Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

EquiVisor

Item #15446

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Say goodbye to sun in your eyes!

The EquiVisor® is a sun visor for riding helmets, a modern version of an old idea that was conceived by an innovative West coast rider, Kim Bronson. It's easy to attach to any helmet and one size fits all styles. With a patented gripper system, it stays securely in place while you ride! Washable for easy care.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    EquiVisor is rated 4.4828 out of 5 by 29.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Protection, period. This may not be the most glamorous thing to wear, but it's easy to put on your helmet and WORKS to keep the sun out of your eyes and off your face. Who needs melanoma? Plus, before I bought this, I had sweat running into my eyes this summer--again, not about glamour, but very practical, and soft, so it seems quite safe. I highly recommend it.
    Date published: 2013-05-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Keep the Sun Out of Your Eyes Nice boad brim keeps the sun out of your eyes. Use with caution when jumping though as the visor can become loose and fall off. This product is best used for flat work, hacking and trails.
    Date published: 2012-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Second to None To size the visor correctly - With your helmet on, put the visor on and attach the velcro together. Now slide the visor off, without undoing the velcro, and make the visor smaller by about an inch. Put the visor back on, readjusting smaller or larger until it is mildly difficult to slide the visor into position. Visor should not lie flush against the top of the helmet brim, but should rest firmly on the side edges of the brim. In back, the bottom of visor should be even with the bottom edge of the hard shell of the helmet. The trick is, once visor is fitted snugly on helmet do NOT undo the velcro. Remove/secure visor by scooching it on/off with both hands.Biggest downside - the sun has faded mine to a sandy brown color. A non issue as far as I'm concerned for riding at home.As far as the issue of it blowing off, yes strong wind will blow it off. But strong wind can also blow a snug baseball cap off of my head too. I simply use good judgement regarding the current weather situation as to whether to ride with it on or not.I would not suggest the use of it to beginners as it does limit peripheral vision and if you have a habit of looking down... Well, keep working with a good trainer before riding with this visor.It does provide excellent protection from the sun for my face, ears, and a good portion of my neck too. I still pour on the sun block though! Sun damage can prematurely age the skin, may cause skin cancer, is life long and irreversible.
    Date published: 2012-08-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Funny looking but functional. Much better than sunglasses that are always slipping and sunburned face and ears.
    Date published: 2012-05-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! I was hesitant when I read the reviews that the wind would catch it and blow it off, but I have ridden when it was VERY windy, and the visor stayed put! It is easy to put on and off, and did not block my vision (I wouldn't want to jump over 3' with it, but low level stuff was fine). I spend allot of time in the sun, and my doc says - stay out. I leave it on my helmet. It fits my Tipperary great. My face is in total shade. Just a bit of getting used to.
    Date published: 2012-05-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Can't live without! I have had my two EquiVisors for 6 years and they still work GREAT! The Velcro is tight fitting and very secure while riding in the wind or jumping. I have a black one on my show helmet and a navy blue one on my everyday schooler. I highly recommend this product to all riders as the shade and SPF protection is a MUST! They even double as rain gear for me when I'm out on the trail!
    Date published: 2012-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from it is better to feel good than to look good! I have to admit I have snickered at friends in the past who rode past me looking like the flying nun in these get ups, but after my latest sunburn, this 50 yr old fashionista said "where do I get one?" The fit is great, you forget it's there as soon as you put it on. The sun relief is priceless.
    Date published: 2014-02-24
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from flies off regularly In California this visor has become fairly commonplace. I need to stay out of the sun and have no access to a covered arena, so this was what I hoped would be the solution. However, it has flown off my helmet repeatedly, with just a light breeze, if it catches the breeze right. At first I thought it was my GPA helmet, so I relaced the GPA with a Charles Owen helmet that I had professionally fitted (so that a too large helmet would not be the underlying reason for the movement which might be catching the breeze just right), only to find the same problem. When it flies off I just hope my horse or another horse doesn't see it and spook. So far I've been lucky but in writing this am questioning why I have continued to use it.
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from like the look I used to use the cashel visor but wanted to try something nicer so I bought this. I ordered a helmet at the same time that has to be returned so I hopeful, whatever helmet I buy, this will fit. But it looks nice and will keep the sun off my face.
    Date published: 2011-03-09
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Disappointed Visor might blow off in a stiff wind. Also too much weight in the front of the helmet--keeps the helmet tipping forward. These problems make an already over-priced item hard to use--don't know if either can be fixed.
    Date published: 2010-08-31
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Better Than Sunglasses This visor is heavy when on and significantly reduces your peripheral vision while riding. Be sure to keep your head up or you'll have a few collisions! I've also had it come flying off if it catches a breeze (usually when keeping my head up), fortunately it hasn't spooked any horses. It does really help with the sun or bright environments and I think it can look good on some riders. Removed some stars for value because really, it's just a visor, and it shouldn't cost more than a baseball hat.
    Date published: 2010-07-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice This visor definately keeps the sun off your face a nose. It is a little goofy looking, but worth it to keep from getting a sunburn
    Date published: 2010-07-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Effective Sun Protection I live in the desert and would often choose a wide-brimmed hat over a helmet on sunny days. Now I don't have to make that choice! It stays in place on windy days, too. I only wish it were available in a lighter color.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sun visor I like the sun protection but wish it could be lighter weight. Also, I think it would blow off on a windy day. I haven't figured out how to attach it securely.
    Date published: 2010-06-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from beat the sun love it! ! can even get away without sunglassesanything to keep the sun damage awayHowever, I do recieve alot of jabs at my new look. So I would not recommend it for anyone who cares if they look less than a fashion plate or cares what others think.
    Date published: 2010-06-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great sun protection This product provides great sun protection with a wide brim. It covers the ears too. It does not obstruct your vision. All my friends are getting theirs after seeing mine.
    Date published: 2010-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it Not only good for sun protection, but helps shield your face when it's raining! Did not look goofy as I was afraid it might!
    Date published: 2010-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Keeps the sun off and... This works well to keep the sun off my face. It's easy to use and keep in place. And I look cute in it if I do say so myself! (My husband calls it my bonnet!) My two friends and I have them and we use them everyday in the summer.
    Date published: 2009-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ordered 2 for a friend and myself. They fit our helmet great. I was impressed with the amout of sun protection they give. I recommend these for a riders who ride outside.
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight sun protection I've tried other visors that fit over helmets before but this one is the best. It's sturdy enough to stay on when it gets windy so your horse won't spook when he sees something flying off your head. It's also big enough to provide protection and we live in the southwest where it's always sunny.
    Date published: 2009-06-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from made a huge difference! I love the visor because it is so well made and provides protection from the sun. The sun is getting stronger and I just need that little bit extra shade so that my face doesn't get burned. I think it is a great product that will last a long time!
    Date published: 2009-07-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.