Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Solar Glove

Roeckl
- Item #15991

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Do you suffer from unsightly tan lines after hours (or was it days?) in the saddle?

The Solar Glove is a combination of skin protection and a longer lasting suntan result from the SOLAR TAN'S UNIQUE UV FILTER FABRIC.

The Solar Glove allows your hand to "see the light" while at the same time, protecting your skin with SPF 10. Now, you can get an even tan on your gloved hands, while keeping your hand cool and offering protection. 

Imported.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Solar Glove is rated 4.5676 out of 5 by 37.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from The best for what they are This is the best summer glove. Frankly, I wear it in the winter if it's not too cold. I actually prefer it to my driving gloves. I can't say enough good things about the glove. The bad things I can say are as follows: its fit is lovely at the expense of its durability. It doesn't hold up to any semblance of hard use. It fits decidedly small. I typically wear a 7 glove and the 7.5 JUST fits when it is new. It does stretch because of the net finish on the dorsal surface of the hand. I own many pairs. They are durable with respect to machine washing.
    Date published: 2012-06-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from My favorite gloves Despite not giving these gloves 5 stars, they are still my favorite gloves. I would wear them year round if I could. They are cool for the summer, and they almost eliminate a sun line - not 100%, but pretty close. The material is thin, but that's the type of material that it is - otherwise, it wouldn't let the sun through. The last pair gave me 2 summers, so hopefully these will do the same.
    Date published: 2012-06-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Tanned hands This is the second pair of these gloves I have owned. I like the fit and function. However, they are not the most sturdy.
    Date published: 2012-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves! I generally hate wearing gloves, but I ride a lot of horses and ponies so they're kind of a must. My SSG Hybrid gloves are awesome, but they get really hot in the Florida heat, so I thought I'd try these. New favorite gloves, hands down. At first the sizing was a little snug, but after the first ride they felt great. They keep your hands so cool that you almost forget you're wearing them! The palm and fingers are lightly padded and quite grippy, and they've been perfect for keeping me comfortable during multiple rides. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Roeckl gloves My daughter and I have been thru them all. these are the best. What more needs to be said?
    Date published: 2012-02-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool well-fitting gloves!!! I love these gloves! I can't speak to the durability yet as I haven't had them for a month yet.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great for summer riding this is the third pair I have bought for my competing daughter. They are lightweight and fit well. Unfortunately lightweight also means light wear. They will only last one season before they have worn holes in the seam on each third finger. I wish the manufacturer could maybe reinforce this area. Due to the mesh they are not easy to repair although she does wrap duct tape around the finger towards the end of the season. They are not cheap considering the length of time they last but my daughter has yet to find a more comfortable summer glove solution.
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Gloves ever I ride in Dubai where you have hot and sticky summers. These gloves keep your hands dryer than every other glove I used and always provide a good grip. They are super thin and a relief after wearing bulky gloves. I was so delighted after my first weeks of using them that I ordered the same gloves for my friends. Huge smiles on all of their faces, too. One is using them with rope reigns and is thrilled.
    Date published: 2011-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am on my second pair. They are perfect for summer riding. I also have long fingers and difficulty finding gloves to fit. These fit perfectly. My only complaint is that they do not wash well. After a few washings, the seams start to give.
    Date published: 2011-01-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Summer Glove This glove is so light and thin it's perfect for the summer months. I love the fit as well. The material on the palm is great and I have no issues holding the reins. The only downfall I have is their durability- I ride with double reins and not all the fingers are lined on these gloves so some of the mesh did pull away on one of the gloves. But if you don't ride with draw / curb reins then I do think you would be fine. And despite this I still love this glove and will buy another pair next summer.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sun Glove Fun BEST pair of gloves I have EVER bought. I love these! I had thee worst farmers tan from working as a full time working student in NJ and now the problem is solved. The best part is the fabric the gloves are made from are airy and light and hold a great grip on the reins. I will never choose any other for a schooling glove. Had them for 6 months now, I ride almost everyday and only have a slight tear...great durability.
    Date published: 2010-08-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! Love them for keeping my hands tan. It's one thing to have a farmer's tan but white hands too :(.Tactile. Could last longer.
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE LOVE LOVE these gloves These are great. They are super comfortable to wear and are great for hot weather riding (used them today in 90°+ heat) and didn't even think to take them off while mucking my guys stall. The only downside is the kind of cheesy lightning bolt on the glove, but this didn't stop me from buying. I can overlook that given how comfortable and lightweight these are. I also really like the feel of the reins through these. I highly recommend.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for hot weather I bought these gloves after trying a friends. I really liked them for riding in the summer heat and humidity. The gloves are light-weight and have a good grip. I am concerned as the top part is a very thin material. Again, it is great for keeping my hands from sweating, but I'm not sure how durable they will prove to be. I do really like the fit - you can certainly adjust your girth and leathers without taking off your gloves.
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Buy If you are looking for a riding glove that is light this is it.
    Date published: 2010-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really nice gloves I went to the Smartpac Store looking for gloves that are not hot. The lovely young ladies at the store recommended these. I have been very happy with them. I have worn them to ride and do work around the farm. They work well as a riding glove and a work glove. No sweaty hands!
    Date published: 2010-05-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These Gloves Are Great! These gloves seem to be very durable even though they are so light weight. I am not really worried about tan lines but I purchased them because they are much cooler in the summer due to the whole back being mesh. I only wish they were plain black so that I could show in them.
    Date published: 2010-04-27
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Summer Gloves These gloves are great for the summer. The mesh back lets all the air flow through the glove. And the Roeckl palm and finger surface is very grippy, even when they are wet.
    Date published: 2009-12-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from No more sweaty hands. Grip is comfortable. I have two pairs. One slightly ripped in the fingertip but they were sent back and replaced with a new pair. The are holding up just fine. I ride 4-5 horses a day and they are durable and really comfortable. They are protection enough to move the jumps around in and to gallop XC. Try a a pair!
    Date published: 2009-08-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cool and Comfy These gloves are extremely comfortable and "airy", would definitely purchase again when these wear out
    Date published: 2009-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for Summer Riding I love these gloves! The mesh back is light and breathable, and the palm is a great thin, grippy material similar to the Roeckl Chester gloves. My hands stay cool and comfortable and they give a great feel on the reins. I like them even better than the crochet-back gloves I used to use; and they seem to hold up better. I'm so glad I came across these gloves; they're now a summer staple in my tack trunk!
    Date published: 2009-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice hands! sun is now my friend! i wear usually size 7.5 and 8 was just right. great product! Nice feel and my reins do not run through my fingers.
    Date published: 2009-06-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect Summer Glove Great for schooling -- provides great grip, is super light weight and best of all mesh allows your hands to tan through and breath!
    Date published: 2009-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Yeah!! Gloves without tan lines!! I bought these with the hope that I would get rid of the awful tan lines of got from wearing gloves in the sun too often. They REALLY work!! I get the protection from the reins without losing the sesitivity that sometimes happens with other gloves. So far they are standing up well to multiple horses on a daily basis. Thanks SmartPak!!
    Date published: 2009-05-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Summer glove Living in FL I was tired of having white hands and tanned arms. These gloves have lasted me almost a year riding 5-6 days a week, 1-2 horses/day. Because they're so thin, I have a great feel on the reins, and they don't wear out between my ring and pinky fingers like SSG gloves seem to always do. I've been looking for another pair and I'm happy to find them on Smartpak!
    Date published: 2009-03-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves for the summer I absolutely love the Solar Glove. I am a professional and ride between 4 and 9 horses a day. The gloves do not last forever with that kind of use, but they are well worth the price. The glove provided a great grip on the rein, even in rain! I only wish SmartPak would carry them in white too, I have to order them in Europe.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice gloves but... I don't think these gloves would hold up to consistent wear and tear. I'm currently only using them when I'm hacking outside. They are very comfortable and breathable, but just don't seem strong enough for more then just a light hack.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from rip on seams I loved these gloves when I received them. Lightweight, cool with a great grip and feel, they seemed just perfect. However, after using them about ten times, one of the seams split on the side of a finger, where the mesh fabric is sewn to the bottom of the glove. Not great when they cost about $35.00! I am afraid to exchange for the same style because I fear that the top material is just to fragile to stay attached to the bottom, a design flaw I think Roeckl is going to have a problem with. I love Roeckl gloves and found this very disappointing!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.