Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Hydrophane Darkening Oil

Item #16414

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

A unique dual-action formula that first penetrates new leather and progressively darkens light colored leather, and, secondly, the unique oil formulation helps protect new leather and ensure that mud and sweat can be removed with cold water. 16.9 oz 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Hydrophane Darkening Oil is rated 4.45 out of 5 by 20.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My All Time Favorite Oil I bought this oil based on the recommendation of a very helpful customer care woman. Because all of my tack is black, I was fine with the fact that this oil will darken tack. It was great on some of my older black tack where it was no longer quite as black. The Hydrophane "re-blackened" the tack. I was thrilled. The oil does not leave sticky residue. I will never use another oil!
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Got the Job Done I purchased this with the hopes to darken a used french calfskin saddle that I had recently bought. The saddle was a mix between brown and orange, uneven from wear. All of my tack was a deep brown and I wanted this to match. It was a bit difficult to open ( something that could be resealed would be nice) but I ended up just poking holes in the top with a sharp screwdriver. The soft leather of my saddle ate this stuff up and produced a nice even color. After one coat the results were very prominent. I applied two coats to the flap, and three coats to the seat and knee rolls, as they started out more orange. Now, the saddle is one uniform shade, exactly what I had wanted.
    Date published: 2014-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great product! This oil did exactly what I needed it to do. It darkened my saddle into a beautiful shade of chocolate brown and didn't harm the leather at all (and my saddle is calf and buffalo!). Very impressed... I even had my friend buy it to darken her saddle, she was so impressed with mine :)
    Date published: 2013-02-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hydrophane products ROCK! I've been using Hydrophane oil for years, and this is the first time I've bought the darkening oil. I recently purchased a bridle w/o reins, and wanted to make my current reins match the new bridle. I put 2 light coats of the darkening oil on the reins, and voila - perfect match! It pains me to spend so much money on oil, but it truly is the best I've ever found!
    Date published: 2011-07-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this oil! Best oil you can get. I have an oakbark colored Amerigo saddle, and have been using this to get it to a less orange color. Very pleased with it's effectiveness.
    Date published: 2011-06-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this oil I love it. Provides the best protection for my leather
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Does the Trick! While a little pricey, this oil does a great job darkening leather, while conditioning at the same time. Easy to apply.
    Date published: 2010-12-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from not impressive results Great for softening but did not see a big difference in color.
    Date published: 2010-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked Great! I bought a saddle on sale that was much lighter than I liked. I read the reviews on this product and decided to try it. I used about 8 coats (only about half the container) to get it to the color I wanted. The saddle looks great, like it has always been that color. Love this product, I will use it whenever I need to darken my leather.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Money Saver!! I had a light colored bridle that at the time matched my saddle. I had to buy a better fitting saddle to fit my horse but the leather was darker and no longer matched the bridle. I loved the bridle so much and I really didn't want to shell out more money for a darker bridle so I gave this stuff a try. I bought it based on the reviews and I will admit I was skeptical. It did take several coats but within 3 days I had my bridle matching my saddle perfectly! It coated it evenly and wasn't spotty. I recommend applying it with latex gloves on so it doesn't stain your hands! Will definitely turn to this stuff again instead of buying new tack!
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Protection and color change I have a dark, dark bay horse and struggled to find a dark brown or black close contact saddle for him. A) so it would look good and B) so I wouldn't have to buy a brown bridle and could just use my black dressage bridle. I found a chocolate brown saddle and got the Hydrophane Darking Oil to make it a little darker and to protect my investment from the sometimes rainy NW weather. The leather looks great after only one coat and I'm looking forward to putting another one or two on to take the redness out of the saddle.
    Date published: 2010-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product that every barn needs A good friend turned me onto this incredible product. If you need to darken anything without worrying about blotchy uneven results, this is the product to wisk those worries away. I bought a new western show saddle and it wasn't quite the color I wanted. With all the tooling I knew it was going to be a chore. The Darkening Oil took care of it with ease. It's a gradual result but worth the time. Leaves the leather gorgeous but remember to condition it afterwards for a great look. Will never go without this product again!
    Date published: 2009-07-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.