticed before that my horse's back was a bit stiff. When I used this at the show, she felt great (and so did I! The back pain I've had for a year was gone)! No soreness, no yanking, and she was moving really well. Now that we're back at home and she's back in her other half pad, I noticed the soreness again. I'm now a Thinline believer and am saving to buy another. The only thing I don't like about it is that they get dirty SO easily.Sidenote! I bought a medium and it fits my 17.5 saddle just right
    Date published: 2014-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Half Pad I bought this because my saddle is a but wide on my horse, and this has truly made a difference! It takes pressure off my horses' back, and makes my saddle actually fit perfectly! The only thing is that the fleece at the end came in contact with my horses' sweat so now its a bit dirty and I am not sure how to clean it? Answers on that?
    Date published: 2013-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love, Love, Love I never thought a half pad could make such a difference. I bought this as a possible solution for my Tb's back soreness. It helped my saddle fit him correctly and his back seems to feel better. I can also ride better too. I can feel my horse and saddle so much better since purchasing this half pad and shims. It is a bit pricey, but has been worth it. I bought the medium for my 17 Pessoa saddle.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Poorly designed I like that it was thinner than the majority of half pads and correction pads on the market. It has a plain cotton bottom which is why it is thinner. I hate how other pads are 4 inch thick wool or fleece (TOO MUCH STUFFING!!!)I ride SEVERAL different horses and the shims are NOT EASY TO CHANGE. I wish I could smack the person who decided that a 2 inch hole was large enough to shove shims through. Getting them straight and even is next to impossible.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Only Half Pad I Would Ever Use I am a huge fan of Thin Line products, having been using a Thin Line Contour Pad for years now. I have had a history of back problems for many years, but once I started using this pad while riding, they improved dramatically and I now never ride without it! I recently decided to upgrade to this half pad with sheepskin version as I've always had a hard time fitting the contour pad under the saddle evenly while also providing wither relief. This pad takes all of the guess work out of tacking up, it always sits right and evenly, providing plenty of room for the withers. It does run a bit long, I ordered a Large for my 18.5" saddle and there is still room in front and behind of the saddle, causing the sheepskin to extend past the length of most of my saddle pads. It gets a little dirtier this way and therefore wants to be washed, which you are told only to hand wash this product. If I could change one thing, it would be to be able to remove the thin line product to be able to wash this product in the washing machine regularly, as it quickly starts to look grimy from dust and sweat.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pad Quality product. Does not add bulk under saddle. Large pad fits my 18.5 saddle perfect !
    Date published: 2013-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great 1/2 Pad ThinLine makes nice products. Have this pad black & white size large for my 18" dressage saddle, and it fits really well. I prefer this style over the original ultra ThinLine b/c of the cut, much easier fit with the spine seam. Perfect amount of cushion and shock distribution w/o being to bulky and altering the fit of saddle.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this 1/2 pad! I have had several other manufacturer's 1/2 pads and this one is as good as any of them. It has the added feature of the thin line material which I think makes the ride easier on my back and the horses'. I have not washed it yet, but I don't expect to have any difficulties with it. The stitching is very tight and the whole things seems quite high quality.
    Date published: 2013-11-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pretty and functional Love this pad. Little bulk and great shock absorbtion. I noticed a difference right away. I think the horse likes it too. I got it in size M for my 17" dressage saddle and it fits perfect. I am going to buy another one without the sheepskin and keep this one clean for shows.
    Date published: 2014-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Gift I purchased this pad as a Christmas gift for my daughter. She loves it! She has a 22 year old TB and he's been doing flying lead changes like crazy since she started using this pad. I don't really know if it's the pad, but it certainly didn't hurt. We won't know for awhile how well it holds up.
    Date published: 2013-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad! It's very well-made and the padding is very shock absorbing. I use it on my older horse to protect him from general back pains and a saddle that doesn't fit perfectly. You can definitely feel a difference as the rider too. It's a smoother ride. It looks fancy without having to pay extra for the whole sheepskin lining on the bottom. I am very pleased. I have used it almost daily for 3 months with no wear or tear.
    Date published: 2012-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! This pad was the only thing that helped fit my saddle to my very wide and long withered horse. The shims helped immensely. Even though I just bought it, the manufacturing quality is apparent, there are not loose threads, the stitching is even and reinforced where appropriate, and the fleece is very soft.
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart choice This is one of the best half pads I have ever purchased. Fits most of my horse & Saddle combinations even on the horses that have custom fit saddles. Gives a little better fit for saddles that are a little too wide and gives added support to the older horses while being worked.
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I got this pad for my mare whose back was quite sensitive to grooming. Within 2 weeks I was able to groom her back almost normally.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from If your saddle doesn't fit We use this to protect a horse's back from slightly ill-fitting saddles. It works well.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice alternative to full sheepskin I didn't want to fork out for the fully lined sheepskin half pads so this works great for us. Very nice construction. My only criticism is that I ordered the medium and I have a 17" saddle and it doesn't fit my saddle as much as I would have liked. It fits my friends 18" antares perfectly though. I think the small may have been too short though since the length is good.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great half pad I'm very happy with this pad. It's attractive, it's easy to add extra shims, it stays in place. I think the thinline really helps both my back and my horse's. Plus it's not that expensive. I highly recommend. As for size, I got a large for my 18" saddle and it's a perfect fit.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value My saddle fitter recommended a Mattes correction pad as a temporary fix for my dressage saddle. That pad was almost three hundred dollars, so I opted for this pad with shims in the front. It seems to improve the balance of my saddle and provides the additional padding the saddle fitter wanted. I'm very happy with this purchase so far.The only reason it didn't get five stars is because I'm concerned with how it will clean. I got white so I can show in it, and it's already dirty. The combination of materials is going to make it hard to clean.
    Date published: 2012-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Pony Our 16 year old pony was having sore back issues. This pad has eliminated the sore back problem and my daughter feels the difference also. The medium seems a little long for our 16" saddle but it is not too bad.
    Date published: 2012-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous Half Pad! My OTTB has super high withers, and we've been through a number of pads, but all seemed to pull across the top of his withers. This pad stays where it's supposed to be, doesn't pull, and looks great! I love the ability to insert the shims too, which has helped with other minor pressure areas.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful as well as effective This half pad has beautiful sheepskin on the front and back of the pad. This is an improvement over a full sheepskin pad. There are two reasons for this being a preferred design: 1) full sheepskin simply does not hold up to cleaning, even when all precautions are taken to preserve the sheepskin (the sheepskin comes off in chunks with cleaning, you'll see if you have one and try and clean it repeatedly), and 2) full sheepskin is bulkier and results in less contact.Furthermore, the thinline is effective. It doesn't look like much...it's not thick, but you can feel the difference in the saddle.It looks great, the best looking half pad I've owned.I bought the medium, and it fits perfectly with my 16.5 saddle. The sizing appears to be very specific for this product, so be sure to read what size will fit your saddle.I bought the Back on Track all purpose saddlepad to accompany it.I also have the Contender II dressage saddlepad which combines the back on track dressage saddle pad with the thinline pad, in one product.This really is a product woth considering if you are in the market for a half pad...it's the best I've owned by far....and I've had quite a few.
    Date published: 2012-03-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful Half Pad I was extremely pleased with the quality of this half pad. It's a well made product. My horse competes in 3 disciplines and the trainers use their own saddles when riding. I bought this pad to protect against back soreness and it seems to be working.
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My horse loves this pad I am impressed at how much shock this pad absorbs - I definitely notice that I am sitting more quietly, especially at the canter. I got the large for my 17.5" forward flap xc saddle, and it fits pretty well, though it is a bit much with the sheepskin rolls in the back. I would prefer if they offered this same pad without the rolls in back, but that's a minor complaint. I can feel my horse moving through his back much better after beginning to use this pad!
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Splurge This has been on my "wish list" for quite awhile now. I always found other ways to spend my money and kept putting off the purchase. After a prolonged struggle with saddle fitting and sore back issues with my young mare, I decided to just go for it. I can't even begin to tell you how upset I am that I didn't do it sooner. My horse loves the feel of this pad. I love watching her work while she's tacked up in this pad. I would highly recommend it to anyone.
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I have one for each of my 3 horses. I view it as an extra insurance policy against sore backs.Functions well and looks great.
    Date published: 2011-12-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE Thinline! I tried several different half pads before the Thinline and they were either too thin, too bulky, or didn't fit right. The Trifecta is the perfect compromise for me - just the right thickness and fits really well under the saddle. The horses seem to love them and so do I... so much that I bought one for each horse! I've had my oldest one for almost 3 years and it still comes out of the wash looking almost brand new. They're very durable.
    Date published: 2011-10-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The size large is perfect for a 18" saddle. I have an Albion SLK Ultima and a Barnsby Diablo. Fit's perfectly!
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the price! After reading some of the other reviews I was a little nervous to order the large size of this pad but it fits perfectly under my 18 inch dressage saddle. It looks beautiful and my gelding, who has a very sensitive back, feels wonderful. I have been using the Thinline pads for several years and they are the only pads that keep him feeling good.
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.