Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck

Weatherbeeta Blankets
- Item #15929
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Mesh panels provide cool summer protection against the sun and all types of insects.

Favorite Features

  • 70% UV protection
  • 270 g polyester fabric
  • Twin chest straps
  • Hidden front surcingle
  • Adjustable and removable leg straps
  • Gusseted shoulders provide freedom of movement
  • Generous tail flap for full coverage
  • Removable neck provides versatility

Lightweight polyester ripstop outer.
Imported.

Sizing It Up

How to measure a horse

You Might Like
    out of 5
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Kool Coat Airstream Detach-A-Neck is rated 4.0235 out of 5 by 170.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kool Coat I own a dark bay Thoroughbred/Percheron who tends to get sunbleached throughout the summer. I purchased this sheet due to the fact that it helps block UV rays. I have noticed that his coat is not fading and he is staying dark and shiny!
    Date published: 2012-06-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Wonderful purchase This fly sheet and neck cover is great, my black show mare wears it outside and in the stall , she is super sensitive to the insects so if it is warm the air flows good thru, and in the stall I put a fan on . Love the functionality.
    Date published: 2012-05-15
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from OK I bought this fly sheet not to keep flies away, but to keep my mare from fading out before a show. It did help with the fading and it was cool, she was never sweaty under it and we had some 80+ degree days, but she tore huge holes in the neck cover within the first week. For the price it was a good product, but if you want something long term (I only used mine for a month) I would look for something a little more durable. Also, get a size under what your horse would normally wear, the sheet runs big!
    Date published: 2012-05-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good for price I was most concerned about fit. From what I read, this sheet was supposed to run very large. My horse is a 16 hand AQHA mare with a moderately blocky build. Not finely built nor a real bulldog. She wears an 81 Rambo winter blanket, so I ordered a size 78, It fits perfectly, No excess in the rear and a nice fit around her neck and chest area the way a blanket should fit. I have to say that I haven't really used this blanket yetother than to try it on, but I think it will hold up well as the area without mess feels very sturdy. My mare is a heavy duty roller so she will put the blanket to the test. I forever mend her stuff and I'm hoping this blanket will stand up well. I can't comment on how it will be in the heat or ow the neck rug stays in place. I do know that for the price, I can repair it and manage to get through the season and if it's torn to shreds, I haven't lost too much.
    Date published: 2012-05-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from O'Reilly hasn't eaten it yet!!! So far, my horse has kept this sheet in one piece!!! since he has managed to destroy "indestructible" horse clothes in record time...I call this a miracle!!! I rubbed Muscle Rub on the straps and the likely places he would grab and pull and it helps...though in the past even that has not deterred him. It's a little long but that's really no problem. It hasn't gotten hot here yet so don't know if it will prove too heavy for summer. Perfect for this under 80 weather though!
    Date published: 2012-05-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So Far So Good Haven't used it much yet, but I love the durability of this fly sheet. My horse is kinda rough and this is a good compromise between the lightweight fly sheets and the heavier summer sheets
    Date published: 2012-05-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fly Sheet I bought 4 of these this year and so far i am very happy with the results. I live in Ga where tempertures have already been in the 90s and its May 2...so keeping them cool while helping reduce fly irritation is key for me. I also have mare with allergies to fly bits-she breaks out in hives without her smartbreath supplement and the sheet has added to her comfort.
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fly Sheet Great fly sheet for the price, fit is true to size. Bradley has already worn this out in turn out and wasn't bothered by any flys (he hates flys) and was not sweaty when brought in. Love the having his name on it also, fine job!
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Too Hot! I was worried this sheet would be too hot when it arrived, and I was right. My horse was a sweaty mess after wearing this during turnout. This might be a good option for a cooler climate, but it is definitely not a good sheet for our hot Georgia summers.
    Date published: 2012-05-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from You'll love this blanket! Love everything about this blanket to keep the sun and flies off my horses. Fabric, buckles, sizing are all great! The only thing I would change is the color, it's hard to keep the white clean!
    Date published: 2012-04-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from UVA sheet good product, fits well, is durable (an absolute neccessity for my crowd). The Monogram was just icing on the cake.
    Date published: 2012-04-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sheet for the money I bought this sheet in early spring to keep my black horse black. Living in South Carolina the humidity and sun usually prevents me from keeping a fly sheet on all summer. My horse actually sweats LESS in this sheet than she did in a normal full mesh fly sheet. It is early in the season but so far my horse is still black. My horse lays down and rolls often, but I have yet to find it falling off of her. It seems to stay in place very well, which was actually a problem with the other fly sheet. I am very happy with this product, especially since it costs less than other sheets, and in my opinion does a far superior job. At this price I can afford to easily replace it should the sheet rip or become damaged. I will definitely be buying this product again in the future.
    Date published: 2012-04-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price I purchased this fly sheet as a back-up to a more expensive one. It is light and fits well.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dose not work well for excitable horses I have a gelding that still thinks he's a stallion, he's highly excitable, runs bucks and challenges new vehicles. Managed to make an irreparable tear within 4 days of wearing. Before the tear I was having problems with the sheet shifting and not fitting this horse well.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Works great for mellow horses I have multiple, 2 are in a pasture together and are on the mellow side. This product works great for these two. I live within 2 miles of a swamp and mosquitos have been very bad this year with the moderate temp.
    Date published: 2012-04-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Price for a full coverage fly sheet Purchased in Spring and have yet to use it. Great price for a fly sheet with a neck coverage. Size runs larger than usual. May not hold up to heavy abusers of sheets, but will see.
    Date published: 2012-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great rug...shame about the fit We use this type of material in Australia on all of our summer rugs out there, the horses stay cool in the very hot environment wearing these rugs. We purchased two (at the same time) of these for our warmblood mare since migrating to the USA. She wears an 84" in every brand and they fit perfectly. We ordered an 84" in this rug for her. It fits perfectly in the chest/shoulder area but is too long by approx 6"...they do run very large...please order a smaller size unless you want your horse to be able to swim in it!!! lolAlso the monogramming that was ordered was not straight.
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Impressive! I am very impressed with the quality of this sheet. I love that it comes with the hood (which fits well and stays in place.) The material is sturdy- I love that, but I can see that in very hot climates it would be warm. So far, its been perfect in CO and it hasn't been too warm. It seems that it would breathe very well even in hot climates. Well see how it holds up, but so far, its a great buy! (and I love all my other KoolCoats so this shouldn't be any different.) They do run a tad big. My boys are normally big 78"s or medium 80/81"s and this 81" was plenty big.
    Date published: 2012-04-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great buy! I am really liking this kool coat, it seems to be holding up very well to my mares rolling and running. I do wish it didn't have the velcro attatchment in the front and to make it perfect it would have nylon lining over the back and hips.
    Date published: 2012-04-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Kool Coat is Cool So far so good, tried it on my boy and it fit great, including the hood, stayed in place during stall, turnout and overnight laying down. Seems great, high heat hasn't hit yet but will hope it keeps my boy cool and uv/fly free and intact. So far, excellent quality and value for the price! Thanks again SmartPak!
    Date published: 2012-03-26
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Call it HOT Coat instead. To be fair, it does seem well made, it fits fine and will probably last much longer than I wish. My dissatisfaction with this sheet is that I had expected it to be much cooler. The top is made of a heavier cotton and it is lined in the chest. I was looking for something very breathable for our Arizona Falls. The temperatures are still in the mid to upper 90's. I fell for the description of it being super cool. I do like the mesh on the bottom half (although the knit seems to large for many pests). I was not expecting such a heavy, almost canvas type top half! It doesn't breath that well at all. Unfortunately, I had it monogrammed so it is mine!
    Date published: 2011-10-17
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from wouldnt be my first pick durability is very good,my horse goes out with four other horses and they play rough sometimes and its still in one piece!But one thing about the fit of the blanket is it rubs on my horses shoulders and comes at least one size larger than you order so i would be carefull on the size.other than that it keeps my horse cool on hot days and bug free.
    Date published: 2011-08-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this flysheet!!! This is the best flysheet I have purchased. My horse likes to chew, pull and roll in his blanket, and this flysheet has stood up through all this. My horse also stays outside longer in this hot buggy weather. It seems to work for him.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great product The blanket i ordered was a bit bigger than other brands of the same size. Blanket is sturdy, well made, good buckles, blanket stays balanced on horse even after rolling.
    Date published: 2011-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from finally a fly sheet horses don't sweat After trying probably every brand of fly sheets on the market all horses in my barn are now dressed in Kool Coat Airstream Combos. The prize is fantastic for the quality and excellent fit. I particular like the attached neck protection and durability with yet super light weight. With other durable sheets horses got really sweaty in our hot Arizona sun, lighter ones ripped in a short time. Our horses wear the Kool Combos 24/7 in the summer. Kool Coat Airstream out-performs other more expensive sheets. Would be great if they offered some other colors for easy identification in the barn.
    Date published: 2011-07-19
    Rated 1 out of 5 by from Not Satisfied My chestnut bleached out within a month's time wearing this blanket every day from 6 am to 6 pm.
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Purchase I have a 2 year old WB colt that was terribly sunbleached and needed a light covering to prevent further sunbleached while I cleaned him up for shows. He is rough on his clothing, so I was curious how this would work.After the first night, he already had a couple holes in it and by the 7th day, he really ripped up one side. BUT, it was super easy to repair and the mesh held the repair well. I know my colt will destroy anything I through on him, whether it be $50 or $200, so it is nice to know that it can be repaired easily.He is in a 72" right now, which fits my narrow 16.1hh colt well while allowing some growing room. Even on hot days (95F+), he isn't sweating underneath. Interestingly, he stays cooler with it on than with it off.My friend has this same sheet and has issues with it slipping to the side on the neck, though I haven't had any troubles with that.
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Questionable I bought 2 of these blankets for my horses. My horses are turned out 24/7 by themselves. The first night on my mare she shredded the right side because it shifted horribly and she got her foot caught in the blanket. Smartpak was kind enough to refund my money. The second blanket has lasted so far but Im having mixed thoughts about it. It still shifts pretty bad, and it is the right size, but every day I have to adjust it back. The top of the blanket is this canvas material that isnt very breathable...my mare sweats when she wears it in this summer heat, not good...But she doesnt notice the horseflies b/c they cant bit throught the material, so that part is good...the sides of the blanket is a very soft mesh that isnt super sturdy but there is only one snag so far, surprisingly enough. the shoulders are lined and so is along the top of the neck, very nice. I wont buy this again b/c i need a very breathable fly sheet that will keep my horses cool, I live in Missouri, Hot and very humid weather. the canvas along the horses back does not let the air flow through.
    Date published: 2011-07-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really works against heat and flies! This is a great fly/heat sheet. The solid back is cool, but keeps the back shaded and flies cannot bite through it like a mesh sheet. The mesh on the sides keeps things cool as well by promoting air flow. I have this for all three of my horses. If I were to add anything, I would add elastic to the withers part.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from favorite fly sheet this is my favorite fly sheet of all I have used over the years, it offers an easy fit, good coverage and seems to hold up well. It washes easily in the machine and seems to stay in place well during turnout. I prefer it over the stiffer mesh sheets I have seen some use.
    Date published: 2011-07-07
    • 2015-02-27T08:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_8, tr_162
    • loc_en_US, sid_5929, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.