Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Hoof Wraps

Item #16183
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Hoof Wraps put an end to the fussing, fighting and overall pain that comes with trying to treat common hoof problems. 

The wrap makes it easy to address issues like an abscess, stone bruise or shoe loss. The Hoof Wrap is constructed of tough 1680 ballistic nylon that will stand up to light turnout, offers great traction and is extremely easy to clean. The industrial strength hook and loop fastening system will ensure a custom fit.

One size fits most (horseshoe sizes 00, 0, 1, 2). An EVA foam pad is also included for added comfort (measures 1 ½” thick x 5 ¾”W). The Hoof Wrap measures 8”W x 11”H (when laid out flat).

Buy the single Hoof Wrap (all with included EVA foam pad), Hoof Wrap with additional 2 Replacement Pads, or Hoof Wrap with additional Gel Pad.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Hoof Wraps is rated 3.6786 out of 5 by 56.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Worst waste Ordered 2 for a 21 yr old in limited turnout, Boot was utterly destroyed (as in ripped apart fabric) within 10 hrs. Not sure how he did it but definitely disappointed with this product.
    Date published: 2013-02-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Serves the purpose I used the wrap when we lost a shoe. Very easy to apply and it stays in place well. It prevents hoof soreness. Overall I liked the concept and design. My only complaint would be durability - the sole started to wear through after 1 day of turnout (my horse is quiet). I may get one more 2-3 day use out the one I have. Overall I am glad I had it on hand.
    Date published: 2012-06-26
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Surprised it stayed on! After a poultice wrap held in place with Gorilla tape failed to stay put, I bought this wrap to see if it would work better. It's going on it's second day of holding the poultice while the horse is on full turnout and that's good enough for me! (We did put Gorilla tape over the velcro tabs so the horse doesn't pull the tabs and remove the wrap since he likes to pull on things.)One piece of advice, attach the straps while the horse is standing on the wrap so you can get it tight enough. (The directions say that you can also affix the wrap while holding the hoof.)
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Inexpensive but still not worth it The velcro flaps are confusing to use and the pads that come with the wrap can only be used once. Our horse got the boot off easily which defeated the purpose of the wrap.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This product was easy to wrap on the foot and stayed put. I used it with medication and as a protective wrap later. It was excellent in both cases for my horse.
    Date published: 2011-11-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Even fit my size 4 WB during Hurricane Irene I'm so glad to have had this item on hand during Hurricane Irene!!! During the height of the storm, I witnessed a tree fall into my horses' pasture, causing them to spook. My 17.3 h, 1600 lb. DWB was at 5 weeks with his last trim and he had alot of growth in those 5 weeks. After the tree fell and my WB settled I noticed he was lame. His shoe slipped, held on by only 2 nails and he stepped on one of the clips, puncturing his white line. In 30 mph sustained winds with up to 60 mph gusts and driving rain holding an unsettled horse, I was able to quickly nip off the other nails, wrap with poultice and quickly slap on the hoof wrap. The wrap says it fits up to a size 2, but my horse is a size 4. It was snug, but it worked. I'm on the third day using the original hoof wrap and treating for a suspected abscess. In my opinion, this item is a MUST HAVE. I would have had to wrap with duct tape, and we all know what happens with duct tape when we are in a hurry with a nervous horse.
    Date published: 2011-08-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value After 2-3 yrs of keeping Hoof Wraps in my trailer "just in case", my horse lost a shoe on the first day of a 3 day rodeo where I was running event and sponsor flags. It protected his hoof from chipping and stone bruises before I could get home to my shoer. My horse already wears pads and has very sensitvie soles. The boot and velcro held up great. For those reviews that said the velcro kept catching while putting it on, of course it did!! It's that good!! Great item to keep in your emergency kit at home or in your trailer in case your horse loses a shoe and you need to keep riding before you can get to a shoer.
    Date published: 2011-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product, Great Price! This is a great product for the price. I was looking for something affordable to treat a hoof abcess and this is it. My first one lasted for a very long time - including turnout - before it was time for a replacement. I keep one of these on hand all the time.A little difficult to figure out how to put it on the first few times, but once you get the hang of it, it's okay - read the directions and follow the numbers!
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not worth it I bought these to use as an additional protective layer to use when hoof packing. They did not even last a day. They were very difficult to put on, difficult to adjust, and once on correctly they only stayed on for a couple of hours. Not worth the time or money, an extra layer of duct tape is cheaper and easier to use.
    Date published: 2011-02-11
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from hopeless I tried the Hoof Wrap for the first time this morning on my WB mare with an abscess. Even though she is a model patient who stands like a stone as I bandage her, the Hoof Wrap was too difficult to put on her. I finished the job with duct tape. I actually had trouble putting it back into it's bag: the Velcro got snagged on other pieces, and when I pulled one strap off another strap got snagged. I can only imagine what an impossible chore it would be to try to put one of these on a horse that was difficult. I'm going to buy the Hoof Sock, with good reviews on its ease of use.
    Date published: 2010-11-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are perfect! I ordered these for my horse while he was recovering from a hoof abscess. They are easy to use, strong an cost effective. A great solution for short term needs!
    Date published: 2010-11-05
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Meh.... This boot was *alright*.... I bought it in an emergency because my horse abscessed and had a crack on his sole and I wanted to overnight something and the others were much too expensive with that, and he is only a yearling so other boots are too small for him and this looked adjustable enough to get me by. he can wear it OK enough, but I had to cut the gel pad to size. I was able to secure it decently enough for it to fit him for stall use after alot of pulling and folding and poking around, but I'm still not sure about turnout. He walks heavy for a yearling, so he wore right through the foam pad that comes with it, so I added a few layers of gamgee under the gel pad too. he seems comfortable and doesn't mind it at all and is fine for walking around in it.Ease of use though... even if he was fully grown and I had bought this product I'm still not sure I would buy it again. it takes a while to get it adjusted correctly and the velcro sticks TIGHT. Which I guess would be good for the horse, but as far as trying to re-adjust it in the process some of the stitching is already coming loose. if you have a horse with small feet, don't buy this unless you're prepared to do alot of cutting and specialized folding.
    Date published: 2010-09-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very Disappointed I bought this wrap for my TB who lost a shoe. I was hoping I could use the wrap on his hoof for a few days until the farrier was able to get out. I had hoped that I would be able to still turn him out with the wrap on however he ended up losing the wrap while in his stall overnight. There is no way this would have stayed on for turnout.
    Date published: 2010-09-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from They stay on but do not last long The hoof wraps are easy to put on as the manufacturer has made an easy number system to help us and they stay on even if your horse is turned out. HOWEVER, not everything is provided in the kit and you have to do some serious hoof wrapping , do some cutting and adjusting to the pad , then wrap the hoof with the wrap. Each day you have to unwrap, put a new pad and rewrap; the wrap itself is not strong enough. every single one had a tear where the tip of the hoof was , you think they would reinforce that part of the wrap to avoid such problem. the hoof goes thru after 8 hours of simple walk turn out . In conclusion , very useful for a day as you wait for your farrier , not an every day solution.
    Date published: 2010-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Will last for multiple uses One of my biggest concerns when purchasing this product was that the description listed it as disposable, so I wasn't sure how long it would last. After receiving them I am very impressed with them, and noted that while note meant to last as long as cavallo boots, they definitely will last through several uses. I was really impressed with how ingeniously they were designed with velcro closures that allow for a wide range of hoof sizes.
    Date published: 2010-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Effective, Useful and Affordable These boots are a great value. They stay on, and gave my horse with not enough hoof to nail a shoe to instant relief. Other reviewers' hint to close front to put hoof in, then put hoof down and readjust straps in numbered order was helpful. Numbered Velcro areas show how to put them on; also, two other Velcro areas are adjustable. It's important to fit the boots firmly to the hooves for them to stay on, but they do stay on through turnout. The pads that come with them compress and need replacement after use (or get gel ones), but these boots are tough and reusable. Really strong Velcro is a bit hard to disengage.
    Date published: 2010-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keep one handy Back in '08, when my mare went through a period where she kept losing shoes, I purchased a Hoof Wrap to act as a quick substitute. More durable in turnout than an Easyboot, not to mention cheaper, no horse owner should be without one of these handy in the tack box. I finally had to throw mine out after 4 straight days of wear in turnout, minus the pad in the wrap, after it developed some wear on the bottom.My mare can lose ANYTHING in turnout--boots, fly masks, hoof wraps made out of duct tape and Vetrap, you name it. But she was never able to lose a Hoof Wrap!Did I buy a new one after I threw out the old one? You bet!
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome! I could not keep a shoe on my horse this winter due to mud. I tried 4 other boots, wraps, slippers etc. The hoof wrap is half the price of the others! I was able to turn my horse out everyday for two weeks and it not only stayed on, but it held up! would be great to have on hand for all kinds of hoof issues.
    Date published: 2010-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product! I was very worried when I purchased this product. Once I viewed the video on the designer's web site I purchased the product from SmartPak. The video shows the Hoof Wrap being worn on a trail ride. They tell you how long they have ridden and how the Hoof Wrap is holding up. It' really helpful and funny to view. I still wasn't sure until I purchased the Hoof Wrap and put it on my horse. He had an abscess and we pulled the shoe. It had to say off for 10 days. I used the Hoof Wrap for 4 days. I got tired of the handmade duct tape thing I made fell off after an hour of turn-out. The Hoof Wrap lasted 4 days and I have it to use again if I need it. This product is great! It stays on and lasts until you can get a shoe back on. I purchased two!
    Date published: 2010-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for poulticing! I ordered these because I was sick of making duct tape booties for poulticing and other hoof treatments. These are a reusable and in the long run cheaper option. They appear to be very well made.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not worth it.. I purchased these for a stall bound horse that needed some protection on a foot. They didn't stay on and the velcro was starting to lose it's grip after only a few days. Also, the edges of the boot stick out and she stepped on them when getting up or walking around. One of the all time worst purchases I have made. I did like the gel pad that came with it, but when the boot doesn't work, the pad is useless.
    Date published: 2010-03-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Hoof Wraps I got this product as an experiment to help my horse that had a bad hoof which would not hold its shoe. My farrier looked at it, put it on my horse and was amazed at its funtionality. This hoof wrap is sturdy and lasts for quite even when my horse is active on a daily basis. I would recommend this product to anyone and have ordered another one.
    Date published: 2010-02-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money! This is a great and easy to use product that is perfect if your horse looses a shoe and needs some temporary protection. My guy looses shoes a few times a year here and there. This wrap provides the protection that he needs until the farrier can make it out.. I like how it is numbered so you know how to put it together. The only hard part is getting the hoof to line up on the pad (that's included) and getting all that on the right spot on the wrap. But, once you do you and get it all wrapped up, you don't have to worry about it coming off. I turn my guy out ot pasture in it. My first wrap I purchased lasted well over a year. Worth the money!
    Date published: 2010-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Never leave home without them We have used this product with the rubber inserts for sore hooves and with the gel inserts for traveling with success. If we need to pack the hoof with any type liniment we wrap it with gauze, secure it with tape, then put on the inserts adding a strip of tape to hold it on while we are strapping on the hoof wrap. This saves the wraps from getting "gooey".
    Date published: 2010-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Every Barn Should Have Them! Great product - wonderful for keeping poultice for abcess in place or to protect the hoof if a shoe comes off. Manufacturer AND SmartPak both offer excellent customer service!
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from A real disappointment My 36 year old horse wore almost entirely through the toe in one night in a stall. Bottom line: I could have wrapped a lot more feet with $20 worth of duct tape. And a duct tape wrap would have stayed on. I was hoping to spend less time under the horse and save my back, but I'll just have to keep looking for that solution.
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from It Worked, Sort Of Due to an injury, my horse's hoof must be kept completely covered to keep out all dirt and sand (almost impossible, of course). I had been using another product, the hoof sock, but it got a hole in it so I decided to buy a hoof wrap to try. While it did stay on the hoof okay, it did not prevent dirt and sand from getting into the bandaging underneath it. It won't work for what I need, but I did use the insert in the hoof sock which worked great.
    Date published: 2009-11-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Much easier than vet wrap! :-) This was very easy to use once I got my horse to stand on it in the correct place. That was the hard part though! ;-) But once she did, it's numbered so that you know which velcro to attach first, second, third, and so on. Very secure!! My horse couldn't get this off, and before when I was using vet wrap and duct tape she was getting that off somehow every night! This wrap stayed put!After about 4 uses, some of the edges started to fray so I'm not sure how long this will last, but hey for $20 it was worth getting! Vet wrap is $2-3 a roll anyway so this wrap pays for itself in a week anyhow! ;-)
    Date published: 2009-10-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent in certain situations The hoof wrap works well for horses that don't have shoes on and that are stall bound or turned out on sand. I recently used a hoof wrap on a shod horse with severe thrush and the wrap lasted four days because the metal wore through the ballistic nylon.
    Date published: 2009-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PRODUCT! RECOMMEND I have several retired TB with bad feet that lose shoes in the wet weather. Normally they would be stuck in the stalls to avoid the wet grass for night turn out. With Hoof Wraps they can go out on their normal schedule. I have also used the hoof wrap for hoofs that needed to be protect because of an injury. With the foam pad they can walk, with the wrap I can keep the medication on the hoof and they can be horses going out eating grass. I LOVE THIS PRODUCT! IT IS WORTH IT'S WEIGHT IN GOLD! It does take a few tries to get the boot on just right but it is well worth the effort.
    Date published: 2009-10-15
    • 2015-03-03T07:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_55
    • loc_en_US, sid_6183, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.