Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

SmartPak Baby Pads

SmartPak
- Item #16525

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Simple, practicality! Once you try it, you won’t be able to ride without it! Wicking lining gives our baby pad a little more substance than others you may have tried. 100% cotton baby pad with a wicking 100% polyester lining. Machine wash cold and dry. Specify White, Black, Navy. Measures 26" spine, 17'' drop

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Baby Pads is rated 4.3662 out of 5 by 71.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these baby pads! Bought these for my girls. I love the white because I can bleach them and get them clean. Love the free embroidering that comes with being a Smartpak customer! They was great, wear great and they look awesome.
    Date published: 2013-07-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great purchase! This baby pad has a nice thickness. Quality cotton with a nice lining. The length is great - you do not have to fold. I chose the "let smartpak pick the color" option and it turned out lovely. Overall a nice value!
    Date published: 2013-06-29
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from This pad is okay. I bought this pad looking for a black baby pad. Ordered with pink embroidery(very cute and free with barn saver shipping, thanks smart pak!) however the pad does fit strangely. It is not very wide, barely comes down to the bottom of the saddle flap, and is very long across the back. Tends to bunch slightly under my saddle.
    Date published: 2013-05-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not what I was thinking I purchased these pads to go under my saddlepad in the "shedding" season to make the laundry easier. The hair really sticks to the underside which is a little fuzzy, since it's wicking material. Not like the previous baby pads I had that were cotton quilt on both sides. Which is what I was told these were.....But that's not to say they don't do their job. The are a little smaller than my saddle pad in the length but that's not a problem.
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Monogram was uneven. too short I was excited to try out SmartPak's version of baby pads with free monogramming and shipping I thought why not. But it's too short for my regular flap 17" saddle. My saddle flaps touch my horse's side which isn't the point of baby pads are meant to keep your more expensive tack clean (saddle, halfpads). The monogram was not even the first letter of my name was so much shorter it acutally looks like a lowercase 'u'. I don't like the fuzzy material under the pad and wish that was included in the description. I didn't rate durability as I have only washed it once so far. I didn't notice any uneven stitching like some other posters have noticed.
    Date published: 2013-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Substantial baby pads We love using dark baby pads so our white sheepskin pads, etc. don't get too dirty too fast. These pads were a little more substantial than some that we have purchased else where. They feel like pads that will last a long time! My only complaint was that we ordered navy and got black. Even the package said navy, but the pad tag was correctly labeled black. I know SmartPak would have gladly exchanged them but we were happy to use them anyway and at this price we will order them again!
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good, not great This pad is a good baby pad, but not the best one out there. It's very oddly sized, it hangs out from either side of my AP pad, but is too short to reach all the way to the bottom of the pad. If you were just using a half pad or something it probably would look a lot better, but with a full pad on top it just looks odd. That's really my only concern at this point- the pad is well made, though like all navy items from Smartpak it is a bit dark. Customization is top notch and was super fast to boot. If it just hid under my pad I'd be thrilled!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have ordered two of these baby pads, and like the quality and the free embroidery. However, I just tried to order a third pad and it seems many of the embroidery options have been taken away, especially if I want text and a graphic.
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from for our wedding I got these 2 pads with "just married" embroidered in the corner. My husband and I rode off after our wedding reception and it was the perfect touch! Thanks SMARTPAK!
    Date published: 2012-11-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy Purchased this and got it embroidered, came super fast arrived in only two days. Doesn't slide back or scruch up like most baby pads. Definitely recommended. Great buy and super price! 5 stars!!
    Date published: 2012-11-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad! Love these pads! They look great with a monogram. You can never have too many pads!
    Date published: 2012-11-08
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Get what you pay for This is a very basic pad. You get what you pay for. I will say that it does have a tendancy to slip but other than that it does the job it is intended for. I do like the wicking lining.
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome pad I love this pad! I think it's the perfect size! I use a Mattes pad over it and it's the perfect length for that..not too long where I have to fold it and not too short where the half pad is on the horses back. As others have said, it does bunch a little (I find more so on wider horses), but it's not enough to make me not use it. It seems that the lining underneath helps absorb sweat as there has only been one time where my saddle and Mattes pad have gotten wet.
    Date published: 2012-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Almost as good as the Beval baby pads Durable and don't rub my mare's withers, even if they slip. Love the material on the underside of the pads, but makes them prone to slipping on a horse that already requires a breastplate.
    Date published: 2012-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Very nice! I had been looking for a baby pad, and for the price and the monogramming option, this was the best deal. The pad itself is really nice quality. The backing gives it some substance so it's not so flimsy. It does bunch a little which I don't like, but not enough for me not to use it.
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice saddle pad! I go through a TON of baby pads. Due to the Southern heat, they only last one use before needing to be washed. So I've tried a lot of brands, and I really like the SmartPak pad. I was surprised to see that it's lined (even though it says it right in the description) but I ended up really liking it. I was afraid that the lining would separate from the top layer with use and washing, but that hasn't happened yet so I think it'll be okay.And the embroidery, of course, is perfect! SmartPak does a GREAT job!
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Unlike the rest in the barn, this pad is perfect! No folding, its a perfect fit! Only problem, I lost it after a month, and there aren't any options to personalize for friesians, or really just not a lot to choose from, but I will continue to order.
    Date published: 2012-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good saddle pad! I recently purchased three of these saddle pads. I ride multiple horses per day and wash each saddle pad after every ride, so I wanted saddle pads that would easily fit in the washer. I am very pleased with the overall quality of the product. I love the material of the pad. I opted to get the monogramming on the pads. I got my initials on two of the saddle pads, and it is GORGEOUS. However, on the third saddle pad, I chose to get my horses show name. The quality of the monogramming is very good, however, you can barely read the monogramming. So I am disappointed in that. Just be careful if your horse has a longer show name! Other than that, a really great product!!
    Date published: 2012-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I got a few of these pads to use under a sheepskin half pad. I'm constantly washing saddle pads, but with these I can fit more per load than with thicker pads. Using the barn-saver shipping deal, I got 10% off, free embroidery, and free shipping. Absolutely can't beat them for the price!! The only thing I'd point out is that they're not a quilted pattern like the pictures show, they're a flat cotton/canvas type material on the top with a softer material on the bottom. It doesn't matter to me, I still think they look fine, but they just don't look like the pictures.
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than expected! When ordering these baby pads I was not expecting much. Most baby pads I have bought in the past were rather cheap and didn't fair well in the wash (they fell fell apart quickly). These smartpak pads have all the quality that all other baby pads lack! They are a good size, made nicely, and wash up great (trust me I know I bought the white ones!).
    Date published: 2012-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE it so much! This was seriously a good purchase. I got it in black with a silversilhouette of a jumper and underneath that, in light blue, my horse's show name. It. looked. amazing. Just like I pictured it. I could not be happier! Thank you, SmartPak! In the picture you cannot see the monogram very well, but I uploaded it so you can see the size. My horse is 17hh and my saddle is a 17". :)
    Date published: 2012-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this baby pad! This is honestly the best baby pad Ive ever owned. I dont know how I ever used those flimsy, thin ones for so long? The first ride. I admit, I did NOT like it. It was slick, and moved around a bit. I also thought it might be too thick and heavy. I decided, if I paid for it, Id give it a few more rides. It loosened up and now is very secure. It definitely does wick moisture, as the description says. My 18" saddle and pads fit well on top of the pad. Haven't had any bunching or moving. Loved this pad I ordered a second one (and Im sure I will order more). My favorite saddle pad that i own, without question. Plus the embroidery looks gorgeous. I get many many compliments on this!
    Date published: 2012-07-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Worth every penny I was in need of a good deal on saddle pads and stumbled upon these. At first the material didnt agree with me (soft against the horses back, but slick on the saddle side), but now I'm really loving it. My saddle doesn't get damp when my horse sweats through the pad, and they dry really quick! Another plus are the monograms. PHENOMENAL quality.. I was so in love with my first set in black that I ordered a second set in white.. can't wait for those to show up. I do wish there were more colors though (probably for the best, as I would buy them ALL!)
    Date published: 2012-06-27
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Nice quality, but bad design I was really excited when I got these pads. They are really nice quality and the embroidery on them was beautiful. However, it was a diferent story once I got it on my horse. THey are cut perfectly square, so they really bunch up - no way to get them to lie flat across teh back. Also, since they are square, they just sit right on the withers really tightly - there is no way to pull them up and off the withers for clearance without making them bunch up even more. Sadly, won't be able to use these.
    Date published: 2012-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Baby Pad I really like the SmartPak baby pad. They are perfect for every day riding and so far they have held up very well. I haven't had any problems with them slipping/bunching up and I love that there is a softer cotton on the side that touches my horse's back. I love the monogram and will definitely be purchasing more of these pads in the future!
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nicely Embroidered, but slips. I purchased this baby pad in black, and was going to purchase the 3 pack. I am glad I didn't.While I normally LOVE smartpak products.. this baby pad falls short just a bit. The material bunches under my saddle, and slips as I ride. It actually slipped so far back, that I was able to pull it out from under my saddle without undoing my girth.The embroidery was beautiful as always, but the pad will eventually get lost at the bottom of my tack trunk. Despite all of my efforts, I can not keep it from slipping back as I ride.
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Pad for the Price This pad is very durable, it was a bit small for my saddle. But it is a baby pad, so no complaints. =)
    Date published: 2012-02-20
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.