Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

The Hoof Sock

Item #16919

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Say goodbye to your duct tape and hours of frustration because hoof packing and soaking just got easier!

Made from hard-wearing ballistic nylon, the Hoof Sock is easy to slip on and simple to secure with the industrial VELCRO® brand reinforced tabs. Use with poultice, hoof pack, iodine or an Epson Salt soak. The Hoof Sock comes with two removable inserts: felt for soaking and foam for comfort and stability. Both will aid healing of ailments like punctures, stone bruises, abscesses, thrush or severe cracks. The Hoof Sock can be used in the stall or during light turnout. It's also great for city shows - your horse will never have to walk on pavement again! Made in the USA. Machine washable. Black.  XS (3 3/4), S (4 3/8), M (4 3/4), L (5 3/8), XL (6) or XXL (7).

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    The Hoof Sock is rated 3.8 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a far better alteritive to duct tape and vet wrap. Getting the correct size will have an impact on it to stay in place correctly. Don't have a need for such a thing but once in a blue moon other wise a set of various sizes would be an option.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic! My horse got his hind foot caught on a mat and pulled a chunk off all the way up to the heel bulb. I had to keep it wrapped and the hoof sock made the wrapping last longer and I didn't have to use as much. I was able to turn him out (minimal turnout) and the hoof sock held up great! I would recommend for anyone!
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A staple in my stable When it comes to hoof injuries and turnout, it appears that less is more; this hoof sock provided more comfortable turnout for my horse than a rigid therapy boot. I had my big TB's shod hoof taped with Vetrap and Elastikon before putting the hoof sock on (I didn't need to use either insert that came with it); it is easy to fit the hoof sock over bandaging and it secures over the top with 2 velcro straps. The hoof sock enabled 12 hours of daytime turnout. I kept 2 hoof socks in constant rotation, and they lasted between 5 and 7 days each before wearing out (one sock blew after 6 hours, but that was the exception, by far). I will always keep at least one hoof sock on hand for emergencies.
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Durable and easy to put on and off Would recommend this product to protect the hoof when healing from abcesses, bruises, or injury. A little pricey but worth it to get the job done and still was able to turn out my horse.
    Date published: 2011-06-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Recommend taping hoof before putting sock on This is a follow up to my initial review of this product. I had said that this is a great concept, but the sock didn't last long (only about four days). I did purchase a second hoof sock and have had great success in Vetwraping and duct taping my horse's foot first before putting the sock on. This helps to prevent the hoof from wearing through the sock and creating a hole.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great concept, but wore out fast I purchased The Hoof Sock to protect my horse's sole while it was healing from an abscess. The Hoof Sock is a great alternative to the diaper, Vet Wrap, duct tape method; however, I am a bit disappointed in it's durability (it lasted only four days). At almost $40, I expected it to last longer. My horse wore it almost 24/7 for those four days - in light turnout and in the stall and wore a big hole right through the front seam. It sort of defeats the purpose of the Sock, but I recommend either duct taping or Vet Wrapping your horse's foot first so the sharp edges of the hoof don't wear right through the front! Also, I can't speak to how the Sock works for soaking. I stuck with a feed tub.
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! I bought my first Hoof Sock last year when my horse had an abcess. It saved me a considerably amount of time, money and my horse tollerated it much better as well. It got to the point where he would see me coming with it and he would automatically hold up his hoof for me to put it on. It also held up to stall, light turnout and daily hand walking while he was laid up.This year I bought my second one so that I could treat bilaterally using the foam pads that came with the hoof sock. Due to the fact the my now ex-farrier trimed my horses heals too low he got very ouchy and I needed to provide him a little bit of cushion while my new farrier got him balanced. It worked very well for this purpose also and both socks are holding up extremely well.Great product and definately would suggest to get a pair and keep them on hand at all times.
    Date published: 2010-05-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Idea Dealing w/ an abscess for nearly 3 weeks was a pain, not only to him but for me. I got tired of duct taping, etc. I tried this boot w/ the felt pad that came w/ it, soaked in mineral salt poultice. Great time saver. It also comes w/ a rubber pad that adds cushioning. Make sure you order the correct size, I ordered the 6", which was okay, but I think the next size down what be better. It washes up nicely in the machine. Not hard to put on either. Great for stall rest or very light low key turn out.
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works But Wears Fast I bought this product because my horse sustained an injury to his hoof that needs to be covered at all times. It worked well and is easy to put on, but it did wear fast. It already has a hole in the bottom after two weeks of wear, BUT he is wearing it 24/7 for both turn-out and stall time. So, if you just use it for the stall or very light turn out as the product states I'm sure it would be fine.
    Date published: 2009-11-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from get booted It looks stupid but appears to work, though I've only observed 4 hours of wear so far. First thing is getting the inside seam at the bottom to push out and install the foam insert or the felt one. Appears to be tough, my mare's recovering from a bad bout of lameness and a small abcess, and has been scuffing the toe and trying to shake it off. The Hoof Sock is easier to put on then that crazy Easyboot Epic thing I tried two days earlier, and no hardware to cause any rubbing or damage. If you need a clean hoof, and a way to soak or medicate, this is the way.
    Date published: 2009-05-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Needs wider opening I was looking for a boot that had an easier wider opening to put on my compromised, neurologic horse who is not easy to work on. This boot is still lacking in that design. The quality and price are good though.
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.