Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Bot Egg Knife

Item #15024
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

 

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Why We Love This

A good bot-worm control program includes eliminating bot eggs from your horse. The Bot Egg Knife's special shape is designed to reach into crevices where bot eggs are found.

Favorite Features

  • Stainless Steel
  • Easy to use, grip handle

Sizing It Up

9" Long.

You Might Like
    out of 5
    92% of customers would recommend this product to a friend!
    Tell us what you think!

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    • Review 0
    • Votes 0
    • Discipline:
    • Expertise:
    • Product
      Experience:
    • Competitor:
    Quality
    Value
    Palatability

    Helpful?

    Bot Egg Knife is rated 4.52 out of 5 by 25.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best Scraper! Great tool for scraping off the pesky Bot fly eggs! Works very well, I must say:) Now if only we could invent something to prevent the Bot fly from laying them.....
    Date published: 2012-10-19
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from don't care for it 32 years with horses and I never owned one of these-I've always picked off the bot eggs by hand. My horses flinch when I'm using this on their bodies and constantly move their legs when I'm using it there. It'd make a great shedding tool as a lot of hair comes off as I'm scraping this several times in the same area trying to get one bot egg! Am I holding it wrong or what?
    Date published: 2012-10-03
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good knife nice and sturdy, I havent got to use it yet so I didnt rate ease of use or durability but I feel its going to last a very long time. good investment
    Date published: 2011-12-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Bot Knife I have always just used a common razor to get the few eggs off that i find but this year we have had so many eggs so I bought a knife. This knife works very well and is so easy to use. Inexpensive too so not sure why I waited so long to get one.
    Date published: 2011-12-07
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Product I love this bot knife. It works very well and gets into little spaces quite easily!! l love the handle too, very classy for a bot knife.
    Date published: 2010-08-11
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best product! MUST, MUST, MUST have! Best bot knife on the market. YOu can use it for EVERYTHING! It's not just for pesky bot eggs anymore! I use it for, pulling manes, cleaning dandruff, cleaning brushes, cutting hay string, the possibilites are endless!I've owned mine for years, and it never fails.
    Date published: 2010-04-13
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from As nice as they come We rarely deal with bots in any number here-- until this fall. Most of the tack and feed stores carry cheap plastic bot knives, which inevitably get dropped and broken. This one is actually quite lovely. It's the ideal shape and size, has a real wood handle and sharp teeth that make removing the bot eggs quick and easy.
    Date published: 2009-10-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from A must have! If your horse is in an area that has bot flies, this tool is an essential! The little eggs are hard to remove, but this knife makes the task much easier. Other riders at my barn that don't have their own are always asking to borrow mine. Even though the bot flies really only bother my horse in Sept. to early Oct. it is well worth the inexpensive investment!
    Date published: 2009-09-30
    • 2015-03-01T07:00CST
    • bvseo_cps, prod_bvrr, vn_cps_3.1.1
    • cp_2, bvpage2n
    • co_hasreviews, tv_9, tr_16
    • loc_en_US, sid_5024, PRD, sort_mostRecent
    • clientName_SmartPak
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco
    Horse of the Month: Sir Rocco, a.k.a “Bud” Breed: Appaloosa Age: 24 years old PATH Intl. Accredited Center: Hearts & Horses Location: Loveland, CO Bud is an incredible equine therapist, and has been at Hearts & Horses the longest of

    Read More »

    Download our mobile apps

    Put SmartPak in your pocket with these awesome apps!

    Check It Out »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Out
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-339-9695. © Copyright 2014 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.