Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Big D Espree Turnout Sheet

Big D
- Item #16488

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're sorry, but certain colors/sizes are sold out and are no longer available.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A blanket where the bells and whistles come standard. Extremely well constructed, waterproof 600 Denier rip-stop exterior has reinforced heat-sealed seams and rear darts that are tailored not just folded over. VELCRO® brand and double buckle closure prevents sagging. Tailored gussets fit the natural line of the shoulder. Mesh lining along the back allows for better airflow. Hard-wearing 210 Denier taffeta show coat lining at the hip and shoulder prevents coat damage. Blanket stays put with adjustable bias surcingles and removable elastic leg straps. Fleeced wither helps prevent rubs and the longer cut tail flap protects the hind end from wind. Navy or Forest Green with coordinating trim. 

Please note: Embroidery is recommended on the surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing abilities.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Big D Espree Turnout Sheet is rated 4.6944 out of 5 by 36.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from QUALITY TURN OUT Very good quality.. Ive always liked the fit of Big D and they make a quality product
    Date published: 2012-11-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from great sheet, small neck for warmblood the sheet is excellent quality, and fits through the body. but the neck opening is a bit small for my big warmblood (even in size 86). I have it on the last hole and up way past his withers, but seems a bit snug still. so that's why I put 3 stars instead of 5.
    Date published: 2013-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite Blanket! LOVE this blanket! Seriously it's my go to blanket. It's great for cold nights or layering for really cold nights.It has lasted me many seasons and I have bought more then one for my horses.
    Date published: 2012-10-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice sheet I have a Tb 16.3h. 78 fits perfect. We have a Rhino wug which I like as well but he seems to get hot in it. The material is lighter than wug but feels strong. I really like the fit with gussets. The dirt brushes off real easy. Working great so far!
    Date published: 2013-12-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Rain Sheet Purchased for my senior Spotted Saddle Horse mare who has recently had a change of life due to some medical issues, that moved her to a turnout with no shelter. Here in SC we have had a very mind, but rainy winter. This sheet was exactly what i was looking for, fits her great, (she is skinny through the shoulders), stays dry :) even with days of rain! Durable, my other horse borrowed it one night and enjoyed playing out in the pasture, it was dirty, but not a stitch loose or missing. I love that it is breathable, she can still be protected and dry underneath. Very well designed. I would love to have another for my other horse.
    Date published: 2012-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! I love this sheet. It fits really well and looks good on. Nice attention to detail with the features on this blanket
    Date published: 2012-01-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good buy for the money I have WB an other than the RAMBO blankets, few fit in the shoulders. This blanket was a fair fit, but still a little tight around the neck and shoulders. I needed a light weight turn out that breathes and the fabric was perfect.
    Date published: 2011-12-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not "quarter horse" width !!! I was so disappointed - had to return this because it didn't fit my bulldog style quarter horse thru the shoulders. Before ordering, I tried a barn mate's size 74 - which was purchased last August - on Seguro and it fit perfectly. I ordered the same size/model but mine fit dramatically tighter through the shoulders. I don't know if this is the "new" sizing or if it was just a manufacturing flaw in this 1 sheet. I replaced it with a Rambo Quarter Horse sheet which fits beautifully (and which, unfortunately, cost twice as much)!
    Date published: 2011-12-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Turnout Sheet If you need your horse to stay dry this is the turn out. Do Not bother with off brand, this is it!!
    Date published: 2011-12-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect choice This sheet was just what I was looking for. My paint mare is stabled indoors and needed a lightweight sheet for cooler fall and spring days. She is turned out with with other horses and this sheet has held up in blustery weather and horseplay. There is ample coverage for shoulders and rear. The buckles and snaps are good quality and easy to handle. The sheet washes well. I have had mine for almost a year. Just wish there were were more feminine colors.
    Date published: 2011-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just like they said This is a very nice blanket and just what I was looking for. Rain is coming this weekend, so we'll see how it does. But my immediate impression is very nice quality and construction. However, I did end up exchanging for one size bigger than I expected to need. It runs smaller than the Baker I had tried before. It does ride fairly high on the shoulder/neck which may cause some shoulder rubbing; we shall see.
    Date published: 2011-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet for outside living This is a great sheet. It has a liner to wick away moisture. The horses can't rip it! In the Arizona high country.
    Date published: 2011-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Value and it Works! I recently purchased two Espree Turnout Sheets, one for a Connemara and one for a Percheron cross. The Connemara's fits beautifully. The Percheron cross's is a little tight through the neck, but a very acceptable fit. These sheets are handsome, beautifully tailored and stay in place even during rolling; no shifting of the sheet at all. My guys have thick winter coats, but I wanted something to keep them dry as they are turned out 24/7 with barn access. They wore the sheets during the recent rain / snow / freezing rain events we've had and even though they spent much of their time outside, they were perfectly dry under the sheets. I watched another of my ponies nipping and pulling at the sheets, but not one tear (I'm knocking wood!) I'm very, very happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2011-01-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Day Rain Jacket This is the perfect rain jacket for a cool day, especially for horses that have a heavy winter coat.It breaths and keeps them from over heating while keep the rain off. Great for warmer climates.Runs true to size.
    Date published: 2010-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big D is the best! I have found that Big D Blankets and Sheets fit well, hold up through the years and many washings. They don't shift like most others do, and keep my horses warm, dry and clean. All at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Warm climate rain sheet I am so impressed with this Big D rain sheet. Perfect for the warmer climates where we want to keep the rain off our horses during the day and it is not that cold out. It breaths and is very well made. My horse has a natural winter coat and most rain blankets I have tried make him over heated.It is something I have looked for a long time. Thanks Big D!!!
    Date published: 2010-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Looking Blanket I needed a light weight blanket for a big warmblood and had tried others. This one was just right. It fits him well. Haven't been able to use it because of 90 degree weather!
    Date published: 2010-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its a very good rain sheet I had a hard time finding just a basic rain sheet with no fill, this is a nice affordable blanket that gets the job done.
    Date published: 2010-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Correct Fit and Durable Best sheet I own. Have the original Rambo's/Horseware from Ireland but this sheet has gussets. You cannot destroy this sheet. Great rain sheet too! The neck is more narrow and a snug fit fit than the Horsewares. It fits my 17h ISH. He wears an 86 in this sheet. Fits perfect. Great for the small or the large pony!
    Date published: 2011-04-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product Nicely made, looks great on the horse. Size runs very true in my opinion. The horse doesn't sweat under it if the sun comes out.
    Date published: 2009-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Turnout Sheet I have always liked Big D products and they don’t disappoint with their Espree turnout sheet. The sheet is well made and fits my big shouldered Quarter horse very comfortably.
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket This is a wonderful blanket! It fit my horse wonderfully and where her old blanket rubbed all of the hair off of her shoulders with this one is has almost grown completely back so obviously no rubbing. My horse is 17.1 blankets have a tendency to be too short and her belly hangs out but this one fits perfectly! The mesh along that back is a wonderful addition especially since it can cold one day and then warm the next - the breathability is fantastic. It also very durable as my horse likes to take a daily lay down nap and always loves to have a good roll! Great Product.
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Big Dee Turnout This is an exceptional turnout sheet! During a particularly spontaneous event in which the blanket was not properly fastened in front, but was everywhere else, my horse (16.3H) managed to gallop off....he actually galloped OUT OF THE BLANKET and it was completely perfect!!It's a great sheet...fits really well on my large horse and seems to be very durable. I'll be looking at this brand for future blanketting needs.
    Date published: 2009-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet This is a great turnout sheet. I love the mesh lining on the back, I think it's so much more breathable. If your horse is a little damp you can still put the sheet on and they dry without getting chills. It's also very durable but still lightweight, perfect for fall or spring. It does run a little big, but I like to layer it over a stable blanket when it gets colder so it works well for me. Overall a perfect turnout sheet!
    Date published: 2009-10-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from worked well thru winter my second purchase. Hardwearing. Fits well.Room for horse to move. Would prefer clips for front closure
    Date published: 2009-06-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Big D This sheet fits my horse very well, and it has all the options that I wanted (gussets, mesh lining, tail flap). I have noticed some damage to my horse's coat at the shoulders, and after wearing it for only one month the sheet developed a small rip.
    Date published: 2009-01-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Sheet The Big D Espree Sheet is a beautiful/well made turnout sheet. It has a nice mesh liner with nylon on the shoulders and back end. The tail flap is perfect - it's pleated and offers a lot of coverage; which many don’t. It’s a great fit for my quarter horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.