Product Image

Cough Free

Sure Nutrition
- Item #10060
Form: Powder
Maintenance Dose: 1 SmartPak Well

Cough Free is for horses with allergies, heaves, stable cough or congestion. Cough Free is a 100% natural formula of herbs and minerals that works at reducing symptoms!

View our Respiratory Supplement Comparison Chart

Order This Product In:

    Ships every 28 days
  edit
Maintenance Dose
  edit
Custom Dose  cancel
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on SmartPaks over $40
Congrats, you earned free shipping!

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Shipping on orders over $75
Congrats, you earned free shipping!
You Might Also Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Cough Free is rated 4.1441 out of 5 by 118.
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Smells terrible - taste worse! I cannot say whether or not this works because like many of the other reviewers' horses, my horse refuses to touch this and he is not normally picky at all. I tried every disguise trick I've ever known and he will not get near it. Ruined a lot of feed trying to trick him into eating it. Wish it came in a tasty pellet. I have found a product called "Respi-Free" by Omega that really works. Don't think SP sells it though.
    Date published: 2013-07-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Helped cough My horse coughed several times while trotting when I showed or worked her out. Since I have been using this product she has gotten better. I am hoping the longer I use it that the cough will go away.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING product/Life Savor! When i first got my pony he had a terrible cough that i could not get rid of. Soaked his hay. would dampen his bedding. Put him outside when sweeping. Nothing helped. Within the first week of trying this i saw a huge improvement in his ability to breath normally. graze and eat hay without struggling and made working easy for him. He never had a problem with the taste (he will eat anything) its a powder though and without alot of grain its dust covers the bucket etc. I love this product and will continue to use it because it makes him that much more comfortable!
    Date published: 2013-04-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good product. I have used this product on 2 horses it worked great for the mare . My gelding unfortunately has a more serious condition due to a lung infection in 2011. Cough free does give him relief but he stays on the loading dose. It does need to be disguised by adding it to soaked alfalfa as it has a strong smell. Overall I would recommend trying this product.
    Date published: 2013-03-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Did the job I purchased this supplement because my horse developed heaves over the summer from the hay. This supplement did work well and my horse was breathing way better after a month. It smells bad and good thing he was a good eater and didn't care. They should make a pelleted form for picky eaters!
    Date published: 2013-02-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective, if your horse will eat it This worked for my horse's seasonal allergies- he went from coughing after doing anything above an energetic walk to no coughing at all in about 4 days on this supplement. BUT, he didn't like the taste of it (I can't blame him, it smells awful). At first he'd eat his CoughFree-tainted grain slowly, then he started refusing it completely. I had to hide it in a mash. The mash did the trick until the end of summer when he no longer needed it. Some horses may not be so easily fooled, though. As a bonus, it also works to prevent chewing on lead ropes: I rub the used bag from the container on his lead ropes- one taste and he leaves them alone!
    Date published: 2012-12-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Works if they'll eat it This seemed to work and to relieve symptoms when I first tried it, but the horse became progressively more resistant to eating it. No amount of trying to hide or cover the taste worked after a couple of doses.
    Date published: 2012-10-21
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unpalatable I can't say whether Cough Free works because the smell is so strong my horse wouldn't go near his feed tub.
    Date published: 2012-10-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Worked to a degree My gelding has vague seasonal allergies, a bit of wheezing, a cough when first riding, allergic swelling along his jaw sometimes. Nothing that ever shows up when the vet is here, (of course), nothing predictable, and he is turned out all he wants, so it is not from being stalled.Cough free helped him somewhat, but I have to moisten it on his feed or he blows is away and won't eat it well. It did help him some, but I am trying SmartBreathe to just give him a bit more help. This is a good product to try though.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy! Within 7 days of this in my horse's Ultium,5 days of 2 scoops and 2 with 1, his cough was gone, and had zero winded sounds after finishing a hour jumping lesson or 3 mile jogs. Amazing!
    Date published: 2012-10-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Trying My barn manager noticed that Chase was coughing a good bit. This started in the summer. We both agreed it was due to some type of weed allergy in the pasture. She had used Cough Free before, and liked the results. Within a few days of being on it, Chase was not coughing or having labored breathing. His previous owner said he had never had these issues before, so I felt confident it was an allergy. He does not cough or sound like a "roarer" any more. I have found out he will not eat this in his p.m. feeding. I think this is due to other horses going out before him, and he just doesn't want to finish. We have switched it his morning feed with no problem. It smells awful, but he does eat it. A great low cost fix.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This really works My horse had a cough which just wasn't getting better this summer. I started him on this a month ago and his cough is not almost 100% gone. Highly recommend it. I have added to his smart pack.
    Date published: 2012-09-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great and it Works! I had my doubts, I was wrong! Early this spring my horse developed a small cough that just never went away. Vet checked him out and decided he was just fine; could have been the barn change or new batch of hay! So I thought I would give it a try. It helped and I will continue to use it. Some people say they don't like the smell, I actually love it. I just mix it into the grain and my horse never even noticed the change.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it works! My horse started coughing this year. Tried the pelleted Smart Breathe because I heard the Cough Free did not taste very well. My horse would not eat it. She is eating the Cough Free, no problem. I ran out of it for a few days and she started coughing again. Was hoping her cough was just seasonal, but I guess this is something I have to give her for the rest of her ife.
    Date published: 2012-08-18
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from I don`t recommend My horse refused to eat this. But since I love smartpaks so much, I called and my order was fully refunded! Although these didn`t work for my horse, I will definitely continue to buy from Smartpak!
    Date published: 2012-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This works! really - my horse had a persistent cough this year (i think after PF, they get allergies). It was getting to the point where he couldn't even canter a 20 meter circle without coughing badly. After just one week of loading dose, his cough is a TON better. He is still coughing a little but this really has improved his condition. For the load dose, we actually mixed with water and syringed for am, and mixed in grain with some bran and water in the evening.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from cough free seems to be working for my mare- she coughs very little now but she doesn't seem to like the taste so I have to wet it in her grain to get her to eat it
    Date published: 2012-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-07-11
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Definitely works! This product works very well to control a horses cough and running nose. Although, it smells horrible. My horse would not eat it plain in his grain at all. I had to mix it with molasses and water to thin the taste of it out. Then he ate it but he still wasn't very happy that he was eating it at all. He has been off of it for 2 months now and is back to coughing and has a running nose. There really isn't anything else you can give them that works as well as this stuff does. Too bad there isn't a pellete form of it.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cough Free I do think this supplement has helped my horse. He has chronic allergies, especially in winter/spring, and it has definitely almost completely stopped his coughing. It does have sort of an unpleasant odor of licorice (I don't like licorice - if you like it, it may not be unpleasant to you!) and he doesn't always clean it up, which is why I gave it 4 stars instead of 5. Otherwise, the product works amazingly well, and I noticed a difference within the first few days of feeding it.
    Date published: 2014-03-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Product!! I purchased this product for my mare, and I could see a difference in her after a few weeks. Great product!!
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cough Free I have used this product on other horses with no problem, although my gelding will not touch it
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Works My horse has seasonal allergies, especially in the spring and develops a nasty cough. Last spring it developed into a bad throat infection requiring the vet and antibiotics. After researching various products I decided to try Cough Free and am so glad I did. Cleared up his cough in the first week. He doesn't particularly like the taste, I do have to wet his grain a bit to make sure he gets it all, but he does eat it. Even if he didn't, I'd use a syringe to dose him because the product works. I now keep it on hand all the time and if I hear a cough starting, I give him some. I found that even a reduced amount helps. Wish the manufacturer could work on making it a bit more palatable thou.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works for coughs I've used this a while to help my girl w/ her cough... vet recommened it...only down side-- I use syrup to help disguise the taste as it may be a put off to some horses
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Did not work for my mare This product did not work on my mare. I had to call the vet out to check her and he started her on dex to get things under control. Now that she is doing better I think I will give it another try. It smells good and the price is right.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for stable cough This seems to work on even tough coughs. The price is reasonable, and the horses eat it okay. Has a rather pungent odor, but my guys will clean it up if it's mixed with enough grain or dampened slightly if they're only getting their usual handful of oats. Even the picky eaters I've had haven't had any trouble with it. Good product!
    Date published: 2012-04-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cough Free I generally have not had good luck with herbals, however I swear by Cough Free. My Appy Cody gets a cough every winter and the Cough Free clears it up, no question. No side effects either. As long as Cody is around he will get his Cough Free during the winter. I highly recommend this product.
    Date published: 2012-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a very effective product Used this on my rescue horse shortly after I got her, it stopped her allergies within a week, but she likes the taste of it so much, I add a tiny bit in to her morning breakfast. I think pastured horses will like this quicker than stalled horses, as pastured horses like to nibble on a variety of grasses/weeds, and this is very "herby." I would like to make a cup of tea from it personally....... if your horse is not happy with it, try using a bit of water to mix in with your ration I would never feed dry anything anyway because of the risk of choke....
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No more cough 25 year old mare with COPD, and she has stopped coughing with this product. She even cantered! She ate it with no reservations. I do give it with grain and soaked beet pulp, along with other supplements.
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from smells bad My mare that eats anything would not eat her grain when I mixed in one scoop so per directions, I added water and used a large syringe to dose her. The powder is bad smelling but after adding water, not only did it look gross but the smell was worse. On cold nights I mix up a hot bran mash for the horses so I thought I'd try the cough-free in the mash. I cut up carrots, apples, bannanas, and dropped in blueberries and the mare ate it all! Tonight wasn't cold but I gave them mash anyway with carrots and apples and for the third night in a row, she ate it eagerly. Yay! As far as working, I don't know.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.