Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Fleece Wither Pad

TuffRider
- Item #15499

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

This Fleece Wither Pad is an economical alternative to sheepskin and is perfect for schooling or riding in inclement weather. White quilt with natural colored fleece. Measurements: 21½” spine.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Fleece Wither Pad is rated 4.3778 out of 5 by 45.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from extra layer of padding My saddle could probably use reflocking, but I figured I'd start with this very reasonably-priced pad to see if the targeted cushioning would make my horses any more comfortable. It does a fine job - not sure it technically changes the fit much, but it gives that extra layer of padding that I felt I was lacking. Does "ball up" and shed (on the front edge especially) as it wears, which didn't surprise me from synthetic sheepskin, and at this price I can treat it as replaceable when it loses its loft.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great pad - great price My aging horse needed something to fill in the gaps between high withers and weight loss. This pad fit the bill. Works better than foam, and looks better, too!
    Date published: 2012-01-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice half pad My daughter really wanted a sheepskin half pad but was very pleased with this! It is well made and for the price...an excellent bargain! Great to help the shock of the saddle on the horse.
    Date published: 2012-01-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice wither pad This pad is well made, fits both my dressage saddle and my jumping saddle, and is easy to wash. I am very happy with the quality and price. I have used it for every day riding, thrown in the wash and used it for shows.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I bought this half pad because I needed a longer one to fit my new saddle and was on a budget. The pad looks and fits great. It is a thin pad, but that is what I wanted. It gives just enough padding to give some extra wither clearance. I cannot comment on the long term durability because I just got it, but it seems to be holding up well.
    Date published: 2011-11-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My gelding LOVES it. Bought this pad as an attempt to correct minor saddle fit issues. After many months of minimal/no work, my App gelding lost most of his muscle tone, especially his topline. So, my saddle no longer fits him quite right, and sinks down a bit on his withers. I found this pad, read the reviews, and for under $20 I definitely thought it would be a worthwhile purchase. Well, it has been! My gelding no longer "bunches up" when I put his saddle on, and his girthing issues are much diminished. He'll still swish his tail every now and again (I try to ride every other day, so I imagine I hit plenty of those "I just don't wanna" days), but he looks and feels a thousand times more comfortable. His movement isn't as guarded as it was; he'll extend and collect at all gaits in a way he hasn't in months. My only gripe is that it's a tad short. If the pad was an inch longer, it would be absolutely perfect. I have a 17" Collegiate dressage saddle. I can kinda of wiggle and stretc the pad the make it fit just right (it's gotten easier the more I've used it), but one extra inch would be fabulous :) That being said, I absolutely recommend this pad to anybody with minor fit issues. It's thick enough to add a little cushion (helps with muscle soreness) but not thick enough to cause huge changes in fit.
    Date published: 2011-11-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value Good pad for the price although it could be a little longer in the spine. Barely fits under my 17.5" dressage saddle.
    Date published: 2011-11-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from He seems to like it! I bought this for my App gelding, whom I ride in a dressage saddle (I do trail, pleasure, dressage, dabbled in jumping...everything). He is extremely out of shape following an injury and lay-off last fall/winter, and my lack of time to ride over the summer. He's been back-sore and very girthy since I've started riding again, so I tried double-padding him to no avail. His extreme loss of muscle tone, which has been helped by SmartMuscle Mass, has also caused my saddle to tilt slightly forward on his back, putting even more pressure on his sore withers. So, I decided to look into half-pads to add padding and hopefully level out my saddle a bit. I found this, saw great reviews, and decided that, for $18, it was well worth a try! The first time I saddled up with this pad, all the girthing issues were gone. He stood perfectly still while I put the saddle on and adjusted it, and there was no stomping or tail swishing when I girthed up. He was more comfortable for mounting as well (no dancing). I had the best ride that I have had in months, he wasn't sore AT ALL afterwards, and I attribute it all to this fantastic buy!
    Date published: 2011-10-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value! This is a great pad at a great price. It fits perfectly under my saddle and looks very neat. I use this pad with a wool felt wither pad and it works great for my high withered TB.
    Date published: 2011-09-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing! I love this half pad! It is so much more reasonable as far as price goes compared to any others! It fits great, and is very durable for the price! I would definitely buy this again!
    Date published: 2011-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-07-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great for TB's I bought this for my...you guessed it...high withered TB. It does it's job and offers him some relief. Love it so far. Only problem is washing. I tend to get a lot of "fuzzies" in the washing machine and dryer. But over all great product.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I needed a little cushion on the front of my saddle and didn't want to have to buy a really expensive pad. This was a perfect fit! It has just enough substance to provide comfort without the bulk. I just started using it on my other saddle that needs to be re-flocked. The horses are very comfortable in this pad and it looks great!
    Date published: 2011-06-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-03-30
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great inexpensive pad I use this pad for hunting as an extra pad over my regular all-purpose pad. It fits well, looks neat and stays nice looking after multiple washings.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good product I ordered this pad about a month ago, and it has helped the fit of my horse's saddle a lot. I haven't used it enough to comment on durability, but it seems to be very well made.
    Date published: 2011-01-19
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Better than the Photo I have just received this pad and decided I want to write this review because I was so pleasantly surprised by the pad when I pulled it out of the package. It is about half as thick as the Mattes pads, and, of course, the synthetic fleece is not as dense, but it appears very well-made and is the perfect thickness for what I need. Looking at the picture on the SmartPak website and in the catalog, I would not have considered showing in it. However, after receiving it, I no longer think that would be a problem. It is certainly a good value for its price.
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from AMAZING!!! I love this half pad. I must admit I was really worried about buying it but after reading the fantasitc reviews I decided to give it a try. I needed something cheap because Im buying all new tack for my new TB cross and its been way to expensive for a high school student! Its very well put together and it looks beautiful. I definately can use it for shows as well! Sure I dont own the better quality mattes pads or anything like that but hey! It works right? My horses love it and I noticed my Appendix cross Im showing right now has been using her back a lot more and she is much more comfortable going over higher jumps. haha I guess we will just have to see if she changed her mind about cross-country as well! If you need a half pad buy this one. you wont regret it. The picture does it no justice! It really does look nice and it fits under my Barnsby very nicely. Your horse will thank you!
    Date published: 2010-07-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pad Really nice pad for the price. Very well made, will definitely be purchasing a second one!
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Value This pad is a great value for the price. For someone on a budget or who doesn't want to invest the money in a more expensive sheepskin version, this is the pad for you!
    Date published: 2010-06-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Schooling Pad Really happy with this schooling pad. Works perfectly to fill in minor gaps between the saddle and the horse to perfect saddle fit or to offer a little extra protection during work. It isn't extra big like some wither pads. My horse is quite happy with it and, at this price, it is a pad I don't have to worry about getting dirty.
    Date published: 2010-06-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fleece wither pad This is a nice synthetic fleece wither pad fora horse with minor wither issues. I haveused it to just cushion my saddle andbring a better fit to my horses. For themoney, a nice little pad...it is not super thick,but thick enough to help with my horses.
    Date published: 2010-05-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product For the $$ this is the best wither pad out there. Plus, no need to worry about care. Throw it in the washer and good to go! I LOVE it!
    Date published: 2010-03-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very Good Pad at Great Value I was pleasantly surprised to see how thick this wither pad actually was. Great value. It's contoured nicely and despite its quilting, even fits well under a full dressage pad. Good offer by SmartPak.
    Date published: 2010-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this pad! I love this pad. Easy care, durable and does the job. Who needs a expensive half pad that does the same thing. Great purchase and price.
    Date published: 2010-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Wither Pad Finally a wither pad without the hassle of sheepskin care and price...I always put a pad under my sheepkin ones so i am really defeati ng the purpose of the sheepkin.I like this pad...easy care for the washer and dryer and you can't beat the price.
    Date published: 2010-02-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Decent Quality for $ I wouldn't purchase this item expecting the quality that a $150+ half pad is but for the value it's good. Good for a causal rider who would like to add a little protection to their horses back.
    Date published: 2011-06-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fleece Pad Very nice pad. Looks good and feels good too! Stays in place under saddle. I am very glad I purchased this product.
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great for the price! For $20, this is a good half pad. I haven't washed it yet so I can't comment on how it holds up in the wash, but so far it does the job as well as a sheepskin pad when used over top of a square pad. I just needed to pad up a slightly too wide saddle.
    Date published: 2011-06-26
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.