Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad

ThinLine
- Item #16794
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is the preferred pad of some of the best riders in the world and for good reason! Ultra ThinLine products provide exceptional benefits for both horse and rider, helping to reduce rider movement, protecting the horses back, and creating a better saddle fit.  Increases performance in how horses lift their backs, and all riders will sit closer, quieter, and be able to do more with lighter aids!

Favorite Features

  • Constructed with Ultra ThinLine sewn on top of the highest quality cotton
  • 100% pure medical grade sheepskin under the panels and at the front roll
  • Pockets to insert shims to help with minor saddle fit adjustments. Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims

Sizing It Up

Medium- Fits most saddles up to 17.5". Measures 18" wide between the rolls, and 23" long including the rolls.  Large- Fits most saddles larger than 17.5".  Measures 19.25" wide between the rolls, and 24" long including the rolls.



You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is rated 4.5472 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Nice Pad I bought this pad to replace the same, very old, ThinLine Sheepskin Pad. The new one is working well, and based on experience, it'll last many years. I think it tends to run a little big. If you're not sure which size to get, try the medium first.
    Date published: 2014-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad for sore backs My Dutch Warmblood got a sore back because he needed his saddle re-fit. My poor baby was letting me know every time I tried to saddle him that he didn't want it on his back. After using the thin line sheepskin pad one time he stopped complaining about getting saddled and since the saddle has been fitted the soreness is slowly reducing. What more do you want from a pad?
    Date published: 2014-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this half pad! This pad is high quality and very well constructed. It is TTS (bought for my daughter - 16.5 in saddle. Would definitely fit up to 17 in saddle as well). My daughter likes that she can really feel her horse; definitely promotes close contact with the horse. Our gelding seems happy and comfortable as well (although we really didn't have issues before). Spendy but definitely worth it! I will be buying one to replace my older Mattes half pad for my own horse.
    Date published: 2014-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So happy I splurged! After years of having this half pad on my wish list I am so happy to have finally made the plunge and spent the money on this pad! This half pad is high quality and the the thin line technology is incredible! My OTTB has arthritis in this back and needs extra encouragement to stretch out and move while riding in the indoor arena during the winter months. I have seen an improvement in his movement using this half pad. I have also noticed my slight lower back pain I experienced during riding has completely gone away! I have a 17" saddle and I ordered a medium size pad (and it fits great). I am so happy to have made the investment both for my horses back and for mine. This pad was well worth the price!
    Date published: 2013-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Incredible Used this for the first time today and I loved it! It's high quality so I expect it will last for many years to come. My horse willingly stretched through his back and used his hind end. At first I was worried it was too thick and it would make me feel high off my horses back, but it really didn't. I ride multiple hard to fit thoroughbreds and I feel this half pad will improve their comfort making it we'll worth the price! The medium fit my 17.5 county dressage saddle perfectly!
    Date published: 2013-12-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from worth.the.money I actually bought this last pad for my best friend.  She sometimes rides my husband's horse (he and I both have one of these pads for our horses) and was wowed by the half pad.  the comfort level, the lift it gives to the saddle - amazing.  makes the ride better for everyone.  One of the trainers at our old barn used mine all the time - I think she was sad to see us go because she had to buy her own!  I cannot recommend this enough.
    Date published: 2013-12-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I bought this pad for my previous horse, a high-and-hollow withered TB who had sore back issues and was impossible to fit. Once I started using this pad, the back issues disappeared. I love this pad! I have not yet used the shims, but I love that there is always that option to adjust the saddle (slightly) to my horse as his back changes.
    Date published: 2013-10-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from comfort pad Good fit,got this for my guy who was having soreness in his back,has a good saddle fit but likes the extra softness this pad gives...so far so good,is his old self again,stretching down and using his back
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Supreme Half Pad I bought this for my mare, who has a tendency to be cold backed. Pros: The sheepskin is rich and thick, and the ThinLine material of the pad is impressive. It is a great all-around half pad to protect your horse's back and to customize your saddle fit. Cons: In response to some reviews, I ordered a large to go with my 18 inch saddles, and it is a little too large. I think the regular size will work fine for most people. It adds bulk to your saddle, so you may find the girth fits a lot tighter. It is very expensive, but I think I will have this for years to come.
    Date published: 2013-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saddle pad! I have a 17" Tad Coffin english saddle and ordered the medium in white. It fits perfectly. This is the best saddle pad I've ever had, well worth the money. Fits both saddle and horse very well!
    Date published: 2013-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Huge fan! I have been a huge fan of Thinline products for years, and this half pad is one of my favorite products they make. My mare likes a good sheepskin pad on her back, and I like the Thinline for mine. This is a great combination that doesn't make your saddle too bulky. She is forward and relaxed and round with this pad on. Several boarders at the barn have purchased this pad since seeing her go in it.
    Date published: 2013-03-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best half pad i have ever owned!!! Great half pad! Protects my horses back and looks great under my saddle. I have purchased many fleece half pads before but liked that this one incorporated thinline technology into it without being heavy or bulky like some fleece pads that contain gel.
    Date published: 2013-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cant Say Enough About this Pad! Wow, I can’t even begin to explain how happy I am about this pad. I normally wouldn't "splurge" on something like this but I am SO happy I did. I was getting horrible lower back pain every time I rode, I would get off and could hardly walk. After researching chiropractors in my area I decided I'd try one last thing. The first time I rode in it, I couldn't believe it, I got off and absolutely NO pain in my back! I've been riding in it for a couple weeks now and my pain has not come back! Jumping, dressage, trail rides EVERTHING I've done with this pad and no sign of pain. I couldn't be any happier!!! Like others have said, it is a little bigger than normal fleece half pads but it fits both my dressage and jumping saddle fine. Both are a 17” and I got the medium pad.
    Date published: 2013-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Fluffy! My first thoughts when I opened the bag were "It's so fluffy I'm gonna die!" This pad is beautiful, soft and a good thickness. I'm used to the Beval wool pads and this one isn't as thick as those but its definitely thicker than a Wilkers wither pad. The Thinline technology feels very supportive and it looks amazing under my saddle with the sheepskin rolls. Overall an amazing product, definitely worth the price for me!
    Date published: 2012-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love it! I love thinline! Their products are great. They stoo the saddle from slipping as well as act as a great bounce pad. I needed this for my tb cross who has a high wither and a lot of "negative space" or area behind the shoulder and below the wither with no muscle of bone. I was able to fit 2 inserts in it and it finally makes my saddle fit well. Happy it has worked out!
    Date published: 2012-12-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really nice half pad I bought this half pad to help with my horses sore back. I just bought a new saddle and it has a little room since I want him to gain a little weight. My saddle fitter recommended that I try this half pad since it has the nice thick fleece with the thinline for shock absorption. His back now seems less sore than before and his saddle is fitting perfectly. It is thicker than some other half pads so it wouldn't be helpful if your saddle already fits perfectly. I would definatley recommend this pad to correct saddle fit and help with a sore back. I have a 17 1/2" dressage saddle and bought the large pad which fits perfectly. Only down side is I wish it was available without the fleece border on the back of the pad and the thinline doesn't go all the way to the edge of the pad. Due to this I had to buy the large pad and make sure that my saddle is resting on the part of the pad with the thinline.
    Date published: 2012-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works well I like riding and jumping with an extra pad and this one works great. got a medium for my 17.5" saddle. Wish is was a little easier to keep clean but it's great overall.
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Medium works well I purchased a medium for my 17.5 close contact jumping saddle. My saddle fit my horse really nicely on one side and it was just slightly off on the other so I bought this pad to fill in the gap. 17.5 is definitely the max saddle size that would fit the medium. The large is much bigger and was way to big for my saddle. I think it does make my horse more comfortable under saddle and I like to have the extra pad when I ride.
    Date published: 2012-09-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy on My Back, Not So Much on the Wallet I bought this pad because my horse has a really sensitive back, and this brand in particular brand of pad reduces the impact of of a rider. I did not anticipate the reduction of impact on my back. I've been working on sitting my horse's really bouncy trot and this pad really reduced the bounce *I* was feeling as well. However, $220 for a half-pad is way more than I would spend a half pad if my horse's back was not super sensitive.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing Half Pad! I recently purchased this pad for my 10yr old paint horse. He has a hard to fit back and it gets sore easily. When I added this pad, I could tell immediately that it helped the saddle fit. The first time I sat down in the saddle it felt so much more supportive! I think it even helps my posture! After riding in it a few times, I will never ride without it!The pad seems to be very well made, and I like the thickness of it. I have recommended this pad to friends!
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Shimmable, but No Spine Clearance This is a beautiful, extremely well-made pad, however it does not have a spine channel. If it had that, it would be perfect! I bought a medium in white for my new 20yo OTTB who was underweight. It works well under a saddle that is a little generous in the gullet, but on anything that is more fitted, the pad is too bulky through the spine and over his withers. I am very pleased with it for my purposes: padding an underdeveloped back, the ability to add shims, etc. However I wouldn't recommend it as just extra cushion for a saddle that is not a little large, as it very well could be too bulky. Also, I've seen the black ones as well and the sheepskin seems to be even bulkier on those. I wouldn't recommend the black at all for that reason. If only this one had a clear spine channel!
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from well worth the money! I am a hunter/jumper and ride in a Pessoa Stadium saddle. The saddle fits fairly well but I needed something not just to protect her back, but a pad that could be shimmed in the front. This was just what was needed. My back feels so much better as well. Used to wear a back brace on a regular basis, no more!
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best pad ever for a bad back I couldn't ride without pain if not for the help of the Thin Line pads. I found that out by not using one for just one ride. I was shocked by the difference it makes. I have serious lower back issues and everyone I talk to is amazed that I can ride pain free. I would recommend this pad to anyone and everyone who has lower back pain.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Like it After 4 months Like it so much I decided to buy another one for my new second horse too. No more sore back for my horse. Everybody happier
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would not recommend This pad was way too thick. I got the large size and it was also way too long with the end of it extending beyond my saddle pad. It might work if you have a saddle that is too big and/or a horse that needs a ton of cushioning. I can't imagine who would ever need the large size though, definitely go with the medium.
    Date published: 2011-05-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice quality but no gullet channel I love the Thinline products and was excited to try the pad with the fleece. However the pad was too tight over my horses withers because the fleece covers the entire under side of the pad. There is no break in the fleece along the spine.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Expensive but Worth the Money Highly recommend this pad for horses that have back issues or cold backed horses. Made a huge difference for my horse. The pad is thick and unlike other expensive sheepskin pads it maintians that thickness, so if your saddle fits well and your horse does not have back issues you may want to go for just the plain thinline. I've had this pad for over a year and it holds up unbelievably well- I've even just thrown it in the washer and let it hang to dry. Great Investment!
    Date published: 2011-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy It! Bought this as a Christmas present to my horse and he seems to absolutely LOVE it. My trainer says he's gotten rounder since I started using it. He had been bucking at least once per ride and he stopped bucking almost as soon as I started using this pad on him.
    Date published: 2011-02-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! I love this pad! After my first ride, I knew my horse loved this pad. He was far less hollow and really rounded out. It is fantastic for cross country work, too. I purchased the large for my 18" saddle and there is still room front to back.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad I have an older TB gelding whom has an onset of "swayback" after being turned out with no work prior to my adopting him. This pad keeps his back nice and protected and I could add shims to help out with his saddle fit a little.I always ride in this pad, love it.I will buy another for my all purpose saddle as well.
    Date published: 2010-12-10
    • 2015-02-25T07:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_51
    • loc_en_US, sid_6794, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.