Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify
Additional Colors and Styles

IRH XR9 Helmet

International Riding Helmets
- Item #15173

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

The IRH XR9 Helmet is a low profile, attractive shape. Wicking lining. Sueded comfort harness. Comes with a free carry bag. Sizes 6 1/2-7 1/2. **ASTM F-1163-04a/SEI Certified.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    IRH XR9 Helmet is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 36.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet! I got this helmet about a month ago to use as my show helmet. So far I love it! It looks great and fits nice too, except for the fact that it's a tiny bit big, although I have foam inserts that came with it so I think putting on of them in will solve that issue. I also loved the fact that it was so similar to the Charles Owens GR8 helmet... at half the price! Overall it's a very nice helmet and I would definitely recommend it to a friend.
    Date published: 2012-08-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Price vs. quality= good deal I have only wore this a handful a times, but it seems relatively comfortable. It fits alright, but it's hard to find a perfect fit. I would recommend that you watch the "how to properly fit a helmet" first (measure in cms) purchase the size above and below the measurement. I had a hard time getting the right fit, but I did not agree with the other reviews about these helmets running small.
    Date published: 2012-06-13
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from may be the sizing changed? I'd owned one of these good looking, tough helmets before and so was willing to wait until it was back in stock. However, this time around it seems loose and ended up sitting down on my head so that the top of my head was touching. Not sure if a 7 instead of my old faithful 7 1/8 size would do, but I am returning it.
    Date published: 2012-04-20
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Sizing off I really liked this helmet when I pulled it out of the box. Unfortunately the helmet ran small and I had to send it back. Also, the helmet has a snap closure not the one pictured.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Helmet I like this helmet alot. It fits well, has a nice slimming effect and looks great! The only thing I do not like is my heads get hot in it fast, but every protective and good looking.
    Date published: 2012-03-27
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-02-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent helmet This helmet is an excellent helmet!!it has a very comfortable fi.very light and very durable!well worth the price!!Ibeould recommend this helmet to anyone!!
    Date published: 2012-02-16
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love the look of the CO GR8, but didn't love the price tag. I got this helmet a couple of Christmas's ago from SmartPak. This helmet fits great, and is really comfortable. It looks good too.My only complaint is that the chin strap buckle is not as pictured. It's a black plastic snap type buckle. I was disappointed when I saw this, but kept the helmet anyways because it fit well & other than the cheap-looking buckle, looked good.Great helmet for the price!
    Date published: 2012-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lightweight This helmet looks like it's more expensive counterparts, is lightweight and comfortable, and helps you avoid the dreaded bobblehead look. So far I'm very happy with it.
    Date published: 2011-09-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect For Hot Weather! I purchased this helmet for the HOT HUMID VIRGINIA weather! I love it. Its classy enough for circut showing, and flashy enough to add the last bit of polish to a riders outfit!
    Date published: 2011-07-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best helmet ever the helmet fit was very nice and snug, comfortable. I fell in love when i put it on, it's has a professional look. The bag that comes with the helmet was very helpful to keep clean. I would prefer this helmet over a Charles Owen. The price is great for this kind of helmet and very durabil.
    Date published: 2011-06-29
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-05-30
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fit I order a 7 1/8 and the helmet was too big, although it's the exact same size as my previous IRH helmet and it is what the sizing chart recommended. I returned it and ordered a size 7 and it feels exactly the same is still too large. I will be returning the second helmet
    Date published: 2011-04-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet! I bought this helmet out of the blue. I am very glad I did! It is an amazing helmet; super easy to clean, light weight and comfortable. I would definitely get this helmet again! It was my first helmet ever that wasn't a Troxel, and I definitely am starting to like IRH!
    Date published: 2011-07-25
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2011-03-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from so cute, maybe a touch large I love the look and the feel of this helmet--really light-weight! I wonder if I should have tried a 6 7/8 instead of a 7 (7, long oval is my usual size)? Perhaps I didn't take into account my (very fine) hair being in a ponytail for schooling, instead of under my hat? I would think that if you are sort of in between sizes, you may want to consider going down a size.
    Date published: 2011-02-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Husband approves Husband approves of his new helmet.He likes the very low profile (no bubble head) and says it is comfortable. It is a very attractive helmet and a good buy.
    Date published: 2011-01-20
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice helmet but not for round head I own the same helmet for over a year and like it a lot so I ordered one for my husband, with the biggest size since he has big head. But he still can not insert his head into it, coz the helmet is narrower than the distance between his ears. His LAS tierra 7 1/2 helmet fits him ok though. Didn't expect IRH 7 1/2 runs narrower. Now I want to give IRH ATH a try coz it has long oval option which might mean the non long oval option is rounder than XR9. I hope so...
    Date published: 2011-03-26
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great helmet This helmet does not have the chin strap pictured - it is actually a different buckle. I was a little disappointed but decided it is still a great looking helmet and comfy.
    Date published: 2010-07-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great! This helmet fit when the CO didn't, Read the other reviews before buying, they were right! This helmet fits round heads when the CO does not. Stylish, comfortable, and best of all, the fit!
    Date published: 2010-06-01
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing helmet!! I love the look of the GR8 but it doesn't fit my more round-shaped head and I simply cannot afford it. I expected this helmet to look like a "cheap knock-off" and just be semi-nice. WAS I EVER WRONG! This helmet is nicer than the GR8, SO comfy and looks great!! It is unbelievable value (SmartPak is the cheapest I've found it), especially when compared to the GR8 for $280+. The helmet itself is the nice microsuede that looks like velvet but is as durable as plastic!I do not have enough good to say about it, other than if I ever need a new helmet I will be sure to get this one again!NOTE: It comes in Black/Charcoal and Black/Silver..the one that looks most like the GR8 is the BLACK/CHARCOAL.. be sure to specify ;)
    Date published: 2013-03-18
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great buy Was nervous purchasing a helmet without ever trying on to check the fit, but the sizing was right on. Very nicely made, good quality materials. Well worth it for the price, and looks good enough to show in. Isn't a "bubble" helmet, and is very light.
    Date published: 2010-04-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A Second Look I don't think I would have given this helmet a "second look" look had it not been on sale at the time. However, since I was looking for a schooling helmet and also was discouraged that my GPA Helmet was giving me headaches, I gave this one a shot and....wow, am I ever glad I did! This is one of the most comfortable helmets I've ever worn, right out of the box, it fits comfortably and securely and the big plus is that it looks great too! It is definitely low profile and does not give one a "mushroom head", a phrase that's often heard when describing today's helmets. I was also very impressed with the luxurious touches, such as the satin lining but more than that, IRH makes a quality helmet and stands behind their product with a very generous replacement policy, all of which is completely described in the enclosed documentation. I now feel that spending large sums of money on high priced helmets is no longer the way to go as this helmet is "high quality with a low price tag"!
    Date published: 2013-07-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good, but not as slim fitting as I expected I went out of the country for the holidays and needed to start riding lessons the day after I got back, so I didn't have any time to go out and find riding equiptment. Therefore, I had to order everything online, which was totally fine, but sometimes things aren't exactly how you expected. I read a lot of reviews on this helmet, and a lot of people said that it was very slim fitting and looked smaller than a lot of other riding helmets. I think this helmet is great, it is very warm for the winter, has a lot of padding and fits true to size, however I do not think it achieves a "slim" fitting look. It is fairly big and bulky like some other helmets I have tried. However, the important thing is that it protects the head, and I feel confident this helmet will do that.
    Date published: 2010-01-15
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2009-12-31
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Helmet A great buy, have had it almost a year now...almost bought the Charles Owen GR8 helmet, but made me look like a mushroom head. This helmet seems to be a bit more low profile, at least for my tastes and fits better, not to mention it is almost $100 less than the CO GR8, can ride for hours and fits great. Well worth it!
    Date published: 2009-11-12
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love The XR9! This helmet is extremely comfortable and looks great. I am extremely happy with it and I would definitely recommend it to friends as well as buy another one!
    Date published: 2009-10-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super Helmet! I've had the XR9 Helmet for a month or more and it's great! It's very light weight and the lining and padding makes it very comfortable to wear for extended periods of time. Also, you may not believe this, but the XR9 has better ventilation than my other helmet that has 3 huge front vents! All in all it's a great helmet that's worth the cost.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.