Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Barnsby Grip Pads

Barnsby
- Item #16722

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The revolutionary Barnsby Grip Pad® will stop saddle sliding in its tracks.

Soft cotton pad has contoured neoprene panels that sit directly under the saddle for added support and cushion. The underside of the Grip Pad® is lined with specialty rubber that adheres comfortably to the horse, absorbs sweat and doesn’t pinch or rub.

Dressage (White only), All Purpose or Close Contact (Black or White).

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Barnsby Grip Pads is rated 4.9643 out of 5 by 28.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Extremely dependable Doesn't slip or inch back, even on my big draft cross. Works well in hot or cold weather. Has been used now for over a year, and is holding up with no sign of wear. My only question is how to clean it. The rubbery underside can't be brushed free of hair.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Finally! My trainer can stop making me get off half way through my lesson to move my saddle back up! Worth every penny! Need I say more?
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Doesn't slip ... Pros: It does seem to work, and quality is good.Cons: Once it is positioned, it doesn't slip, but because there are no straps it can move around as you are getting tack on and tightening the girth.In the dressage style, if your saddle is on the non-slip pads, there is a fair amount of saddle pad sticking out in front of your saddle flaps (too much for my taste). But it does the job on a young horse with undeveloped front end. Although pricey, it is good quality and I expect it to last.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really helps saddle stay put In spite of the crazy price tag, this is my second Barnsby grip pad. They really do help keep my saddle in place, front to back and side to side. my horse is comfortable in it, even in the hot weather we had all summer. They wash nicely. My barn owner has had her pads for more than two years and they still look nearly new. They are excellent quality and I would buy another, especially if SmartPak would carry all the cool colors available in Europe! ;-)
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This Is The Answer! My mule's back changes with work and the season but not enough to have the saddle tree changed. I bought the Barnsby Grip Pad to stop the slight slipping at the canter and to keep my boy happy in his work. This pad works so well that I bought a second one! When my boy is happy, I'm happy!!!!
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great saddle pad was a little worried that pad didn't have straps for girth or billets but this pad stays put! I only purchased a month ago so can't comment on durability but very well made. I have the all purpose pad which covers a large area. Very happy with purchase and fast shipping!
    Date published: 2011-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best non slip pad ever I have a very round Haflinger and needed something for my jumping sadlle which was even more slippery ( sideways) than the dressage saddle, plus even if the pad stayed on the horse, the saddle would slide on top of the pad, and this pad just did it, once it is on, no movement whatsoever
    Date published: 2011-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great saddle pad Got this pad as an option for schooling/schooling show pad. Well made, like the fact that it is shaped and will stay off the horse's withers. All my other pads, except my Mattes show pad work their way to pressure on the withers. Love the non slide surface on the bottom. This pad does not slide at all! Been riding in it about two weeks now, and love it.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pad Finally found the perfect pad to keep my saddle from slipping!
    Date published: 2011-02-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome pad! I bought this pad on the recommendation of my trainer to help stabilize my saddle on my pudgy, no-withers-at-the-moment horse. My saddle does not budge even with a rambunctious mare that loves to play under saddle. Everyday dust/dirt brushes right off with a soft brush and the pad washes up nicely without any signs of wear. The price is it's only downfall and it comes at a pretty big one at that.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Pad I had saddle slipping forward issues before I bought this pad. I tried a foregirth and it just ended up rubbing her. The saddle fits perfect but due to the build of my mare it still slipped forward. I found this pad and it really works. I washed it once so far and it came out of the washer like new. I would expect this pad to last a long time. Wished they came in more colors.
    Date published: 2010-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BEST PURCHASE EVER The Barnsby Grip pad is worth every penny it cost! It saved my Georgian Grande (Dini) from having bucking fits due to his saddle slipping. He is built like a Cob, with low withers and an unusual shoulder conformation which makes keeping a saddle centered on his back quite a challenge. Even with a custom fitted saddle and an ergonomic girth, his saddle would slip even at a walk. Dini is very sensitive and he worries when he knows something isn't correct. The pad arrived a day early and we tried it on him last night. He was tense at first, anticipating the slipping, but once he knew his saddle, and consequently his rider were secure, he calmed right down and had a wonderful training session. NO MORE BUCKING! If you have a horse with low withers or a wide flat back and can't keep a saddle on him....BUY THIS PAD NOW!
    Date published: 2010-11-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Hassle/No Slip Love the Barnsby Grip Pad! Use for both dressage and x-country -- great for monoflap saddles. Washes well, wears well, will not slip -- ever!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Pad for Round Backs This is the best grip pad in the world. The saddle does not move. It is great for warmbloods with wide round backs.
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great non-slip pad! If you have problems with your saddle slipping, this pad is GREAT! I have Friesians who don't have much in the way of withers, so saddles could easily slip to the side unless their girth was super tight. I'm sure they were miserable. We tried various rubber "non-slip pads" with limited success. With these pads, there is no absolutely NO SLIP. AND, they are such attractive pads, I will be using them for shows! Laundry instructions are simply as well. All around a great purchase!
    Date published: 2009-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super no slip pad Best saddle pad ever. No billet or girth strap yet never moves!Wash in cold water and hang dry.Plenty of cushion and nice enough for show use.
    Date published: 2009-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad I have 2 the Barnsby Grip Pads- one close contact, one dressage- and absolutely LOVE them. They keep my saddle in place, even on steep trail rides. I no longer have to use a breastplate on my very round mare. The pads don't rub and wash nicely in the machine. I wish the bottom of the pad was reinforced in the girth area, but other than that I have no complaints! I'm happy that SmartPak is carrying these- they are hard to find!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.