Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views

UltraShield EX Fly Spray

Absorbine
- Item #15691
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

Absorbine® has raised the bar in the fly control arena with the introduction of UltraShield® EX - the sweat resistant insecticide and repellent formula that will protect your horse for up to 17 days. This repellent is an enhanced version of the original UltraShield® and sets a new standard for ultimate insect protection.

Favorite Features

  • Kills and repels more than 70 insect species
  • Stays active for up to 17 days
  • Contains multiple sunscreens and coat conditioners including aloe and lanolin
  • Can be used on horses and dogs 

Due to federal regulations, we are unable to offer expedited shipping, or ship to Alaska and Hawaii for this product. Please note this item may ship separately from your order. We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience.

Fly Control Rotation Reference Guide

You Might Like
    out of 5
    95% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    UltraShield EX Fly Spray is rated 4.6545 out of 5 by 220.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great! Our pasture horse has a terrible time with horseflies. This product works wonders! She rarely has horsefly bites using this product twice daily.
    Date published: 2014-09-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Expected better efficacy in repelling flies Pros: smells decent, contains conditioners so it made my horses nice and soft (be careful not to apply to saddle or girth area if you will be riding afterwards), other horses in my barn came in every morning with ticks except mine.Cons: flies would land on my horses immediately after spraying and stay, especially on his legs. I do think it works better than previous products I've tried, such as Dumor and Ultra Shield Green, but not as good as Flysect.
    Date published: 2014-09-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Only fly repellent that really repels flies I live in southern California and I know we don't have the kind of fly problems that other parts of the U.S. have, but this stuff works here. Now, it does NOT keep flies away for 17 days like it says, know idea where that claim came from, but I use it on 2 horses, one that rarely has flies on him and another that is a fly magnet, and it works equally well on both. Only places I really need to re-apply more often is the muzzle (drinking water washes it off) and the legs. Our fly problem is especially bad this year with more humid than normal weather, and several people have now switched to Ultra Shield after seeing my horses fly free.
    Date published: 2014-09-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Bang for your buck(skin!) My cranky "old-man" at 9 years old has given up stomping flies. This fly spray certainly gives him the relief he needs. Since he lives out, he gets sprayed twice daily and is virtually fly free!
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from works great Ultra shield really works in fl. It repels gnats and flys.
    Date published: 2014-09-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this fly spray Best fly spray I have tried. Along with getting fewer flies, this product also does a great job of detering ticks. Other horses at my barn who do not use this type of fly spray seem to be more prone to getting ticks in their main and tails, whereas I do not seem to have an issue with ticks when using this product. Highly recommend!
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flea-pocolypse I had originally bought this spray for my horse (and works great for that purpose!), but I recently noticed that my dog, who is currently sporting one of those 8 month seresto flea/tick collars, had a massive flea infestation. I was about to leave for a business trip and didn't have time to get her a spot treatment so I spritzed her and her beds with this stuff(according to the label). I come back two days later and found a ton of dead flea carcasses all around the house, and she was happily flea free. Save yourself some money, get this for your horse and then spray your dog too. Way cheaper than spot on treatments or that expensive flea collar that disappointingly doesn't work
    Date published: 2014-09-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keeps flys off! I bought this last month as the flies have been terrible and while it may not last for days it does keep the flies off.
    Date published: 2014-09-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best fly spray! I am a barn manager and i have used this spray for years. My horse hardly ever is bothered by flies. Now most of our clients have switched to this fly spray. It keeps the fly's and ticks away, mosquitoes as well. Does not have a bad Oder like so many other sprays.. Awesome Spray!
    Date published: 2014-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra Shield black works best for me. I have been through most of the Ultra Shield varieties and have found that Ultra Shield black works best for me. There have been times after riding and giving them a rinse off that I have not sprayed up on their necks. I know this because the next morning there would be a mosquito bite about 5 inches back from my mares' ear. Right where I didn't spray. I have to not be lazy and take the time to apply it there!I have also used this on our dogs while we were camping when they were being attacked by biting flies. Worked great! I even sprayed it around my trailer door to keep the flies out of the living space! Yes, I do love this product!
    Date published: 2014-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps bugs away for days! Excellent protection in Florida's hot, muggy and very buggy weather!
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This fly spray works! I spray Ultrashield EX on my horse before a trail ride and have no problems with flies. It definitely lasts longer than other brands I have used.
    Date published: 2014-09-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Long lasting I have used a daily spray for a long time and was hopeful that the long lasting aspect of this product was true. I have been trying to use it at varying intervals to see if it does last longer than a day and have been pleased that it does. I especially like not having to spray them when I know it will rain. Great product.
    Date published: 2014-09-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from love this stuff Flies have been horrible this year. Relief found with ultra shield. Only wish everyone at the facility would use it.
    Date published: 2014-08-30
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Best on the market. I have a TB cross who is very sensitive to fly's. This is the only product that helps save him through CA summers.
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from About as good as fly spray gets... Absorbing UltraShield is my go-to fly spray, I've tried them all. I feel like I use a lot of it, for example, today on the Eastern Shore of Virginia, the biting black flies are terrible, and we were relentlessly followed by a few of those B52 bomber horse flies, they were repelled from landing on my horse by the Ultrashield, presumably, but they didn't want to give up trying, those suckers (literally!). Naturally, my horse got sweaty and needed a bath, so he needed another thorough spraying, but, such is summer down here in this beautiful place known as "Paradise With Bugs". Bottom line, UltraShield has helped prevent me from being bucked off, numerous times, and works the best of all the fly sprays Ive tried. It's not cheap, but it's worth it!
    Date published: 2014-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works Well Keeps bugs away very well! My OTTBs are very sensitive to bites and this with full body and leg covering really helps.
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great fly spray I bought this after borrowing some from a person at the barn. It works really well- at least keeps the flys off a little bit. Great on trail rides. I have to apply it every day but best I've used so far.
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Takes care of the pests I have used this fly spay for 2 years, and my favorite thing is watching the flies drop as I spray my horses! I have a mare that has reactions to getting bit by mosquitoes etc... and she loves being out on pasture and this spray helps her be able to do that on days she can not wear her fly sheet.
    Date published: 2014-08-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around best fly spray This is my favorite all around fly spray, and I have tried them all. Dependable fly protection, pleasant smell, non greasy and stays with the horse.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great price! I ordered this fly spray from you because of the great price....plus there was an extr quart free! Can't beat that. Arrived in expected time as well. Will order again!
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The best I have used I've tried them all. Even competed multi fly sprays at the barn during a one week time period. My horse got the UltraShield EX and was protected against the flies the best. The gallon is the best value around, often $20 to $30 less than the local tack stores.
    Date published: 2014-08-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Biting Flies - stay away! The product works well enough. It is intended to be efficaeous with repeated uses up to 17 days. However I have found that I have needed to use the product several times a week. It is immediately effective and I do find that my horse is less bothered by the flies than his other paddock buddies.
    Date published: 2014-08-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great buy I have used this product for many years and has always been effective.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Kills on contact It is good, but does not last as long as advertized. Still better than other sprays I have used over the years.
    Date published: 2014-08-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ultra Shield XL Fly Spray I bought this almost a month ago and have used it for a several years now seems to last the longest on our horse and the citronella scent is not too over powering. Would highly recommend.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Seems to be working well so far! Seems to be working well so far. We have a big problem with the green head flies and it seems to keep them away amd our horses happy!
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really Works! I have used Ultrashield EX for approx. 5 years and believe it to be the best long-lasting sweatproof insect repellent. It also does a good job of repelling ticks.
    Date published: 2014-08-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Product Really Works Never have issues with flies bothering my sensitive mare when I use this product!
    Date published: 2014-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Works great! Switched from Endure to Ultrashield about a month ago and have really noticed the difference in my Icelandic mare's issues with gnats and sweet itch. It's a never ending battle!
    Date published: 2014-08-14
    • 2015-03-01T07:09CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_24, tr_196
    • loc_en_US, sid_5691, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.