Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #16898
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Low profile geometry and extreme ventilation make the new IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet one of the most comfortable and fashionable helmets on the market. The center front vents together with the right, left and 2 rear vent ports ensure maximum air intake and the optimal air flow needed for cooling. The helmet's harness system is completely adjustable and is designed at the back to accommodate a pony tail without affecting the helmet's fit. The IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet is ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified.



Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    IRH Elite Xtreme Helmet is rated 4.4298 out of 5 by 114.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fit and Great look I love the trim neat look of this helmet. No "bubble head" The vents keep me cool and comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-01-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Close, but no cigar for round heads I gave this helmet a try in my futile effort to find a helmet to fit my large round head that doesn't cost $500. This helmet fit OK, but not perfectly. It rocked side to side a little, but it passed the "hang upside down and see if it comes off" test. However, after the second time wearing it, I took it off to reveal a horrifying rash on my forehead. So that was that, and a-returning-it-a-went! While it's a stylish design for an awesome price, it's a pass for those of us with round heads.
    Date published: 2012-01-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value I love IRHs and I love this helmet. The only complaint I have is that despite how careful I have been with it, the paint over the side vents has chipped off in a few places. Doesn't look bad from a distance, and I still show in it, but it is a downfall. Love the way the helmet looks and fits and overall I am still happy with this product. For the price (as compared to a Charles Owen or GPA) this is a very good product.
    Date published: 2011-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful helmet! This helmet is extremely conmfortable and stylish. I tried a Charles Owen JR8, but it was too narrow for my head. This helmet is light, comfortable, and very, very well ventilated. The harness feels very secure and holds my hair very well. The external vents are much more subtle than one might think. It has a very low-profile look. Overall, this is a helmet that looks much pricier than it actually is. A fantastic buy.
    Date published: 2011-12-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent costumer service/Not so great fit for me I purchased the helmet (online obviously). I have had IRH's in the past and they were good reliable helmets. My most recent helmet is a Charles Own GR8 in 7 3/8th... I used it for showing for about four years and had one too many falls on it for me to still feel it was sound to ride with/protect my head. So I looked into buying another IRH since I didn't want to spend all the money for another CO. Also, since I cut my hair and no longer HAVE HAIR to tuck under my Charles Owen, it's not snug enough and wobbles.My friend has this helmet (IRH Elite Xtreme), I like the smooth design and low profile.Sadly, it was not meant to be. My head just doesn't fit with these helmets.I ordered a 7 1/4 Long Oval first. There was too much room in the front and was tight on the sides.Then I returned that (with help of SmartPak's excellent customer service team) and got a REGULAR/non long oval 7 1/4th and that was too tight on the sides as well.I went through this "too big" "too small" process until I received the 4th or 5th helmet and finally decided this brand/model simply does not fit me.I finally decided to just get a refund. AND GUESS WHAT! Their refund process, unlike Ebay or other stores, DID NOT require any arguments or legal threats! HAHA.Despite the natural frustration with receiving a non-fitting helmet after a week of looking forward to it, SmartPak's easy return process make this less stressful.Also, their over the phone service is fantastic. There is always a fluent English speaking person and they are always so polite, which may sound like a minor detail but it made me less worrisome when I wondered "Is this going to be a pain in the butt to return?" I was put at ease and I know that I can trust this company. I will most likely never shop at Dover Saddlery.com again, SmartPak beats their prices and customer service.
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet After trying a few out, I have to admit for the price this helmet is fabulous! I love it -- perfect for schooling!
    Date published: 2011-10-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet Nice helmet, it looks great and is comfortable to wear. The only thing that I don't like is that the black helmet shows scratches....the gray may be a better color to camouflage scratches. The helmet comes with a nice bag to protect it when not in use.
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I have a long oval head and was despairing of finding a helmet that would fit. I love this helmet so much that I had three of them (one for shows, one for home, one for when I go elsewhere.) The "at home" one recently had a meeting with the dirt and I can say it definitely did its job. I'll be replacing it with the same.My only negative is that the finish scuffs easily, but it covered up easily with a sharpie.
    Date published: 2011-09-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Helmet size I but this helmet 2 days ago.I took the size on the chart and when arrive the helmet was to big, so I don't know good is to buy any helmet online. the chart size is not precise it all.
    Date published: 2011-09-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from hard to fit ordered a few size....either too lose or gave me a headache. seems to have great venting for hot summer rides.Was very glad that I could order several sizes, try them on and return for the ATH style which I kept .....the ATH is very comfortable and easy to fit
    Date published: 2011-09-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Well worth the money! Got this for my daughter and she loves it! She says it doesn't give her a "mushroom head" like the CO's did that she tried on did. The only thing she said was that the paint or whatever used on it chips easy. She's never sweat once and she usually has a heat problem while riding! Will buy again if we need too.
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cool helmet, fitting is a PAIN! The helmet is comfy...once you get the right fit! I read that fitting was an issue in reviews before deciding to buy this helmet and I thought "No way, I am a 7 1/4-ALWAYS!" So, I ordered the 7 1/4 long, because I needed to make life difficult and because I have a big head and helmets tend to be a little tight, and it was ginormous. It's like, a 9 1/4. I sent it back and got the regular 7 1/4, and THAT was still a little too big. (Mind you, I am ALWAYS in a large helmet, and have bigger hat size than boyfriends, etc.) I had fitting pads from another IRH helmet, 5/8" all around, and with those in the helmet, it now fits perfectly. So now I love it. I am SO worried though that the brim is going to fall off if I drop it...we shall see!
    Date published: 2011-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second time is a charm Based on others reviews, after I purchased it, I discovered it is better to be safe and order up one size if you have a truly oval head. Well after confusion and returns, and another one sent that is one size up, it fits perfect. Even have room for ear warmers. Less of a bubble head!Seems durable. Comes with a great helmet bag. Every aspect that you could want in a helmet seems to be thought of and made with the highest attention to detail and quality. Only positive things to say about the helmet! And smartpak!Don't walk away from this deal - best bang for your buck- especially with free ground shipping that is now offered!!
    Date published: 2011-08-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long Oval fit offers a good choice I need a long oval and had a Troxel that was as round as could be and really made me look like a mushroom head. This helmet is lighter, not shiny (which helps) and much sleeker that the other one I had. It is well ventilated and comfortable. I had a concussion (no helmet) and so I wear one EVERY time I ride. This is comfortable and looks fine.
    Date published: 2011-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet! I just got this helmet, and I love it! The vents work very well, and keep me a lot less sweaty before, during, and after riding! The quality, value, and durability are amazing. The size of the helmet is right on. The only thing I don't like about it, is that the chin strap is very long. I tightened it all the way, and it fits, but the end sticks out! Overall I love this helmet, and would highly recommend!
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very happy with this helmet I've worn this about 5 times in my lessons, and so far have found it meets my needs well. It fit me true to the measurements, was easy to adjust the harness to fit, and even in the hot weather we've been having here, comfortable to wear for an hour lesson in a ring with no shade. I really like the finish--easy to keep clean. I also have another IRH, the model with the suede finish, and it seems everything sticks to that one, so I save it for competition. I would buy this helmet again, definitely.
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from OK but Air 10 was better I was looking for a vented helmet for the FL heat. I liked the lightness and venting but the harness was cumbersome and ill fitting. there was no way to adjust the fit of the harness.I purchased the IRH air 10 with some adjustment in the harness which helped. unfortunately there is not as much venting as the elite extreme but definitely a good buy since the other option for me would have been the Charles Owen AYR8.
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Returned The helmet came with no padding at all, and didn't come down around my head far enough. It felt like it could pop off. The vents were very nice, you can feel the breeze just standing in it! Just didn't suit me personally so I returned it.
    Date published: 2011-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loving this helmet I bought this helmet 4 months ago, and have been so happy with my choice. I have an oval shaped head, and ordered the "oval" size, and it fits perfectly. Love the way the helmet looks, as I'm not fond of the "bubble head" appearance. This has a nice, low, profile, and great ventilation.It would be nice if more tack stores carried this helmet so that people could try them on. I was concerned that I would have to return if the "oval" did not fit properly.
    Date published: 2011-06-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointing When I first purchased the helmet, it fit me well--it was comfortable and stylish, and I was confident about it's safety ratings. A friend of mine had ordered the same helmet, only for it to arrive with the visor broken off. There is a clear warning on the packaging that the visor on the helmet is made to break for safety reasons, and to not drop or carry the helmet by the visor.I had been wearning the helmet for around a month, when I found the visor cracked off when removing it from my hat box. I had not fallen off my horse, nor dropped the helmet---my only solution is that someone may have accidently kicked our dropped something on my hatbox, causing the visor to crack. Needless to say, I was not pleased. I understand that the visor cracking is a "safety" precaution in the event of a fall, but if it is that delicate, it is not very practical. Think how many times equestrians bap their heads on things when not even the saddle--stall doors, saddle racks, their itchy horse's giant head---for the money, this helmet is simply too flimsy. I was able to return it, and have purchased a Charles Owen instead.
    Date published: 2011-05-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from a bit frustrating I love the look and material of this helmet. However, I've tried three different sizes and none of them fit me! (And, yes, I know how to measure my head.) I order them and then send them back because there's no tack store anywhere in my area. This has been extremely frustrating, which is perhaps the Xtreme part of the helmet! The Elite part is that it's a beautiful helmet that looks great on my head if only I could get it to fit me, drat! The only additional observation worth noting is that there is no real padding inside the helmet. Surprising, although, I can't say if this affects how comfortable the helmet is because I haven't ridden in one nor had it on for extended periods of time. If you have an opportunity to try the helmet before buying it and can find a good fit this attractive, light weight, show ready helmet may be the one for you.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not Happy with Purchase Although the quality and value of the helmet was good, I found it hard to fit. The first time I ordered the helmet I ordered the size based on my head measurements. That size was too big so I ordered next size smaller. That size was way too tight. Another person at our stables had the same problem with the fit of this helmet. I thought if I wore the helmet a few times it would losen a little, but it has not so I am not wearing it at this time.
    Date published: 2011-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase Great helmet, fit perfectly and got free shipping too:)
    Date published: 2011-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A helmet that finally fits! For a decent price, at last I found a high quality helmet that fits my small head. I think it is the shape also that has made the difference. The long-oval is what I've needed all this time. It is comfortable and looks good. The only thing is that I wish it came in brown or tan.
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet I am delighted with this IRH Elite Extreme helmet. The profile is flattering, it is lightweight, and very ventilated. I ride in a GPA for shows and this helmet is every bit as nice looking on my head. I was wary of the sizing issue as I am on the west coast and didn't want to deal with shipping back and forth. I tried on different model IRH helmets locally (none of the shops in my area carry this model) and found that I took the same size in this model as the others. I ordered the grey color and it looks sharp. As a dressage rider, I'm always in black helmets and I wanted a change for schooling. Excellent value....looks like a much more expensive helmet. Only good things to say about this helmet.
    Date published: 2011-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I really like this helmet. The only one thing I wish it had was a little more padding on the inside.
    Date published: 2011-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love Love Love it! I always wear a helmet when riding and have had Troxel helmets for over 15 years. I wanted something that had a lower profile with vents. I was drawn to the IRH Elite because of the availability of the long oval shape. My forehead is always pinched in traditional shaped helmets. This helmet fits me very well. No pinching. Sits down on my head instead of a "mushroom top". The vents are nice in the Texas summer. It is light and airy and I have had several comments on how good it looks. I am considering showing in it (over my Troxel Grand Prix velvet helmet...also a safety helmet but not quite as light and comfy).
    Date published: 2011-02-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great experience due to a very qualified staff member that took her time to show me and answer all my questions with a variety of product.
    Date published: 2011-01-24
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small Hard to really review this since the fit is so small it really, REALLY made my head hurt. I ordered a size down from my other IRH which wobbles on my head and the same size as my Charles Owen and the only way I can wear it is with my ponytail hanging out the back. Because I ordered what HAD to be the right size I wore it a couple times thinking maybe some of the material had to compress a bit. I was wrong and am stuck with a helmet I just can't wear. I like snug, but this is painful. My advice... order a size up.
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I love this helmet. It fits my head tightly, without causing any discomfort, and best of all, provides space in the neck harness to squeeze my pony tail into and get my hair off the back of my neck. This provides not only a clean look with no straggling hairs, but keeps my neck cool in the summer. The advertisement for pony tail accommodation is what pushed me towards this product, and I have not been disappointed. It also breathes better than any helmet I've ever worn, working to keep my head cool, which as a chronic overheater, is a huge plus.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    • 2015-03-01T07:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_107
    • loc_en_US, sid_6898, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.