Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Super Comfort Iron Pads

Item #16038

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Say "Goodbye!" to losing a stirrup while riding, these pads provide superior grip for added security

You can easily attach them to your own irons. Guaranteed to stay firmly in place. If you spend any time in the saddle, you will greatly appreciate these unique treaded rubber iron pads. Treaded rubber will last years and years of constant use. Wraps around the entire iron, thereby eliminating foot to steel contact that often causes a rider to lose their stirrups.  Reduces impact to help alleviate added stress on the knees. Helps keep heels down. Easily attaches in less than 5 Minutes. Helps improve body and leg position. Should be sized down by a half size for jointed irons.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Super Comfort Iron Pads is rated 4.9041 out of 5 by 73.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pricey but hopefully worth it! I bought these when I needed to replace my son's stirrup pads. He was having trouble keeping his heels down because he said the (old) stirrup pads were slippery feeling. He had worn them down significantly, which I'm sure caused the slipperiness, but they'd also worn much more than my daughter's pads which are about the same age, so I decided to try these pads. They are definitely the right amount of grippy, his position has already improved tremendously within about 2 weeks. They were easy to put on. Time will tell if the investment was worth it!
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-11-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE THESE! I LOVE these pads!! super comfy without being bulky. They provide a nice grip without forcing false heel flexion. After my years of riding my ankles are shot and these make it so much easier to ride all day!
    Date published: 2010-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love it! these stirrup pads are seriously the best. I use them with my Herm Sprenger Stirrups, and they hold traction like no other! Great on sloppy days, wet days, and when your boot isn't very grippy anymore.
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lifesaver for middle aged knees I didn't think they would make that much of a difference, but these pads have really saved my knees and ankles. They also alleviated occasional numbness in the ball of my foot on longer rides.
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good buy I'd seen my trainer and a couple other riders at my barn with these pads, and since I had been having a frustrating time keeping some traction between my boot and the stirrup pad during wet weather, I gave them a go. Huge improvement. I feel much more secure. Now, it won't be the all-mighty magical equitation fix (I have a tendency to shoot my leg too far forward), but because it offers a better grip, you can focus your attention to other details of your ride apart and not worry about your feet slipping.
    Date published: 2010-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Love these. My feet do not move or slip as with other stirrup pads. I do wrap them when I'm not riding since I notice they can scratch my saddle.
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from VERY Pleased Love this product, excellent fit on the stirrup.Appears to be durable, but can't really say as I just got it. Has cushion for my older joints, while maintaining a solid surface for flexing my ankle. Modest price.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort Pad Review These pads are easy to put on and wear like iron. They help with shock absorption and can be used with every discipline. I have a set for each saddle. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from comfort pads + I've only used these pads a few times, but they really keep your foot from slipping in the stirrup. My old pads were worn out and I am glad I purchased these! Easy to install.
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Buy These pads keep your feet from slipping and are comfortable. I used to have the cheese grater pads and switched to these. I love my new pads!
    Date published: 2010-05-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love these!! I have knee and ankle pain typically and these have helped me a ton. Definitely recommend!
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wasn't expecting these to be so great! I recently purchased these to put on my jump saddle - I have composite stirrups with a wide tread and was worried these might not fit, but they did. I rode in them cross country the next day and was SO impressed - my feet did not once slip from the stirrups, my heels stayed down much easier, they have a great grip and they provide very good shock absorption too! More expensive than your traditional fillis pads or even cheese-graters, but I definitely plan on buying another pair to put on my dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2010-05-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Stirrup Pads! These stirrup pads are fantastic. Great grip without tearing up the soles of your boots like cheese-grater pads. Cheese graters always left me with a sore back and sometimes numb or ouchy feet. These stirrup pads are great and reduced my back pain and feel great. Since they wrap around the stirrup if they do happen to slip you can still catch traction on the edge. They can trap dirt if its really muddy but just quickly brushing them off with a horse brush solves that easily.
    Date published: 2010-04-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from fantastic best stirrup pads on the market, i purchased one set to try them i liked them so much i bought another set.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Buy These!! Dont bother buying the expensive stirrups with the cheese grater pads. These pads are awesome!!! I have an ankle problem and always losing my one stirrup even with the cheese grater pads and i did not once loose my stirrup in these. The do a great job with shock absorbing as well. Easy to assemble too!
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Terrific Product These Comfort Iron Pads met and exceeded my expectations. My feet feel more secure in the irons + the cushy feeling under my boot encourages my heels to stay down. Only one very small negative comment: the straps used to fasten the bottom edges together are difficult to attach and sometimes come apart. I highly recommend these pads.
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from can't do without I've had these on my stirrups for the past five years and could not go without. Perfect for anything from pony hunters to Level 4 jumpers. Its impossible to loose your stirrups during a course with these. A must buy!
    Date published: 2010-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Daughter loves these My daughter says these prevent her boots from slipping on the irons. They need to be replaced as they wear down.
    Date published: 2010-01-25
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works very well keeps my foot from sliding out of my irons works very well
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-11-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A+++ I've had these for 2 years now and they've been a great buy. They are very comfortable and provide a secure fit between the boot and stirrup. I haven't lost a stirrup since having these, and I recommend these for every rider!
    Date published: 2009-11-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great purchase! I have added these pads to my irons and am very happy with them. With the extra grip, I no longer lose my stirrups. I also like the extra width it adds to the base of my irons. I was worried that they wouldn't be safe to use, but I have no problem taking my foot out when needed.
    Date published: 2009-09-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from They did their job! I love these pads! I was wary of them until I first rode in them.. they are amazing! I never think about losing my stirrup when I sit the canter or in a middle of a course! It's not a large difference, but I never lose my stirrup. It didn't change my achy knees (which happens only when I ride hard- really hard!) but that wasn't expected. It did it's purpose!
    Date published: 2009-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Comfort Iron Pads Tried a pair of my friend's and I loved them so I had to get my own. Comfortable and keep my foot in place. I love them.
    Date published: 2009-07-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Impressed with the Super Comfort Pads I was actually given a pair of these pads many, MANY, years ago when a local vendor was trying to market them. It wasn't until recently I realized that after all these years, I have not replaced them or done anything to them since the day she put them on my saddle and the tread is just as new as the day she did! These things have just lasted forever and give great stability in the saddle. At first I thought they were a little silly looking, because they wrap AROUND your irons rather than sitting in your irons - but it's worth it and now I don't even notice it. I've shown in them and schooled in them without comment from very conservative trainers, so I think it was just my being wary at first of something new. I highly recommend them to anyone, especially if you ride often!
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not a Huge Difference The Super Comfort Iron Pads had such glowing reviews, I had to try them. I didn't find them to make a noticeable difference in either traction or cushioning. They are also really big and bulky on the stirrup iron, and tend to collect more sand and dirt than regular treads.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from HIGHLY RECOMMEND! These stirrup pads are fantastic! I use to lose my stirrup fairly often, now, it doesn't move. Your foot feels more secure in the stirrup with these pads as opposed to regular stirrup pads. They also provide additional cushioning, which is wonderful.
    Date published: 2009-07-10
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.