Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

Big D Devlyn Heavy Turnout Blanket

Big D
- Item #16484

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Only a blanket from Big D could have this many features and not be custom! Long-wearing turnout has a waterproof and breathable 1200 Denier rip-stop exterior. Tailored shoulder gussets fit the natural curve of the shoulder. VELCRO® brand and double buckle front closure reduces shoulder rubs. All stress points are reinforced, seams are double sewn and heat-sealed, rear darts are tailored not just folded over. The 210 Denier taffeta show lining reduces coat damage. Stuffed with 300 grams of fiber fill. Removable elastic leg straps and surcingles keep blankets from shifting. Fleeced wither. Navy or Forest Green with coordinating trim. 

Please note: We recommend placing embroidery on a surcingle. Embroidery on the body of the blanket may interfere with the blanket's waterproofing ability.

How to measure a horse

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Big D Devlyn Heavy Turnout Blanket is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from BigD Devlyn Turnout My horse is an Arab Quarter Horse cross. Big D's fit well and I believe the Devlyn Turnout will hold up. She's nice and toasty in this blanket. Thank you.
    Date published: 2013-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Blanket This is the first blanket that I've ever bought and I am really pleased. It fits my horse terrific. He had it on for three days and it stayed in place and didn't rub him at all. It was easy to adjust and goes on and comes off easily. We had a snow storm after we put it on him and it kept him dry and didn't soak up any of the moisture.
    Date published: 2013-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME BLANKET I originally just bought my horse the Espree turnout sheet, since it is a perfect sheet for the IL fall months. I loved it so much I just ordered this one and love how it fits! I haven't had to use it yet, but if it's anything like the sheet I plan to have it for a long time.My trainer's horse can't wear blankets cause he shreds them. She is buying the sheet and blanket I have b/c she doens't think he will be able to tear them as easy!Highly recommended!
    Date published: 2011-11-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Tough Well Made Turnout I will always purchase this blanket for winter. Best quality; best price. Fits well; looks great and my horses have freedom to run and play without slippage. Cleans up easy; washes well; tough and durable. I am always able to re-use this turnout for several years for each horse.
    Date published: 2011-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this blanket! I just purchased this blanket about three weeks ago, and my horse has worn it every day. At 300 grams of fill, this is warmer than his other turnout blankets, but not so heavy as to smother him for our coastal weather. The front buckles are very sturdy, and the fit is superb. I like that the cut is longer on the sides.
    Date published: 2011-01-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% satisfaction! This is a great blanket. I have a 17.1h retired show mare who thinks she is near hypothermia if it's below 40 outside! It is hard to find a blanket in an 86 that is nice and long in the barrel and this one is!! She is pretty hard on blankets out in the pasture and she hasn't even put a snag in this one!! I recommend this blanket to anyone!
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Item I had tried several blankets for my 21 y.o., on the small side, quarter horse. None of them seemed to fit. Enter Katrina from SmartPak, recommending this blanket. It fits him very well and seems to be superior to the other blankets. No back seam, tail flap sewed on, not velcroed on, fleece on the wither, quality fabric etc. Since I ordered late in the year, I can not recommend a durability rating, but it seems like it will be very durable. I would recommend everyone having an issue with fit for a smaller quarter horse to talk to Katrina.
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very well made product! Great quality, very well made, and a perfect fit! Will purchase more. Big D blankets are exceptional. (this is not my first nor will it be my last) This heavy turnout is just perfect for northern Minnesota's cold weather! We get temperatures in the -30'F below zero and this blanket works well!
    Date published: 2010-01-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 100% Satisfaction This blanket is fantastic! Completely satisfied. We just got them in time for the "Blizzard of 09" and all the horses really appreciated them.
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Better than promised This blanket is doing its job! Keeping my horse dry, warm and comfortable, no rubs no binding. Fits great and is well made. Customer service from SmartPak was excellent, blanket arrived a day earlier than promised.
    Date published: 2009-12-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Blanket This is a very nice blanket at an affordable price. It unfortunately was a bit too small in the shoulder/ neck area for my horse,but I definitely would try it again for another horse.
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.