Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt

Korsteel
- Item #16148

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

JP Bits by Korsteel provide the ultimate communication between horse and rider. The exclusive curved design provides comfort and enhances performance.

Thick, kind, double-jointed Oval Mouth Eggbutt with curved bars eliminates "nutcracker" tongue pinching and encourages the horse's chewing motion. 13mm mouthpiece.

4 3/4", 5" or 5.5".

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    JP Korsteel Oval Mouth Eggbutt is rated 4.8571 out of 5 by 35.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super bit! Bought this for my bracing, open-mouth TB, and I noticed a difference the first time that I used it. He stayed on the bit more, and with less fuss. Great purchase!
    Date published: 2014-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I was looking for a bit with a solid cheek but an oval lozenge. I considered getting the Sprenger Dynamic RS Eggbutt but decided to try the JP Oval Mouth Eggbutt first. Wow, I'm so happy I tried the cheap one first! My green 4 and a half year old gelding is now really working into the bit instead of being fussy. Beautiful bit, he loves it and so do I!
    Date published: 2013-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite bit After years of use, the bit looks great!! I have 3 of my horses going in this bit. They have very nice soft, responsive mouths.
    Date published: 2013-02-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from 3 pc eggbutt works well I have an very mouthy horse , he is always a busy guy chewing on a rope if left around or what ever.I tried this bit as I like the way he goes overall in a 3 pc bit but had not used the egg butt 3 pc on him till now, and if anything his mouth is a BIT more quiet . I do not ever use this bit, or any bit for that matter, two days in a row , after an extensdive European study it was shown horses are all getting a bit of wear and tear , very small , in the place a bit sites in the mouth, by changing bits daily you give them a chance to heal no mater how good your hands are, so this is what I do . 3 bridles for each horse and change in a schedule , this bit works well with the upper level dresage this horse is asked to do.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit - Now I Have Two I have 2 younger horses that are just being trained--both very good. I liked the idea of the 3rd piece in the middle so their tongues do not get pinched--wouldn't want my tongue to get pinched! I also saw a similar bit for $80+ This was the second Korsteel bit I pudrchased (setting up a bridle for each horse - Halfie and Arab - nuff said :) so it feels like I got 2 for the price of 1.
    Date published: 2012-12-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from best bit purchase I have tied 5 other bits all price ranges, & my horse responds & accepts this bit. Flexing has improved.
    Date published: 2012-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for fussy horse This bit is fantastic for my fussy girl! We have tried (many) bits, none of which were to her liking. This bit fixed the head flinging and rooting issues we were having, and she is quite happy with it!I will say, it tends to run a little small. She normally take a 5 1/4, but needed a 5 1/2 for this one.
    Date published: 2012-07-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only bit for fussy horse!!! Have had issues getting my mare to accept contact at the walk in everything we have tried. Put this in and she stopped fussing and relaxed! She seems to love this bit! The fact that they offer a 4 3/4 is great for TB types too!
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Choice I needed a bit to go with my new Harwich Bridle. The TB I lease usually goes in a loose ring snaffle. After reading the reviews I decided to try switching to this. This horse tends to bob his head sometimes at the canter. Since I've been using this bit, it hardly ever happens anymore. It seems to be good quality, however it is a little squeaky.
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my go-to bit I have not found a horse that does not do well in this bit.
    Date published: 2013-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit for an excellent price! I bought this bit as the first non-rubber bit for my Thoroughbred. He is a terrible bit chewer, and I was tired of replacing the rubber bits every couple of months. This bit worked wonderfully, and has stood up to his vigorous chewing for over 2 years!My horse has a very sensitive mouth, and hates the nutcracker action of regular snaffles. He was very relaxed in this bit, and willing to take up contact steadily. The eggbutt adds the right amount of stability on the sides of his mouth for him to feel comfortable.Love it!
    Date published: 2012-03-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit Nice bit, seems to be well made and I like the lozenge in the middle instead of a flat plate. I only wish it were available in a range of mouthpiece thicknesses. I bought this for use on my youngster when I really start training him; the eggbutt is good for that as he starts to learn the aids, but a thicker mouthpiece would be more gentle.
    Date published: 2012-03-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice product My quarterhorse gelding Rory really responded nicely to this bit. Nice looking and good quality!
    Date published: 2012-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great quality I have purchased other bits from this brand in the past and had great luck with them, this was no exception. Sits nicely in his mouth, no pinching, seems to be better than the loose ring I had for him. Overall very happy with this bit.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this on my new horse......who was kind of heavy on the slow-twist full cheek snaffle that they used with him.......and he instantly softened and quieted his mouth with this new bit for me. This is a great bit. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-12-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse approves! Very pleased with this bit. I had been riding my four year old TWH filly in a hollow mouth single joint snaffle with loose ring cheek pieces. She was going okay in it, but was giving some resistance when working on collection, or backing up. I tried the JP Oval Mouth at the suggestion of my dressage instructor, and my filly took to it on the first ride. No more head tossing, no more sticking her tongue over the bit. She readily accepts contact and is very soft mouthed with it. The bit seems to be high quality and the price is very, very fair.
    Date published: 2011-11-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel Bit Korsteel bits are always a great buy. Made well and fits the horses mouth prefect.
    Date published: 2011-10-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Current solution for older OTTB I've had a real contact issue with my OTTB for some time, and in now asking for more connection it has become more obvious. I was using a nice (but big money) loose-ring double-jointed snaffle, but thought that the stability of an eggbutt might stack things more in my favor, and it did. I also tried an eggbutt french link, and an eggbut jointed, neither of which helped. Came back to this (plus reasonable price) and will stay with it.
    Date published: 2011-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice bit Nice quality bit and my horse accepts it nicely. If your horse likes to chew on the bit, it might squeak a little.
    Date published: 2011-02-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit! Very nice looking, gentle bit. It works very well and I love the fact that it isn't harsh at all.
    Date published: 2010-09-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good value this bit is a good value, and nicely made- we have several of these on our horses
    Date published: 2010-08-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only Bit for My Horses! With the issues I was having with my horse including head shaking and bit evasion, I was pretty sure that a large part of it was the bit. I tried multiple bits with little success until my instructor suggested this one. The result was like night and day. The head shaking stopped and the bit evasion, although it was still there (I am sure that in part she was expecting some type of discomfort), was improved and now we are actually able to work on it with much improvement.It turns out she is a sensitive mare that has a thick tongue with a low palate (per my instructor). The other bit styles I tried were loose ring single joint, kk ultra loose ring french link (she HATED this one), a loose ring french link snaffle, and a loose ring mullen mouth snaffle (she did OK in this one, but my instructor said that I needs something with a little more precision). For whatever reason, this bit did not pinch or poke her mouth. I even bought this for my other horse that I was having some bit related issues with. She loves this bit too.
    Date published: 2010-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Favorite! I love all of the JP Korsteel bits and so do my horses. After spending hundreds of dollars on the expensive Herm Sprenger bits, my horses clearly prefer these much less expensive bits. The contoured shape eliminates the nutcracker effect and the horse is much more willing to go on the bit and forward into contact. I don't think I will use any other brand again!
    Date published: 2011-01-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Gorgeous This is a really beautiful bit, wonderfully engineered and gentle on my boy's mouth. I'm very impressed and would recommend it.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-07-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.