Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Hydrophane Cribox

Item #16415

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Famous English ointment (aka "goo") that puts a stop to cribbing, gnawing and other "no-no's". 450g.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Hydrophane Cribox is rated 4.6364 out of 5 by 33.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I put this on my pipe corrals and its the only thing that has worked for stopping my cribber - the single coat I put on is lasting quite a while - will need to reapply eventually but its so sticky it stays put for a long time, and repels water like grease... water just beads off. It's VERY hard to get off the horse's hair but if that's the worst side effect, I'd say that's not too bad at all. Thank you Cribox for saving me from future colic vet bills.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No More Cribbing Ok, this stuff is gross but it works! Every surface this goes on is no longer a surface my horse will crib on and I don't blame her I wouldn't want to touch it either. I put it on with gloves everywhere in her stall and she no longer cribs. The drawback is you have this gooey stuff everywhere but you no longer have a horse that cribs!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for boarding barns My gelding could go pro at chewing wood. And when I moved him to a new boarding barn I was worried he was going to destroy, well everything really. This has been great for him. And me. I can't imagine replacing all those boards he would eat!
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cribox review prevented my diehard cribber from sucking air where applied, easy to apply, & stuck on wood longer than comparable products. Gave 3 for value as it can get pricey to do whole fence lines...and well it DOES eventually come off. But it did work!
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great alternative to a cribbing collar! I have a gelding who intermittently cribs but the habit was worsening--I bought this as a last ditch alternative to a cribbing collar.It took 2-3 applications to the key areas of his stall, and the cribbing has stopped. I put a medium layer on the outside edge of his feeder and automatic waterer and it's worked beautifully.The only downside is if he rubs on it, the cribox is very gooey and challenging to remove--2-3 shampooings on the coat and more elbow grease to mane/ tail, but well worth it!
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped a pasture cribber. My gelding is kept in a pasture with plenty of grass to graze on 24/7, but cribs anyway. I have previously tried cribbing collars, but they wouldn't stay secure enough to keep him from cribbing and I worried that he would catch himself on the collar in the pasture and injure himself. This stuff is AMAZING! I slathered it all over the tops of the wood fence posts my gelding cribs on and NO MORE CRIBING. It also smells good (to me, not to the horses - my gelding turned his nose up at the fence post and walked away#. My only complaint is it doesn't come in larger packages. I have many fence posts to cover and ran out before I could apply it to every wooden surface he has access to #he's out on like 10 acres). I would buy this stuff by the 5 gallon bucketfull if they packaged it that way!!! WORTH EVERY PENNY!!!
    Date published: 2012-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stopped a Life Long Cribber! I have had my gelding for 13 years now and he has been a die hard cribber since I got him. After reading reviews I ordered Cribox and for the first time in 13 years I watched him eat his breakfast without cribbing. If you are at your wits end...give this product a try! I would not have believed it, but now I am a believer! A+++
    Date published: 2012-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It WORKS! So excited, I just got back from the barn where for the first time my horse got through his dinner without cribbing! He's a rescue who has been through so much and along the way picked up cribbing, especially when he eats. We did the 28 day paste for ulcers, the u-gaurd, the alfalfa ...all with mild reduction but nothing ever stopped the cribbing, not even the mental on the stall or the sprays. Tonight I put the goo on, easy with a glove, I didn't think it smelled that bad but the two horses literally turned their noses up at it and culled their lips back ... was very funny and best of all no cribbing! he ate his meal without his usual bite, turn, loose grain on the floor, crib, a few more bites, a few more cribs. Tonight, ate his whole meal, didn't loose any, looked confused like "hey what do I do now" just stood at the stall and looked at the half wall, wandered outside, back in and out .. never cribbed once and decided to go eat hay :). Thank you smart pack and Cribox. I wonder how long it lasts between reapplying but it is totally worth it. ps: loving, beautiful, great rescue ... even with the cribbing he's worth a million bucks.
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product WORKS! I have tried alot of products, so when I read about Cribox I was sceptical. I am very pleased to say that this product definatly works, even on a lot of different surfaces. I AM SO HAPPY TO HAVE FOUND CRIBOX.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very impresses He has stopped cribbing!! My horse has a metal edge along his stall to protect the wood. This unfortunately is wearing his teeth. I spread a thin strip with a putty knife and I can tell where he tried to crib, but stopped. I'm going to try it outside on post. Worth it if you have a cribber.
    Date published: 2011-04-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not Thrilled I bought this product so that I could take my TB's cribbing strap off at night in his stall. Unfortunately, he loves to crib on his water bucket. I didn't want to discourage him from drinking, so I refrained from putting it there. Even though he doesn't crib where I put the Cribox, he somehow gets the goop all over his face and ears...and it's NOT easy to clean off.
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from it works I've tried them all and this is the only thing that keeps my horse from cribbing in the stall... You just need to reapply. Wish it didn't get so frozen in the winter - I always have to bring it home to warm it up...so I can spread it.It's messy.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Really Works Cribox is a "fence" saver! I have tried all products out there to save my wood fence in the winter time when the horses get bored. They usually wouldnt last or not work at all. McNasty was my absolute favorite, but is not available anymore....so tried Cribox and I LOVE IT ! It REALLY works !! A little goes a long way and LASTS! Thru rain too!! The horses really hate it! Which is a GOOD thing !!
    Date published: 2010-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Feel better using Cribox than the Cribbing Collars I have a 12 y.o. QH who's a confirmed cribber. I have tried EVERYTHING (collars, supplements that target the pituitary gland and stomach believed to cause cribbing, toys in the stall, etc). My horse is out on pasture about 8+ hours a day. He simply can't help himself when it comes to cribbing. When he's on pasture, the cribbing subsides for obvious reasons, but I'll still catch him cribbing on fences at times. In his stall, he starts channeling his inner "woodchuck." Though the cribbox is messy to apply (use gloves or putty knife, and leave a sign for people not to lean on it, as it stains clothes), it is definitely working. It will wear off on the door every 3+ days from my horse leaning on it, but a little goes a long way, and I just reapply. My horse has gotten very creative in finding new places to crib, but when I see it, I just put the cribbox on. To me, it's better than the miracle collar. Plus, with the hot, humid weather, I felt guilty putting the collar on. If you have an intense equine cribber, give this a try.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cribox Product actually works. Mare stopped cribbing on spot where i rubbed this product and then movedon down the board to find another spot.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It really works! While neither of my horses actually crib, both of them will chew on wood when they are bored (or I am not feeding them fast enough). After a winter of being confined to her stall and small paddock, my mare's stall door was looking a bit chewed (my barn has Dutch doors...very easy for horses to stick their heads out and chew on things). I've tried No Chew and McNasty spray in the past, and while the McNasty spray worked awesome on fabrics it didn't seem to penetrate hard surfaces enough to have a lasting effect. I was soooo excited when I came across the Cribox! It works AWESOME. My mare took one sniff and hasn't touched her teeth to her door since, and the Cribox really does stay in place. I applied it to Ivy's door over a week ago and I have not had to re-apply. It has sort of a waxy consistency that really helps it stay put. At first I though the jar of Cribox was small for the price, but now that I see how far a little bit goes I no longer have this concern. If you have a horse that cribs or chews wood, I would absolutely give this product a try.
    Date published: 2010-05-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works but is it worth the trouble? This product does work. I bought a new horse who started to chew due to nerves and my older horse followed suit. I spread the Cribox on the fence and they stopped chewing. But it's a very gooey product and it takes forever to spread. And if your horse leans against the fence, the goo is on the horse and is almost impossible to remove. So be prepared for weeks of gooey, rust-colored stains on your horses' head, neck and chest.For me, it wasn't worth it and I threw away the rest of the jar.
    Date published: 2010-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I have a gelding that eats everything...no matter if he has hay, friends, a lik-it....he chews and bites everything he gets his teeth on. I put this stuff on his favorite chew area and he hasn't touched anything! The only caution is to be careful not to get on clothes, tack, etc...it is VERY hard to remove. I would still rather have this problem than the destructive horse teeth!
    Date published: 2010-04-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Something Finally Stopped the Cribbing I tried various sprays, bar soap and a collar to stop a pony from cribbing, but none of the sprays worked and I didn't like making her wear the cribbing collar all the time. The Hydrophane Cribox did the trick. She cribbed once on it and must have hated the taste because she hasn't cribbed in her stall since (several weeks ago). She will stand there and nod her head in the air as if she wants to crib but does not crib. Although I only applied the Cribox to her stall, I have only caught her cribbing on a stall without the Cribox once. So it seems to have totally stopped her from cribbing on surfaces where the product was applied and mostly stopped her from cribbing on all other surfaces. I smeared it on using a rubber glove. Because the product does seem to attract dust and I was not sure if it would stain our new stall fronts, we applied the Cribox paste to the top edge of plyboard strips and then attached those plyboard strips to the stall bars with cable ties and screws into the interior board below. I have not tried washing the product off and do not know if it would actually stain. This product does cost more than the others I've tried, but it actually worked. I would have been better off buying it in the first place rather than wasting money on various sprays. A little goes a long way.
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good stuff! my filly sadly took up cribbing at age 2 .. NOTHING has worked, tried all types of collars.. the cribox works but does have to be reapplied.,. it is a pain to put on, and stinks like heck .. wear gloves when you put this stuff on! i am also getting the best friend muzzle because i cant put the cribox on every wooden fence rail.. she just cant stop herself!
    Date published: 2009-10-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Impressed I think I have one of the worlds worst cribbers. He cribs on everything!!! Already had the vet check him for ulcers which he doesn't have, it's just a BAD habit he picked up from his track days. He's on full day turnout and only cribs when he's in his stall for his grain. I tried lots of different products... chew stop paint, mcnasty spray, cribbing collars of all sorts, muzzles, nothing worked!!! He figured out how to cirb through everything! I had an eye on cribbox for a while, but figured it would be a fail like everything else and i didn't want to spend the money. Finally i decided to give it a try. It's a bit of a mess to apply, but yes a little goes a long way. I also wish it could be made in clear cause now it looks like grain or manure stains on the spots i applied it. But oh my does it work!!!! I dont think my horse is too happy with me about it, but it works!!!! I have yet to hear him crib during breakfast or dinner. Be careful though if you have a cribber like mine and that they dont try to be creative and find a new spot. He tried cribbing on his water bucket which he has never done before... but i slopped some of the cribbox on the edge of his bucket and he's not cribbing on it now. I feel so evil, but I am so happy it's put a stop to his cribbing. Hopefully it continues to work as it's only been a few days! Yay!!!
    Date published: 2009-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stops Chewing! I applied Hydrophane Cribox to the spots in my new horses stall - first of all it is really thick and stays where you put it and you don't need to reapply or worry about it making a dripping mess. My horse is no longer chewing his stall apart! Works really well. A little goes a long way.
    Date published: 2009-08-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Stays where you put it I used this in my horse's stall & because of the thick consistency, it actually stays on the wood (unlike the sprays which just disappear) & a very little bit goes a long way & I have not had to reapply yet.
    Date published: 2009-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more fence repairs! I started using this product several years ago in my horse's stall and pasture. He has been a notorious wood chewer for most of his life and nothing I have tried will deter him from chewing. However, when I started to use the Cribox I noticed right away that he found no interest in chewing the wood in the stall as he had done before and since then had stopped chewing the fence posts outside. My barn manager is delighted now that we do not have to replace boards every month. Thank you SmartPak for carrying such a great product!!
    Date published: 2009-03-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.