Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #16857

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is a low profile helmet that combines fashionable microfiber suede side panels, with a mesh centre to maximize air flow through the 12 ventilation apertures, achieving the perfect combination of cool equestrian chic.

Developed for the equestrian athlete the slimline helmet uses advanced modern materials and incorporates the latest in thermoregulation for helmets to keep your head cool. The soft suede harness incorporates the revolutionary Grpx™ technology. The harness is coordinated to the specific colors within the range to give that complete finished look.

The brim is gently rounded to flatter the face and a press stamped metallic logo is positioned centrally above the peak. Another embroidered logo features on the back of the helmet to replace the traditional ribbon. The super soft headband is embedded with high tech silver ions, providing built-in antimicrobial protection, helping to keep the helmet hygienic and free from smells. 

Favorite Features

  • Microfiber suede side panels
  • Mesh centre for maximum air flow
  • Grpx™ technology to create snug and secure fit using scientifically designed grippers
  • Antimicrobial headband to keep helmet hygienic and free of smells
  • Certified by SEI to ASTM F1163
  • Kitemarked to PAS015 and BSEN1384

Sizing It Up

See sizing chart

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Charles Owen AYR8 Helmet is rated 4.7788 out of 5 by 104.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful in Brown We have found the AYR8 to be the best fitting helmet for our rider. She has an "oval" head and could not find a GPA to fit her. We tried the AYR8 and ... PERFECT! We recently did a USDF dressage show using all brown (rather than the typical black). Everyone loved it!
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love my AYR8 I bought my first AYR8 after a fall 4 years ago, I was wearing the helmet every day, on multiple horses and I just retired it due to the fact that it has been dropped and banged around quite a bit in the last 4 years--that's an understatement, I beat the everloving tar out of it, and with a wet rag it still cleans up pretty well. I loved the helmet so much that when I went shopping for a new one, I went right back to it. I do find that I still sweat in it, but probably not as much as I would in a helmet with less ventilation. It is as comfortable as a helmet can be and fits very well. I have a very oval shaped head, so some brands are hard for me to fit, but the AYR8 is great. I don't get the headaches that I used to.
    Date published: 2013-08-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet I needed a navy helmet to match my navy Pikeur shadbelly, and the Charles Owen AYR8 is a perfect match. My usual 6 7/8" size was perfect. I have not ridden in it yet, so don't know how I will like the cooling features.
    Date published: 2013-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AYR8 Review Love this helmet! I have a large, round head and the AYR8 is the perfect fit. I have struggled ever since I first started riding trying to find a comfortable, yet stylish helmet for my large head (im a 7 3/4 with my hair up) but the AYR8 is the perfect fit and still is flattering.The AYR8 is breathable and it keeps my head cooler than my old IRH did.Can't truly rate durability since I just got the AYR8 a few weeks ago, but so far it has stayed nice and clean, even in a sometimes dusty riding ring.Can't say enough about the AYR8. Well worth the price and I will definitely buy again.Special thanks to Martha with Smartpak customer service for helping me chose the AYR8. She was so helpful!!
    Date published: 2013-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Breathable, Attractive, and Comfy This product is wonderful. I got this helmet because of its great reviews and style. I am very impressed with it. Even in the intense humidity I still stay cool and comfortable. Great product if you are looking for a helmet.. Buy this.
    Date published: 2013-07-06
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Classic Looking Helmet I have had several ARY8s and they do fit an array of head shapes I would also say. It's a great helmet if you're looking for an approved helmet with a classic look. I do have to shelf the helmet and switch to one that vents better for warmer months. Good that many other reviewers don't have this problem but I don't find that mine vented at all.
    Date published: 2013-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Beautiful but... For the six months I have been riding in the helmet, I have really enjoyed it. It seems to warm up and form to the individual shape of my head, and it's been very comfortable. It still looks like brand new after being ridden in 5 times a week for half a year, however I do have one concern. My head gets really hot under this helmet, and the vents don't seem to do much. Although I love the way it looks and it was worth the price, I probably won't buy another one due to how sweaty my head gets on hot days.
    Date published: 2013-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Pretty good! I recently purchased this helmet, and it looks ten times better on me than my IRH Elite. Even still, I feel like my head looks like a mushroom no matter what helmet I try on! It does smell slightly funky after only a few days of use, though. Let it air out properly after each ride or get a fragrance satchet to keep in it.
    Date published: 2013-04-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I have always had IRH helmets, but their style changed. I called the Customer Service, as always they were so helpful and suggested the AYR8. I LOVE IT! It fits like a glove, looks nice, and is definitely worth the price. I have had it for about 3 weeks, so can't rate durability yet. Thanks again, SmartPak!
    Date published: 2013-03-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second is a good as the first Love the helmet and just purchased a second to show in. Wears well and keeps nicely using Charles Owen Cleaner and freshener.
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just as great the second time around This is the second AYR8 helmet that I've purchased and I love it just as much as the first time. The fit is great, cleans and wears well.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Helmet I absolutely love this helmet. It fits really, really well and is so comfortable. My favorite thing about this helmet is the harness. It has some padding in the back and has a string that you can tie either a little looser or tighter so the helmet gives a custom fit. I use this helmet not only as my schooling helmet but also as my show helmet. When I show, I put my hair up under the helmet and it still feels like it fits perfectly. The ONLY thing I don't like is if I touch my helmet with even slightly dirty/dusty fingers I get dirty finger marks on it. But, it has always cleaned up easily and looks great again within 30 seconds. Would I recommend it to a friend? Absolutely. Would I buy another one if something happened to this helmet? Absolutely.
    Date published: 2013-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My favorite helmet I use one for everyday schooling and another for show.
    Date published: 2012-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet I don't like wearing helmets. But with that said, this helmet lets you forget you are wearing one. The fit is true and the helmet is indeed light and has great ventilation. The appearance is also more flattering. I would definately recommend the AYR8!
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good for me I am new to riding and all the paraphernalia that goes along with it. I bought this helmet because of the other reviews and kept it because of the soft yet firm headband – I think it sits a bit low and pushes my ears a little. It is better than any school helmet I have used; But I expected that for the price.I can't speak to durability just yet.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Helmet Ever I really love this helmet. If you know your head size then this helmet fits perfectly. I made sure that i knew it before I purchased. if unsure then go and try one on. I love how easy it cleans up with the charles owen cleaner and how well it dries after riding in hot humid weather. I wish I owned more. Wouldn't trade my AYR8 for anything. very happy to own one.
    Date published: 2012-09-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice vented helmet I love this helmet. It is great for showing here in Georgia where it is hot and humid. The vents really help to keep my head cooler. It has the same classic Charles Owens design and quality. I would recommend this to others.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Won't Fit Everythings Great but the helmet is very narrow on the side whereas, my head is rounder so the charles owen didn't fit.
    Date published: 2012-08-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet! I absolutely love my Charles Owen AYR8 helmet. It fits me perfectly and doesn't "suffocate" my head like some others have in the past. I can fit all of thick long hair into it without it being too tight, and it is so comfortable. I have only had it for a couple of weeks so I cannot attest to its durability quite yet but I have heard from other riders that it is very durable! I would recommend this helmet to everyone who is searching for one. It is amazing!
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! This helmet is great! I love the easy to snap harness and it is much better ventilated than the GR8 helmet. It is comfy and looks very nice in the ring.
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet! It fits perfectly and looks great. What more could you ask? After a long hiatus from riding, I had to replace my old velvet covered helmet, which had attained that lovely ancient-looking purple sheen and probably did not meet any kind of safety standards. I measured my noggin and used the size chart to determine my helmet size, ordered it, and have been a happy camper (or rider) ever since. The price is on the high side, but I consider premium comfort and safety to be worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Quality Helmet As expected, very nice quality. The rounded shape/narrow visor combination of the helmet makes it look larger on my head than some others. I am returning it because it is not shaped inside to fit my long oval head as well as other helmets (it's a bit loose on the sides, and too tight in front on my forehead).
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fit ever I have always owned IRH helmets and have never felt the "perfect fit" until this one!!! I love it! The fit and style is comfortable, cool, and looks great.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wow!! What an incredible helmet. AMAZINGLY comfortable, impeccable quality, and just a joy to have on my head. After buying it, my barn friends started teasing me because I started wearing it everywhere! I would literally forget it was on my head it was that comfy. I've tried nearly every brand of helmet and Charles Owen always trumps them all. I also have the JR8 for schooling, which is also really nice for the price, but my AYR8 is, so far, the very best investment I've ever made.
    Date published: 2012-07-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love it :) I love this helmet! It was a perfect fit and keeps good air flow. I used to take my helmet off to sweaty hair, now my hair is dry as can be.
    Date published: 2012-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Soooo comfy! I upgraded to the AYR8 from an IRH due to fit issues; my old helmet put so much pressure on my forehead that my skin would start peeling! Many of the online reviews I read said that the Charles Owens are good for a long oval head so I decided to go for it. I could tell an immediate difference in the fit as soon as I put it on my head; I wore it around the house the first day for a few hours and it was so comfortable...and no forehead dents!!! My only complaint is that I wish Charles Owen would make a painted surface helmet like the GPA's - the fabric tends to collect dust and is easily scuffed and difficult to keep clean. Overall, though, proper fit and comfort is way more important to me. My trainer did compliment me on how it looks on my head, too! :-)
    Date published: 2012-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Purchase Ever!! LOVE the AYR8 Design and Features!! Had the GR8 for years and decided to upgrade. Well worth the money! Love how much cooler I stay because of the vents compared to my GR8!
    Date published: 2012-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic Helmet I love the look and fit on this helmet! Great, very safe helmet, that looks fantastic in the ring at home, or in the A-Circuit show ring! The vents in the top keep your head very cool on the hot summer days too!
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.