Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad

ThinLine
- Item #16794
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is the preferred pad of some of the best riders in the world and for good reason! Ultra ThinLine products provide exceptional benefits for both horse and rider, helping to reduce rider movement, protecting the horses back, and creating a better saddle fit.  Increases performance in how horses lift their backs, and all riders will sit closer, quieter, and be able to do more with lighter aids!

Favorite Features

  • Constructed with Ultra ThinLine sewn on top of the highest quality cotton
  • 100% pure medical grade sheepskin under the panels and at the front roll
  • Pockets to insert shims to help with minor saddle fit adjustments. Click here to purchase the ThinLine Shims

Sizing It Up

Medium- Fits most saddles up to 17.5". Measures 18" wide between the rolls, and 23" long including the rolls.  Large- Fits most saddles larger than 17.5".  Measures 19.25" wide between the rolls, and 24" long including the rolls.



You Might Like
    out of 5
    89% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ultra ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad is rated 4.5556 out of 5 by 54.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad I have an older TB gelding whom has an onset of "swayback" after being turned out with no work prior to my adopting him. This pad keeps his back nice and protected and I could add shims to help out with his saddle fit a little.I always ride in this pad, love it.I will buy another for my all purpose saddle as well.
    Date published: 2010-12-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think I think it's worth it Certainly my horse is going much better with this pad, but, she had Hytril i.v. at the same time, so I don't know if it's the pad or the Hytril or both (I supposed I could take away the pad and find out for sure). The pad is very bulky, so it will change the way your saddle fits, though in our case it wasn't enough to require any adjustment right away. Horse definitely is lifting her back and using her hind end better. The pad is super thick and soft, and therefore makes horse mommies feel better for their horsies. :-) I can't feel her back muscles as well as without the pad, but since it's a half-pad I can better feel her barrel and the indirect action of her hind end, and that's really what we needed, for our particular horse/rider team. Definitely her back is lifted more, and I can better open my hip angle accordingly.
    Date published: 2010-11-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Heaven in a Half Pad! This pad was recommended to me by a friend. I have a 23 year old TB mare and as she has gotten older her back is just a little more sensitive. I wanted to get her something new to ensure she was getting enough support for her changing back. This pad is perfect. The thick sheepskin and the ThinLine gel is a wonderful combination. Yesterday we went for a ride and she was happy and alert and she felt just a little more energetic. She was never lame and never had a severely sore back, but I love the pad! IT makes me feel better knowing I'm giving her the utmost protection for her back. Definitely worth the money!
    Date published: 2010-10-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Too bulky The fleece is very thick and there is no gap in the fleece at the spine. This made it too bulky for my saddle.
    Date published: 2010-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from bit thick, but a nice half pad I like this pad quite a bit, but its just a little too thick. I use it for cross country as I think it provides adequate comfort and protection, however, I do not like it for dressage. I need and prefer a closer contact feel.The quality is beautiful, and it really is a great pad, just a bit on the thick side.Its heavier than I thought too.
    Date published: 2010-04-16
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from disappointed I love Thinline products and have the trifecta pad. I purchased this one for my dressage saddle and was very disappointed. The thinline does not go all the way to the edge of the sheepskin rolls, so the panels of my saddle went beyond the thinline even though the back of the pad was wide enough for my saddle. Had they extended the thinline the full width of the pad, I think I would have liked it a lot, but it didn't work for me. Poorly designed.
    Date published: 2010-02-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Plushest Pad ever This pad is sooooo awesome. So well made. So plush. I feel like he is the most pampered boy in the barn with this pad!
    Date published: 2009-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE IT I did recommend this to my friend. It's an awesome half pad. I would recommend black.
    Date published: 2009-12-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THIS HALF PAD! I never ride without it! It's great and really helps my horse in his movements.
    Date published: 2009-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful pad but a little thick. This is a gorgeous, well made pad with plenty of plush sheepskin. It is great but my only slight complaint is that it is a little thick. Otherwise it's a great buy.
    Date published: 2009-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad I bought this for my daughter and she absolutely loves it. Fits well under her saddle, isn't bulky and her mare already seems to be moving more comfortably. I would definitely recommend it.
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy Horse We knew she was cranky, we didn't know she was uncomfortable. We have used all kinds of pads and started to think it was just her personality. What a change! She is so cooperative now. Again won blue in jumper competition but even she was happy about it! This pad has made a huge difference. I don't buy expensive stuff all the time but this is worth every penny!
    Date published: 2009-05-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Combination This pad combines the thinline pad that I love along with show ring ready sheepskin. I love the look and feel of this pad. The sheepskin in thick and the thinline pad is already attached!! My only complaint is that I wish the pad had a spine free design. I am used to my Mattes pads and this one does not fit the same. You can pull it up into the gullet of your saddle but it creates alot more bulk in the gullet. Regardless, with this pad I know my horse has the ultimate in shock absorbtion with the Thinline and pressure distribution with the sheepskin. Excellent for a horses that are rather sensitive through the back.
    Date published: 2009-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome for sore backs-humans & horses After a year and a half of rehabbing my 10 year old TB, I decided that we should probably invest in some good tack and a new dressage saddle. After talking with a saddle fitter she suggested a great saddle but insisted I try this pad. I have been using a gel half pad and a faux sheepskin pad, but Merlyn has always had some back soreness problems. Once I got my new saddle and the ThinLine Sheepskin Comfort Half Pad I noticed, almost immediately, how much more relaxed Merlyn was under saddle and much more comfortable I was in the tack. This half pad is great and I recommend it to everyone I know. It is amazing how much a properly fitting saddle and a great pad really make everyone more comfortable!
    Date published: 2008-08-16
    • 2015-03-04T07:34CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_52
    • loc_en_US, sid_6794, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.