Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

EquiFit CleanBuckets

EquiFit
- Item #15896

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Equifit's newest addition to the Ag Silver line minimizes bucket slime!

Infused with ionic silver, Equifit's CleanBucket controls bacterial growth and minimizes bucket slime.  Testing shows that one to two months can lapse in between bucket scrubbings.  Horses prefer the taste of CleanBucket water to that of traditional water buckets.

Size: 20qt

 

 

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    EquiFit CleanBuckets is rated 4.7632 out of 5 by 38.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Scum bucket! Hopefully this will limit scum for years to come. No ones special horse wants a dirty drink. Thanks.
    Date published: 2011-06-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy!!! I must say, I was not sure it would work. It does!! I decided to test it.. it takes about 30days to start to get even start to get slime. We just did empty and refill bucket, just to see how well it does. it did GREAT!!! Now I don't have to worry about bleaching buckets every couple of days. We have well water too and it does help reduce the smell by at least 70% which our pony loves that! It is a time saver for sure, but don't think you can just top off buckets daily and get no slime..you do have to empty daily and refilll. Very easy to re-activate silver just a soft mesh tyoe brillo pad. I would not use the steel, but syn. fiber ones. Hope this helped! : )
    Date published: 2011-06-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I'm still waiting I purchased this bucket, hoping my horse would drink out of it more willingly than he did from his previous bucket. It hasn't seemed to make any difference at all in the amount of water he drinks overnight. He is turned out all day with access to a large water tank that I know he uses. I'm waiting to see if he changes his habits. I've had the bucket for a couple of weeks now.
    Date published: 2011-05-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from So far, so good! I have to say, I am surprised and impressed. Not only is my picky older horse drinking more water from this bucket, but there's no "beet pulp slime" ring from him rinsing his mouth. I still scrub the bucket twice a week and change the water daily, but it isn't nearly as time consuming. The bucket may be a bit more expensive than an average bucket, but if my horse drinks more water, it is SO worth it!
    Date published: 2011-05-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from These people are on to something! I bought 4 of these buckets about 2 months ago. I have been testing them since. These people are on to something! These buckets work the way they say they will. I have only rinsed the buckets out since I've had them because I am testing them and after about 2 months of using them and only rinsing the buckets remain very fresh with no slime or odor. I will be ordering more of these buckets.
    Date published: 2011-01-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse is drinking 200% more water... I bought one of these buckets. I have three horses, but one drinks very little overnight in her stall. (They are out during the day.) Her consumption has routinely varied from zero to maybe draining two inches off the top. However, immediately after replacing her bucket with the EquiFit bucket, her water consumption skyrocketed. She is routinely drinking at least a half a bucket, and often 3/4 of a bucket of water consistently each and every night! I will buy more to put in the rest of my stalls, and extras to take to shows! FYI this product was also rated as one of the best products of the year by The Horse Journal.
    Date published: 2011-01-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A success with my 'one rat' experiment I read about these buckets in The Horse Journal.. They were rated as one of the best products of the year. I have one horse who consistently drinks much less than the others - even though buckets are dumped and scrubbed with a brush each and every day. I got it, put it in her stall and immediately she started drinking more - where once about 2 inches would disappear overnight - now she is drinking at least a half a bucket every night - and I anticipate when it gets warmer she'll drink more. I'll be replacing all my buckets with these, and will also buy some to take to shows, since another horse drinks like a fish at home - but not so much at shows.They are $$ but worth it, and they also feel more substantial to me than similar buckets, so I think they will hold up well.
    Date published: 2010-12-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Lives up to the hype so far...... I felt like an idiot buying $30 buckets. I felt like an even bigger idiot when they arrived and other than the fancy label they seemed perfectly ordinary. But, they absolutely live up to the hype so far. My horses *love* drinking from these buckets and empty them as soon as I fill them. I purchased them because I was worried about keeping my horses hydrated enough in the deep cold winter. Despite providing ice free water, they're just not eager to drink. But now thanks to these, I watch them empty bucket after bucket every day, and manure stays nice and soft and healthy. I could not be happier and I'll be buying more.
    Date published: 2010-12-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from slime-buster Really reduces algae buildup even after months of use. Need to brush out the buckets way less than half as often--spraying it w/a strong stream of water usually does the trick. Kind of spendy, but probably worth it.
    Date published: 2010-10-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Buckets Ever! Love love love these buckets! No more funky water at the end of a 100 degree day plus the water stays cooler - don't know how it works but it does. Just a note here, we dump rinse and refill our stall buckets both morning and night - with the other buckets by the end of the day the water and bucket both smelled funky and buckets had to be scrubbed. These new buckets are a time saver not to mention my horses drink more water! I have used several products from this company and have never been less than pleased!
    Date published: 2010-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best buckets we've had These anti-slime buckets are terrific.I have a regular bucket and one of these buckets hanging side-by-side on a pasture fence and it is the anti-slime bucket that they always use first.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from No Slime, Fresh Water, Excellent Item Bought the Equifit bucket after reading a review in the Horse Journal. We have a problem with water going 'bad' after 12 hours here because of the extreme heat in the summer. The horses simply do not drink out of the conventional Fortiflex buckets.I put the Equifit bucket in a stall, filled it and left it all day in 101 degree heat. Water smelled good and remained cool - an added plus - and the horse who has that stall drank it down when he came in for dinner! The water in the other bucket which was filled at noon he ignored.I will be buying Equifit buckets for all the stalls and enjoying the savings on shipping by ordering them to be sent with my usual monthly Smartpaks.
    Date published: 2010-07-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great idea for controlling bucket slime This was the second equi fit clean bucket I have purchased. I tried the first one, and loved it. While I haven't gone through the hottest part of the summer, it has done its job so far in the slime eliminating category.
    Date published: 2010-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slime Free! My horse dunks everything, and his buckets grow slime that doesn't scrub off as a result. I've had 2 of these in his stall for 5 days now, and they're spotless! Just a rinse everyday keeps them clean as new. The price did seem high for water buckets, but these are worth every cent to keep my horse supplied with slime-free water.
    Date published: 2010-06-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Horse Knows I hung the EquiFit bucket and a plain plastic bucket in my horse's stall. The EquiFit bucket is always emptied first. My horse is a tireless dunker, but a wad of hay does not deter his draining the EquiFit first.Both buckets are emptied and scrubbed/wiped every day. I've not had to scrub as much as wipe the EquiFit. The plastic bucket gets slimy and requires more elbow grease to keep it slime free, especially in warm weather.
    Date published: 2010-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loving It We have only had this less then a month but I really have noticed a difference between ours and the others at the barn!
    Date published: 2010-04-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fresh water at last I have two horses that prefer the bucket to their automatic waterers. Never have they emptied their water buckets to the last drop until a few days ago when I gave them their new Equifit buckets. I am excited to use them at shows since they seem to affect the taste of the water in a positive way.
    Date published: 2010-02-03
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I expected this bucket to stay cleaner longer than it did. I bought it for a hay dunker and it could not control the slime he created. Being a clean water bucket control freak, I had to wash this bucket as often as the others. It was not the slime control miracle I had hoped for!
    Date published: 2009-11-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Staple!! This bucket is the best ever. I had two geldings in a barn. The owner used plain plastic buckets that got covered in slime in a short while, even if I scrubbed them. I decided to get these. SO worth the investment. They stayed slime-free for months. And when I did scrub them, it was only to scrub a very minimal amt of slime. Horses drank more, Very pleased! Hope they come out with stock tanks for next summer!
    Date published: 2009-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from buckets love it my horse just drinks out this bucket he doesent like to drink from the other bucket so i just bought another one and its still clean!
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from He actually drinks now! For some reason my horse as always been a picky drinker and doesn't drink much in general. I decided to try this bucket before I commited to any supplements. Believe it or not this bucket has actually increased his water consumption to an amount im comfortable with, not to mention its not getting any slime on it! This bucket is going to pay for itself in no time, because it was either this or an electrolyte I really didn't want to use.
    Date published: 2009-09-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Purchase! When I saw this bucket I had to give it a try! I’m a huge fan of all Equi-Fit products, so I knew this bucket had to be great. It’s a nice heavy duty plastic, with a strong metal handle. As for the slime fighting- it really works! My horse loves to eat a bite of grain, and then sip water. The regular plastic water buckets would get a film on them by the next morning from his grain dunking, but not this one. You can dump the water from the previous night and the bucket is clean! The initial cost does seem expensive, but believe me the quality and convenience are worth it.
    Date published: 2009-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-07-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome product I was a bit leary about purchasing these buckets as I wasn't sure they would do what they said but after reading a few reviews I made the plunge. I ordered 2 buckets, one for each of my horses and they have been great. No slime, no scrubbing and one of my horses is a major hay dunker so his bucket would normally get gunky fast. Not so with the Equifit Clean bucket. I would highly recommend this bucket.
    Date published: 2009-06-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Clean and well made... I purchased three EquiFit Clean Buckets two weeks ago, hung them in my gelding's stall, and asked the BO to skip their weekly scrubbing and just dump them and refill.So far, there hasn't been a trace of slime in them or any foul odor. Indeed, my gelding is drinking about 3 gallons/day more now than he did with his equally new standard plastic buckets.The buckets are fairly heavy and very sturdy, with a metal strip under the lip on each side, where the handle joins, to prevent it from eventually pulling through. Nice touch.Only drawback is the price. If/when that comes down, the BO will probably re-outfit her 40 stall barn.Really wish EquiFit would make large water troughs - I'd buy one for the geldings' pasture myself.
    Date published: 2009-04-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-04-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buckets Even though they are a little spendy keeping the slime at bay is worth it. I have an extremely picky horse, at least about his water buckets, who will not drink if there is the least little bit of slime in the bucket. These buckets will help insure that he continues to drink between the daily dumping and cleaning.
    Date published: 2009-04-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth Every Penny I bought two CleanBuckets to "test drive" on two different horses and ended up placing both buckets in the one horse's stall because her water consumption increased. She had always concerned me because she drank too little water. Obviously the taste of the water from these buckets is so different from that of the usual plastic ones that now she actually enjoys drinking. Finally, her water consumption is now within the normal range. I'm going to be buying more of these! An excellent investment if you want the best for your horses!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from taste proof/fungus decliner I can move horses anywhere even without using these on the farm, and have had zero problems with them drinking from these while on the road. I also feel like it helped one horse with facial fungus--his appaloosa spots are fading away! Thank you!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Slime Free! I'll admit I was a bit set back by the price of these buckets, but after purchasing one I am definitely going to re-order. My horse drank the water readily, and especially since he is a "hay dunker" I worry about weird bacteria growing in his buckets, even when the buckets are cleaned daily. The CleanBuckets will definitely be going on the road with me this year!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.