Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove

SSG Riding Gloves
- Item #15272
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

These classically styled gloves are unbelievably comfortable and exceedingly durable. 

Favorite Features

  • Soft pigskin palm for grip 
  • Soft pigskin finger rein reinforcements
  • Cool knit crochet back for comfort and style
Imported.

Sizing It Up

To determine your glove size, measure around your hand at the widest part, excluding thumb. The number of inches should equal your glove size.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    91% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    SSG Lycrochet Horseshoe Back Glove is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 116.
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from nice glove Comfy, good fit. Wish I had gotten the darker color.
    Date published: 2013-05-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Gloves for Training I wear these everyday for training. I would definately buy these again.
    Date published: 2013-02-21
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Value! These gloves are great for the price! Awesome schooling gloves. Well constructed and nice quality despite the cheap price. Easy to slip on and off with the horseshoe design.
    Date published: 2012-10-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Totally awesome gloves! These gloves are great. They are true to sizing and I love the air-flow through the crochet. They have a good grip and have a mostly classic look that I love!
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves I love these gloves. They're especially good for summertime riding because the looseness at the wrist means that you don't get an ugly tan line. I usually just let them get filthy, but occasionally I throw them in the washing machine, which they handle with no problem at all.
    Date published: 2012-10-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them They are very comfortable, and wear very well. I ride in them 4 days a week, on 2 horses per day, you get more than your money worth.
    Date published: 2012-09-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great warm weather glove This is my second pair of these gloves. They are a good glove for warm weather schooling - the crochet back allows plenty of ventilation to keep your hands from getting too hot, unlike full leather gloves. They don't hold up much more than one season (I ride 5-6 times a week), but aren't prohibitively expensive. Good summer glove for the price. Very comfortable.
    Date published: 2012-09-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only gloves I ever school in. I will buy these gloves forever. They are perfect for everyday. And they last a long time. They have the perfect balance of protection and flexibility. Also, they recover like nothing ever happened if they get wet.
    Date published: 2012-08-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Need to get used to them, but good gloves I agree with everyone who advised that these run small. I am typically a size 6 or 6 1/2 glove, but ordered a 7 after reading the reviews, and they're still somewhat tight though I think they'll loosen up with time. The leather palms are pretty stiff and need some breaking in before getting comfortable, but they definitely look durable. There's reinforcement in typical wear areas like between the ring and pinkie finger. They look good and the open weave back is great for a little air flow during the summer. Overall, I'm happy with them.
    Date published: 2012-07-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SSG Lycrochet Glove I've worn these gloves for years! They are comfortable and break in easily! Now if they could just come up with a way to keep the fingers from shreading!I recently started my 2 horses on Senior Flex, my 25 year old "retired" paint mare still loves to trail ride in the Arizona mountains. She is barefoot and was getting a little "ouchy". Within 2 weeks of starting the product her hesitation is gone! She is enjoying her outings again.The photo of my 8 year old dressage queen says it all! Any discomfort and she wants to back off, with Senior Flex her attitude is changing daily!SmartPak has always provided fabulous products, service and reasonable prices!
    Date published: 2012-06-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from great schooling glove great glove for a reasonable price. when I am riding I can actually feel the air cooling my (sometimes a little sweaty) hands. the deerskin is a good thickness. I dont ride without them. I show in the TredSteo Pro Jumper and love those too!
    Date published: 2012-06-11
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Decent comfortable glove Nice comfortable grippy glove for riding in warmer weather. Runs SMALL, buy at least a size up - I had to return mine for a larger size even when I measured carefully for fit. I don't think they're extremely durable - in 2-3 wearings some of the leather has pulled away from the stitching already.
    Date published: 2012-05-30
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Couldn't get the right fit! Ordered two different sizes, but they just wouldn't fit.. either too big or too large. Maybe that's what you get with crochet? Who knows... shame though, cause they seemed like they'd be cool to wear in the summer.
    Date published: 2012-05-23
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Gloves and SmartPaks The products are good, SmartPaks are great but shipping from SmartPak is a huge debacle as I am a rural customer. The USPS has a way to handle packages for every address in this country. UPS is particularly challenged with rural delivery and has finally offered a service to have USPS make final delivery yet you don't use it.
    Date published: 2012-04-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from SGG lycrochet glove I bought these gloves for general riding after getting a blister from my reins. They are snug at first but soon loosen up and fit perfectly as they are leather. They seem strong and are holding up nicely. I am a size 7 womens glove and they fit just right. I like that there is no velcro or rough wrist closure. they are also cute and comfy.
    Date published: 2012-04-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves I wore out my last pair of Crochet backed gloves and I tried on a friends pair of SSG Horse Shoe Back Gloves and liked the way they felt. I ordered a size 7 and they're a little tight, but I can feel them stretch out the more I ride in them. So far they're holding up to my lunging and training that I do in them.
    Date published: 2012-04-03
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from GLOVE FIT I really like the looks and the open weave back that lets air in. I have rather short fingers and a wide hand so I decided to try the mediums. They were a little tight but the large would have been too long. I put them on and rubbed some leather dressing into them and did some streatching. They are now a perfect fit. I am sure I will be buying more in the future.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from GREAT PURCHAS These gloves are great for riding in warm weather, but I wear them for everyday work gloves when I'm working in my barn. I always have a pair and feel they are a very good purchase.
    Date published: 2012-03-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable, Affordable. Nice comfortable gloves, fit beautifully after the first or second wearing. Right amount of grip, great price.
    Date published: 2012-02-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from EXCELLENT PURCHASE I am a fan of these riding gloves. I use them for riding and doing my barn work. They are really great during the summer because of the crocheted back.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Might be good I wear a size 9 glove. I've bought other size 9 gloves that fit well. To double check, I measured my hands- size 9. These size "9" are way too small, I'm returning them.
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs small these run small compared to other brands of the same glove. They might strecth some with use but are tight to get on and uncomfortable. Will probably wear out quickly due to being tight. I wear a medium comfortably in other brands.
    Date published: 2011-11-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Gloves These gloves fit great after wearing them only once, the fit to my hands without feeling too tight or too bulky. They are a great every day riding glove!
    Date published: 2011-09-08
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Fit These gloves are perfect for riding in hot weather and I particularly like the fact they DON"T have a velcro closure which always seems to scratch my saddle. I like the natural color and they are constructed well. I haven't washed them yet but don't anticipate any problems. Wish I had bought 2 pairs.
    Date published: 2011-08-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love them-ordered another pair Cool, flexible, and best of all - no Velcro! They do run a little small, though.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great gloves This is my second pair of these gloves and I love them. The leather is soft and supple, and they fit perfectly. I also use them for picking up hay, which is a demanding job for gloves and does wear them out but they have lasted longer then any others. They are also nice and cool.
    Date published: 2011-07-14
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Summer must have! I buy a pair of these gloves every summer. They don't last as long as other gloves but for the price it doesn't matter. They are very comfortable for summer riding.
    Date published: 2011-05-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from love these gloves! Very happy with the feel of the reins that these gloves allow.
    Date published: 2011-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE these schooling gloves! I've been using these SSG crochet back gloves for YEARS (whether it be the velcro close wrist or these, the horseshoe back ones [I am currently using these]) and I love them. I would recommend them to anyone in need of a good, cooling schooling glove. Not the best in the winter, but that is to be expected. The palm of the glove is soft and supple and the reinforced areas where the leathers go really hold up well due to daily abuse. I LOVE these!
    Date published: 2011-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from good enough for schooling i've always bought this style of glove for schooling because they're comfortable enough for the 105 degree summers we get and durable enough to use all day long. i've generally had the problem of gloves being too big or stretching to the point of being useless, but as other reviewers stated, these run a little small. if you're a 7, you might want to consider an 8. something i'll take into consideration next time. they do not bother me or flap around my wrists while riding (a big pet peeve of mine). and unlike the other gloves that tend to dry out and become beef jerky, these have stayed soft and pliable.
    Date published: 2011-04-12
    • 2015-02-25T07:41CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_3, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_14, tr_102
    • loc_en_US, sid_5272, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.