Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Views
Additional Colors and Styles

Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet

Charles Owen, Inc.
- Item #15418
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Introducing the new JR8 Junior Helmet, offering the highest level of protection!  Low profile design is covered with a microfiber suede material treated to protect against marking and scuffing. Brim is gently rounded to flatter the face.

  • Metallic logo is positioned above the peak
  • Embroidered logo on the back of the helmet where a ribbon would traditionally be
  • Nylon harness coordinates to complete the finished look and offers additional strength, safety and security
  • The lining is interwoven with silver ions to provide anti-microbial protection against sweat and odors

**ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified
Color: Black or Black/Charcoal


Helmets Comparison Chart

You Might Like
    out of 5
    96% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Charles Owen JR8 Junior Helmet is rated 4.7619 out of 5 by 126.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it I'm a dressage rider and I love this helmet. I have an oval shaped head (GPAs don't fit me well at all) and this helmet feels great on. I thought I would get sweaty and hot in the summer but it really isn't bad at all. Aesthetically, this helmet looks gorgeous on. Unless you are standing right next to me you cannot tell that it isn't the GR8, which is double the price. I would rebuy, no questions asked!
    Date published: 2012-04-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Most Comfortable Helmet I've Owned I have just gotten back into riding after a 9 year hiatus and, lo and behold, I come to find out that - not only does everyone elect to ride in approved helmets now - you HAVE to. (I come from a time where we couldn't wait to turn 18 so we didn't have to wear a harness at shows or any helmet at all at home.) I purchased a Troxel show helmet (not sure the model name) and I noticed that it was wobbling around a lot when I rode and sweat was POURING down my face. I'm not sure if I had the wrong size or if it was just a bad fit, but a barn friend told me about the C.O. JR8. I decided to give it a shot and I am thrilled with my purchase! I had no idea a helmet could actually be COMFORTABLE! I love riding in this helmet. It's nice and secure but doesn't apply pressure to any part of my head. It doesn't move/bounce around at all while I ride. I still sweat in it, but I've noticed that I haven't been getting as much sweat in my eyes as with my Troxel. The helmet is easy to clean (just wipe off) and looks great. It's not the fancy Hampton but I will have no problem showing in it. Best of all? No mushroom head! If IRHs and GPAs don't fit you, try the Charles Owen. You won't be sorry!
    Date published: 2012-04-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome helmet! Great helmet for the price!! Love the way it fits. Measured as instructed and it fit on the first try. Even came with a drawstring bag (the reusable grocery bag material). I have only been using it a short time but it was recommended to me and I'd definitely recommend it :-)
    Date published: 2012-03-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I use this for IHSA competition and I am no longer embarrased to walk into the ring like I was with my old helmet. I will be using this helmet for the open shows I compete in this summer and am looking foward to showing it off! I have a hard time finding helmets that fit in proportion to my head. I have a small head and a skinny face, but this helmet looks great!
    Date published: 2012-03-02
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Since this cap was prchased durring my ski pro time of year I have not begun my testing .I wish I could find a low profile helmet that was effective and looked good too.
    Date published: 2012-03-01
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice helmet Very nice helmet, almost identical to the more expensive GR8. However I found (for my head anyways) that the helmet was tight front to back but loose side to side. So I returned it, only for fit reasons, quality was great. I did compare it to my Troxel Sierra helmet... as far as helmet low-profile and size, the 2 were identical. I thought with the rave reviews that the JR8 would be a more streamlined low profile but it was just as wide as the Troxel. Oh well. Someday safety material will be thin and helmets won't make me a bobble head haha.
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet I finally replaced my old helmet with this charles owen. I am happy to report it is very comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-01-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this helmet I am a dressage rider and I bought this helmet for the upcoming show season. The fit is great and the foam padding on the inside of the helmet make it very comfortable and secure. I would recommend it to anyone who wants a nice schooling or showing helmet. :)
    Date published: 2011-12-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Charles Owen JR8 This helmet fits Great! Very Comfortable and looks stylish. Most importantly I feel secure and I find the fit to be amazing.
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice quality show helmet I love this helmet! The outside is made of a very nice material and it is well cushioned on the inside. I ordered a size bigger so my hair fits up under it. The harness fits nicely under my hair and ears. I think this helmet flatters the shape of my head because I have a skinny face and a lot of helmets look huge on my head. A very good helmet, worth the money but I wish it wasn't so expensive.
    Date published: 2011-11-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet. I bought this helmet for schooling, it fits great and looks beautiful. My only complaint it does tend to get HOT, especially in summer. I have an AYR8 for showing in the hot california sun.
    Date published: 2011-11-10
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from totally AWESOME!! i would totally recommend this to a friend! its totally worth the $140!! though its not the best for in the heat its a very nice helmet.
    Date published: 2011-10-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Cute for Shows or Schooling! The JR8 looks lovely on and fits well on my rounder head. I am not sure how well the ultra suede will hold up over time but it has not faded and the color did not run when I wore it all day in the rain at a horse show. Love this helmet and would recommend it to anyone who is looking for a helmet for showing or schooling!
    Date published: 2011-10-06
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Product This hard hat fits me well, and is not bad looking. It was a bit heavier than the hh I was wearing, but didn't take long to get used to. My old one was not approved. I cannot comment on durability or quality as I haven't had it that long. It is warm, but I don't like the vented look. I wanted the Hampton, but the price is a bit much.
    Date published: 2011-09-24
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from This helmet looks super nice on, fits great and is a great value for the money spent.
    Date published: 2011-08-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Helmet! I love this helmet! It fits my head nicely and looks very sharp, both for schooling and in the show ring.
    Date published: 2011-07-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Affordable and attractive! Really love this helmet, for the price, fit and overall appearance. It's very comfy and low profile, along with being inexpensive for a Charles Owen!
    Date published: 2011-07-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Favorite helmet for schooling I have used this helmet for nearly 4 years and it is my favorite schooling helmet, hands down. It has unfailingly protected my head after those occasional, inevitable falls. Beautifully styled and fits well.
    Date published: 2011-07-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Helmet If you take a fall they will get extremely dirty and may have a chunk of fabric come out. Also your head will be very sweaty after a long ride in the summer. But I am very happy with mine and I really do love how it fits.
    Date published: 2011-07-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from very nice This helmet is sharp looking and well made.Looks very professional for an affordable price.I bought it for my daughter to replace her first helmet. She loves it - we'll be putting a helmet cover on it to protect it!
    Date published: 2011-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet!! I love this helmet!! I bought it a couple days before a show and I use it as my show helmet. It fits my head very well. And fits into the hunter and equitation show ring good. I would recommend this helmet to anyone!
    Date published: 2011-07-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from L O V E Great helmet for what I do. Looks great in the dressage part and very hunter/jumper in the jumpers and XC! Love it. Great price too!
    Date published: 2011-06-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this Helmet! Very happy with this comfortable, well fitting helmet. Fits snugly and looks very nice on. I have received several compliments on it.
    Date published: 2011-04-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from An awesome helmet!! I would recommend this helmet to anyone! The fit is snug and comfortable, without making you look like a bobble-head. If you need a cost-effective, attractive, quality helmet, then this product is for you!
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Show Helmet for the Price This is a great helmet with a popular style without paying $300. Instead of a GPA I got a respectable helmet and made more purchases! The quality and effort stands out making it a good investment
    Date published: 2011-01-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Value I recently got this helmet for a Christmas present. I really like all aspects of this helmet, except for the nylon strap. I still think it gives me a little bit of a bobble head, but better than some other brands. I have tried on the more expensive helmets by Charles Owens and they do not have a bobble head appearance. So, for the money I think this is an excellent helmet, but if you can afford the more expensive ones. I would certainly recommend those as well.
    Date published: 2011-01-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great look for little ones My 5 year old wore this in her leadline classes and is now moving up into walk/trot/polepiles. This gives her such a professional appearance and I am comforted by the safety ratings. It's a beautiful helmet and it's nice that kids heads don't grow as fast as the rest of them so we ought to have it for quite some time... hers is a 6-1/2 and I'm a 6-7/8, so I shouldn't be buying a new one every year like the rest of her show clothes. It makes it worth it to pay a little extra knowing we'll get a lot of use out of it.
    Date published: 2011-01-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from good buy this is a great hellment for the price and quality! My daughter loves it!
    Date published: 2011-01-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very professional and functional helmet! I got black on black, I am really pleased with it. I'm really glad I got this color. I really really like the logo in the front and back, they look really cool. The fabric over the helmet is pretty easy to clean. The harness is not sued/leather as a more expensive helmet, but it is still functional and more affordable for the same look. Although I like the front and side profile the stripe in the back (to me) looks a little weird on the lighter colored helmets.Pro's-Very comfortable, (I never want to take it off) light weight, look professional, good price, easy to clean.Con's- I would like the sued harness better, If you use a hairnet, it look a little funny with the logoLove this helmet! Glad I bought it! P.S. it comes with a cute little drawstring helmet bag.
    Date published: 2010-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beat Helmet on the market for a budget I highly recommend this to anyone who competes in the lower rated shows it looks almost identical to the GR8 AND the AYER8 but at a reasonable price
    Date published: 2010-12-05
    • 2015-03-04T07:10CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_4, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_17, tr_109
    • loc_en_US, sid_5418, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    In Loving Memory
    You were a loving and patient partner. From our early days learning dressage together, to your "retirement" years of tearing around the field and stirring up all the youngsters, you always brought your kindness, your heart, and your spirit. Thank you for everything, Wes. You are missed.

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.