Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Ice Horse Hock Wrap

MacKinnon Ice Horse
- Item #16476
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

The Ice Horse Hock Wrap with FirstICE® provides uniform compression and coverage to reduce inflammation and heat in the front and back of the hock.  The wrap is open over the cap bone, shaped, and sized to give full consistent compression and coverage. 

Favorite Features

  • The FirstICE® inserts are reusable packs that are a non-gel formula that stay soft and pliable when removed from the freezer.   
  • Stays cold for up to 2 hours.
  • he Ice Horse Hock Wrap contains: One hock wrap and two FirstICE® inserts.
  • Made in the USA.
  • If you are looking for extra FirstICE® inserts or need replacements for your existing Ice Horse products, we have you covered with the Ice Horse FirstICE® replacement packs.


 
Sizing It Up 

Three straps configure the hock wrap to different sized hocks.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    88% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Ice Horse Hock Wrap is rated 4.25 out of 5 by 16.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So glad I purchased this! One of Miss Pink's hocks gets sore from time to time and she's not a big fan of cold hosing. I am so glad I purchased one of these! She let me put this on without a fuss and it stayed securely in place! It's well made and fit great!
    Date published: 2011-11-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to use Easy to use and fits great with adjustable velcro straps.
    Date published: 2011-09-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love 'Em I already use the tendon wraps, and am now on to the hock wraps.Easy to use, easy to freeze/store and much easier than cold hosing.I did consider the Ice Horse system which pumps cold water, but price and convenience prompted me to keep things a little more simple!Remember to replace the ice packs periodically. It makes a difference and is not that great an expenditure.
    Date published: 2011-05-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best hock wrap I love this wrap because it actually molds itself around the horse's hock and seems pretty comfortable for the horse to wear. I leave it on for about a half hour after I ride and it stays on while my horse moves around his stall. It's expensive but I definitely recommend it!
    Date published: 2010-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from this hock wrap is great but you can not leave (or at least I can not) leave the horse in the stall with it. I use it only in the cross ties while untacking and grooming.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product Very easy to use. Much easier than trying to hold a bag of ice on your horse's leg! You just put it on and walk away...come back when it's convenient for you to take it off. Cold packs really do stay cold for a few hours.
    Date published: 2010-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from TOP QUALITY!! I looked at many of the hock ice wraps offered by various retailers and I kept coming back to this one. It was a bit more expensive, but not prohibitively so, and since my horse has a permanent hock issue that will need to be dealt with on and off for the rest of his life, I figured I'd better try to buy quality as opposed to a cheaper model. I was very, very impressed with the product when I received it - the inserts are a squishy kind of material that gets as cold as ice but is loose in the bag and completely molds itself around the affected area - unlike some ice packs I've seen that just have one big lump of frozen solid ice that just sits on top of the affected area or is so unyielding that it's hit or miss when you're trying to wrap it around a specific part of the leg! This product is soft to the feel and very effective at reducing heat and swelling in a short time. If I ever need another ice pack for any specific area on my horse, will definitely buy only ICE HORSE brand!
    Date published: 2010-02-22
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Think about the size of your horse before you buy I own a sixteen hand Thoroughbred mare who has two severely damaged hocks. If your horse is bigger-boned and has bigger than average hocks, this ice boot will not fully cover your horse to give cold therapy to the front and back of the hock at the same time. I had to place the hock boot on backwards in order to ice the front of the hock. That was disappointing. Even with having to reverse the ice boot, it did indeed work and I felt it was made of sturdy material. Overall, if the company would market different sizes, I feel this is a good value and good alterative when cold hosing is not an option.
    Date published: 2010-01-19
    • 2015-03-02T09:48CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
    • loc_en_US, sid_6476, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.