Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Cavallo Simple Boots

Cavallo Horse & Rider
- Item #16712

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Cavallo Simple Boots are multi-purpose hoof boots that are excellent for all-terrain hoof protection for the barefoot horse. Allows natural expansion of the hoof wall as well as increased blood circulation. Absorbs shock so your horse's legs don't need to! Also provides comfort for chronic pain, hoof sensitivity and helps with rehabilitation from injuries, abscesses, navicular disease, laminitis/founder, punctures, sole bruising and contracted heels. Adds protection during trailering and breeding and works great as a "spare tire" when a shoe is lost. Lightweight, simple to put on and remove, and stays securely on the hoof. Shaped for the natural hoof (needs no inserts or shims). Features:

  • Simple front fastening with industrial grade VELCRO® brand closures
  • Genuine leather upper
  • Mould-in back flap for bulb protection and abrasion resistance
  • Durable construction using waterproof thread, rustproof metal and high performance TPU outsole
  • Soft leather foam-filled collar
  • Outside tread pattern supports the hoof wall
  • All-terrain tread minimizes build-up of mud, sand and debris. Excellent traction while still allowing natural movement
  • Built-in sole relief: Raised inner rim takes pressure off sole, bar and frogs

Black.  Sold in pairs.  Sizes 1-6.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Cavallo Simple Boots is rated 4.4464 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Thank goodness! I ordered these boots after reading other reviews on smartpak and I am not disappointed. My 6 yo OTTB recently tore off a shoe and took a lot of hoof wall with it, and subsequently suffered an abcess in her heel.Tacking her shoe back on was not an option, so I ordered these boots. During the day, I used a hot animalintex poultice pad inside the boot, which fit perfectly and held it secure.I was very impressed with the quality, durability, fit and versatility of these boots. I dont know how we lived with out them!
    Date published: 2013-10-23
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from didn't fit These are very nice boots but i couldn't get the right fit for either of my horses. i ordered all the sizes and they were too big or too tight. i think they would have worked great and the quality was excellent. i wish they had worked for my horses.
    Date published: 2013-03-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple and effective I'm not sure if his soles are unusually thin or he's just accident prone, but my 18 yr old OTTB incurred 2 hoof abscesses in one year. My farrier suggested these types of boots, so I tried several brands and styles before I found these. Beautiful and simple! No screw drivers or difficult snaps, and the break-in period was really short; I had to wrap his heels with vet wrap for about a week before the leather softened. The boy has issues with people handling his feet, but he doesn't mind putting these on. I usually boot him only when he's out in a relatively rough pasture or on the trail and they are holding up great. They run a little large, though, so check your measurements.
    Date published: 2013-11-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Purchased these when we took my horses shoes off in the fall. The first pair fit like a glove but rotated when he walked on the barn aisle. Replaced with the next larger size and they were great for riding in my stonedust arena--until my horse's feet grew. Missed riding for 3 weeks due to my job and hurricane! Next chance to ride, his feet had grown and the boots were difficult to put on. As I put the first one on, he put his foot down and split the boot. Moral to the story is that these are wonderful boots if you can get the right fit for your horses feet!
    Date published: 2013-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-11-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good to have when shoes fall off I had to send the first pair of boots back for a smaller size (received promptly with no problems) - and used one when my horse lost a shoe shortly thereafter. Boot was a little hard to get snug around the top, but stayed on in turnout (off in stall) for 3 days. Horse was comfortable and( has to normally wear wedge shoes/pads) didn't require any Bute. If these boots hold up, I am sold on them!
    Date published: 2012-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works Easiest boot to put on, stays on, and doesn't shift. Provides excellent protection for my recently barefoot horse. Doesn't interfere with her normal action either. Would recommend to anyone considering boots for their horse. Have used happily with another horse previously, so it was an easy decision.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Over all a good buy These boots fulfill their promise of comfort and protection. I should've listened to a review I read online about them running a size large. I had to send the first pair back because they were too big, even though I went by my farrier's measurements. My horse is wearing them 24/7 with the exception of a daily cleaning out and hoof conditioning. They seem to be holding up well. A little fraying on the edge of the flaps that fold over. I see a thread that wasn't tucked into the seam. But doesn't seem to be coming apart. I did brake my horse in slowly to them and he hasn't gotten any chafe or rub marks. Its nice that I don't need metal shoes anymore but there are always pros and cons with any product. Happy Riding :-)
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These ARE good boots I bought a pair of Cavallos several years ago for my husband's trail horse who was recovering from a hoof abscess. I didn't want to put shoes on her, but I wanted to ride her and the boots were a great solution. I just bought another pair for my young dressage horse who paws something fierce in the trailer. They protect her hoof (and my trailer!) from getting too banged up. The only hard part is sizing. I wish I would have purchased one size down for her. She measured right on the line between 4 and 5, and I went with the larger size. In hindsight, I should have gone with the smaller. Since I don't ride her in them, it isn't a huge deal. They are holding up well to her insults...they are a well-made boot.
    Date published: 2012-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Protection This is my second experience with Simple Boots having used them on a horse I owned before. They are extremely easy to put on and provide excellent protection for a newly barefoot horse. The only negative is that I actually ended up purchasing two pair because the pair my horse actually measured for ended up rubbing the bulbs of her heels. Getting a size larger corrected the situation and I'm very pleased with the product overall.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cavallo boots Retraining my draft cross ex-buggy horse for dressage is slow anyhow and wasn't being helped by continuously losing his shoes in turnout this summer! We're experimenting now with keeping him barefoot. But as his feet grow out, he has been tender-footed on any surface other than grass and consequently short-strided in my stone-dust riding arena. So I'm trying these boots for riding. They are easier to put on than other brands that I've tried in the past when one of my horses has lost a shoe. So far there has been no irritation to his heels or pasterns but they do tend to collect small pieces of stone. I don't think this would be a big issue in the pasture but I don't want him to wear them all the time. He is much more comfortable now for our short training sessions. The only change I would like to see is a more beveled edge along the front to help him "break over" in stride. He wears a size 2 shoe. We found that the size 4 boot was too large but size 3 is just right.
    Date published: 2012-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boots. I think they will hold up in our Virginia weather. The drainage is a nice feature- no rocks just some mud and shavings got into the boots. The heel is set wide but I slowly broke my horse into the boot so he wore his own heel bulb marks. still watching him closely for any sores b/c I am leaving them on 24/7 with the exception of cleaning and airing out.Happy trails!
    Date published: 2012-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-10-08
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Stayed on, but rubbed The boots were thick and strong, and they were easy to put on. They seemed to be big, but fit snuggly at the base of the hoof. They stayed on well, but started rubbing just above the coronary band after about five miles of riding. They were fine for three miles, so they might be okay as an emergency boot.
    Date published: 2012-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best boots! These boots are high quality and perfect for riding my barefoot horse.
    Date published: 2012-09-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-08-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good boots Only tried once, but these boots seem to fit OK. They are loose, a little clunky, but they don't rotate. I think my horse will like them better once I get the gel pads in.
    Date published: 2012-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than shoes! I bought two pairs of these for my barefoot mare who keeps getting stones and pebbles in her feet causing abscesses regularly. I was initially planning to have her shod but my farrier recommended Simple Boots instead and he was right, they are much better than traditional shoes and are much cheaper! No more worries about pulled shoes creating more problems than good. The sizing is very critical - I had to order a size smaller for the hind. She wears these 24/7 but I take them off daily to make sure they are clean and haven't caused any sores on her pasterns (tried the Cavallo Pastern Wraps but they didn't hold up). She did have to wear them for a week straight while I was out of town and surprisingly they made it! They stayed on and didn't get turned around or torn up. They do tend to collect bedding inside them through the drain holes, so I make sure to clean them out before putting them back on. I do wish that they had the toe break-over like the Cavallo Sport Boots, but unfortunately those do not fit her hoof shape. I wish Cavallo made both the Sport and Simple boots in both hoof shapes - these are made for the more round foot where the Sport Boots are made for the more narrow foot. We'll see how long they last, but any longer than a few months and they will have beat the pricing of shoeing anyway!
    Date published: 2012-06-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! Functional even after a flood! This is my horse's 2nd pair of Cavallo boots. I know these boots are designed for trails, but whenever my mare loses a shoe or has any kind of hoof problem, I put these on her, and she never misses a minute of turn out. My first pair of boots are a couple of years old even surviving being swept across the barnyard in last year's 500 year flood. They are still functional!
    Date published: 2012-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots, hard to fit The quality is great on these boots, but the sizing chart is a bit inaccurate.
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great boots! I have a horse with sensitive feet. Even when shod he tends to tippy toe around. I thought about putting pads on him, but decided to try these boots instead. They're great! First off, they fit him very well. Second, they seem to be very well made (I'll see how well they wear over time) but, best of all, he's sounder than he's even been. I've ridden him over rocky terrain and through mud and have not had a single problem.
    Date published: 2012-03-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Real Life Saver! I truly cannot say enough about how great these boots are! My OTTB suffered from a terrible series of hoof abcesses (he's been off the track for over a year now and his hooves are just now healthy from having not been taken care of). One of the abcesses was so bad that it went from the coronet band all the way down his hoof and out the bottom. It hollowed out the space underneath his hoof wall and he lost a huge portion of the hoof wall. The vet wanted to leave the hole open for a while for cleaning purposes, but the farrier was worried that leaving it exposed would result in more hoof loss due to wear and tear on the edges of the hole. These boots were a PERFECT solution and I don't know what I would've done without them. Not only did they provide the protection he needed, but they also stood up to the wear and tear of my very hot OTTB once he started feeling good enough to gallop full-speed around the pasture again.
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to put on and remove; stays put. I would not recommend using it over long periods / long rides. Made the mistake of leaving it on overnight due to a missing shoe and hard ground. Rubbed horse's heel raw. Otherwise, works fine and has held up really well - we use them on occasions when shoe is missing.
    Date published: 2011-10-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Careful of sizing Borrowed a set of size three's, slightly too big, sized using instructions and chart and bought a size 2. Have to admit got the size 2's put them in my trunk for when I might need them, pulled them out when my mare pulled shoe and NO WAY would a 2 work. I should have stuck with the slightly bigger 3. Advise - go size bigger than chart dictates.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Boot review The Cavallo Simple Boot is just that...simple to use. However, the two outside velcro straps caused me much concern and worry when I used them for the first time. We were riding in wet conditions and the outside straps kept coming loose. Several times I had to dismount to strap them up again and it became annoying. However, the boot did stay on and I stopped worrying about the outside straps. The inside velcro was strong enough to keep the boot on and the balance of the ride went well. I would recommend that the outside straps be redesigned to be one large velcro strap, however.
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT when missing a shoe! Bought these for a horse that continually pulls a shoe during turnout - stays on overnight to protect his bare hoof. Easy to put on / take off; no rubbing - love it!
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Boots! My horse was unable to wear shoes for about six weeks. I used these boots to protect his hooves, until I could ge shoes back on him.These boots stayed on and held up, even though my horse tried to take them off multiple times.
    Date published: 2011-07-20
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.