Product Image
 Rollover image to magnify

Pessoa Lungeing System

Pessoa
- Item #14978

Days
  Cancel
Sign in to choose an existing horse
We're bringing you this product at the lowest price allowed by the manufacturer. That means this item isn't eligible for additional discounts or promotions.
FREE
Ground Shipping
FREE
Return Shipping

As riders and online shoppers, we know it can be tough to buy a new bridle or pair of boots without trying them on. That's why we moved the fitting room to your living room (or barn)! From breeches to blankets, if you or your horse can try it on, you can return it, free! Just use the pre-paid return label included in your order within 60 days from the purchase date. And of course, please make sure the item is in like-new condition with original packaging (we said 'fitting room', not 'war room'!).

Pessoa Longeing System was invented by international show jumping rider, Nelson Pessoa. The Pessoa Longeing System is designed to encourage balance and a gradual build-up of topline. The Pessoa Longeing System consists of an easy-to-put-together array of ropes, clips and pulleys, as well as a breeching strap that passes behind the horse’s hindquarters, and is used in conjunction with a training surcingle while the horse is being lunged.

Based on the principles of pressure and release, the Pessoa Lungeing System helps to place the horse in a better position to assist muscle build-up, and increases use of the horse’s back muscles. The Pessoa Lungeing System can assist maintenance of muscle tone in fit horses, while less experienced horses can be guided into the correct shape. The Pessoa Lungeing System can be used in four different positions, depending on the horse’s level of training and fitness.

**Surcingle is not included**

You Might Like

    SmartPak customers are some of the most conscientious animal owners around. We encourage you to share your experience with the products we sell to help fellow customers to make informed choices for their animals. We do not edit these reviews in any way - they are direct customer-to-customer communication. We do monitor reviews for positive and negative feedback, and use this feedback to improve our selection as well as sharing feedback with product manufacturers to help them improve their products. Please note that we recommend consulting your vet with serious health issues.

    Pessoa Lungeing System is rated 4.1429 out of 5 by 21.
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super device! This training/lungeing system really is awesome. My mare has to be lunged in it for 6 weeks, as a recommendation from the vet to help her recover from her injury. It is very clever in the way it works, and in the way that it is all attached (e.g when the horse brings it's quarters under, due to the back of the device, the device gives on the mouth) and i like how there are many different settings depending on how you want to work your horse and in what frame you want to achieve. Unlike other devices that force a shape and do not give to the horse, this seems to gently allow for the horse to stretch it's back, bring it's quarters under and make a beautiful, relaxed shape - and it gives when they do so. Even though it is very simple, and not very much for your money in that aspect, it is worth every penny for the way it works on your horse and from the results you'll achieve. I highly recommend this product to anyone and everyone, it really is a great device.
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Device This is a great device for working your horse if he cant be ridden.My horse is recovering from an injury and it is hard for him to work with weight on his back but really needs to work through his hind end and back and this device puts him to work!!!It's a bit confusing to put on at first, but works wonderfully!
    Date published: 2011-05-13
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great product, but tons of $$$$ I work in the retail industry and understand mark-up and proprietary techonology, but this is pretty prices for what it really is...Don't get me wrong, it works like a charm...but I would convince some barn friends to go in on it together so you could share the cost and the product.
    Date published: 2011-03-21
    Rated 2 out of 5 by from Feeling a little dooped. Ok, I get the whole idea and I buy into it. I bought this because I’m expecting and can’t ride my spooky OTTB anymore. I need my big horse to build up back muscles and work on his form in general. Once issue is that I paid $170 for some rope, pulleys and clips. I work in a hardware store and I can tell you that though the hardware on this is nice, the entire thing could not possibly cost more than $40 to make – there is no possible way. As if that wasn’t bad enough, you also need to buy a surcingle. Ok, so put all that aside, I paid a good chuk of change for it and the surcingle, I could almost force myself to live with that if this were some form of a SYSTEM to being with. The real problem is that this “system” comes with no real instructions. The tiny piece of paper it comes with is just confusing and depressing. I was expecting at least a small booklet explaining the progression of the system and the stages/positons of it. A DVD would really be ideal to explain something that if not used correctly can actually damage your horse. Do your research and don’t expect this “system” to explain itself to you. As for me, I’ll be working with my trainer to make sure we get it right because I need something to do while I can’t ride!
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from great product for rated jumpers i was a working student down in Wellington and all the jumpers and hunter derby horse were lunge in it 3 to 4 times a week you cane tell how good this product work in just a few time. i notice better collection and the horse feel like their better balance after wards.
    Date published: 2011-01-28
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worth the money I have a fully trained 6 yr old paint as well as his 3 yr old green sister. The lil girl is in the beginning stages of being trained. The system was recommended to me by a fellow trainer. I have been using it for almost a month on the baby and have seen an amazing change in the way she moves. I love this system and will also begin using it on my 6 yr old. I recommend it for anyone who is breaking a baby or is looking to polish a trained horse. Easy to use and set up.
    Date published: 2010-11-18
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Surprised by How Effective This Equipment Can Be I am conditioning an American Shetland for driving and he needs all of the muscle that a dressage horse needs. Obviously, he cannot be ridden. I would rate this item even higher for quality and value but there can be issues with the ropes slipping and it seems like a lot of money for mostly rope, a little hardware and a fleecy butt strap. And I had to rework it to fit a small pony! But it has led to a body makeover in just 20 minute sessions a few times a week! It's much less work than harnessing and driving so it's great to get in a valuable training session in the evenings after work. Recommended by my instructor, never would I have believed it would have worked unless I'd seen it myself. Very humane despite the nonsense blogs you see on the 'net. A must have in my tack room!
    Date published: 2014-03-17
    Rated 4 out of 5 by from A Keeper in My Tack Room While somewhat expensive, this system has been invaluable for conditioning a small pony that cannot be ridden in preparation for advanced harness work. The animal really is working in proper self carriage and developing proper muscle tone and a lovely swinging gait, rather than just toodling around on the end of a lunge line. It's also a fairly good "simulator" for young horses that will be wearing harness with breeching. My major complaint is the adjustment hardware on the ropes do not stay in place well. I would rate the equipment MUCH HIGHER if that was remedied. Disregard the blogs on the internet about this system jabbing horses in the mouth with every step of the hind legs which is clearly coming from misunderstanding people that have never seen it in use! My pony has tolerated the gradual adjustments "into frame" over several sessions without ANY resistance or negative effect. I'm not a gadget person, but this is a KEEPER in my tack room!
    Date published: 2011-01-28
    Rated 3 out of 5 by from Overpriced training product This product is great for someone who does not have the knowledge or education to properly long line a horse. It is rather gimmicky and does not give the trainer as much ability to "adjust" the horse as long lining does. For those who cannot long line, this is probably the next best solution. If you have a very large horse, this product may run too small.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from It works! This system really works. It takes a bit of time to get used to putting on but it's easy after the first few times. A note on fit. If you have a horse that is very large, like my Dutch horse, this system won't fit.
    Date published: 2013-11-17
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Such a smart system I am thrilled with this lungeing system. I am keeping my older horse in work this winter with lots of lungeing. I have used side reins and neck stretchers, but the Pessoa is the only thing that makes him really use his back properly. It's quite easy to put on even though it looks complicated. Adjusting it is also very quick and can be done with the horse wearing it. I feel like the Pessoa is as good as a professional training ride so it's already paid for itself many times over!
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Pessoa Lungeing System Easier than you think, works better than you think. Be careful to read instructions so you do not move too quickly with horses or overdo-it with them. Slow and Easy, Long and Low is the best advice to start with.
    Date published: 2009-03-04
    Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Product The system really helps strengthen back muscles and aids the horse in finding their balance at the trot and canter while working off their hindquarters.
    Date published: 2009-01-21
    Have questions? Contact us »
    Connect with us:

    Meet the SmartPakers

    Brittany and Nate
    Ever since I was the girl with 1,000 breyer horses and the raggity braid in her hair, I was always obsessed. In second grade I moved into a town with a barn right down the street, which is when I started taking lessons...

    Learn more »

    Read our blog

    Supplements and Feeds for Senior Horses
    I run barrels and ride a 14yr. old mare, she will be 15 next month. Should I put her on any certain supplements or a senior feed? All she gets now is a 12-4 pellet feed. She is doing ok

    Read More »

    Healthy horses, happy riders.
    SmartPak is committed to a greener planet.
    Sign Up Now!
    Free Catalog Get Yours Now!

    SmartPak Equine is the premier online provider of horse supplies and equine supplements.
    Questions? Call us Toll-Free at 1-888-752-5171. © Copyright 2013 by SmartPak Equine LLC. All Rights reserved.