Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16118
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

An everyday favorite! Easy care (100% washable!) and quality construction.

Equifleece lined for chafeless comfort, a favorite for both schooling and showing. Elastic on both ends to equalize girth pressure. Stainless steel roller buckles. Nylon reinforcements.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    97% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth is rated 4.6961 out of 5 by 181.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great product I tried alot of very expensive girths for my horse and she would sore with all of them. I finnally decided to buy a less expensive girth instead of a the more pricey ones I had been purchasing. This girth rarely if ever causes any problems for my mare. The price is awesome. This is the second girth of this kind I have purchases. This one is for my new saddle. I definately recomend these. Thank you smart pack for another great product!
    Date published: 2012-07-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Girth for the Money Works great and cleans easily. Horse seems to like it better than my leather girth.
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the Price I've been really happy with this girth. I wanted a low maintenance, low cost schooling girth and this fits the bill. The stitching seems solid and I've been impressed with the rollers on the buckles. Overall definitely worth the price!
    Date published: 2012-06-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Dressage Girth Love the girth, and the fact that it has elastic makes it even better. I've only used it a few times, so I can't rate it yet on durability. Actually, I liked the girth so much, I bought a similar SmartPak fleece girth for my close contact saddle. Love that one too!!
    Date published: 2012-05-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from fleece girths These girths are a great value. They seem to me to be comfortable for the horses. They are easy to work with and easy to clean. And the price is great!
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth! This is my 2nd Smartpak Fleece Dressage girth. I loved the first and got a 2nd in a larger size so I can use it on more horses. They do stretch a little after using for a few weeks. It washes well, looks good, and I've very pleased to find this girth at such a reasonable price.
    Date published: 2012-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy to clean! I have used the SmartPak fleece girths for my close contact saddles for a long time, so it was a no-brainer that I needed this girth when I switched to dressage.I love fleece because it's so easy to throw in the washing machine. I've never had a problem with my horse getting too hot. When he's hot, I actually prefer a little more padding under there to keep him from getting irritated.I'm one of the few people who has a brown dressage saddle, so my only request is that SmartPak make it in brown too!
    Date published: 2012-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great fleece product from SmartPak I recently got a new horse who is not only smaller than the horse I used to lease (meaning I'd have to get a new girth anyway) but who is also very girthy (ulcers are suspected though not yet diagnosed). I already have the SmartPak Fleece Wither Pad and was definitely impressed with the value, so I was confident that the fleece girth would also meet my needs. I was not disappointed! I was a little worried that the loops above the buckles would make it harder to tighten, but they don't- I find it just as easy to tighten as a girth without the loops. My horse is still girthy, but seems a little bit less so than with the girth I was borrowing before purchasing this one. I only wish it came in the same off-white color that the wither pad comes in, as my horse is off-white (well... cremello) and sheds all over it!
    Date published: 2012-04-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fleece girth I recently bought this girth and love it!!! My trainer uses them and loves them as well. My horses all have sensitive skin and responded badly to my previous girth, put this one on and my APHA mare didn't kick at me...didn't even pin her ears back! I think the elastic plays a huge part..I would definitely buy this girth again!
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I have used this girth for at least two years now (?) and love it.I need a 20" size for my new horse and I wish it came smaller so I could buy another one.Great fit, doesn't slip and looks great. I highly suggest this girth.
    Date published: 2012-04-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great deal and quality! Wow what a great fleece dressage girth for an unbelievable price! It has 2 sets of keepers which is fantastic. I have not washed it yet, but it has held up with daily wear for the past several months. Will buy another very soon and will recommend!
    Date published: 2012-03-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic girth for the price! I absolutely love this girth! You can't beat it for the price, and it's held up better than any other fleece girth I've owned.
    Date published: 2012-02-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece girth GREAT buy! Great purchase for quality fleece girth! Did not want to spend tons of money on a fleece girth. This was a pleasant surprise to have a fleece girth delivered that is true to size, durable and high quality for a low and very reasonable price! Will buy this product again! Only complaint I could have is a request for smaller size. I ordered the 22 inch and I could use a 20 inch due to long billet straps on my saddle. Maybe they will come out with smaller sizes!
    Date published: 2012-02-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good value I was surprised to find that this girth was just as good as the more expensive Coolmax girth. When there's a budget to consider, its a great feeling that I could get 2 girths for almost the same amount that I spent on the other.
    Date published: 2012-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buy for the Price! I am so impressed with this girth! For the price, the quality is superb. It seems to fit true to size buckle to buckle, although it is overall a little longer because of the keepers. The fleece is nice and soft and good quality. I can easily see this girth lasting for many, many rides.
    Date published: 2012-02-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Sensitive Skin I have had this girth for over a year now and though I tried a leather girth for a while, I keep coming back to this one. I used this girth day in and day out for a long time. I wanted a girth that looked a little nicer so I got a leather one and was only able to use it for a little bit before my horse started getting skin problems from it. I returned to this girth and it is still in great condition, and it keeps my horse comfortable. His skin irritation went away and it still fits perfectly. It is easy to wash and is a great value. I highly reccomend this girth especially for horses that have sensitive skin.
    Date published: 2012-02-07
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Beware when sizing I bought two of these girths, one for a big 16.1 TB and one for a Connemara pony. I bought the exact sizes that they have in other brands. I'm not sure why, but after just a few rides in each girth, they are now too big. The one for my TB is still usable; but the one I bought for the pony needs to be replaced. I think it's a combo of the fleece flattening down and the elastic stretching. So, it's no bargain for me as I now have to order a new one in a smaller size. So I would suggest ordering one size smaller!
    Date published: 2012-02-02
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good value This girth is a pretty good value. I like the elastic option and it seems to be comfortable for the horse. May be too hot for long rides on hot days, though.
    Date published: 2012-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quality Comfort Girth My QH started to develop girth galls and marks after a heavy trail riding season. She also developed a nasty bucking habit. I immediately searched for a new girth. After we started using SmartPak Fleece Girth, we have had no galls, sores or marks! Best of all, she stopped bucking. Now we both are back to enjoying our time together on the trails!
    Date published: 2012-01-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy I've had this for a long time and used on a number of horses. I can't believe how well it's held up, given how cheap it is! Fleece is always a pain to keep clean, so i don't use it everyday, but it's a great value if you're buying fleece.
    Date published: 2012-01-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems comfortable, my horse performs well in it. Haven't washed it yet, though.
    Date published: 2011-12-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Quality for the Price I ordered this girth to replace my worn out Wintec and I couldn't be happier. The quality was very nice, the hardware looks durable and the elastic gives enough to tighten the girth comfortably.Sizing is buckle to buckle so you must consider the extra material when ordering. I initially ordered the incorrect size but Smartpak made returning the item a breeze. I would highly recommend this product and any of Smartpak's products to anyone!
    Date published: 2011-12-24
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth I purchased this girth for a young, growing horse. At the price, it is very affordable to replace as he grows. Quality seems to be good, well made. If I could change anything about it, I would make it a bit wider. Aside from that, I think it is an excellent choice. No reason to spends hundreds on a girth. This works great on young horse as well sensitive mature horse! Have not used it long enough to know about durability but I think it will be good.
    Date published: 2011-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice girth!! I ordered this girth because I needed one with roller buckles, as I had just bought a new saddle, and of course spent all my money on that, so I needed a nice affordable girth!! Smart pak's girth fit the bill!! It's very nice and sturdy, with very soft fleece!! I need to buy another one though, as my horse has lost some weight and hair from a recent body clip, and the girth is too big!! I will be ordering another one very soon!! It's a great girth for the money!!
    Date published: 2011-11-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good thing it is washable! I got this girth about a month ago, and have been very happy with the ease of use - it is very easy to get a correctly snug fit with the styling of this girth - and with the styling and of course, with the price point. However, my horse, who is not cinchy in the least, would bite at the girth buckles after working in the ring. Since this item is washable, we tried washing it to see if maybe the fleece was itching him. That seems to have done the trick. So, I like it, I'd rather not have had to wash it after 3 wearings, but it held up very nicely in the laundry.
    Date published: 2011-10-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value I needed a short dressage girth and I wasn't quite sure what size I would need. I bought this one and not only does it fit great, but hoses off and is ready for the next day. No rubs,no galls.I would prefer thicker fleece, but for the price, it certainly is worth it.
    Date published: 2011-10-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Have to review my Review.... After giving a mixed review about this item (Nylon loop broke after only 2 uses) SmartPak called me and offered me a free replacement. Awesome customer service !!!!!!!!!!
    Date published: 2011-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Need For Expensive Girths After the neoprene girth caused welts and sores where the girth lies, as well as chafing on my mare's elbows, I searched high and low for something that would work. My mare seems comfortable in this girth. It has plenty of keepers for the billets, and it looks nice. I think that the sizing might be a bit longer than other girths so there is a possibility I may have to order one a size smaller if the elastic stretches. Very nice girth for the price! Since I've only had the girth for less than a month, I don't know how it will hold up. However, it looks and feels like a quality product that will have no problem sticking around for a long time.
    Date published: 2011-10-01
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Smart Pak Fleece Dressage Girth Received the girth and from the looks it is comparable to much more expensive fleece girths. But after using it only two times one of the nylon loops that you thread the billet through before you get to the metal piece ripped off. Didn't want to go through the hassle of shipping it back and wait for a refund or replacement. I am using it as it is and it works fine. Over all I am satisfied but wished the nylon loop would have stayed on.
    Date published: 2011-09-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best price! I needed a girth for my recently purchased 5 yr. old tb. He seems to love it & I'm very impressed with the quality. Best deal in town.
    Date published: 2011-09-22
    • 2015-03-04T07:28CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_18, tr_163
    • loc_en_US, sid_6118, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.