Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth

SmartPak
- Item #16118

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

An everyday favorite! Easy care (100% washable!) and quality construction.

Equifleece lined for chafeless comfort, a favorite for both schooling and showing. Elastic on both ends to equalize girth pressure. Stainless steel roller buckles. Nylon reinforcements.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    SmartPak Fleece Dressage Girth is rated 4.6962 out of 5 by 158.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great girth. It even washes well and stands up to lots of use.
    Date published: 2013-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth! Great girth, especially for my sensitive OTTB. The girth seems plush, we'll see how it holds up after washings. Overall a great purchase! I'll be ordering a second one before next summer.
    Date published: 2013-10-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from just what i was looking for New to dressage this girth is priced right and comfy for my mare. Ok to show in.
    Date published: 2013-10-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome girth This girth is really awesome, and fits true to size. I wasn't sure if it would, because I knew I needed either a 20 or 22, but the 22 is just fine! Love the fleece!!
    Date published: 2013-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-08-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth for Sensitive Horses! I have one horse (the first in my life) that had seemed to get girth galls from every girth that I used. I purchased this girth, and no more galls! It is a bit narrower than other girths, so that might help out. Whatever it is, I really love it - and you can't beat the price!
    Date published: 2013-07-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice girth My first impression of this girth was it looks better than i thought. Nice roller buckles. The elastic makes for a nice even pressure. The fluffy fleece was comfy for my horse and dried quickly. Very pleased.
    Date published: 2013-07-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-06-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good girth, good price The buckles are good, the ends slip easily into the keepers, the fleece is sufficiently thick and easy to clean. I will purchase this again and have several on hand.
    Date published: 2013-05-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this girth I bought a sensitive chestnut. I have spent the winter finding him tack that he likes and that doesn't give him sores. I've been through 3 saddles, numerous saddle fittings, and 5 girths. This is the first one that hasn't give him girth galls, and the first one he actually likes (he WIll let you know, loud and clear!) Runs large because yes, the elastic stretches a lot. Personally I think that makes it easier to use. Love it!
    Date published: 2013-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very nice girth!! This is my second of these girths, and I think they are great value. I bought this for my growing 3 year old, as I didn't want to invest a lot in a growing horse. I find that these girths run big. But they are a great value!!
    Date published: 2013-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best girth EVER. I bought a 24" version for my Appy gelding 2 years ago. It has been caked in mud and sweat and god knows what else, and both handwashed and machine washed, and it still could pass for almost new. The fleece is pilly and a bit ragged on the edges from numerous de-hairings with a metal curry, but the elastic is just about as tight as the day I bought it, and there is absolutely NO damage to this thing! No rust, no tears, no nothing. I am, at this very moment, buying a 22 inch so as to use a different set of holes on my saddle's billet straps. It does run a teeny tiny bit large, but that's hardly a complaint. Will definitely buy another if my 24 ever reaches the end of its useable days!
    Date published: 2013-04-12
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Your Choice I bought this girth because of the fleece, which I liked and it fit my horse well. I did not like the elastic. It stretched too much. I never knew or could tell "how tight" the girth was getting. It's just not the girth for my horse. I would purchase a fleece girth without elastic... Hint, hint Smartpak!
    Date published: 2013-03-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Happy With This Choice I got a used dressage saddle at a great price - just for a comfortable, relatively lightweight saddle for trail riding, not for showing. It was my first dressage saddle and so I discovered that I needed a much shorter girth than the one that I had used with the endurance saddle that I had been using. I found it trick to measure, so I used the rule that I had read about - for a dressage girth, subtract 20 inches from the length of your standard girth, and the fit was perfect!This girth seems very well made and durable, and the fleece is nice and comfy for my horse.
    Date published: 2013-02-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Girth Love this - this is the 2nd one I've gotten, and I bought this one for a friend. My other one has held up well, even through several washings (I wash it in a pillow case, which seems to help). My horse is very comfortable in it.
    Date published: 2013-02-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bargain Used once - so I don't have any comments on durability, but its seems like a solid product, very inexpensive. I like the fact that there is elastic on both ends. It also was very easy to thread the billets into the keepers, which I appreciate (they didn't skimp on size).
    Date published: 2013-02-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great girth for the price My mare was constantly loosing hair with the leather girths and then she started getting sores. This girth is perfect for schooling and keeps her from getting sores. I haven't cleaned it yet more than just wiping away the sweat with a towel.
    Date published: 2013-02-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfy Girth - Perfect Fit When I bought my dressage saddle (used) - for trail riding - a friend gave me a dressage girth. Although it was the "right" size, it seemed to gap between the top of the girth and the pad, even though the pad was the "right" size. So I was concerned that my horse might feel pinching in the gap The SmartPak Fleece Girth is perfect - no gap, no pinch. I followed the rule of ordering a dressage girth 20 inches smaller than my standard girth, and it was just the right size.
    Date published: 2013-01-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice soft girth My horse is very fussy about the type of girth he will accept and from the first ride he was happy with how soft the fleece was as well as the amount of "give" in the elastic. I have used this girth about 12 times and so far it has shown no wear at all. Over all this is a very nice girth at an affordable price.
    Date published: 2013-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice girth! Great value, well made, and easy to keep clean. My tubby horse usually takes a size 28, but with this girth the elastics (love them) on each end were very sturdy - a feature I'm sure I'll appreciate for their longevity - making this one run a little small. The exchange was no problem with free return shipping, and the SmartPak folks had the size 30 replacement back to me in less than a week. Leuk seems to like this one better than the neoprene girth I'd been using. Soft!
    Date published: 2013-01-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Girth!! Can't beat the value for this girth. Only problem is they run large, I had to get the smallest size (22") for my 15.3hh Half-arab/half-paint- who had worn a 26" with a previous girth. But with smartpak's free return shipping on sized items, not a big deal!
    Date published: 2013-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My Favorite Girth I have purchased this same girth twice because I like it so much! I prefer fleece for the horse's comfort and this girth is very soft at a great price!
    Date published: 2012-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfectly Practical This thing is great- machine washable and very durable. It's nothing 'fancy' per say but it completely does the job, what more could you want? Don't spend more on another girth!
    Date published: 2012-12-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A good girth at a good price I can only use fleece girths on my sensitive chestnut and I bought this girth as a back up girth so I can always have a clean one on hand. My primary girth cost $80 and the SmartPak girth was only $29! They are almost identical in material and quality. I love having the elastic on both ends and the roller buckles are good quality. I only wish it was a tad wider, but I will likely buy another at this price!
    Date published: 2012-11-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good quality for the price I bought this girth as I have another fleece one that is too small for the current horse I ride. This isn't exactly the same girth and not as soft, but it definitely is a nice quality for the money. I've used it 4x a week for a few weeks and its holding up nicely. I don't expect it to last forever at the price point though.
    Date published: 2012-10-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great value, very durable This is the 2nd of these girths that I have purchased for use with my english style bareback pad with dressage billets. The first one lasted me 3 years of use and abuse without very good care on my part, and still held up well and did not rub my horse. The faux fleece is durable, detachable and machine washable, something that I didn't take advantage of the first time I purchased. I will take better care of this new one, and my old one is still in fine shape as a backup and an extra.
    Date published: 2012-10-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nothing better at this price! I purchased the SmartPak Fleece Dressage girth to go with my new saddle and I couldn't be happier. Although I have only been using it for a little over a month, it looks like it will hold up nicely. It looks great and my horse likes it too. I don't think you can go wrong with this one.
    Date published: 2012-09-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from nice fit, nice value This is my second fleece girth. My first has held up very well (I just wanted a spare). My horse has never had any rubbing or girth soreness and the girth stays true to size (doesn't stretch out of shape). Very nice value!!
    Date published: 2012-09-06
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.