Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Mio Flysheet

Horseware Ireland
- Item #16865
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The new Mio Fly Sheet is made from an ultra breathable soft knitted polyester fabric with UV protection to keep your horse cool and protected from the sun and bugs all summer long. 

Favorite Features

  • Classic Horseware cut with patented front leg arches.
  • Integrated (non-removable) neck cover.
  • Offers 95% UV protection.
  • Bronze/Red.

Sizing It Up

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Mio Flysheet is rated 4.1148 out of 5 by 122.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its holding up! I use this blanket on my wide paint and OTTB. The fit is a bit snug in the front on my paint and fits perfect on my OTTB. They wear the same size. My horses are turned out in a field and they play alot. My horses try and pull each others blankets off daily. This blanket has held up well. They have some holes where my horses have chomped on them, but overall they have held up. It gets very hot here and up to 95 degress they seem to keep my horses cooler. Over that of course my horses are hot, but I hoses them down with blanket on and they seem to be happy. It would be nice to have adjustable chest strap or elastic in front surcingle. I have not had any rubbing issues where hair is removed from fit of blanket and it stays in place.
    Date published: 2014-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice light sheet! Love this sheet. It is so light and cool. It runs true to size if you read the sizing instructions. They are different than measuring for other brands. Fits my medium build poa perfectly. Would not recommend for a really stocky horse. Also would not recommend for a horse at the bottom of the pecking order. It is super light weight and I think it would get ripped up easily.
    Date published: 2014-07-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value!!! Love this fly sheet! Protects very well with these Florida bugs this summer with all the rain we have had!
    Date published: 2014-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING product I absolutely love this fly sheet. I first bought one for my OTTB who easily gets worked up and sweaty when bothered by flies. This sheet keeps him cool and keeps the flies off of him. I just recently bought my 14.2 stocky pony one of these and they're very true to size. My horses live in this sheet all summer long and it never turns or gets twisted. My TB's has lasted two seasons! Even if they get small snags or tears they don't get bigger. The only thing i don't like about it is the velcro on the neck rug gets caught super easily and pulls on the material. Overall this fly sheet is a top pick!
    Date published: 2014-07-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price! Great price for a fly sheet with a neck cover. The fabric is soft unlike some of the scratchy fly sheets out there!
    Date published: 2014-07-10
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not for my playful horse I had a rambo protector for 2 1/2 years when my horse finally ripped the belly surcingles off this year. I wanted something that might be a little cooler than the poly mesh that the Rambo is made of so I first tried the KoolKoat. I really liked that one since it had a lightweight fabric over the topline so it kept my horse really clean. Unfortunately it rubbed his shoulders too much so I returned it. Two other girls (one with a playful pony) had this Mio for their boys so I decided to try it instead. It fit great and kept my horse comfortable, but only lasted about 2 weeks before he shredded the neckpiece. Ok, maybe it was my fault in a roundabout way since I think he was trying to scratch out his braids, but still. I just cut the neckpiece off, but I need a flysheet with a neckpiece so I will get another Rambo. I remembered that I had two Amigo flysheets in one summer before the I got my last Rambo and he killed those two also. I guess he's too destructive for the lighterweight fabrics. Oh well. It's held up great on my friend's horses (and even the pony!).
    Date published: 2014-07-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fantastic Fly Sheet for a Non-Destructive Horse Bought this fly sheet at the beginning of the summer and was immediately impressed at the coverage it offered my horse and the fact that it fit her very well and was not going to rub. After only 2 weeks of use, my playful/destructive horse ripped the entire right side apart, surcingles completely torn off. So while I was pleased with the product initially, I would not recommend it for a horse that is hard on their blankets. For a horse that respects its clothing, this sheet provides excellent coverage and protection from bugs and sun rays. I especially appreciate the extra-long tail flap. Just wish I could have gotten more use out of it!
    Date published: 2014-06-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fits good on body but neck piece is very roomy. I bought the smallest size (69") for my 14.1 hh Welsh/Morgan cross and it fits in the body perfect, but the neck piece is very roomy on him. He has a thick neck, so this was surprising...but it's better than it being too small! I like the reflective material and overall it seems like a well-made sheet that should last a while (provided that his pasture mate doesn't mess with it too much.) Seems like a great price for this quality product.
    Date published: 2014-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The neck piece is a little large but my 4yo quarter horse loves his fly sheet!
    Date published: 2014-05-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fly sheet for the price. My Arab mare is very sensitive to bites of any kind so I wanted her protected from pollto tail! The sheet seems very nice but looks too big for her even though she measurestrue to a 69" size. Will send back for a smaller size but overall I think it will do well. Itmay not hold up to a horse that is hard on blankets though because of the material. Ihaven't tested it out yet.
    Date published: 2014-04-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase!! This flysheet is the perfect choice for my horse. Since he lives in Texas, it's lightweight fabric was a must. It covers all of his neck (reaching all the way to his ears) and the rest of the sheet fits great. He is on all day turn out, so the UV protection is another big plus. I would definitely recommend this flysheet!
    Date published: 2014-01-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mio Flysheet This is the second Mio Flysheet that we have purchased - that way there is always a clean one to change into. I love how he hasn't bleached out and the fly bites are diminished
    Date published: 2013-07-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Light and cool This sheet fits my QH gelding quit well and he's a bit stout. No rubbing and this sheet is way less than half the weight of the textilene sheets. He is staying way cooler in the humid mid nineties southern heat as well. It does tear more easily but I use Sail Repair Tape from Duluth Trading or Duct Tape. I can get a good year out of the sheet with a horse that's rough on sheets.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Okay This fly sheet seemed good at first, the shoulder lining was soft and the outside seemed durable and well made. But the fit was too narrow in the shoulders, and after 10 days use the nylon shoulder lining separated from the sheet, the surcingle buckle began ripping away from the sheet and other small tears started to appear in the fabric all over. My horse is pastured alone and is pretty mellow with his blankets.
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Mio Flysheet Worth every penny I paid for it. Fits the boy as if it was custom made cut allows the air to flow through. I wish I had bought more of them for the others but will be buying more Mio blankets, great product. Does run a little large but not a lot.If you want pictures I would be happy to send them and this horse is picture perfect. Just give me a day to take them.
    Date published: 2013-07-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Horse wears it proudly! I bought this for my recently adopted off-the-track Standardbred. At 14.2, I feared he'd be a hard fit. Size 69 is perfect for the length, but when I tried other brands from another catalog, they draped well below his knees and I couldn't cinch them up enough. It's almost like a tailor snuck into my barn and custom made this sheet for him! It looks smart, and my horse acts like he's hot stuff with it on. It cleans easily with a hose down of EZ All. It dries easily. There are some snags, but they're very small. I think it's helped keep this bay guy from fading too badly. It keeps him clean, cool and comfy.
    Date published: 2013-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soft and Well Fitting This fly sheet is soft and light. It's not stiff and heavy like some other brands, and I think that my horse really appreciates it!There is a nylon lining on the shoulders and at the top of the mane to reduce hair loss.This is the only head and neck (one-piece) fly sheet that fits my Arabian. I had a Weatherbeeta that rubbed his shoulders terribly. He's a bigger bodied guy with decent shoulders.I usually buy a new one each year, but the affordable price makes that ok in my (pocket) book.
    Date published: 2013-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A great fly sheet I have owned the Amigo Mio fly sheet since 2011. It fits my 16.3 hand OTTB really well and he wears a size 81. It fits really well and has held up great. I finally had to buy a new one today because my horse tore a big hole in the shoulder of the fly sheet. But other than that the quality is great.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad purchase for me. perks: the material is soft, the hardware is terrific! the velcro is great. it fits my 16.3 tb cross very well. it breathes in 90 degree plus heat.downfall: my horse destroyed the hood part in under 2 days. which is a bummer because my horse is sensitive to fly bites and has broken out in hives.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed I bought this primarily to keep my black horse from bleaching out and because of the high UV protection. It doesn't fit that well - way too baggy in the neck for my 3 year old WB that is still a bit pencil-necked. The tail strap quickly became disgusting with manure, and I'm disappointed that after two weeks of use it has many holes and tears, including around the straps, and it looks like it won't last much longer. I know my young horse is hard on it in turnout but still hoped for a bit more durability. My horse was also sweating under it on a 72 degree day, so it's warmer than it looks.
    Date published: 2013-05-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Wonders I really like this product and will defiantly buy it again. It does snag a little but as long as you a gentle with it there are no problems. Helps my black horse in the heat of the Arizona summer stay cooler and keep those flies off of him. Helps him not bleach out to. He loves it and he hates blankets.
    Date published: 2013-04-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good I bought this for my Quarter Horse who normally wears a 75 in Amigo and Amigo Mio. The drop on this sheet is perfect for him. The two belly surcingles are as tight as I can get them, and they are a bit saggy, but they do not pose a safety hazard and do not cause the sheet to become extremely displaced. I would have downsized him to 72, but it is nearly snug across the withers and through the shoulders. The material is soft but feels more durable then I had expected after reading some of the reviews. His turnout area does not have many things that can snag; so, I think it will hold up well. My Thoroughbred has the Rambo Protector, but I think I will order one of these for him as a back-up. For the money, I think this Amigo fly sheet is worth a try.
    Date published: 2013-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Neck runs large I bought this for my 15.3 hand dark bay Connemara/TB mare. I was really excited that she would have a fly sheet this year so she wouldn't get tick bites and sun bleached. The blanket part fit her perfectly, but she was swimming in the neck. I also wish this had a belly guard.
    Date published: 2013-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT Fly Sheet My husband and I are stationed in Eastern Carolina where there is all sorts of creepy crawly bugs, and fly central! Not to mention blistering hot! I needed a full body fly sheet for my horse, who before was living in CT where the bugs aren't nearly as bad.Let me tell you this sheet is AWESOME! It held up perfectly all summer. I only had one tiny rip towards the end of it (my horse goes through fly sheets like its nobody's business). He is a very very dark bay and this sheet also kept him from becoming sun bleached! I also really liked that it was a soft material. Not like most fly sheets that are heavy and very stiff. The only thing I didn't like is that it gets stained and gross really easily. I had to throw it away at the end of the summer because it was sooo nasty. But I will definitely be purchasing another one! :)
    Date published: 2013-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive, but worth it I have a dark bay TB gelding, and previously bought quite a few fly sheets to keep him from bleaching out. Nothing would keep him from bleaching out, but I bought this, and I must say for a fly sheet, I think it is a little overpriced, but it worked great and was well worth it! It has held up well with no tears or rips and keeps him his nice dark color. It also fits well and seems quite comfortable.
    Date published: 2013-01-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed There are a few things I liked about this sheet... it's lightweight and really easy to wash. I could rinse it off, hang it up for 5 minutes, and put it back on my mare. It dries that quick! I loved the attached neck cover and the contoured fit. I was disappointed with the durability, however. My mare is super easy on clothes but the belly strap ripped off by the end of the summer. It also snags very easily and there were quite a few large snags, so once fly season was over, I pitched it. I can usually get about 3 seasons out of a fly sheet, but not this one.
    Date published: 2012-11-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not good for an itchy horse This sheet was very good for a while. It does snag very easily on the neck piece if the velcro touches it. My mare wore it consistently for turnout in Ohio for a couple of months and did fairly well with it though it did tug at her shoulders and rub a bit (she's a 16hh semi-narrow chested QH). The problem came when we moved to Florida and she was really sensitive to the bugs. Unless a big cat came and played with her fly sheet in the middle of the night, I assume she tore it apart when rubbing on the palm tree trunks. So if you have a very itchy horse, I don't believe this sheet will last you very long. If your horse is nice to sheets, it is a very good sheet in terms of coverage and UV protection.
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best flysheet we have My horse is black and this reflective and breathable material helps keep him cool and the flys away.Construction is pleasantly durable and well done - as is everything we ever have bought from Amigo. When it's hot, my horse wears it all the time. It's holding up well.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Fly Sheet I bought this for my Dressage Pony mare who can be tough to fit and hard on sheets and blankets. Fits her great and she has yet to destroy it!
    Date published: 2012-10-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Sunburn Preventer My white horse got so sunburned this summer that I bought this sheet for its' UV protection. The material is nice and lightweight, quick drying for all the rain in my area this year. My gelding managed to rip it after about 2 weeks, so I just keep sewing it back together as he really needs the UV protection. The only part I didn't like was the fit - it tends to slide backwards as it is worn so that the shoulders are tight. Also, I ordered the 69" since he is only 14.1, and maybe they could make it smaller overall for the smaller horse. As I watched my horse roll side to side at least 6 times, the sheet seems to stay in place very well! Very well worth the money.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    • 2015-02-28T07:57CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_7, tr_115
    • loc_en_US, sid_6865, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.