Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link

Korsteel
- Item #15125

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Copper link encourages horse to salivate and play with the bit. The JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is offered in mouth sizes 4 3/4", 5" or 5 1/2". 12mm thick.

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    JP Korsteel Hunter Dee - Copper Oval Link is rated 4.7442 out of 5 by 43.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My OTTB goes great in this bit. She really likes the copper center with the double joints!
    Date published: 2013-06-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit My horse likes this bit. He accepts it easily. I didn't need anything harsh, and this friendly bit does the trick.
    Date published: 2013-05-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit! I purchased this bit for my 3 year old TB. He was fussy about a full cheek and not reponsive enough with a thick eggbutt so I decided to give this a try after much research. The dee rings are a perfect size and he listens very well with this in his mouth. I noticed increased salivation after having it in for 20 minutes. He does sometimes pay with the oval more than I care for but he is only 3. I feel like he is happier with this in his mouth and it looks great.
    Date published: 2013-03-20
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this bit! My horse normally is very fussy with his mouth, always chewing the bit, or opening his mouth. He is a green WB. I've tried loose rings, happy mouths, ect, and didn't get a great response. This bit had my horse so soft, and relaxed. He was responsive and got on the bit. LOVE this bit.
    Date published: 2013-03-10
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2013-03-04
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from An Okay Bit I like the copper in this bit but am not overly impressed with the response I get from my horse when using to train. I will keep this bit and use it for more leisurely rides. Though, for the price I think it is overall a nice bit.
    Date published: 2013-02-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-12-25
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Does the trick! Just the bit we were looking for! Works great and a great price!
    Date published: 2012-10-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fits the bill I'm sure people have their reasons for buying the other brands that cost $80 or even $150 but I think for most horses this version is just fine. I've used korsteel in the past and have no complaints. I had mine engraved too since it's the bit style of choice at my barn and everything seems to grow legs around there.
    Date published: 2012-09-22
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good price, great quality I have a 15.1 TB mare that i ordered the 4 3/4 bit for. She took to it right away and does very well it in. My only complaint is the size of the "D." She's pretty petite and they look a bit large on her.
    Date published: 2012-09-14
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok bit Bought this bit in the hopes of finding something as palatable as the Happy Mouth but more durable. The price point was great and I think it's a good bit for the value, but I just don't love this bit for my horse. The copper french link is more of a coating so Teddy didn't mouth it as much as he had his Happy Mouth. I also found the D rings to look really big on his somewhat petite Quarter Horse nose. I have passed this bit along to my trainer who has put it on a OTTB who had been in a plain french link and he is really liking it. I upgraded to the KK Ultra D ring instead.
    Date published: 2012-09-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit for Baby I bought this bit for my three-year-old who just came home after his first 90 days under saddle. He was in a eggbutt French link and I wanted a nice stable bit with that mouthpiece along with the copper. I use a loose-ring version of this bit on my mare and she's pretty happy with it. So far it's worked well for him and these are well-made and designed bits for a good price.
    Date published: 2012-08-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good Bit I got this as a change from a full-cheek snaffle for my quarter horse, and he LOVES this bit. He is very soft and round in it, with great forward movement. A lovely, gentle bit.
    Date published: 2012-08-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from My horse likes it I bought this bit for my brand new 5 year old OTTB and as far as I can tell, he seems to like it. I wanted to get the Herm S KK ultra but it was out of my price range and I am so glad I got this one. My horse is becoming very soft and responsive and being off the track, has a tendency to want to balance on the bit, so he is getting a lot better thanks in part to this soft bit. I would totally recommend it.
    Date published: 2012-04-28
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2012-05-02
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from lovely bit my horse appreciated the copper link in the middle and he remained as light as he does in the french link gag. The bit is reasonably priced and is also quite lovely.
    Date published: 2012-04-23
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Nice Bit, Good Value This is a good bit, especially for the price. I bought the 4 3/4" and the copper link seems a little large, but it isn't a huge problem. I don't know if it isn't proportionally sized, or if I was just expecting something a tad smaller. Seems well-made and high quality.
    Date published: 2012-03-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Bit Ever! This bit is well made, and my horse loves it. The copper oval link is my go-to bit for almost every horse I know!
    Date published: 2012-02-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great all around bit! Use this for flatting, jumping everything for an ideal all around bit. Less severe bith multiple breaks and horses love it!
    Date published: 2012-02-06
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit I love this bit and so do the horses. They are very soft when it's in their mouth! The mouth piece is curved too.
    Date published: 2012-01-31
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good value My horse, who has worn a regular snaffle all of his life took to this bit immediately and I feel that he's happy with the center piece.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Happy so far I bought this for my very green 6 year old Anglo-Arab. He is a big boy who is a bit mouthy. He seems pretty happy with it so far and chomps on the bit less. I am a fan of double jointed bits for the most part anyway so it was nice to see this as an option. The 5 1/2 inch size fits him pretty well too.
    Date published: 2011-08-29
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Smart purchase Love this bit. It was cost effect and does the job. Our horse responds just like we expected her to. Thanks SmartPak!
    Date published: 2011-08-22
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not what I needed but nice bit I was on a quest to find a d-ring with the lozenge without getting a KK Ultra. Nice bit, decent price, I just found out that my horse doesn't like copper and he didn't respect it much
    Date published: 2011-08-16
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what my horse needed. My horse wears a 4.75" bit. As you can imagine, there are very few bits that come in this size — and very few that are soft enough for his sensitive mouth. I love the curved bars of the JP bits, as I feel they are very soft and forgiving to my horse's mouth. The oval link is a lot softer on his tongue, too. My only complaint is the copper (which is also great for making him salivate) scratches up very quickly and the bit looks worn on that particular part, and it can be kind of hard to clean the joints. My horse loves it, so I can't complain!
    Date published: 2011-08-15
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just what we needed This was the perfect choice for my green TB. The thin mouth piece fits in his small mouth better then fatter snaffles and he loves the copper center piece. I like that is has large D's on a 4.75" bit, most of them out there have small pony sized D's on that size mouth piece. Great quality, just what I expect from Korsteel.
    Date published: 2011-06-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bit My horse loves this bit! I just wanted something simple and of course SmartPak has it!
    Date published: 2011-04-05
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great bit This is a nice hunter bit with just a bit of copper which is nice for softening their mouth.
    Date published: 2011-02-09
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Korsteel Hunter D Snaffle Bit I was very pleased with this bit when it arrived for our new horse. I had already tried several other snaffles I had on hand and he didn't like any of them so far. So I was hoping the little 'widget' in the center would make him happier and it did!We use it on him riding out cross country and he is very happy with it, so that makes me happy too! Very nice, heavy quality bit that should look good for years.
    Date published: 2010-12-14
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from
    Date published: 2010-01-12
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.