Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

SSG Close Contact Sunglasses

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #16425

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Tired of sunglasses that bounce when you ride or are just plain uncomfortable? Well, we found you the perfect pair of sunglasses to wear when riding - plus, they won't break the bank! The Close Contact Sunglasses from SSG fit comfortably underneath your helmet with the wrap around design.

Polycarbonate lens, UV 100% protection to NM400.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SSG Close Contact Sunglasses is rated 3.6571 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfortable I have very sensitive eyes and wear sunglasses all the time. These work great for riding, light weight and fit with my helmets.
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Riding Shades! I purchased these because my usual sunglasses slip off my face when I ride.I found these sunglasses to fit comfortably on the bridge of my nose. They did not slip, fall off or distort my vision while riding. They are light and comfortable and provide good coverage from the sun.For the price these are great. Maybe you can find something cheaper. A lot of comments I read seem to think you can. $20 for a pair of good sporting sunglasses is not expensive. These are worth it.
    Date published: 2012-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Sunglasses These are fantastic sunglasses. You don't even know you have them on because they are so lightweight. The protection is great because they wrap around.I'm at a small facility with five horses. Everyone has tried my glasses and now we all wear them. I highly recommend them. And, for the price, they're a great deal. I even ordered a second pair to wear away from the barn.
    Date published: 2012-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love these glasses! These glasses fit me well. I'm so happy I found them.I love the fact they wrap around so the sun can't come in through the sides. I have a Tipperary helmet and have no problem with the fit.
    Date published: 2012-06-22
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed I was disappointed with this item as they were advertised as close contact sunglasses when in actuality they are just a pair of regular old safety glasses that can be purchased for much less pretty much anywhere. I returned this item without any hassles and would not recommend it to anyone thinking this is a pair of good quality glasses.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for under helmet I ordered these for both myself and my friend. We are turning over a new leaf and trying to ride more with our helmets. We both had a hard time finding sunglasses that were comfortable under the helmets. Being in Florida, sunglasses were necessary.I ordered these on a whim and was thrilled that they worked for both of us, with our different style helmets and facial structure.Very happy with this purchase and will purchase again if/when we lose/break these. :)
    Date published: 2012-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fabulous! Can't believe the negative reviews. These are fantastic. I ride in them nearly every ride. I also have the yellow lens pair for overcast days and indoor riding at dusty arenas and on cold days. I hate when my eyes water at the canter because it's so cold. Not good with contacts or while trying to jump! They do scratch, so I keep them in a hard case in my groom box. Cheap enough to replace, but I usually get over year out of each pair before I scratch them too much - but I'm pretty annoyed by scratches. I find the to be very comfortable to wear. They only fog on cold days when I'm standing still. Soon as my horse starts walking again, they defog. So while standing still, I just pull them down the bridge of my nose a bit and they clear up fine. I like the wrap around the keep dust out and the frameless doesn't obstruct my peripheral vision.
    Date published: 2012-06-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Close Contact Sunglasses These will work for me on the trail and in the warm up ring! Much more economical than name brand flexible frame sunglasses!
    Date published: 2012-03-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic For the price, these can't be beat. Yes, they are plastic, and if you mishandle them, they will probably break. But they fit great, are lightweight and don't slide off without gripping my head. I tend to lose or break sunglasses so I won't buy an expensive pear, but I'd get a backup pair of these in a heartbeat!
    Date published: 2012-02-22
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from not one-size-fits-all They do fit fairly comfortably under my helmet, but are sized quite large and tend to keep falling off my face - less than ideal while running cross-country!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not for Ladies' Faces Don't fool yourself into thinking you need these glasses. These do not fit--they wouldn't even sit on my nose when I had my helmet on. I'm sure these fit men better, but I can't fathom they would want to wear them because they FOG up horribly. You're better off going to a sporting goods store and getting real anti-fog glasses.
    Date published: 2011-05-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Won't Fit Helmet! I ride in a GPA, and found that when I put these on I had a huge gap between the bridge of my nose and the glasses. You're better off buying a cheap pair of sunglasses or relegating an old 'favorite' pair to your riding sunglasses. Good idea, but needs some work to fit the female face properly.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ehhhhh... I ordered these glasses because I had a beautiful pair of fitted Maui Jim glasses stolen and I need to wear something for the sun when I ride.When I got these, I thought that they looked more like the cheap $5 glasses I bought on a whim from ebay. They certainly come NOWHERE near the quality and fit of my old glasses. These glasses are a bit flimsy, and I worried about easy breakage.As several people have said the ventilation on these glasses is poor, and with the summer sun and sweat from riding they fog up. The fit with the helmet was okay, but I still had to push them up a bit, which is a pain when you are schooling horses... in the end I just tossed them on a chair outside the arena. I haven't worn them since the first ride and they are currently collecting dust in my tack room.I am very disappointed! What a waste of money!
    Date published: 2011-01-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from These glasses are very good - but they tend to get a little sweaty. But they will be great for jumping in the sun
    Date published: 2010-08-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-07-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome sunglasses! I wasn't sure what to expect when I ordered these, but I was tired of riding in my cheap fashion sunglasses because they felt awkward and slid around. I was very very pleasently surprised! These sunglasses are light as air and very comfortable. I sometimes forget that I'm wearing them! They stay put, don't fog up, and are so comfortable! Great value! The only thing I would say is that they might not be snug enough for small heads.
    Date published: 2010-06-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from absolutely amazing i recently purchased these glasses and was a lil skeptical at first as to if they would work well for me or not cause i always ride in my everyday sunglasses. from the 1st time i rode in them, i knew they were going to work out for me. they have not fogged at all and i dont feel the need to squint while im riding like i do in my everyday sunglasses. they wrap around very nicely and dont move at all while im riding. i absolutely love them and look forward to riding in them more esp on the hot sunny days when i ride in the afternoon.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great Idea-not thought thru Cute Sunglasses, or that's what I thought...They are well made, fit beautifully under the helmet, too. But, the second you put them on, they fog up because of the close fit and no ventilation. I have tried in different weather conditions and never get passed putting them on and, 5 seconds later, packing them back up. Hopefully, I can return them
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice fit These glasses fit nice and close so as to not interfere with your helmet. They are also fitted in the front. They do not bounce when riding and offer decent eye protection for those low branches.
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sun glasses Have used these glasses for over a year and just requested new ones. They are great and stay on perfectly when riding, definitely helping with the sun. My daughter even took one of my pairs (I order 2 at a time) because hers kept falling off.
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from sunglasses I haven't used them with my helmet yet but they fit great and look good and because they are close contact they should work well under the helmet
    Date published: 2009-10-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-09-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from If I could return them, I would The fit of these glasses is very close contact – to the point that they fog up when I get hot during a ride or while doing barn work. l think they would work for some people, but they're definitely not for me.
    Date published: 2009-09-20
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Weird fit and make you feel queasy They wrap around to fit under your helmet, but the way the lense bend the light, it gives you a slight vertigo feeling. I quit using them to ride in (if you turn your head the distances are different because of the bent lenses) but still use them to do chores around the barn.
    Date published: 2009-09-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not good quality glasses These glasses do stay on your face while riding, but they have terrible glare spots and actually blurred my vision giving me a headache. I think this is due to them having poor quality optical glass in the lenses themselves, although the frame design is fine.
    Date published: 2009-09-20
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.