Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

French Style Cribbing Strap

Item #16437
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The French Style Cribbing collar is the highest quality at an affordable price. The French Style Cribbing collar is an effective deterrent against cribbing.

If selected, engraving will be on the crown.  Please allow an additional 1-2 days for engraving. 

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    French Style Cribbing Strap is rated 4.1698 out of 5 by 53.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprisingly effective My mare has been wearing this for a few months now, and so far, so good! She will try to crib with it on, but she can't, which means the device is doing its job. Unlike the other straps she has worn, this doesn't cause any rubs and fits very nicely, even without fleece. It's tasteful looking and well-made.
    Date published: 2010-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one works I have one of the worst cribbing horses on the planet. I have tried cribbing collars (Miracle collar, and Rusty Dare) as well as muzzles. She even cribs with the muzzles on. The others work if they are choking tight and the leather is brand new, then she starts in again. This French style collar works! I had to use the tightest hole to fit her so it gets a bit off center (does not seem to matter) because of the change in leather width at the top, but it works! She tries to crib and quits right away.The price is good too.
    Date published: 2010-10-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AWESOME! We bought this for our new OOTB who is 5. He of course had a heart attack when we put it on since he had never worn anything like it, but I will say, no more cribbing! He still tries to put his teeth on the wood, but he certainly can't suck anything in anymore! LOVE IT!
    Date published: 2010-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love It This strap is a good value and a great strap! It stopped my boy in his tracks and so far, hasn't rubbed out any hair like the miracle collar did. He also doesn't mess around while I'm riding with this collar on. He used to push on the bit, no more!!
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent! This collar is great! My boy tried cribbing right after I put it on and stopped just short. I'm so happy with this purchase.
    Date published: 2010-07-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works Great! I purchased the horse of my dreams 2 years ago. He is a very nice cutting horse, but because of his intense training and confinement, I bought him with his annoying "cribbing" habit. I tried absolutely everything there is to stop it and nothing worked. It is a nightmare to deal with it on a daily basis. I saw this collar and thought why not, I've tried everything else. It immediately got his attention when he attempted to crib with it on and gave up after a couple of times trying. It doesn't have enough holes in it to fit him properly, so new holes had to put in to get it tight enough. He can now be stalled with the rest of the horses and turned out with regular fencing in a paddock like a normal horse. I don't have to worry about where to put him because of his cribbing. It is safe for him to wear all of the time and doesn't restrict his movement. I hate putting anything on him at all, but at least this collar is comfortable, safe and effective. Finally, I found the answer to deterring this annoying habit without having him suffer at the same time.
    Date published: 2010-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! So far this cribbing collar seems to work very well. We have used the Miracle collar in the past and our horse still cribbed. And the Miracle collar makes marks on her head and the sheepskin gets nasty after a while. The leather on the french collar is beautiful and it works great. They do tend to run big. I ordered a medium for our 15'2" grade quarter horse and we had to put an extra hole in.
    Date published: 2010-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from French Cribbing Collar Works wonders for horse who wind suck as opposed to wood chewing.
    Date published: 2010-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Cribbing Strap That Works! I am taking time to write this review for everyone out there who is in my situation. My horse is an imported warmblood. He is amazing in every way -- except for his cribbing. Very annoying. At home, during the summer months, he spends most of his time in a large pasture that is fenced with 4-strand elctro-braid fencing. As such, he has very little opportunity (and seemingly not as much desire) to crib. Winter, however, is a different story. I board him at a heated facility so that we can continue to train, year-round. His days are spent in a paddock; nights in a heated stall-barn. The paddock and stall both provide fabulous cribbing opportunities for the persistent cribber. His cribbing becomes both annoying and damaging during the winter months. Initially, I ordered the very expensive Equipe Cribbing Strap with sheepskin. Nothing but the best for my baby!! Apparently, however, the Equipe does not provide enough of a deterrent. In order to stop him from cribbing, it had to be buckled what I consider to be way-too-tight. My black beauty even developed a bald spot in his mane! I was NOT happy. I then decided to try the French Style Cribbing Strap -- based on other reviews by SmartPak customers. Yes, everyone, there is a Santa Claus! This thing actually works -- and it works without having to fasten it too terribly tight. I put it on my beloved horse and watched as he went to crib. He latched on, began to heave upward, and AHA!!!! He stopped short!! From what I can tell, this strap is much more effective than anything else on the market. I am also excited because other reviewers indicate that it does not cause bald spots. For all of you out there with a cribber, I hope my review helps. I hate that my horse has to wear something like this at all. But if he has to wear it, I want something that is both effective and does not damage his mane. I think this is it!
    Date published: 2010-01-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It Works I have a cribber and after 2 years using a Miracle Collar and dealing with rub spots, sores and cuts from the collar, out of need, I tried the French Collar. No cribbing, no sores and he s VERY comfortable with it on. Thanks
    Date published: 2009-09-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Product I believe that the quality of this is excellent for the price. The leather is good quality. This is the first cribbing strap I have ever purchased. It stops my gelding from cribbing but the bottom does slide to the side of his neck a little. I cant keep it in the proper position. He does have a narrow neck so I am assuming that is the problem. Even when it is displaced it still keeps him from cribbing. I got mine engraved and its engraved into the leather. It looks really nice.
    Date published: 2009-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Get's The Job Done I bought this to replace the existing French collar my horse had.Been using it for a few weeks now, no chafing and more importantly no cribbing. Collar seems to be holding up well to outside elements.. mud and rain. The leather/craftsmanship is mid quality.I looked at several "bargain" equine sites and found this to be the lowest price advertised.Good value for the price, very pleased!
    Date published: 2009-08-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The only collar that works I've tried every cribbing device on the market. My belgian broodmare used to crib incessantly and due tue that she was always underweight. We used the miracle collar, the nutcracker collars, muzzles, etc. and nothing was satisfactory until we started using the French Style Cribbing Strap. It was the only collar on the market that made a difference for my mare. Not only did it make a difference with her cribbing but she didnt have any wear marks or need to wear any fleece!! I have now gone thru 3 or 4 collars and have used them with success on several other cribbers who have come and gone in the barn...all with happy results!! The only down fall I can find about this product is that if you have a horse with a very powerful neck over time the metal in the throatlatch will bend and sort of flatten...but at the affordable price SmartPak has this collar listed for I dont see that as much of a problem! Especially for something that works so well!
    Date published: 2008-05-21
    • 2015-03-06T07:30CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_2, tr_51
    • loc_en_US, sid_6437, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.